Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One New York Ad Guy's Opinion, August 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
I thoroughly appreciate this book. Owning an advertising agency in New York City that primarily seeks green, cleantech and sustainable oriented companies, The Sustainable MBA has been my bible for the last six months. Unlike so many other books in this area, The Sustainable MBA is supremely practical and full of ways for companies like mine to no only envision how their own companies should run, but also how they can assist client companies of all sizes in the sustainable space. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and Simple, July 6, 2010
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
There are so many books about increasing sustainable practices that it is hard to know where to start. As a complete novice, I often felt overwhelmed by the amount of text dedicated to this topic. At last, Giselle Weybrecht has compiled a simple and easy-to-read guide to green management. Her tips and tools should appeal to both the uninitiated and the well-informed in sustainable practices. What's more, her tone is sympatheic and enthusiastic - she does not repremand or cast aspersions. I also appreciate the practicality of her book; she presents a solid business case for her suggestions and demonstrates that sustainability can be profitable. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has even a passing interest in sustainability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for ideas and Practical Approaches, June 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
I just finished the Sustainable MBA and found it extremely helpful in trying to understand how I can make a difference at my (or another) company. As a Management Consultant focusing in Change Management - Sustainability and 'what can I do today' discussions come up all the time. This book provided down-to-earth ideas and resources to continue my research.

I highly recommend it as a general overview and text for understanding how we all can make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for a sustainable future, July 22, 2010
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
The Sustainable MBA is a very thorough and insightful discussion on one of the most important topics facing manufacturing, mining and oil & gas companies today, that of renewable and sustainable development. The book provides an in-depth look at innovative green business practices and is extremely helpful in assisting companies and their employees in developing a framework and strategy to promote sustainable growth.

The author has done a tremendous amount of research and has provided a unique point of view on many areas and extrapolates the key economic, financial, environmental, and social factors.

I highly recommend it to employees in industries whose operations impact the communities and environment where they manufacture, mine or drill. I recommend it to consultants and government officials who are involved in assessing the environmental and social impact of corporations. I also recommend it to holders of MBAs as well as future MBAs so that they have an appreciation for a sustainable future.

Overall, a very informative and powerful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and practical, August 7, 2010
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
Giselle has created a guide that's as useful in the real world as in the classroom. She's done a phenomenal amount of research and looks at sustainability from every angle a business needs to consider. Her passion and commitment are obvious, but she never gets "preachy" -- she makes the business case for sustainability on its own merits, and that alone makes it a worthy read for managers and grad students alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent book, July 16, 2013
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, even broader in scope and substance than the title suggests. Indeed, while a lot of the content has to do with "green", most of it is relevant to any business, especially "green" or not. It covers accounting, economics, entrepreneurship, ethics and corporate governance, finance, marketing, operations, organizational behavior, strategy, how to monitor and improve performance, and, last but not least, tools for greening offices and buildings. The information conveyed is up-to-date.

While the treatment of each topic is necessarily brief - some 15 to 30 pages, I find the selection of issues highly pertinent, well-focused and unusually clear. For example the chapter on economics, as the dismal science bears on business, explains clearly the problem of the commons, the concept of externalities, the significance of regulatory and market-based instruments such as subsidies, then looks at "green metrics", before turning to issues relevant to doing business in emerging markets. Each of these is handled in very user-friendly style, and the author guides readers to additional sources of information.

Who should read this book ? -- students, persons about to start a business, public officials and staff of philanthropic organizations interested in private sector development, and, yes, members of "educated general public".

I hope Ms. Weybrecht receives the recognition this book deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT Sustainability book, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
I am a sustainability professional and this book is fantastic. It takes details that truly bring sustainability into a perspective that will resonate with more people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, April 11, 2011
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
I looked into this book more because of my interest in all things green than the business side of the book. Sometimes when people think of green business they imagine smokestack factories coming up with new ways to run, but this book shows how any business can benefit from green practices. I would recommend this to anyone interested in going green and especially recommend it to current or future business men/women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent manual for understandind sustainability, October 26, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Rodolfo" (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book brings in a concise form the different ways sustainability can be used in the different areas usually covered in an M.B.A.
Easy to read with many examples.
Do not expect any real new concepts, but if you are new to the field it is most useful to familirize yourself with all that goes on in this field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice & reference tool, May 30, 2010
By 
girl from pitt (silicon valley, ca) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business (Hardcover)
I found the book had great practical advice for incorporating sustainability into every day business. The book is easy to navigate and addresses all functions. It is a great book for both people who want to gain a better understanding of sustainability and for those who are passionately committed to delivery a sustainable business model in any organization. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business
The Sustainable MBA: The Manager's Guide to Green Business by Giselle Weybrecht (Hardcover - December 21, 2009)
Used & New from: $7.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.