Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Words: Fan-Freaking-Tastic!
Yes, the timing of this album release is in poor taste and obviously meant to maximize profit in the wake of a tragedy, but the entire entertainment industry is based on that principle. What really matters is that the music on this album is incredibly beautiful. I adore the way the accompanying music is toned down in order to allow Michael's amazingly mature vocals to...
Published on July 9, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For die-hards only
As a huge MJ fan, I do own this CD and enjoyed hearing these mixes. Not for the reasons we are supposed to buy the CD for, however. After all, it is not news that Michael Jackson was an extraordinary singer, and these mixes don't make his vocals shine any differently than they do on the original, fuller mixes. Rather, I enjoyed hearing these versions for how they bring...
Published on August 4, 2009 by Kyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For die-hards only, August 4, 2009
By 
Kyle (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (Audio CD)
As a huge MJ fan, I do own this CD and enjoyed hearing these mixes. Not for the reasons we are supposed to buy the CD for, however. After all, it is not news that Michael Jackson was an extraordinary singer, and these mixes don't make his vocals shine any differently than they do on the original, fuller mixes. Rather, I enjoyed hearing these versions for how they bring out some of the nuances that are harder to hear in the original versions, as well as for the use of some alternate takes and endings.

The songs selected here are not mixed in a consistent way; that is, some have essentially no drum or rhythm tracks, others include congas and shakers, and in "Ain't No Sunshine" there is the underlying bass drum with occasional snare rim shots which seem as though they tried but could not entirely eliminate. Some songs include string arrangements, some don't. Some songs retain backup vocals, some don't.

Somewhat misleadingly, not all of the songs are simply the original well-known versions minus most of the instrumentation. Several songs contain extended, unnecessarily repeated or previously unheard fade-outs ("Who's Loving You", "ABC," "I Want You Back," and "I'll Be There" which has an oddly edited ending), while "We've Got A Good Thing Going" is a COMPLETELY different (and much less desirable) take than the original version. Also, "With A Child's Heart" contains a different intro than the original version and "Got To Be There" contains extra backing vocals that were edited out of the original.

The collection starts out very promising, though. The mix on opener "I'll Be There" demonstrates what could have been a great idea; the vocals here are among young Michael's gentlest and most touching, and the mostly acoustic arrangement fits very well in this "stripped" form. "Darling Dear" is also a standout, though perhaps as much for Michael as for what is regarded as one of the best bass lines ever, which at times takes front and center here (but that's not a bad thing--it's amazing!). At just 38 minutes, I wouldn't spend much money on this. The originals were pop-soul perfection as it is. But find it cheap, used, or free and it's worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Words: Fan-Freaking-Tastic!, July 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (MP3 Music)
Yes, the timing of this album release is in poor taste and obviously meant to maximize profit in the wake of a tragedy, but the entire entertainment industry is based on that principle. What really matters is that the music on this album is incredibly beautiful. I adore the way the accompanying music is toned down in order to allow Michael's amazingly mature vocals to take center stage.

Definitely worth the price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching Tribute, July 10, 2009
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (MP3 Music)
I think this album is a great way to remember his innocent talent because when it comes down to it he had an amazing voice. This version of 'Ben' is so moving. 'I'll Be There' is my second favorite. He will be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better "Ben" mix!, August 7, 2009
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (Audio CD)
Some will complain about the brevity (around 38 minutes), but you know what they say about too much of a good thing, plus not every Motown-era Michael song can work STRIPPED down. Ladies will love the select period photos, and everyone who gets this will be hit in the eardrums with the reworked mix for "Ben"! THIS should've been the RELEASED version! Seriously: it's still a WEIRD song, but the dramatic feel is improved by this retooling. If this release is a CASH-IN one, it may be one of those that doesn't harm his [early] legacy. Arguably, the highlights of this set could've been COMBINED with the new "I Want You Back!" set of previously-unreleased material for a disc that runs closer to eighty minutes and give the consumer more bang for their buck! Overall, if in doubt, one can always listen to the samples for this compilation and buy their favorites via MP3 download if they're the casual Michael listener; the hardcore fans will buy this for years to come without blinking. WARNING: the beginning of Michael 're-mix' collections has only just BEGUN....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars these mixes show off his talent wonderfully!, July 8, 2009
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (MP3 Music)
Really enjoyed this album. Vocals are up front and show how talented this man was, even at a very young age. If you're a Michael Jackson fan, you'll love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, July 8, 2009
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (MP3 Music)
What a fitting tribute to a great artist! His vocal talent really shines in these versions of his early material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An arrangers dream!, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (Audio CD)
Without owning the masters, this is as close to split tracks as you can get! If you're looking for a masterclass in arranging (and developing bass lines), this is a fantastic resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOT for Diehards Only, February 10, 2014
By 
Brian A. Foster (Castro Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (Audio CD)
This album is now my favorite album from any of the Jacksons. This remix takes out most of the instrumentation and back-up vocals, and leaves raw the (usually young) voice of Michael Jackson. I can now actually hear the notes he sings that I assumed were covered over by instruments because his voice wasn't good enough when he was young. Wrong! He just sang so high that it blended with instruments.

I would have given it six stars if a) it were possible; and b) it included my favorites Michael Jackson song, "Smile."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That Beautiful voice will live forever, March 28, 2013
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (Audio CD)
A wonderful friend gave me this cd and i have to say that as a huge MJ fan i truly love it. No one can touch that beautiful voice of Michael's and to have the music stripped down to hear his voice more clear is awesome. This is a must for any Michael Jackson fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars His voice was amazing and the innocence, July 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Stripped Mixes (Audio CD)
This collection is very nice and not often seen of showcasing the artist's voice and his use of it to craft a tune...MJ has that gift and this is nice set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Stripped Mixes
The Stripped Mixes by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.