Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treat Subs For Tom
Treat Williams steps into the role of mercenary-turned-vigilante in Substitiute 2. He plays a guy who's worked with Tom Berenger's character before(or at least has mutual friends). I've always liked Treat Williams. He's one of those actors that's actually very good, yet seems to get thrown into these movies all the time. You'll catch him once in awhile in major motion...
Published on November 24, 2004 by Stanley Runk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ooh. Pretty bad. Treat Williams has fabulous hair, though.
I had every intention of giving this film a chance -- I thoroughly enjoyed the first installment with Tom Berenger, and was eager to see Treat Williams do a great job in the sequel. I did like that they made at least some tenuous reference to the first film at the beginning of this one -- we are told that Berenger's Shale character is teaching in S. America with his Peace...
Published on December 30, 2002 by skunktrain


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treat Subs For Tom, November 24, 2004
This review is from: Substitute 2: School's Out (DVD)
Treat Williams steps into the role of mercenary-turned-vigilante in Substitiute 2. He plays a guy who's worked with Tom Berenger's character before(or at least has mutual friends). I've always liked Treat Williams. He's one of those actors that's actually very good, yet seems to get thrown into these movies all the time. You'll catch him once in awhile in major motion pictures as a supporting character, but in B flicks he's the star! He seems a little too nice to play the cold hearted mercenary type, but does it well. The plot's similar to the first film in the sense that he goes undercover at a New York high school to find out who killed his brother, get revenge, and take care of his niece. Along the way he brings a fellow merc, teams up with the half crazed Vietnam vet janitor and discovers a chop shop operation going on in the school. Nothing terribly groundbreaking, but it's fun to see Williams slapping up the gang banger students who think he's just some pushover teacher. Good mindless action fun if you like that sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the substitute sequels - worth seeing, June 27, 2001
This review is from: Substitute 2 (DVD)
As a big fan of The Substitute I was surprised that I hadn't seen the three sequels to the movie - so I watched one each day for three days. All three are worthwhile entertainment, much better than most of the "B" movies out there (I rent so many B movies that turn out to be unwatchable). However, this first sequel is the best. Treat Williams is a good replacement for Tom Berenger. He has that almost-too-old-but-still-can-kick-butt feel like Berenger. The reason this movie works better than the other two sequels is that it actually takes place in a high school and kind of mimics the first movie with the gangs, etc.. I love these movies because in every one the Substitute beats up some kid in the classroom to prove a point. There's good action like the first movie, I love it when the Substitute is going to get shot in a drive-by and actually runs to the car, does a flip, and breaks the guy's arm which is sticking out of the window! There are no suprises, as usual there is always a teacher/administrator that is "in" with the thugs who are terrorizing the school and the substitute. And everyone gets their due in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ooh. Pretty bad. Treat Williams has fabulous hair, though., December 30, 2002
By 
skunktrain (So. California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Substitute 2 (DVD)
I had every intention of giving this film a chance -- I thoroughly enjoyed the first installment with Tom Berenger, and was eager to see Treat Williams do a great job in the sequel. I did like that they made at least some tenuous reference to the first film at the beginning of this one -- we are told that Berenger's Shale character is teaching in S. America with his Peace Corps girlfriend. Nice touch, that. Glad to know that they're doing OK. (Yeesh! I care about the welfare of fictional characters!)
I like Treat Williams (great hair) and BD Wong, and I thought they did fine in their roles. One other highlight was the guy who played the janitor. He was probably my favorite character in this film -- very fiesty and amusing. But even the presence of all these great actors could not redeem this dismal film. The plot holes are gaping wide; there are plausability problems all over the place, and then there's the story. What story? Yikes.
If you want nothing more than to see a few gratifying scenes where Williams amazes the surly kids with his awesome Green Beret skills, then you won't be disappointed. But if you are expecting anything close to the campy goodness of the first film, forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hot mess, but it has its moments, January 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Substitute 2: School's Out (DVD)
This is one of those movies that was supposed to be in the style of Dangerous Minds. The script is not the best, but Treat Williams and B.D. Wong do a good job with what they have to work with. If you like violent, campy films this might be your thing. Lionsgate Films has the entire movie posted on their channel at YouTube if you want to check it out before buying this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Substitute 2 is My New Favorite DTV Action Film, May 19, 2010
By 
This review is from: Substitute 2: School's Out (DVD)
Don't take it too seriously. Prepare to be entertained with shoot 'em ups and industrial arts room brawls a-plenty. If you're ready for a no-brainer, you'll be more than satisfied that you took part in the purely entertaining viewing feast that is Substitute 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sad to see an actor of Treat Williams' ability sleepwalking through this one., October 19, 2014
By 
Mehetabelle "mehetabelle" (Silicon Valley United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Why did Tom Berenger give up on this franchise? He did a great job in Substitute 1. I'm surprised it was possible to fund a third 'substitute' movie after this slow, contrived movie. Treat Williams seems to be barely paying attention. The wardrobe of pleated pants and corduroy jacket might be right for a high school substitute teacher, but did not show off Williams' physical assets, nor portray him as an action hero. Tom Berenger's wardrobe in the first Substitute movie looked great as well as in-character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More High School Hi-jinx!..., May 25, 2011
This review is from: Substitute 2: School's Out (DVD)
SUBSTITUTE 2 moves the action from Miami FL to NYC. Treat Williams (DEEP RISING) takes over for Tom Berenger, going undercover as a HS sub in order to solve his brother's murder. Once again, we get a classroom full of thuggish psychopaths, out to do anything they can to keep from learning. Of course, the time comes when Williams' character must bring the major discipline! While not as fantastically fun as the original, S2 still has enough gun-play, karate, and sneering punks in it to make me watch it a few times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ;0), April 3, 2011
This review is from: Substitute 2: School's Out (DVD)
I don't think it was that bad, I liked it, had it's action, it's funny moment here and there, it's not the original but it will do fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "The Substitute 2" is Substandard!, July 5, 2010
By 
This review is from: Substitute 2 (DVD)
The murky conclusion of "Untraceable" director Steven Pearl's straight-to-video sequel "The Substitute 2: School's Out" undercuts an otherwise okay sequel that goes to enormous ends to establish itself as the follow-up to the Tom Berenger original. Treat Williams plays an entirely different character who knew Shale, and "School's Out" concerns his search for the person who gunned down his brother in cold blood in broad daylight. Williams is suave but decisive as Karl Thomasson who masquerades as the new substitute teacher. B.D. Wong is superb as the slimy villain. The Miami high school in the first film, the school here is a zoo with abrasive students who play their boom boxes in class and tote around deadly weapons like ice picks. Unlike the villains in the predecessor who were trafficking in illegal drugs, the bad guys here are operating a chop shop for stolen cars that nets them a $100-thousand-a-month. Like the original, the most considerate character turns out to be the source of the trouble. During the first three-fourths of "The Substitute 2: School's Out," the scenarists of the first movie--Roy Frumkes, Rocco Simonelli, and Alan Ormsby--establish the reason for the sequel, neatly place the characters in the context of the original, and do a good job of integrating Karl into the action. The action scenes themselves, when Karl has to practice his expertise on the disruptive students as well as the adult villains, are fine, but everything collapses in the last quarter hour when the fatherless daughter discovers who killed her father. The filmmakers never have a confrontation scene between the hero and this villain. Moreover, the disruptive students in the classroom who should go down as hard as their counterparts did in the first movie are never shown receiving their just comeuppance for their crimes. The yo-yo scene where Karl explains the use of a yo-yo as a weapon is well-done as is the 'compromise' scene when he toss Mace's purloined boom box out the second story class room. Presumably, Mace is supposed to be the Jerome character here. The single character who doesn't have a counterpart from the first movie is Michael Michele; she plays a sympathetic school employee, Kara Lavelle, who is attracted to Karl. Initially, she met him at his brother's funeral. Not surprisingly, Karl's niece (Susan May Pratt of "Drive Me Crazy")doesn't trust Karl at first, but she breaks down and gets to like him. The only character here that is truly exceptional is the high school custodian, Johnny Bartee (Daryl Edwards of "Arthur 2: On the Rocks"), who has an unique way of entering and exiting through the tunnels in the walls. He is a former Vietnam soldier who specialized in going into tunnels to flush out the Viet Cong. One of the things that the filmmakers do that looks cool is that the car-jacking gang wears their cotton windbreakers backwards so the hood covers them faces and they have slit eye-holes to see. One of the survivors from the first movie, Joey 6, reappears here but he is played by a different actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Every Bit as Bad as the First One, August 15, 2014
An ok movie if you are bored and there is nothing else on. Same old tired story of violent, inner city school with lots of bullies and gangsters. The script and most of the acting sucks, but it holds up in a campy sort of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.