Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

The Survivor: A Novel (Mitch Rapp) Hardcover – December 31, 2030

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,285 customer reviews
Book 12 of 12 in the Mitch Rapp Series

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, December 31, 2030
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
--This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

Featured Literary Fiction
Your Heart Is a Muscle the Size of a Fist
A God in Ruins: A Novel
The Secret Wisdom of the Earth
Customers also viewed these available items
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Flynn is a master--maybe the master--of thrillers in which the pages seem to turn themselves." (Book Reporter)

"Flynn has never been better." (Providence Journal)

“The biggest compliment one can give Mills is that it's totally unclear where Flynn's work ends and his begins, in The Survivor.” (San Jose Mercury News)

“Mills has created a wonderful tribute to Flynn while also writing a great novel. While thriller readers and fans miss Flynn, Mills was the perfect choice, and Rapp will continue in good hands.” (Associated Press)

“Mills perfectly treads the line of bringing his own considerable talent and style to the table while being respectful of the source material and seemingly channeling Flynn’s own voice.” (Bookreporter.com)

The Survivor is truly a magnificent book.” (San Diego Book Review)

“The book is vintage Flynn/Rapp.” (The Post and Courier (Charleston, SC))

“Superb… the greatest post 9/11 series going.” (Providence Journal)

"Give this book a try." (The Daily Pundit)

“For readers who enjoy great spy and clandestine espionage novels, The Survivor is an excellent read. Plan on burning the "midnight oil" once the first page is read…destined to be a great success.” (Green Valley News) --This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Vince Flynn is a graduate of the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minnesota. He lives in the Twin Cities with his wife and three children. Visit his website at VinceFlynn.com.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Series: Mitch Rapp
  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books (December 31, 2030)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1476726663
  • ISBN-13: 978-1476726663
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2,285 customer reviews)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

This item has not been released yet and is not eligible to be reviewed.
Reviews shown are from other formats of this item.

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Rapp is back and he is as strong as ever in The Survivor, the return of Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp series. Of course for fans of Rapp and Flynn, The Survivor is more than just your typical novel. With the tragic passing of Vince Flynn in 2013 many were left to wonder if Flynn’s final novel The Last Man would be the last time we saw Rapp. Thankfully for fans of the counter-terrorism operative, Rapp has returned do to the outstanding work of novelist Kyle Mills. Up front I have to say that I am a huge Flynn fan. I started reading Flynn in the summer of 2000 and found him to be one of the best novelists of the past two decades. To me he helped define what a thriller should be in the post 9-11 world. As a result while I was thrilled to hear Rapp would return, I was also very wary if anyone could produce a Rapp novel anywhere near the quality of what Flynn wrote. Well I’m thrilled to say Kyle Mills has delivered a Rapp novel that exceeded everyone of my expectations. To me The Survivor is a top 5 Rapp novel. Mills did something I didn’t think was possible, he made me forget that The Survivor wasn’t written by Vince Flynn.
The tone, style, pace and voice of the novel is Flynn. I’m not sure how Kyle Mills pulled this off but I can’t compliment him enough for this. The task of carrying on for Flynn must have been beyond stressful. The fact that he produces such a home run of a novel in his first attempt with Rapp makes me beyond thrilled to see what happens in the next novel.
The Survivor checks off all the must haves of a Mitch Rapp novel. The pace and thrills are non-stop. The action as always is top shelf and among the strongest in the genre. In particular I have to give Mills an amazing amount of credit for what I believe to be one of the best action set pieces in Rapp history.
Read more ›
5 Comments 148 of 155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Length: 400 pages.

Before proceeding, I want to note that recent years have witnessed the death of several of my favorite singers, actors, and writers: Pete Seeger; Johnny Cash; Tom Laughlin; James Garner; Michael Crichton; Vince Flynn.

With the passing of Flynn, it appeared one of the all-time great characters, Mitch Rapp, would become a relic lost to the dustbin of history.

I will let you read this latest installment and decide just how closely the characters continue to replicate that bigger-than-life hero. For this review, however, I will jot down my perspective insofar as this book, commenced by Vince Flynn but completed by Kyle Mills.

Questions I had when I opened the book were:

Is this a stand alone novel, or must readers read one or more of the previous books? Yes, it is stand alone, although I recommend reading the entire series first, simply because it is a great story.

Second, is there a cliffhanger ending? No. Despite the new writer having been commissioned to write three books, this is, thankfully, free of a cliffhanger.

Third, does it feel, smell and taste like Mitch Rapp? Yes, but the basic storyline, other than Rapp, himself, does have a somewhat different feel. I'm grateful for this, for the writer is not merely counterfeiting Flynn. Mills is allowing himself latitude sufficient to stamp his own imprint upon the franchise.

I was concerned that Mills would so tightly parrot Flynn that the story would lose the soul, if you will, and be merely a means for the publisher to keep cashing in on the efforts of a great writer. I needn't have worried, for Mills is a seasoned writer of merit and has, for me, co-authored an incredible story worth my time and the money I spent.

Can't wait for the movie!
Comment 127 of 135 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Kyle Mills had his work cut out taking over the Mitch Rapp franchise. If you didn't know better, from the book's jacket, you would assume that Vince Flynn wrote it with minor assistance from Mills. Not the case, as this book was most likely just an idea, maybe an outline, when Flynn became severely ill. Mills most likely had a thousand editors looking over his shoulder and making tweaks and changes. The Rapp series has always been about the individual. The plots were good, but it was Rapp, Coleman, Irene Kennedy, Stan Hurley and the interplay among them that made it special. The Survivor is more plot driven, with less attention paid to Mitch's character. I missed the fondness between Kennedy and Rapp and the grudging respect between Hurley and Rapp. This interplay was completely missing from the book's first half. Having said that, there was humor in this book that was noticeably absent from prior books. This was a welcome addition. The plot really gets rolling in the second half, and the characters begin to appear (finally!), as in the first half all of the characters were dry and colorless. Perhaps this was by design to enable Mills to get the feel of the personalities, especially Rapp. It will take a couple more books in the series for Mills to get comfortable in Rapp's world. One major mistake, and this is not a spoiler, in spite of Louis Gould getting back in the assassination business, Rapp decides to let him live, and in fact, be a part of the team for one of their adventures. Never would have happened after what happened in previous books. In spite of these shortcomings, it is difficult to imagine anybody doing a better job than Mills, and I look forward to the next book in the series.
Comment 32 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: suspense thrillers