Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars54
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2002
Levy presents a well-articulated, easily read treatment of the Tabernacle of Moses, its furnishings, utensils, services and priestly clothing and functions. A great book to read to see how God was foreshadowing His Son, Jesus, well before His incarnation. Levy clearly ties together Old Testament practices & theology, which we often ignore, and New Testament beliefs. I would recommend this to anyone interested in understanding: (a) more about the Tabernacle itself, (b) a deeper insight into Jewish practices and their foundations, (c) a fuller and richer understanding of God's plan of redemption and atonement, sanctification and regeneration, worship and communication with God.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 1999
This book really opened my eyes to the fact that God doesn't overlook even the smallest of details (like sockets that the curtain was hung from). Comprehensive, giving not only scripture references, but the original Hebrew text and contextual meaning. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to understand who God is and His desire to be with His people.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2000
Easy to read and understand. Material flows easily making the book hard to put down. Very informative and shows how every part of the tabernacle had a prophetic, redemptive and typical significance. A treasure to own and study over and over again.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2008
I was very interested in this book before it arrived, but was very disappointed with the actual text. While the historical information is good and seems solid, the applied symbolism lacks support or back up of any kind. I finally set the book down after 3 chapters. Too many times I would find a statement like, "...and this symbolizes XYZ in Christianity." No back up, so scriptural support, not even a historical claim. Anyone can say, "this means that."
This could be great with some attention to detail.
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2004
The Tabernacle: Shadows Of The Messiah, Its Sacrifices, Services, And Priesthood by David M. Levy examines the description and ministries of the Tabernacle as portrayed in fifty chapters of the Old Testament. This extensively researched presentation, offering full-color photographs and a wealth of archaeological evidence as well as close study of the Old Testament itself, sheds new light on the sacrifices, services, and priesthood of this ancient institution which figures so prominently in Judeo-Christian religious history. The Tabernacle is a welcome and highly recommended addition to Biblical Studies reading lists.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2003
WOW! This book has opened my mind and heart to Leviticus. A great bible study that will move you forward in your understanding of God's plan. I went through the book quickly and now I am taking my time to study it out. Very exciting. This is a good choice.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
We chose this book, because I was doing research on the Wilderness Tabernacle and thought that it would nice to get this book for more information. It was good, but because I already had a lot of info, this book didn't really add on. But it does have some information that I didn't have in my studies
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2010
This is an excellent presentation of the meaning behind the details God instructed Moses to include in the tabernacle building, its furnishings and utensils. Like all of the Old Testament, there is significant meaning in the surface account of the tabernacle, particularly as it relates to the worship practices of the Israelites. But beneath that surface account is even more significant spiritual meaning, all of it pointing toward Christ and God's plan for the redemption and restoration of fallen man.

This book is a great beginning to appreciating the hidden spiritual content in all of the Old Testament. The saving of Noah and his family through the flood points toward the saving of sinners through washing in the blood of the Lamb. Abraham's offering of his son Isaac on the altar points toward the Father's immeasurable gift of His Only Begotten Son on the cross for the atonement of all sin. Every account in the Old Testament holds within it the potential for better understanding of Christ and His centrality to God's plan for bringing His children back to His side. Study of the symbolism of the tabernacle should be followed by a similar study of the seven sacred feasts, the events of the exodus, the days of creation, and the other accounts of the Old Testament that are storehouses of deep spiritual truth. Here is another good resource for such a study: The DiVine Code: Compelling Evidence of the Bible's Divine Inspiration (Volume 1)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
The book is interesting. I find that most of the discussion is backed with scripture to prove the points as fact. However some is just opinion. This is fine except the way it is written the difference is not made clear to the reader.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2003
If you want a great overview of how God has designed Isreal as a foreshadowing of Jesus and his ministry, this book will turn on the light. Easy to read and insightful.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.