Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 24, 2004
Treat Williams steps into the role of mercenary-turned-vigilante in Substitiute 2. He plays a guy who's worked with Tom Berenger's character before(or at least has mutual friends). I've always liked Treat Williams. He's one of those actors that's actually very good, yet seems to get thrown into these movies all the time. You'll catch him once in awhile in major motion pictures as a supporting character, but in B flicks he's the star! He seems a little too nice to play the cold hearted mercenary type, but does it well. The plot's similar to the first film in the sense that he goes undercover at a New York high school to find out who killed his brother, get revenge, and take care of his niece. Along the way he brings a fellow merc, teams up with the half crazed Vietnam vet janitor and discovers a chop shop operation going on in the school. Nothing terribly groundbreaking, but it's fun to see Williams slapping up the gang banger students who think he's just some pushover teacher. Good mindless action fun if you like that sort of thing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2001
As a big fan of The Substitute I was surprised that I hadn't seen the three sequels to the movie - so I watched one each day for three days. All three are worthwhile entertainment, much better than most of the "B" movies out there (I rent so many B movies that turn out to be unwatchable). However, this first sequel is the best. Treat Williams is a good replacement for Tom Berenger. He has that almost-too-old-but-still-can-kick-butt feel like Berenger. The reason this movie works better than the other two sequels is that it actually takes place in a high school and kind of mimics the first movie with the gangs, etc.. I love these movies because in every one the Substitute beats up some kid in the classroom to prove a point. There's good action like the first movie, I love it when the Substitute is going to get shot in a drive-by and actually runs to the car, does a flip, and breaks the guy's arm which is sticking out of the window! There are no suprises, as usual there is always a teacher/administrator that is "in" with the thugs who are terrorizing the school and the substitute. And everyone gets their due in the end.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
Touching account of something that we would like to see happen that never actually would. It seems that because of the fact that language has become vile in every day life it is being incorporated into movies like this and because it is becoming so vile in the movies it is even more viley in every day life. A REAL NASTY CYCLE. I believe that the writers and screen writers are vile and filthy in their thinking and that is why this is becoming something that is an every day occurrence. Most of the time when I begin to hear it I quit watching and try to find something else. The greatest movie classics achieved greatness without the vile filthy language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
I enjoyed the movie. Working in the school system, I recognized some of my students traits in this movie although not the chop shop in the school. If you like action and suspense with the good guys winning, you will enjoy this movie!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2015
I know this movie is old, but I really enjoyed it! I love movies that show tragedy to triumph. Do we have men in this country like "The Substitute" in anymore? I know in the ISIS countrolled lands, the 22 Christian men who cried out THE NAME of their HERO & LOVER: "JESUS!!! JESUS!!!" OVER & OVER with JOY, DEFIANCE, & EXCITMENT knowing that in seconds they would be in ETERNITY, wrapt in HIS WARM, STRONG, WELCOMING, AFFIRMING, LOVING, ARMS!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
Too much like the first one. I think Treat does good, but script is so much like the first movie it's like they substituted names and players and just followed the original script. Unfortunately the lady who played his niece did not act very well. Most of the time, her reactions seemed very off to what was going on. Oh well, if you havent' seen the first one you "could" watch this one first and then maybe the first one will seem like a cheap rip off. LOL!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 19, 2014
Why did Tom Berenger give up on this franchise? He did a great job in Substitute 1. I'm surprised it was possible to fund a third 'substitute' movie after this slow, contrived movie. Treat Williams seems to be barely paying attention. The wardrobe of pleated pants and corduroy jacket might be right for a high school substitute teacher, but did not show off Williams' physical assets, nor portray him as an action hero. Tom Berenger's wardrobe in the first Substitute movie looked great as well as in-character.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 11, 2010
This is one of those movies that was supposed to be in the style of Dangerous Minds. The script is not the best, but Treat Williams and B.D. Wong do a good job with what they have to work with. If you like violent, campy films this might be your thing. Lionsgate Films has the entire movie posted on their channel at YouTube if you want to check it out before buying this DVD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2010
Don't take it too seriously. Prepare to be entertained with shoot 'em ups and industrial arts room brawls a-plenty. If you're ready for a no-brainer, you'll be more than satisfied that you took part in the purely entertaining viewing feast that is Substitute 2.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
An ok movie if you are bored and there is nothing else on. Same old tired story of violent, inner city school with lots of bullies and gangsters. The script and most of the acting sucks, but it holds up in a campy sort of way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.