Customer Reviews


1,609 Reviews
5 star:
 (484)
4 star:
 (592)
3 star:
 (320)
2 star:
 (108)
1 star:
 (105)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 152 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Much Better Than I Ever Expected
Every so often there comes along a movie that most mainstream critics just don't like and I do. The Switch is one of those movies. Far nicer and sweeter than I expected, you may not LOVE this movie, but if it doesn't make you smile, there is something wrong with you.

Jennifer Aniston plays Kassie, a woman who is tired of waiting on a seemingly non-existent Mr...
Published on February 18, 2011 by D. Barbour

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rachel gets pregnant
This isn't really a funny movie. It isn't a romantic comedy either. It is not a drama. So, this was one long snooze fest for me. I stopped it after the first third and came back to it later. That tells you how griping and involving the story and characters were. Jennifer Aniston just seems to act like Rachel in every movie and the guy seems to plays a miserable sack of...
Published 15 months ago by Keane


‹ Previous | 1 2161 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 152 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Much Better Than I Ever Expected, February 18, 2011
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
Every so often there comes along a movie that most mainstream critics just don't like and I do. The Switch is one of those movies. Far nicer and sweeter than I expected, you may not LOVE this movie, but if it doesn't make you smile, there is something wrong with you.

Jennifer Aniston plays Kassie, a woman who is tired of waiting on a seemingly non-existent Mr. Right to start a family. She decides to find a donor who is tall and has a good sense of humor (traits not possessed by her best friend, the neurotic Wally (Jason Bateman)) and hold a very special gathering for friends and family. At this "insemination party", a very drunk Wally decides to 'switch' her donor's ingredient for his own, thus secretly hijacking her pregnancy. Fast-forward seven years and we meet Sebastian, Kassie's child, who is becoming more and more like his real father Wally by the day.

There is an underlying sad tension building all throughout the movie as we wait for the moment when Wally will put two and two together and remember what he did that fateful night, and then when he must reveal this dirty secret to Kassie. My guess is this is why some critics didn't like it. If you go into it with a better perspective though, it is more about how Wally decides he is ready to commit to this young child as a father, and how he is a better person for it, regardless of how everything ends up. A couple of scenes are downright touching, and the ending, while somewhat rushed and flawed, didn't ruin the story. I was not expecting much and in return got a whole lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm surprise, March 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
I'm a rom-com junkie who's mighty frustrated with the genre--how can most of these films be sub-par? doesn't that go against the rules of statistics?--and yet I must say I was pleasantly surprised by The Switch. It's a cut above the norm, mostly because of the relationship between father and son, which is warmly, sweetly, comedically and endearingly acted.

This film is Hollywood; despite a strange lull after the "switch" which suggests the pacing might go indie, it returns to Hollywood momentum. Which is fine, but the editing is slightly off there. That said, the charm and comedy of the father and son really do make this movie. I'm not into the standard manipulation of cute faces and piping voices for ratings, but these two are really sweet magic together.

Bateman's acting is touchingly understated when he's with the kid; the child (Thomas Robinson) is earnest and adorable and is so natural in his connection with his father. Aniston picks up credibility in a few of the intimate moments she has with Bateman--you feel her looking at him and being moved and wanting/wondering--but overall this really is a Bateman/Robinson movie.

I don't dislike Aniston in general, but I absolutely didn't "feel" her the way I did the other two. The movie has the usual Hollywood stock characters for best friends; Jeff Goldblum is amusing in a slightly quieter way than usual. But it's Bateman and Robinson, as a duo and separately, that make the movie a four star in its genre--and that make you long for the Bateman/Aniston characters to live happily ever after.

I rented it thinking it would be bad fluff. I watched it half-over again later that night, just to laugh and love a bit more with the father/son duo, and now I'm going to buy it for real. This isn't going to be the best romantic comedy you'll have ever watched (I hope), but it's not at all a bad way to spend a couple hours. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admiration of Comedic Timing in a Fine Cast, March 19, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
THE SWITCH is another story about artificial insemination and the impact it has on the participants. Yes, it has been done many times with varying results, but what makes this version of the story different and worthy of merit and attention is the sparkling screenplay by Allan Loeb adapted from the short story 'Baster' by gifted author Jeffrey Eugenides ('Middlesex', 'The Virgin Suicides', 'My Mistress's Sparrow is Dead', and short stories 'The Speed of Sperm', 'Air Mail', 'Ancient Myths', etc). It is a film that gives us the opportunity to remember the fine comic time of Jeff Goldblum, Jennifer Aniston, Jason Bateman, and Juliet Lewis, courtesy of the fine direction by Josh Gordon and Will Speck..

Wally Mars (Jason Bateman) is an oddly neurotic character who has a very difficult time connecting to people, especially in the dating department. His best friend is Kassie Larson (Jennifer Aniston) a successful woman who abruptly decides her biologic clock is ticking down and decides to have a baby by paying a sperm donor. Wally is shocked, but Kassie's other best friend Debbie (Juliette Lewis, bubbling brilliantly) supports her conviction to take charge of her life and plans a party to celebrate Kassie's incipient 'donation'. Kassie selects a potential donor in Roland (Patrick Wilson) who is a square and married teacher but 'needs the money'. At the party when the 'donation' is to be deposited, Wally gets drunk and accidentally spills Roland's 'contribution', and in drunken desperation replaces it with his own - a secret he doesn't even share with Leonard (Jeff Goldblum) with whom he works and has a strong friendship. The inseminated Kassie moves back home, returning seven years later with her six-year old son Sebastian (Thomas Robinson, a very fine child actor). Kassie courts the now divorced Roland, a blow to Wally who in his 'babysitting' chores grows close to Sebastian who is very much like Wally. How the story ends is predictable but heartwarmingly humorous, especially watching the relationship between Wally and Sebastian develop.

In addition to the strong cast of leading actors there are cameos by Kelli Barrett and especially the significantly impressive Scott Elrod (watch this young actor's career blossom!). Largely due to the smart dialogue delivered by specialists in comedy, this film works well. Grady Harp, March 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Story, Charming and Light, August 24, 2010
"The Switch" is charming and light fare and keeps your interest through a few cliche scenes. It takes a leap of faith to believe the premise, but once the story starts it hooks you with interest about what will happen to a little boy who wants to know who his father is.

"Switch" is a story of an unmarried 40 year old woman, Kassie, (Jennifer Aniston), who has her donor sperm switched without her knowing. At the artificial insemination party the donor (Patrick Wilson) and his wife talk to her best man friend, Wally, (Jason Bateman) about the decision to help Kassie become a mother. Wally secretly loves her and becomes upset and gets down and out drunk. When he uses the restroom, he inadvertently spills the donor "seed" and replaces it with his without, Kassie, the future mother knowing.

Seven years later, Kassie reunites with Wally, her best friend, who has been keeping his fatherhood a secret. He becomes best buddies with their child and has renewed love for his former girlfriend. Patrick Wilson plays Roland, the other love interest, he reminded me of a young Paul Newman, and Jeff Goldblum plays Wally's Boss and confidant.

I especially liked the six year old boy, played by Thomas Robinson.

The story is interesting, implausible, and predictable, but works as a light-hearted end of summer movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All about expectations, April 24, 2011
By 
Anna Robb "SaraShaw" (Boston, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
I went into this movie thinking it was going to be some slapstick comedy. Instead I got rather a drama with light elements. It is billed as a romance but it seems from the first reel the main characters are already in love or love each other, but just aren't willing to admit it to each other. It is as if we come in at the middle of a relationship. As as been mentioned Kassie has a shy and neurotic friend Wally. She decides to have a baby alone and not with him -- although Kassie doesn't seem to have a real problem with Wally, just again, isn't going to ask. Kassie seems to want Wally to "try harder stupid" and Wally seems determined not to do so. She continues to push forward and Wally ends up switching the donor's sample with his. Wally is drunk so he doesn't really remember doing this. Kassie moves away, again seemingly hoping Wally will say, I will go too, but he doesn't. Wally just won't put himself out there no matter what. Finally Kassie comes back to New York with her 6 year old.

Wally is stunned to find her son, Sebastian, shares a lot of his traits. Sebastian is neurotic, looks like Wally, and seems to like him too. Sebastian does not take to the man everyone thinks is his father -- the sperm donor. Wally finally remembers what he did and that Sebastian is his son and spends the rest of the movie trying to figure out how to tell Kassie. This journey is not a slapstick one. Wally, finally has to, and wants to, grow up. While his journey here has some funny moments, they are mostly dramatic and touching. The actor that plays Sebastian was just wonderful and you really buy Wally's transformation and growing love for his son. Wally's love for Kassie wasn't enough for him to put himself out there but the love of his son was. I think if you go into this thinking it is going to be like "just go with it" or some other Jennifer Aniston films you will be disappointed. But if you go in looking for a drama with comic elements you will be happy.

4 stars because some of the elements of the movie were not believable or did not work. Including Kassie's interest in the sperm donor after he gets a divorce. Jason Bateman is just much better looking imho than Patrick Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tired Insemination Premise Gives Rise to a Surprisingly Sharp Comedy with a Smart Cast, March 21, 2011
This review is from: The Switch (DVD)
If the Hollywood studios still made the type of urban comedies they made back in the early 1970's starring George Segal (usually) as a neurotic nebbish, then Jason Bateman's big-screen career would certainly be secure. As he displayed consistently on Arrested Development, the actor's dry delivery and slyly observant manner are a perfect match for Wally Mars, the comically cynical equities analyst he plays in this sadly overlooked 2010 romantic comedy co-directed by Will Speck and Josh Gordon (who much to my surprise, helmed the Will Ferrell figure-skating comedy, Blades of Glory). Although he is the true protagonist of the story, the movie was marketed as a Jennifer Aniston vehicle. She plays rising TV producer Kassie Larson, his long-ago girlfriend who has relegated him to the "friend zone" even though he obviously hasn't gotten over her.

Written with verve by Allen Loeb (who also co-wrote Aniston's other 2010 movie, the Adam Sandler starrer, Just Go With It), the story revolves around Kassie's ticking biological clock. In a seven-years-back flashback, she is seen deliberately bypassing Wally as a possible sperm donor in favor of a more predictable candidate, Roland, a struggling associate professor at Columbia, who happens to be married and drop-dead handsome. At an "insemination" party, Wally gets wasted and drops the carelessly placed vial of Roland's semen down the bathroom sink. This leaves Wally no choice but to replace the sample himself. Kassie eventually becomes pregnant and moves back home to Minnesota. Flash forward to the present, and Kassie returns to Manhattan with her six-year-old son Sebastian in tow. The fact that Sebastian acts like a miniature version of Wally gets completely past Kassie but not Wally who slowly realizes that out of his stupor years ago, his son was conceived.

Although this indiscretion would seem like the perfect excuse for Wally to reveal his true feelings for Kassie, complications ensue when she starts a relationship with Roland, now desperately on the rebound from a bitter divorce. At the same time, Wally forms a close bond with Sebastian who naturally gravitates toward him because of their mutual idiosyncrasies. Bateman handles Wally's evolution from self-absorbed fatalist to paternal protector with aplomb and surprising depth. Aniston is better served here than in most of her standard-issue romantic comedies, and the sharp interplay between these two actors, especially in the beginning scenes, is refreshingly rapid-fire like a modern-day "His Girl Friday". With his constantly forlorn expression interrupted by moments of genuine happiness, Thomas Robinson is terrifically understated as Sebastian, and his unforced scenes with Bateman represent the true high points of the film.

A crack supporting cast has been assembled. As Wally's best friend and manager, the sarcastic ladies' man Leonard, Jeff Goldblum takes a predictable role and gives it his special, off-kilter twist. The result is his funniest turn in years, for example, his use of the term "ill-advised" during the moment of revelation is hilariously unexpected. The same can also be said for Juliette Lewis, who plays Kassie's constantly inappropriate best friend Debbie with her spacey delivery intact as she slings clever putdowns at Wally. Even Patrick Wilson, saddled with the no-win role of the golden boy Roland, who has no capacity for honest introspection, is funny in a role that gets diabolically transparent as the proceedings get complicated. The 2011 DVD/Blu-Ray offers a standard set of extras - a fifteen-minute making-of featurette ("The Switch Conceived"); about ten deleted and alternate scenes running for nearly half an hour in total, one a more purposeful variation on the central scene; and a brief blooper reel. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical romantic comedy., August 24, 2010
It almost seems like a misnomer designating "The Switch" a romantic comedy. There is romance, but in my book the chemistry between Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman was a little sketchy at best. The real draw was the dynamic between Bateman and Thomas Robinson, who brilliantly plays Sebastian, the little boy in the movie. Watching the two grow in their father and son relationship was endearing and heartfelt. I would also have to add that Jeff Goldblum and Juliette Lewis added their quirky twists in the supporting cast area. They did keep the comedic relief moving along, but...... The movie overall was a little slow. While I did enjoy it, I never did feel any real connection between Bateman and Aniston and that left a decent sized hole in the overall plot.

Jennifer Anniston plays a working woman who finds her biological clock shifting into overdrive. She hasn't found that perfect man yet, but decides that he is not needed in order for her to have a child. So she sets in motion the process of having a baby as a single mother, all on her own. This is where the twist occurs when her best friend Bateman inadvertently injects his own input into the birthing plan, and life takes an interesting twist.

Bateman is a successful businessman who has more neurotic issues than most average everyday citizens. From humming while he eats, to convincing himself he has almost every sickness known to mankind, he just can't quite get his personal life on track. The poor guy can't even figure out he is in love with Jennifer for thirteen years. He really does define the definition of slow. So Anniston gets pregnant but before the baby is born, decides to move back to her small Midwest home in order to be close to family. Seven years pass and she ends up moving back to New York City, but this time she has a six year old boy in tow.

Anniston and Bateman reconnect as old friends do, and at long last start to realize they might have feelings beyond just friendship, and then of course the third wheel comes into the picture and messes things up. This part of the story was a little weak for me. The triangle formed by Bateman, Anniston and the other guy never seemed real or believable. It was awkward and almost distracted you from the overwhelming draw that inadvertently consumed your attention, which was the interaction between Bateman and Robinson.

There are so many wonderful moments between father and son as they both grow to understand and acknowledge one another, that it almost seemed more of a movie about them than anything else. Thomas Robison was perfectly cast as the quirky neurotic six year old, and his one liners had me laughing out loud. Who knows a little boy that wants to have his birthday party at a last call animal shelter, and the lice scene for anyone who has a child was too funny. Bateman looked at home wearing his plastic shower cap.

So I absolutely enjoyed the movie overall but if you see it expecting a typical romantic cookie cutter comedy you will most likely be disappointed. The romance was flawed at best, but the movie was saved by the neurosis of Bateman who was fantastic in his journey to maturity, albeit a slow one that at times had to drag him forward under severe protest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rachel gets pregnant, August 9, 2013
This isn't really a funny movie. It isn't a romantic comedy either. It is not a drama. So, this was one long snooze fest for me. I stopped it after the first third and came back to it later. That tells you how griping and involving the story and characters were. Jennifer Aniston just seems to act like Rachel in every movie and the guy seems to plays a miserable sack of @#$% well. The movie doesn't really explore any of the many good topics (single parent homes, absent fathers, sperm donation, males and females being best friends, dating, etc.) or themes. Skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect movie for my husband and I, March 22, 2011
This review is from: The Switch (2010) (Amazon Instant Video)
We've been waiting for this to come out on DVD for months and it was well worth the wait. This was a movie my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed. Even though it was predictable, it was funny (in a fairly clean way) and heartwarming. We didn't expect it to be deep or terribly realistic, but we were entertained despite having high expectations.

To give you a sense for comparable types of movies, we also liked Hitch, The Killers, The Bounty Hunters, and The Proposal. Fairly clean, funny, sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aniston shows depth in new comedy, August 22, 2010
Jennifer Aniston, America's Sweetheart! At an age (40+), when most actresses no longer play romantic leads, she shines radiantly and acts with ever increasing depth. She still looks hot to me.

Now her character Kassie, well, .... She's successful, intelligent, and pigheaded. While she is busy becoming successful, her biological alarm clock goes BONG. There is a famous Sufi story of a man who rode as fast as he could from one side of Arabia to the other in search of his horse, only to realize at the end he was riding on it! In this somewhat formulaic romantic comedy Kassie doesn't realize her somewhat sensitive shy BBF and confidant is actually a good choice as the husband she wants. She wants to have a baby and she won't let not being married stand in the way. Justin Bateman plays the introverted BBF Wally. As you watch this, you want to shake both of them and say "wake up and look around you". Kassie is infuriatingly independent, to her own detriment. Just as Bateman is shy, to his... But that's where the comedy and plot is, without giving too much away. Kassie finds she has underestimated the difficulty of raising a son without a father, she needs more than a turkey baster...Thomas Robinson plays Sebastian, the shy funny and neurotic son from a young actor who will be seen again. Certainly a comedy for a modern age. This movie will doubtless be seen by more women than men but it shouldn't be, it has a lot to say about men and fatherhood.

It's not "Citizen Kane", but it is witty, warmhearted and touching and Aniston shows more depth with each new role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2161 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Switch (2010)
The Switch (2010) by Will Speck
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.