Customer Reviews


1,221 Reviews
5 star:
 (359)
4 star:
 (448)
3 star:
 (247)
2 star:
 (82)
1 star:
 (85)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Much Better Than I Ever Expected
Every so often there comes along a movie that most mainstream critics just don't like and I do. The Switch is one of those movies. Far nicer and sweeter than I expected, you may not LOVE this movie, but if it doesn't make you smile, there is something wrong with you.

Jennifer Aniston plays Kassie, a woman who is tired of waiting on a seemingly non-existent Mr...
Published on February 18, 2011 by D. Barbour

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, Terrible, Horrible Movie...Very Badly Done
Wow...I like Jennifer Anniston as an actress and person. She perseveres as an actress, taking some big risks.

Unfortunately, sometimes those risks lay eggs...big, stinky, rotten eggs. This is one such movie.

Not a credible plot; little "chemistry" between the male and female leads;poorly-developed rationale/perspective on just WHY such a...
Published 8 months ago by James Rodgers


‹ Previous | 1 2123 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Much Better Than I Ever Expected, February 18, 2011
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
Every so often there comes along a movie that most mainstream critics just don't like and I do. The Switch is one of those movies. Far nicer and sweeter than I expected, you may not LOVE this movie, but if it doesn't make you smile, there is something wrong with you.

Jennifer Aniston plays Kassie, a woman who is tired of waiting on a seemingly non-existent Mr. Right to start a family. She decides to find a donor who is tall and has a good sense of humor (traits not possessed by her best friend, the neurotic Wally (Jason Bateman)) and hold a very special gathering for friends and family. At this "insemination party", a very drunk Wally decides to 'switch' her donor's ingredient for his own, thus secretly hijacking her pregnancy. Fast-forward seven years and we meet Sebastian, Kassie's child, who is becoming more and more like his real father Wally by the day.

There is an underlying sad tension building all throughout the movie as we wait for the moment when Wally will put two and two together and remember what he did that fateful night, and then when he must reveal this dirty secret to Kassie. My guess is this is why some critics didn't like it. If you go into it with a better perspective though, it is more about how Wally decides he is ready to commit to this young child as a father, and how he is a better person for it, regardless of how everything ends up. A couple of scenes are downright touching, and the ending, while somewhat rushed and flawed, didn't ruin the story. I was not expecting much and in return got a whole lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm surprise, March 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
I'm a rom-com junkie who's mighty frustrated with the genre--how can most of these films be sub-par? doesn't that go against the rules of statistics?--and yet I must say I was pleasantly surprised by The Switch. It's a cut above the norm, mostly because of the relationship between father and son, which is warmly, sweetly, comedically and endearingly acted.

This film is Hollywood; despite a strange lull after the "switch" which suggests the pacing might go indie, it returns to Hollywood momentum. Which is fine, but the editing is slightly off there. That said, the charm and comedy of the father and son really do make this movie. I'm not into the standard manipulation of cute faces and piping voices for ratings, but these two are really sweet magic together.

Bateman's acting is touchingly understated when he's with the kid; the child (Thomas Robinson) is earnest and adorable and is so natural in his connection with his father. Aniston picks up credibility in a few of the intimate moments she has with Bateman--you feel her looking at him and being moved and wanting/wondering--but overall this really is a Bateman/Robinson movie.

I don't dislike Aniston in general, but I absolutely didn't "feel" her the way I did the other two. The movie has the usual Hollywood stock characters for best friends; Jeff Goldblum is amusing in a slightly quieter way than usual. But it's Bateman and Robinson, as a duo and separately, that make the movie a four star in its genre--and that make you long for the Bateman/Aniston characters to live happily ever after.

I rented it thinking it would be bad fluff. I watched it half-over again later that night, just to laugh and love a bit more with the father/son duo, and now I'm going to buy it for real. This isn't going to be the best romantic comedy you'll have ever watched (I hope), but it's not at all a bad way to spend a couple hours. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admiration of Comedic Timing in a Fine Cast, March 19, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
THE SWITCH is another story about artificial insemination and the impact it has on the participants. Yes, it has been done many times with varying results, but what makes this version of the story different and worthy of merit and attention is the sparkling screenplay by Allan Loeb adapted from the short story 'Baster' by gifted author Jeffrey Eugenides ('Middlesex', 'The Virgin Suicides', 'My Mistress's Sparrow is Dead', and short stories 'The Speed of Sperm', 'Air Mail', 'Ancient Myths', etc). It is a film that gives us the opportunity to remember the fine comic time of Jeff Goldblum, Jennifer Aniston, Jason Bateman, and Juliet Lewis, courtesy of the fine direction by Josh Gordon and Will Speck..

Wally Mars (Jason Bateman) is an oddly neurotic character who has a very difficult time connecting to people, especially in the dating department. His best friend is Kassie Larson (Jennifer Aniston) a successful woman who abruptly decides her biologic clock is ticking down and decides to have a baby by paying a sperm donor. Wally is shocked, but Kassie's other best friend Debbie (Juliette Lewis, bubbling brilliantly) supports her conviction to take charge of her life and plans a party to celebrate Kassie's incipient 'donation'. Kassie selects a potential donor in Roland (Patrick Wilson) who is a square and married teacher but 'needs the money'. At the party when the 'donation' is to be deposited, Wally gets drunk and accidentally spills Roland's 'contribution', and in drunken desperation replaces it with his own - a secret he doesn't even share with Leonard (Jeff Goldblum) with whom he works and has a strong friendship. The inseminated Kassie moves back home, returning seven years later with her six-year old son Sebastian (Thomas Robinson, a very fine child actor). Kassie courts the now divorced Roland, a blow to Wally who in his 'babysitting' chores grows close to Sebastian who is very much like Wally. How the story ends is predictable but heartwarmingly humorous, especially watching the relationship between Wally and Sebastian develop.

In addition to the strong cast of leading actors there are cameos by Kelli Barrett and especially the significantly impressive Scott Elrod (watch this young actor's career blossom!). Largely due to the smart dialogue delivered by specialists in comedy, this film works well. Grady Harp, March 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the love of the kid..., August 11, 2011
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
I know that I shouldn't like this film as much as I do, considering the clichés and the plot holes that seem to infest certain areas of the script, and yet I can't help but kind of love this movie. Jennifer Aniston is kind of like Jennifer Lopez to me; not entirely talented and yet totally adorable and so every movie they do, whether it's terrible or not, is watchable thanks to them. But, with `The Switch' it really isn't about Jennifer Aniston at all. Sure, she is the big name that drew the most people to the theater, but it is the supporting cast that really brings this film to life; most notably Jason Bateman and that little adorable kid named Thomas Robinson.

`The Switch' tells the story of Kassie; a single business woman who dreams of having a child but knows that her time is ticking away from her. Her best friend is Wally, a neurotic yet sincerely concerned man who has been harboring feelings for Kassie for years, but has always been too afraid to do anything about them. When Kassie decides to have a child via sperm donor, Wally is immediately concerned, and quite vocal about it to the point where it strains their friendship. Eventually though, Kassie settles on a donor, but a drunken snafu leads Wally's `ingredient' into Kassie's uterus and out comes Sebastian. The problem is that Wally was so drunk he blacked out and doesn't remember that fateful `switch'. On top of that, Kassie moves away to `better raise Sebastian' and so Wally doesn't get to see her or his `son' for nearly six years. When Kassie moves back to the city, Sebastian is thrust into Wally's life and, while he is initially cold shouldered to the boy, there is just something about that little wonder that fills Wally's heart.

Of course, there are your standard Hollywood `curveballs' that get tossed into the plot (some of them making more sense than others), but it is the solid performances of Bateman and Robinson that truly elevate this film.

Jason Bateman is one of those actors I wish big things for. He's a lot like Paul Rudd to me; a cute and likable actor who brandishes his own breed of `funny' with authenticity and originality and can handle making his characters `his own' with ease. Bateman is an easy standout in nearly all of his films. What he does here is something special, because those blue eyes melt away whenever he's looking at young Thomas Robinson (that kids is something special in himself) and it adds this sincerity; this paternal love that is hard to `fake'. Sure, at moments `The Switch' feels like a cheaper version of `About a Boy', and it never quite manages to be `that great', but the similarities to that film serve more as a compliment than anything else.

The rest of the cast shines as well; especially Juliette Lewis and Jeff Goldblum; both serving up `funny sidekick' performances.

In the end, `The Switch' is far better than I expected it to be. I love it more than I should and yet I'm not ashamed to love it this much. While I found the sub-plot concerning Roland, the assumed donor, to be halfbaked and somewhat farfetched, it didn't truly dampen my feelings for the film. The film just hits too many `right notes', and while it certainly delves into the schmaltzy manipulative side of tear-jerking in certain scenes ("you can have this one") it pulls it off thanks to the pure believability of Bateman and Robinson's performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, Terrible, Horrible Movie...Very Badly Done, August 14, 2013
Wow...I like Jennifer Anniston as an actress and person. She perseveres as an actress, taking some big risks.

Unfortunately, sometimes those risks lay eggs...big, stinky, rotten eggs. This is one such movie.

Not a credible plot; little "chemistry" between the male and female leads;poorly-developed rationale/perspective on just WHY such a lead character would make such a rash, ill-considered decision.

And, unfortunately, the acting by both leads is NOT up to par; actually, I'd have to blame the directing, since they have both acted so well in other vehicles.

Sorry, just didn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All about expectations, April 24, 2011
By 
Anna Robb "SaraShaw" (Boston, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
I went into this movie thinking it was going to be some slapstick comedy. Instead I got rather a drama with light elements. It is billed as a romance but it seems from the first reel the main characters are already in love or love each other, but just aren't willing to admit it to each other. It is as if we come in at the middle of a relationship. As as been mentioned Kassie has a shy and neurotic friend Wally. She decides to have a baby alone and not with him -- although Kassie doesn't seem to have a real problem with Wally, just again, isn't going to ask. Kassie seems to want Wally to "try harder stupid" and Wally seems determined not to do so. She continues to push forward and Wally ends up switching the donor's sample with his. Wally is drunk so he doesn't really remember doing this. Kassie moves away, again seemingly hoping Wally will say, I will go too, but he doesn't. Wally just won't put himself out there no matter what. Finally Kassie comes back to New York with her 6 year old.

Wally is stunned to find her son, Sebastian, shares a lot of his traits. Sebastian is neurotic, looks like Wally, and seems to like him too. Sebastian does not take to the man everyone thinks is his father -- the sperm donor. Wally finally remembers what he did and that Sebastian is his son and spends the rest of the movie trying to figure out how to tell Kassie. This journey is not a slapstick one. Wally, finally has to, and wants to, grow up. While his journey here has some funny moments, they are mostly dramatic and touching. The actor that plays Sebastian was just wonderful and you really buy Wally's transformation and growing love for his son. Wally's love for Kassie wasn't enough for him to put himself out there but the love of his son was. I think if you go into this thinking it is going to be like "just go with it" or some other Jennifer Aniston films you will be disappointed. But if you go in looking for a drama with comic elements you will be happy.

4 stars because some of the elements of the movie were not believable or did not work. Including Kassie's interest in the sperm donor after he gets a divorce. Jason Bateman is just much better looking imho than Patrick Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tired Insemination Premise Gives Rise to a Surprisingly Sharp Comedy with a Smart Cast, March 21, 2011
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
If the Hollywood studios still made the type of urban comedies they made back in the early 1970's starring George Segal (usually) as a neurotic nebbish, then Jason Bateman's big-screen career would certainly be secure. As he displayed consistently on Arrested Development, the actor's dry delivery and slyly observant manner are a perfect match for Wally Mars, the comically cynical equities analyst he plays in this sadly overlooked 2010 romantic comedy co-directed by Will Speck and Josh Gordon (who much to my surprise, helmed the Will Ferrell figure-skating comedy, Blades of Glory). Although he is the true protagonist of the story, the movie was marketed as a Jennifer Aniston vehicle. She plays rising TV producer Kassie Larson, his long-ago girlfriend who has relegated him to the "friend zone" even though he obviously hasn't gotten over her.

Written with verve by Allen Loeb (who also co-wrote Aniston's other 2010 movie, the Adam Sandler starrer, Just Go With It), the story revolves around Kassie's ticking biological clock. In a seven-years-back flashback, she is seen deliberately bypassing Wally as a possible sperm donor in favor of a more predictable candidate, Roland, a struggling associate professor at Columbia, who happens to be married and drop-dead handsome. At an "insemination" party, Wally gets wasted and drops the carelessly placed vial of Roland's semen down the bathroom sink. This leaves Wally no choice but to replace the sample himself. Kassie eventually becomes pregnant and moves back home to Minnesota. Flash forward to the present, and Kassie returns to Manhattan with her six-year-old son Sebastian in tow. The fact that Sebastian acts like a miniature version of Wally gets completely past Kassie but not Wally who slowly realizes that out of his stupor years ago, his son was conceived.

Although this indiscretion would seem like the perfect excuse for Wally to reveal his true feelings for Kassie, complications ensue when she starts a relationship with Roland, now desperately on the rebound from a bitter divorce. At the same time, Wally forms a close bond with Sebastian who naturally gravitates toward him because of their mutual idiosyncrasies. Bateman handles Wally's evolution from self-absorbed fatalist to paternal protector with aplomb and surprising depth. Aniston is better served here than in most of her standard-issue romantic comedies, and the sharp interplay between these two actors, especially in the beginning scenes, is refreshingly rapid-fire like a modern-day "His Girl Friday". With his constantly forlorn expression interrupted by moments of genuine happiness, Thomas Robinson is terrifically understated as Sebastian, and his unforced scenes with Bateman represent the true high points of the film.

A crack supporting cast has been assembled. As Wally's best friend and manager, the sarcastic ladies' man Leonard, Jeff Goldblum takes a predictable role and gives it his special, off-kilter twist. The result is his funniest turn in years, for example, his use of the term "ill-advised" during the moment of revelation is hilariously unexpected. The same can also be said for Juliette Lewis, who plays Kassie's constantly inappropriate best friend Debbie with her spacey delivery intact as she slings clever putdowns at Wally. Even Patrick Wilson, saddled with the no-win role of the golden boy Roland, who has no capacity for honest introspection, is funny in a role that gets diabolically transparent as the proceedings get complicated. The 2011 DVD/Blu-Ray offers a standard set of extras - a fifteen-minute making-of featurette ("The Switch Conceived"); about ten deleted and alternate scenes running for nearly half an hour in total, one a more purposeful variation on the central scene; and a brief blooper reel. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars B O R I N G, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Switch (Amazon Instant Video)
Rented this movie because I'm a fan of Jason Bateman. But, this movie was boringly boring and I wish I would've passed on it. How boring is boringly boring?? It took me over 9 hours to watch the whole thing cause the storyline & acting didn't interest me and I kept stopping it out of boredom to go do something else (like do the friggin dishes...that says a lot since I hate doing dishes). If you, like me, selected this film thinking it would be a dry-humored comedy in the vein of Arrested Development, I sincerely believe you will be disappointed. The acting was obvious - Juliette Lewis delivered the best performance in a supporting role, Bateman delivered second best, Aniston is the same as every character she's ever played, Goldblum was cliche, Patrick Wilson was decent. The pace of the scenes was painfully slow and drawn-out. There were many scenes where Bateman and Aniston were just walking (mopingly slow). It was predictable from the first 10 minutes and not funny. It was dumb. I was a fool to go solely on the amazon reviews...IMDb rates it as 5.9 out of 10 and Rotten Tomatoes had it at 51% with a 44% audience approval. Roeper summed it up best: "Likable cast wasted in a dopey comedy. But hey, at least it has the first head-lice-removal instructional montage in romcom history."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Story, Charming and Light, August 24, 2010
"The Switch" is charming and light fare and keeps your interest through a few cliche scenes. It takes a leap of faith to believe the premise, but once the story starts it hooks you with interest about what will happen to a little boy who wants to know who his father is.

"Switch" is a story of an unmarried 40 year old woman, Kassie, (Jennifer Aniston), who has her donor sperm switched without her knowing. At the artificial insemination party the donor (Patrick Wilson) and his wife talk to her best man friend, Wally, (Jason Bateman) about the decision to help Kassie become a mother. Wally secretly loves her and becomes upset and gets down and out drunk. When he uses the restroom, he inadvertently spills the donor "seed" and replaces it with his without, Kassie, the future mother knowing.

Seven years later, Kassie reunites with Wally, her best friend, who has been keeping his fatherhood a secret. He becomes best buddies with their child and has renewed love for his former girlfriend. Patrick Wilson plays Roland, the other love interest, he reminded me of a young Paul Newman, and Jeff Goldblum plays Wally's Boss and confidant.

I especially liked the six year old boy, played by Thomas Robinson.

The story is interesting, implausible, and predictable, but works as a light-hearted end of summer movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really?, August 9, 2013
This review is from: The Switch (Amazon Instant Video)
I'm not too picky when it comes to movies, especially romcoms, but I couldn't even sit through the whole thing. The only reason I even bothered skipping to the end to see how it turns out is because my fiancee wanted to see it, and even she was willing to skip the bulk of the movie after watching the first painful half hour. The guy is a negative dick, and the kid is also a negative dick. There is a significant amount of awkwardness, and the relationship between Jennifer Aniston's and Jason Bateman's characters does not reflect even the basic chemistry required for friendship (or if it does, friendship is all I could see it going, at least if she has any modicum of intelligence).

Now normally if I don't like a movie, I just stop watching and forego a bad review, but this movie has 4 stars right now, which is misleading more people like me into wasting precious minutes of our lives on it, so I wanted to bring down the average of an (at best) two and a half star movie. Highly recommend skipping this movie if you value your time in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2123 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa36aef54)

This product

The Switch [Blu-ray]
The Switch [Blu-ray] by Will Speck (Blu-ray - 2011)
$14.99 $4.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.