Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful. Cuts through stereotypes of Appalachian women.
Hurray for Wilma Dykeman! This book cuts through all the old stereotypes of Southern Appalachian women and life. She gives grace and respectability to women of the mountains. I put off reading this book for years, and now can't believe I did. Although written about a woman during Civil War times, the story has meaning and impact for women today. Today's modern...
Published on November 13, 1998

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed for Midwest Book Review
Lydia Moore grew up in the Appalachian region before the Civil War and married Mark McQueen shortly after it began. Her husband went off to fight for the Union while her father and brother fought for the Confederates. While the men were gone, outliers raided Lydia's mother's home, assaulting her and stealing the livestock. A pregnant Lydia returned to her old home place...
Published on September 7, 2009 by Christy Tillery French


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful. Cuts through stereotypes of Appalachian women., November 13, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
Hurray for Wilma Dykeman! This book cuts through all the old stereotypes of Southern Appalachian women and life. She gives grace and respectability to women of the mountains. I put off reading this book for years, and now can't believe I did. Although written about a woman during Civil War times, the story has meaning and impact for women today. Today's modern working mom can take heart in knowing that her sacrifices and hard work may not go unnoticed in the end. The historical content of the book, although not the main focus, is thought provoking. The story flowed easily. Lydia McQueen will leave a mark on your heart for the unsung heroes the world over. A must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Literary Masterpiece, June 22, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
As an English major, I have read hundreds of books throughout my four years of college. This is, without a doubt, the one of the best books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Dykeman's portrayal of post-war Appalachia is accurate and moving. The McQueen's struggles in putting their lives back together provide a realistic portrait of the horrors and suffering of the South after the Civil War. This is a MUST READ book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A female Cold Mountain, July 3, 2002
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Hardcover)
This book is in its 40th printing. That should say something
about its popularity and timelessness. Lydia McQueen grows up, marries, has many children and dies. That describes many of us but the setting is the Civil War and the many years after the
Civil War in Appalachia.
Lydia is a strong woman with many doubts about her actions and
those around her. But she acts and that makes her powerful.
Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite, January 7, 2002
By 
Rachel Greene (Blowing Rock, NC, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Hardcover)
A magnificent view of life in the beautiful mountains of Appalachia after the Civil War. If you love to read about strong women the likes of those who made this country what it is then you must not miss this book. I'm so thankful my mother steered me to read what has become my all time favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rewarding, January 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
A nifty portrayal of courage after the Civil War, within a typical mountain family of Appalachia. A lot of sentimentality, a lot of family relationships--births, deaths, friends, etc. A couple neat twists, and makes you glad to be alive again. Elevates the family, and weaves together a little bit of religion to make you think. Hard to find a wholesome modern book anymore. If you like old fashioned values and appreciate life in the 1870's with all its down-to-earthiness you should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle Southern Appalachian Book, September 30, 2010
By 
smokymountaincritter (Knoxville, Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
Here's a good read about Southern Appalachia. It's plot is simple, dignified, and devoid of inbreeding, a literal roll in the hay, and the inevitable moonshine still.

The protagonist, Lydia McQueen, wears lightly the cape of the Southern Appalachian female. Without dwelling on the fact, she is often thrust into sorrow, hardship, and hate by the men in her life. Her husband is altered by the Civil War. The local big dog torments her for rejecting him years ago.

Along with this, she raises and buries children, works her farm, and does all she can toward the betterment of her community. THIS is the true Southern lady. Not the moonlight in magnolia. Not the hoop skirt. Not the mint julep. Just rough hands, strong arms, and gentle speech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a moving tribute, October 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book! I was so inspired by Lydia that I didn't want the book to end. She was truly a modern woman living in a past time. She did the best she could do with what she had; loved, lost, and went on, trying to make her small world a better place. Indeed, I felt a better person for having known her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good story of what life was like in Appalachia in the early days., April 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
This was a very good story that probably depicts fairly accurately how life was in the late 1800's and early 1900's in Appalachia. Great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wilma Dykeman is a Literary Treasure, October 29, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
Wilma Dykeman's novel is a beautiful tale of weakness and strength, bitterness and redemption, despair and joy. Within the character of Lydia McQueen, the author creates the feminine perspective that still resounds in daughters, wives, mothers, and sisters everywhere.
Throughout the novel. Dykeman's gift for poetic prose matches the beauty of Lydia's life and the solid truths her character reveals. I have been a fan of Dykeman's essays for years. I will definitely keep this book on my shelf for another read. Dykeman is a literary treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tall Woman (Paperback)
A truly remarkable story of a truly remarkable woman! You will really enjoy this heartfelt tale. At least I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Tall Woman
The Tall Woman by Wilma Dykeman (Paperback - June 1982)
$10.95 $9.88
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.