Start reading The Stranger Beside You (A Thriller) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

The Stranger Beside You (A Thriller) [Kindle Edition]

William Casey Moreton
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (356 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

  • Length: 266 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Mystery & Thriller Kindle Books for $1.99 Each
Now through March 11, select mystery & thriller Kindle books are $1.99 each. Browse the full selection to find your next great read.

Book Description

Praise for the books of William Casey Moreton:

"...Moreton keeps readers hooked." -- Kirkus Reviews

"....Moreton is a superb and inspired storyteller and with so many mediocre books being published, this is a relatively rare feat." -- Deadly Pleasures


For fans of Harlan Coben, Mary Higgins Clark, Lisa Gardner, and Lisa Scottoline, here is white-knuckle suspense at its finest:

How well do you really know the person in bed beside you?

Brynn Nelson is living the American dream. She has a nice home in the suburbs, a husband working on Wall Street, and two fabulous kids. But when the FBI rings the doorbell at midnight, storming her home and arresting her husband Tom for murder, her peaceful world is shattered.

When Tom is killed under mysterious circumstances within hours of his arrest,
Brynn finds herself following a trail of cryptic clues planted by Tom himself. Soon it’s clear that her husband was leading a secret life, and now those same secrets threaten to kill her next.

WILLIAM CASEY MORETON grew up in the South and graduated college in 1993 with a degree in Religious Studies. He is the author of seven novels, including NEVER BACK DOWN, THE SEARCH, and 72 HOURS. Moreton is a member of International Thriller Writers and lives in the Midwest where he is at work on his next book.

The author can be contacted at wcmbooks@gmail.com


Product Details

  • File Size: 349 KB
  • Print Length: 266 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004XQV74A
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #74,409 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
131 of 141 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs editing. August 24, 2011
By LBD
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book needs two ratings, one for content and one for grammar. I give the content a 4. The plot and characters are believable, and the action moves along at a good pace. Some of the events are predictable, but there are also twists and turns that the reader does not see coming--especially at the end. As for the grammar, I give it a 1, or lower if I could. William Casey Moreton is in serious need of a proofreader or editor. There are numerous glaring mistakes which detract from the content. Eventually I found myself reading to find mistakes rather than enjoying the story. I have not read any other of Moreton's books, but all of them seem to receive the same comments about his lack of attention to grammar rules and spelling. You would think that after the first book was criticized for this, he would have tried to do something about it. Unfortunately the poor writing pulls the overall rating down to a 2.
Was this review helpful to you?
67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typos galore!! July 29, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
While I found the book to be entertaining, it difficult for me to read because of all the typos, misspelled words, misused words, improper punctuation, and overall poor editing. Don't writers proofread anymore?
Was this review helpful to you?
44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Meh... September 4, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
In "The Stranger Beside You" Brynn Nelson is your typical wife in the suburbs, who is woken up by the FBI in the middle of the night, her husband arrested for murder. The next day she finds out that her husband has been killed trying to escape from jail. Brynn discovers her husband has been living a secret life, and sets off in search of the truth.

I gave this book a shot, despite bad reviews, because most reviewers seemed to like the story, and the major criticisms seemed entirely focused on the editing (or lack thereof) of the novel.

Unfortunately, the story is both too predictable and a bit too unbelievable, and therefore, for me at least, it did not rise above the admittedly awful grammar, spelling, and other errors on nearly every page.

I wanted to like the book, but I just can't recommend it. Even at the low price of $2.99, there are so many books out there with better plots and better writing. I wouldn't waste my time.
Was this review helpful to you?
62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the worst editing ever September 5, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Beside the fact that the central thesis is impossible, this book has the worst editing I have ever seen -- maybe none. Fur trees sorround the road. Really, what kind? Mink? Because it was entertaining I will give Moreton one more chance then that is it.
Was this review helpful to you?
32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could not finish it September 26, 2011
By buck
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Maybe I am too picky or too old fashioned but after reading through a quarter of this book and finding numerous errors in word use I had to put it down. Things like dose vs doze, watched vs watch etc.. They all pass spell check but definitely don't fit. The story could have been good but if the author, editor, proofreader, publisher do not want to take the time to critically read the text themselves why should I? AP English Language & Composition For Dummies
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate typos January 15, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Much as I enjoyed the book the typos drove me crazy. Who edits books these days? Seems to me that my 8 year old grand daughter could have done a better job. I am a natural speed reader and it is very annoying to have my eye stop on a typo. I wonder if the hard copy has the same typos?
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful but so many errors!! September 2, 2011
By JoJo
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
OK, this was a really great, suspenseful read but someone should have done a better job of proof reading this book. I think this book had the most errors out of any e-books I have read. Again, don't get me wrong - I totally enjoyed it and read it 3 days (and I work) but come on be more careful in the future! If those type of things don't bother you then you will love it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beg for mercy February 23, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
It's that painful! Yes, the other reviews are right. Poor spelling, awful metaphors, and grammatical issues abound. Aside from that, which really just means you can't take the darn thing seriously in the first place, I couldn't give a flip about the characters or what happens. The plot is ridiculous and the twists are more so, but the characters are so showy to start with. Self described Wall Street bigshot, look at the fancy lawyer we know, my best friend owns the best boutique and a Porsche...ok, you've earned zero sympathy. My husband died and I'm gonna go out to lunch with my pals. Ok... I find out my BFF did something horrible, because I've become such a genius detective, yet just let them stay in my house for a while before randomly confronting her. Simple minds...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, Awesome, Suspenseful
The characters are great, especially the main character, Brynn Nelson, who essentially tells the story. Read more
Published 20 days ago by Rickles
4.0 out of 5 stars good read
Nice twist at the end. It seemed to bog down in places but still worth the time and cost of the book.
Published 21 days ago by mags
3.0 out of 5 stars THE STRANGER BESIDE YOU......
DEFINITELY GOT CAUGHT UP IN THE BOOK BUT THE ENDING LEFT ME WITH AN IS THAT ALL THERE IS? GOOD FAST READ THOUGH!
Published 1 month ago by Carol Armstrong
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Great book! It was a story I could not walk away from. Every page made you want to continue reading...
Published 1 month ago by Gloria Valentine
1.0 out of 5 stars Juvenile
Can't believe this one made it to the best seller list. The plot reads as though a kid wrote it. Very disappointed....
Published 1 month ago by LKunz
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at everyone as a stranger.
Great book. Loved it from word one. Always wondering what was going to happen next,where it was going to happen,ans to whom it was going to happen to. Read more
Published 2 months ago by patricia irion
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
best book ever good job
Published 3 months ago by Diane Klingler
4.0 out of 5 stars This would be a great movie! I loved it.
This was a great story of thrills, deceit, and betrayal. I really enjoyed it. Will recommend it to all my fellow thrill seekers.
Published 3 months ago by Heather Abril
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Was a very good book that kept you interest right up to the end.
Published 3 months ago by Peggy Abercrombie
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stranger Beside You
Great book. Fast reading book the story never drags. One of those books you want to finish in one sitting.
Published 4 months ago by Kathy L.
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

William Casey Moreton is the author of 6 novels. He lives in the South, where he is hard at work on his next thrilling story.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category