Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Tale of Genji: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2016
This is excellent. Don't avoid it because of the length- it is a masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
the work is a master piece anyway, the physical book is poorly bound up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
Book is in good quality and it is the unabridged version I was looking for
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
Lives up to its reputation of one of the great novels of all time. Wonderful view into the Heian period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
The annotations are quite helpful. The translation reads well. Grammatical errors are rare. Most people who read this book are doing so because they have to for academic purposes, like a class or something. If you have to choose between this translation and others, such as the Arthur Waley translation, I highly recommend this version, simply because it reads as modern English, with modern grammatical structure and modern common sentence structure. Arthur Waley's translation is modern, but his choice in wording and sentence structure makes it easy to see the book as a sort of cloud of words, to get lost and confused in, rather than a story with a narrative and structure.

The formatting is also quite nice. This version is the first version that I've seen, that has separate paragraphs for poems and dialogue. The illustrations are useless though... or at least that's what I thought.

The story itself is very straight forward. It is strange. The narrative and descriptions are strange because sometimes it's hard to tell if we're just reading the words of an untrustworthy gossip, or an omniscient, omnipresent, traditional, straight forward, trustworthy narrator.

For more complete understanding of the story, I recommend reading the Japanese creation myths, The Kojiki, particularly chapters about Izangi, Amaterasu and the banishment of Susanoo. I doubt reading the entire Kojiki is helpful to better understand the story of the tale of Genji.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
I read this book and typed a review for AP World History and I enjoyed this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
"The Tale of Genji" was an astounding book by Murasaki Shikibu. She did and astounding job at portraying Genji. The authors purpose was to describe the high life and its treasures and downsides as well as provide a character, lovable by anyone, and she did just that.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in fictional novels. This is one of the best that I have read so far. The ways in which the characters were portrayed and defined was astounding. Again, if you have an extra $20.00 to spend I wouldn't waist it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
This was my first exposure to classic Japanese literature. It was entertaining, enlightening and educational. I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Tale of Genji. The translation was superb and the translating author's notations and accompanying explanations placed the characters and the world within which they lived into an easy to understand perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
Wow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.