Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking and unlike anything you've ever read before
The Sync Book is an anthology of essays having to do with "Synchromysticism," a new method or discipline that involves using synchronicity as a guide for meditative, contemplative, and creative practices.
"Synchronicity is the experience of two or more events, that are apparently causally unrelated or unlikely to occur together by chance, that are observed to occur...
Published on October 23, 2011 by Marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay
the tendency to synchronize is one of the most pervasive drives in the universe, extending from atoms, animals, people to plants. 26 authors contribute to understanding of synchronicity in the media and personal lives. I love natural synchronicity, when the universe clobbers you with some message whether a call from someone you're thinking about to the joy of hearing a...
Published 11 months ago by Joseph L. Kolb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking and unlike anything you've ever read before, October 23, 2011
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
The Sync Book is an anthology of essays having to do with "Synchromysticism," a new method or discipline that involves using synchronicity as a guide for meditative, contemplative, and creative practices.
"Synchronicity is the experience of two or more events, that are apparently causally unrelated or unlikely to occur together by chance, that are observed to occur together in a meaningful manner." - Wikipedia
"Synchromystics" are people who observe synchronicities and attempt to derive meaning from them - this often involves applying occult symbolic and numerological concepts, as symbols, signs, and numbers have long been considered by mystics to be a primary medium through which we can understand higher truths and experience the underlying unity of all things.
The term "synchromysticism," I believe was coined only a few years ago. Before that, there were writers that could be considered "synchromystic," but it never solidified into a sort of global artistic movement until it was given a name. The other two things or catalysts that helped create synchromysticism in its current form were the rise of internet blogging and the 9-11 attacks (you have to read some of the material to understand why this is.)
Each of the 26 authors who contribute to this book offer a unique perspective and a unique style to this new field of "study" (its really more like an entirely new way of interacting with the world). They are all gifted writers, and the essays run the gamut of informative, intellectual, emotional, funny, sad, beautiful - but they all have the mystical component which points to the underlying unity and intelligence that seems to express itself in the world in the most unusual of ways.
I can say with total absolute confidence that there is no other book like this. As I was reading the book, I was pulled into the same "syncs" I was reading about. I noticed a marked increase in synchronicities, many having to do with the content from the book. I can almost guarantee that if you read this book, the same thing will happen to you. That seems to be the way synchronicities work, and that's really what makes this such a fascinating book. Its not that its well written (sometimes it isn't, but most of the time it is), just the act of reading it will change the way you interact with the universe. This book is magical in the most literal sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Couldn't put it down., November 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
I heard of this book while listening to Alan Abbadessa-Green's interview on Red Ice Radio. Already being interested in the anomaly that is synchronicity/synchromysticism, I immediately went to Amazon and ordered Alan's book. I was very enthralled by what these great authors had to say. I connected with some more than others, but over-all, the entire experience was positive. I'm now going to these synchro mystic's blogs to further read about what they have to say. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in enlightening their lives or whoever experiences "coincidences" so much that it completely engulfs their daily thoughts. One night, when I chose a card from my tarot deck. I got the trump card, "The Fool". A couple hours later, I read in Jake Kotze's chapter: "In order to notice that one thing-event (situation, object or symbol) has an affinity to another, often means being "loose" with our associations. In a sense, to see and understand sync we must become fools--free from the limitations, but not the benefits, of mind." Gotta love synchronicity. Good work Alan and all your contributing authors.

-Dom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense trip through some galaxies of Sync, June 1, 2012
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
The Sync Book provides a discussion of life that is not mainstream though it is embedded in the stream of life.

Imagine thinking that you see everything in your world clearly, only to realize that a few elements you took for granted were actually out of focus. That is the closest I feel I will ever get to describing how this book impacted me. It took me a very long time to digest this book. I can easily see it's cultural appreciation increasing with age because it's so packed with sincerity. Most of the authors do an excellent job of breaking down their concepts of sync. They take you from earth aka planet home into their own galaxies and then deliver you back home in hopes that you craft a lens for yourself to use towards exploring your experiences in life.

My only warning would be if you are a bit unfamiliar with fundamental Western culture, especially in religion and new age beliefs - you might have to supplement this book with quick internet searches - but do not let that discourage you from picking up this book.

I would even go as far to say... if this book found a way into your life, it is not by accident. I can't tell you the mechanics of behind the conditions that lead to you coming across The Sync Book. Even more importantly you should know now that you won't find an answer to why it popped up in the book itself either. What I can tell you is that for whatever reason it popped up during the strangest period of time in my life and when I read it, I felt like it was addressing me.

So in short summary The Sync Book is a delightfully strange and intense read. Its one of my favorite books of all time. If it finds a way into your path don't ignore it. Give it a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, December 31, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
the tendency to synchronize is one of the most pervasive drives in the universe, extending from atoms, animals, people to plants. 26 authors contribute to understanding of synchronicity in the media and personal lives. I love natural synchronicity, when the universe clobbers you with some message whether a call from someone you're thinking about to the joy of hearing a song on the radio. like any compilation, thee are some good and bad articles. all authors have their own blog, facebook and twitter to follow. I don't look for meaning in the mundane. most of the articles appear quite obsessed with interpretation and meaning to any and everything. some turn ampersands sideways claiming the number 4, while others obsess over Michael Jackson and rainbow connections. there is poetry, graphic comic and a short story offered also. there are countless references to the Matrix, Star Wars and Alice in Wonderland. I appreciate there is unity in everything and we're all connected, but the personal experiences and interpretations provided here are akin to watching chess or a dart match. most of the explanations are more remarkable than the phenomenon itself. many contributors are justifying trying to cram a square peg in a round hole for the sake of meaningful experience. most articles demonstrate the silly obsessions with numbers and letters that honestly, appear insignificant (unless you're into gemateria). There are excellent articles also: Goro Adachi, jake Kotze, Kevin Halcoffe and Sibyl Hunter all contribute excellent writing. Life experiences are what you ascribe to them. Use whatever experiences as guideposts to help you in life. just don't dwell on the reflection of yourself in the water and make it out to be more than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Excellent, December 3, 2012
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
First let me comment on just the aesthetic of the book itself. It has great cover design, the binding is durable, and the artwork/imagery throughout gift it with a certain dynamism and character rarely seen in most publications. As for the content, this is just a tremendous primer on the psychedelic world we inhabit. Certain testimonials/narratives/essays will likely resonate with you more than others, but whether you agree with everyone or not, that is what makes dialoguing with the book such a joy. I heard David Bohm in an interview state that people have simply lost the ability to communicate with eachother because each is trying to impose their will upon the other, instead of seeking truth and wisdom in what the other person's perspective has to offer. Thus this is good practice for expanding how you engage with the world in a general sense. You'll get many perspectives, and be exposed to all kinds of interesting concepts including ayahuasca, jungian mass unconscious, astrology, gemetria, tarot, and of course synchronicity. If you have an inkling that life was not some kind of cosmic accident, I reccomend you do some reading on sync and start understanding the hidden language of life that surrounds you, and could guide you if you so wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Weird, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
There's nothing quite like a weird book. A GOOD weird book. You can fake a lot of things, but you can't fake a good weird book. The Sync Book is a good weird book. I can't say that this is my favorite weird book of all time (Leary's Game of Life comes to mind) but it's close. Plus The Sync Book arrived at a time when I feared weird books had disappeared. I'm happy to say it carries the torch admirably, and points us in a hundred different directions saying "look over here!" and "look over there!" and "isn't it all just wonderfully weird?!" So yeah, get weird. Buy one today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading journey into Sync, November 12, 2011
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
The SyncBook is a great reading journey: there are places to rest, many mountains to climb and few valleys on the way. Most importantly, the reader is getting in contact with Sync, one of the weirdest phenomenons in what is known as reality. As the reader already is, always has been and will be involved in this phenomenon, the SyncBook might support the process of realising this mystery we all share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ERASES THE LINE BETWEEN WORLD AND MIND, December 29, 2012
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
There are already plenty of books out there about coincidences and synchronicity, but this book breaks new ground by exploring the minds of those who have made an obsessive hobby of mapping them out, both in their personal lives and in the collective mind we see reflected back at us in pop culture and mass media. Diving into the complex webworkings of connections created by various online sync communities has given us a perspective on both our global culture and our own individual worlds that has perhaps never been available before, opening up new horizons of understanding and evolution that encompass and transcend everything we used to know. This book covers a wide range of views and methods of exploration, accessible to all those new to the subject or simply curious about it, and yet its just as eye-opening for even the most advanced synchromystic. And what's more, this book's sequel is bigger and even better, I highly recommend getting them both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explore Your Basic In"SYNC" .-), January 19, 2012
By 
Brizdaz (Brisbane,Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
Synchronistic fields of gold to take your own prospecting pan to and find your own nuggets of wisdom.
An interesting collection of ideas from 26 bloggers on the subject of synchronicity,for your consideration,and what it all means to them personally.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synchromysticism- I always wanted to know what to call it., November 21, 2011
This review is from: The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity (Paperback)
HIGHLY recommend this book!

"Synchromysticism explores this phenomenon - the interpenetration of all things - and seeks to increase the ability to recognize relationships, by relaxing the rigid conceptualization of the world. This inevitably leads to a more joyful and whole everyday experience, as the environment, and person experiencing that environment, become part of a conscious interactive process of Self-Realization."

It was with profound happiness to read and relate in such a deep way to this beautiful and fascinating collection of fictional and non-fictional accounts.

Thank you Alan Abbadessa and the over twenty other authors for this incredible analysis of our synchronistic universe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sync Book: Myths, Magic, Media, and Mindscapes: 26 Authors on Synchronicity
$18.99 $15.42
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.