Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
The Summerfold Collection... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Summerfold Collection 1987 - 2008
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

The Summerfold Collection 1987 - 2008

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, February 2, 2011
CD-R Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Hot Hot

$15.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details In Stock. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Summerfold Collection 1987 - 2008 + The Winterfold Collection, 1978-1986
Price for both: $31.73

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

The Summerfold Collection 1987 - 2008 by Bill Bruford

This product is manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Disc: 1
1. Up North
2. My Heart Declares A Holiday
3. Pilgrim's Way
4. Stromboli Kicks
5. Temple Of The Winds
6. Candles Still Flicker in Romania's Dark
7. Nerve
8. It Needn't End in Tears
9. If Summer Had its Ghosts
10. Thistledown
See all 12 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Revel Without a Pause
2. The Sound of Surprise
3. The 16 Kingdoms of the 5 Barbarians
4. Kinship
5. From the Source, We Tumbling Headlong
6. Baye Kene N'Diaye
7. Footloose & Fancy Free
8. Come To Dust
9. White Knuckle Wedding
10. Beelzebub

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 2, 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: SummerFold Records
  • Run Time: 65 minutes
  • ASIN: B004LZ4J66
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,775,260 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Kev Rowland on October 17, 2009
Format: Audio CD
This double CD brings together music from 12 albums released on the label between 1987 and 2008, 22 songs in all. Those looking for progressive rock workouts should turn their attention to the companion Winterfold release as what we have here is jazz in its' truest and many forms. While there have been important jazz drummers since the scene started to be made available in a recorded format, Gene Krupa being of course the most notable, there is no doubt that in recent times Bill has made a claim to being the most important player in the scene. This is not only due to his playing and songwriting, or his ability to bring together great musicians, but also due to the history he brings with him. Many people have been turned onto jazz who originally were fans of his from his progressive rock days, and have followed him on the journey and stayed the course.

Prior to this collection I had heard little of the output from this label, but the collection has been put together with care, showing the many sides of Bruford and his take on the genre. There are big band arrangements through to more simpler bands set ups, although still providing the complexity and spontaneity that this music needs. The booklet is extremely informative and in many ways this is the perfect introduction to the jazz side of Bruford and certainly has led me to want to find out more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category