Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of the Swastika Before and After Hitler
In a relatively a short book, less then 160 pages, the author Stephen Heller managed to recount the history and usages of this notorious symbol used by Adolf Hitler and his Nazi Party. The book is filled of illustrations showing how this symbol were used by many cultures from many lands across the face of this planet thousands of years prior to Hitler's Third Reich...
Published on March 4, 2008 by lordhoot

versus
0 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Care...
I ordered this book for my kids school project, even though I am a voracious reader, I don't care to know anything about mad man's crazy ideologies. But I digress, book order came fast as expected, which in typical fashion of teenager told me when the project was due in few days, so paid extra for 2 day shipping, and got it in 2 days.
Published on March 24, 2010 by R. Tirukonda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of the Swastika Before and After Hitler, March 4, 2008
By 
lordhoot "lordhoot" (Anchorage, Alaska USA) - See all my reviews
In a relatively a short book, less then 160 pages, the author Stephen Heller managed to recount the history and usages of this notorious symbol used by Adolf Hitler and his Nazi Party. The book is filled of illustrations showing how this symbol were used by many cultures from many lands across the face of this planet thousands of years prior to Hitler's Third Reich. Hitler's claims that swastika is a pure "Aryan" symbol mocked his own understanding of this symbol. It pretty clear by author's assertions that swastika have been used by many for various purposes. Some of the most interesting aspects the author brought up was that swastika was the symbol the Girl's Club in the United States during the early of the 20th century and each of their magazine covers had swastika all over it.

Although the author touched on the Asian usage of the swastika, he fell little short regarding the Asian elements of the swastika and its meanings. When my father was stationed in Japan, I had a chance to see many swastikas on Japanese temples and surprised to see swastikas adopted into some of the Japanese samurai families' mon (family crest) during that era of history. One of the more funnier things I have seen was reading a Japanese map and seeing all these red swastikas on the map - each of them showing the location of a temple or a shrine. One of my friends who didn't know any better asked once if that map is showing where all the Nazis live in this area.

The author also wrote some interesting stuff on whether this symbol can ever be save from how we see it today, symbol of evil, racism and hate. The book came to a regretful conclusion that as long as there are large numbers of racists and anti-Semites out there using the swastika for their own purpose and with its history, this symbol can never be reclaim in innocence. In some way, the swastika's fate can be linked with the Confederate Battle Flag. Both will always be associated with racism and hate as long as there are people who will used it as such.

Overall, a very useful book and interesting reading material to anyone who wants to know more about this symbol which apparently been hijacked permanently by Adolf Hitler and those like him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPLENDID!, September 17, 2004
By 
John Abraytis (Melrose Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Swastika: Symbol Beyond Redemption? (Hardcover)
Here's three good things about this book.

First, the 157 pages of text provide a comprehensive overview of the history of the you-know-what-symbol. The swastika. There's a lot of interesting revelations. For example, the swastika appears to be the oldest symbol uncovered anywhere, and is found in just about every culture and civilization, everywhere and at any time in History. I mean, it was everywhere!

Second, the book provides dozens of reproductions of the swastika, in a myriad of variants, including on cigar labels, poker chips, cards, as a shoulder patch for the U.S. Army (1918), and on a monthly American magazine for young girls, entitled: "The Swastika: Written, Issued and Read by The Girl's Club."

Finally, the author is a graphic designer, and a darn good one. The book itself--the size, the color, the paper, the setting of the text, the brilliant and varied reproductions--these all delighted me, and I hope they delight you.

Not only that, consider that the bookjacket has to be one of the most extreme, hardcore bookcovers in history. The cover shows a black swastika, on a white circle, on a red background. One glance at it, and you'll know why the swastika is the most powerful symbol ever created. Forever sinister, the swastika today is the only symbol that you can write with a pen on the border of the daily paper, that has acquired the status of "genetically evil." Those scribblings on the notepad--they will never be redeemed! Hollywood is calling.

Take a peek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly unique book, January 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Nazis took a symbol with a thousand year history, which they really just ruined for the world. The swastika was used by Native Americans, Nordic Peoples, Polish Mountain Dwellers and Hindus, to name just a few. Only the Hindus use it freely nowadays. This book shows the history of the stolen symbol, from the ancient times to usage in pre-Hitler commercials for products so well known as Coca-Cola. Many of the usages are shown, including types of swastikas found in each region of the world. The book does not concentrate on Nazi usage as many do, though illustrations for that time are also plentiful. It's not long so it really isn't a study book, but it does make an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this book so much. I am a Buddhist, myself...and I wish that I didn't get ridiculed so much for wearing the swastika...but sadly enough, people are going to be ignorant. All it takes is a few moments to open up a book and figure out where the symbol came from and what it really meant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying Visual Anthropology, September 20, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Swastika: Symbol Beyond Redemption? (Hardcover)
What a pleasure it is to experience the work of an author who has total command over his material. In a slender 160 pages, the author explains -- in both words and pictures -- the mythology, anthropology, abuse, and endurance of this fascinating and lurid symbol. This is one of the most interesting books on fascist regalia written in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Symbol beyond Redemption? by Steven Heller, February 21, 2004
This review is from: The Swastika: Symbol Beyond Redemption? (Hardcover)
Steven Heller's book about the "Symbol Beyond Redemption?" is very informative. It needs updating with more recent information about the topic addressed. For example, the notorious flag symbol of the National Socialist German Workers Party, although an ancient symbol, was altered for use as overlapping S-letters for 'socialism' under the National Socialist German Workers' Party. It was deliberately turned 45 degrees counter clockwise and always oriented in the S-direction. Similar alphabetic symbolism is still visible as Volkswagen logos. American socialists (e.g. Edward Bellamy teamed with the Theosophical Society) bear some blame for evolving the shape as alphabetical symbolism for socialism, adopted later by German socialists. Edward Bellamy was the author of an international bestseller that launched the nationalism movement, and his book was translated into every major language, including German. American socialists also share some blame for the notorious stiff-arm salute of German National Socialism. Edward was cousin to Francis Bellamy, author of the Pledge Of Allegiance (1892) and the early Pledge used the straight arm salute, and the Pledge was used at civic meetings of the Theosophical Society, Freemasons and other groups before it spread to Germany. Francis and Edward were both self-proclaimed socialists in the Nationalism movement and they promoted military socialism. They wanted government to take over all schools and impose robotic chanting to flags. The Pledge's early salute was not an ancient Roman salute, and the 'ancient Roman salute' myth came from the Pledge. All of the above are modern discoveries by the nation's leading authority on the Pledge of Allegiance, the author of "Pledge of Allegiance Secrets." People were persecuted for refusing to perform robotic chanting to the national flag at the same time in the USA and Germany (to the American flag, and to the German symbol flag). The socialist dogma led to the socialist Wholecost: 60 million dead under the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics; 50 million under the Peoples' Republic of China; 20 million under the National Socialist German Workers Party. It might be the most tragic part of world history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Care..., March 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this book for my kids school project, even though I am a voracious reader, I don't care to know anything about mad man's crazy ideologies. But I digress, book order came fast as expected, which in typical fashion of teenager told me when the project was due in few days, so paid extra for 2 day shipping, and got it in 2 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Swastika: Symbol Beyond Redemption?
The Swastika: Symbol Beyond Redemption? by Steven Heller (Hardcover - February 25, 2000)
Used & New from: $7.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.