Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The New Successful Large Account Management: Maintaining and Growing Your Most Important Assets -- Your Customers
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 14, 1998
Answers the question "how should I be working with field sales."   Contains tables, worksheets, lists, and step-by-step approaches with examples.   The problem will be getting an entire sales and marketing team to adopt it. Even if they don't, after reading this book, you may find you relate to your sales force in a different, more productive manner. The only reservation I have about this book is that for the concept to be truly effective, an entire work team must complete the training described in the book. I know from personal experience that, when a work team completes the training, it works, and works well. The book, as well as it may be written, cannot substitute for the group training. If it did, I would rate it a 10+.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 17, 2013
This book was first written in 1991 and then revised in 2005. Despite being long-in-the-tooth "The NEW Successful Large Account Management" book is remarkably fresh and current. Probably because so few sales leaders have changed anything from the 19th or 20th century. The same authors wrote "Strategic Selling" which remains a must read classic upon which all modern selling is based, including SPIN Selling by Neil.

The Premise: "To achieve long-term profitable relationships with your key customers, you must make consistent, measurable contribution to their profitability and their relationships."

The power of this book - and why I believe it is a must read for any B2B large account rep - isn't that such a premise is new. Every sales consultant, author or trainer, preaches that. Neil Rackham, luminary SPIN Selling author, wrote "Rethinking the Sales Force" a decade ago based on that premise. However building value remains rare - as opposed to bundled, or should I say cobbled together, offerings called solutions that only pad the margins of the seller. No, the power of this book is that it lays out a structure for key account selling that can be implemented by an organization but more importantly by the sales person. Some sales books are great - but only if management agrees to make the needed changes.

"The NEW Successful Large Account Management" and its selling process "LAMP" is a blueprint the shoe leather sales person can implement themselves. From account selection, to research, to a strategic and tactical methodology for gaining access and winning the business, "The NEW Successful Large Account Management" covers it all. This is one of books that should be on every B2B and key account reps bookshelf.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 1998
LAMP helped me see how critical it is to take care of our large accounts. I realized that our survival as a company depends on them. Right now, we are taking the necessary action to apply the concepts that we have learned from the book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
This is a good business book. I bought several copies and gave them to my sales team. A lot of people think that closing receiving an order is the final stage of a sales relationship with a customer. This book helps sales people manage the account beyond just selling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2001
The first chapter of this book was like reading an unauthorized biography of all my short comings in managing my largest accounts. Even as a top five performer, I still felt like I was flying by the seat of my pants. This book set out a course for improvement that has changed my professional career forever. If you manage large global accounts this book should be your bible. Mine is still drying out from massive highlighter use!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2000
In this age of consolidation, big companies keep getting bigger. For suppliers, losing any large account can be at least dramatic or at worst devastating. Large Account Management Process (LAMP) from Miller Heiman presents a logical, team friendly method of knowing how your company is positiioned in your large accounts, and what needs to be done to maintain or improve that position. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
This book is helpful and applicable to account management in both large and small-scale applications. There are better books out there, but you won't go wrong starting with this one. I found it easy to read through and entertaining. This book provides a thorough and well-informed analysis in maintaining and growing accounts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2008
The issue with most Key Account Managers out there is that they are more focused on maintaining the "relationship" with 1 or 2 players in that account, and then let it grow organically.

LAMP provides the insights on how you can not only defend the account, but also grow it faster by focusing on building strategic relationships with the diverse different players in your account, and feel the pulse of what will be the future business directions that this company will be having, and how you can capitalise on that.

LAMP is multi-dimensional as it handles relationship vs. business; as well as defense vs. growth.
A good companion to this book will be Major Account Sales Strategy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
This book is one of those rare types that addresses the problem head on. If you are a person with sales responsibility at the field, or you are managing a sales team, this book would provide you enough food for thought. In today's world, account driven sales planning and execution is a de facto ritual at every large organization. You may have already been immersed to that, this book would help you to gather a clear understanding of various elements of account management. No matter which group you belong, this book comes with a set of exercises that would help you to use it in action.

The book starts with a century old example of model T by Ford, and draws attention to the importance of resource concentration and positioning. Then it moves to the definition of large account, and management of large account. The book is comprised of twenty chapters organized in five parts: Basic principles, situation appraisal, setting the strategy, implementing the action plan, and looking back and forward.

The first part focusses on the key definitions and explanation of the principle. It draws relevant industry examples to emphasis certain parts of the principle. It also does a little bit of promotion of the LAMP workshop conducted by Miller-Heinman. The final chapter of this part ends with the call for action. The readers are reminded that they will be working, not reading. They were instructed to get ready with a large notebook and a few pencils to start working with one large account, as the book progresses.

The second part starts with clear action oriented instructions for assessing the situation. The book here addresses how to develop a charter for the large account, how look into the relationship through the customer's eyes, how to look into the relationship through your own eyes, and finally collating it all together to for a holistic view of the situation.

The next part focuses on developing the strategy. It includes setting the target, identifying where to allocate resources and investments vis-a-vis where to stop such allocation. It also nudges the reader to draw how the end result would look like. The fourth part focuses on implementing the strategy. This part attempts to bring some institutional approach to the whole account management process so that account management does not rest on individual's own set of activities. It also highlights the gap between objective and reality, and one full chapter is dedicated for the gap analysis and closure.

The final part of two chapters focusses on periodic review, and how to move forward. The authors used a rather provocative tone towards the senior management folks to listen to their guys on field, and to the sales people to make the numbers. Such brutally honest narratives make this book a lovable piece. You tend to feel this book (and LAMP overall) is for you, about you. It's just waiting for implementation by you.

A must read for folks who live by selling or managing sales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
In today's world, growing relationships with customers and providing value at every touch point is key. This book provides healthy guidelines and concepts to maintain and continue growing your customers relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse