Start reading The Tebow Mystique on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

The Tebow Mystique: The Faith and Fans of Football's Most Polarizing Player [Kindle Edition]

Patton Dodd
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Book Description

Denver Broncos quarterback Tim Tebow is a phenomenon unlike any other in sports today. His college and young pro career have long invited scrutiny, but since Tebow was named starting quarterback in the fall of 2011, a Tebow Mystique has descended upon the country, and it has inspired a raging, fever-pitched debate about the young man, his evangelical Christian beliefs, and his athletic performance.
.
The mystique has two key features--Tebow's unprecedented popularity and his uncanny on-the-field performance. Because both are charged by religious fervor, many people see the phenomenon as yet another expression of America's ongoing culture war. But Patton Dodd argues that the Tebow Mystique is not primarily about cultural conflict. It's about God. And it's about football. And it's best understood by taking a closer look at what those two phenomena–those two gods–have to do with one another.


Product Details

  • File Size: 108 KB
  • Print Length: 29 pages
  • Publisher: Patheos (November 11, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0066T2E12
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #537,324 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dodd does is again! November 17, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Patton Dodd thoughtfully investigates the phenomenon that is Tim Tebow. His analysis, much to the surprise of this reader who was expecting merely a football story, is actually causing me to take a hard look at how I'm raising my children. Will they be "character savants" who, by reason of years of practicing virtue, acquire skills for the journey? Or will they be those who are addicted to adrenaline and ecstasy, expecting a "miracle" to overtake them from out of nowhere?

This brilliant analysis goes far beyond football. If you live with it and engage it, you will find yourself thinking and asking big questions.

Mazel tov, Dodd.
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem November 16, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a great little book on the Tebow phenomenon. It's as much a book about the uniqueness of Tebow as it is a peek into the odd relationship between sports and religion in America. Dodd writes with a clear and passionate style reminiscent of (at least in my head) Chuck Klosterman.

All in all, this book is an easy five stars as just about anyone will enjoy it, Tebow fan or not.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An objective look at the Tebow phenomenon November 14, 2011
By JLK
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
How to explain all the inflamed and irrational passion for a second-year QB whom a consensus of experts believe is doomed to failure?

In a word, perhaps: *Hope*. Patton Dodd smartly peels away the many layers of the Tebow mystique to find, at its heart, our hope that something unexpected might happen. Maybe even something we'd call miraculous.

This, of course, is the language of faith, for which Tebow is known, and so what we love about sports gets conflated with what we love... and then it's no surprise that our response to a 57-yard-touchdown pass by an excitable, charismatic and virtuous young leader is to throw our arms in the air, drop to our knees, and shout, "Hallelujah!"

(Which is exactly what I did, yesterday. Though, to be honest, as a Broncos fan I am Tebowing for Luck.)

The Tebow story needs some objectivity, and to be viewed through a bigger lens than throwing mechanics or college wins. Dodd provides that perspective, and some insights you won't read elsewhere.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hard Work and Faith Go Hand in Hand December 12, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As I write this review with Tim Tebow at the helm as quarterback of the Denver Broncos are 7-1. Almost all of these victories seem to be "miraculous" wins. It's hard to open the sports page, turn on talk radio, go on the Internet, or watch television without hearing about the latest exploits of Tim Tebow - his faith and his wins.

According to Dodd the Tebow Mystique has two main features: "First, Tim Tebow's unprecedented popularity; and second, his uncanny on-the-field performance." The Tebow phenomenon seems to be based on the combination of his work ethic and character based on his faith in Jesus Christ. He has what Max Weber wrote about in how some individuals can inspire "charismatic authority" a leadership style based on integrity of character - when your walk matches your talk.

Dodd makes this excellent observation, "It's fair to say that Tim Tebow and his siblings were raised to be character savants in the way that Tiger Woods was raised to be a sport savant and Mozart was raised to be a music savant." All the football analysts keep expecting Tebow and the Broncos to fail, but as Tebow says, "Hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard."

I for one am enjoying the spotlight on a guy who is passionate for God and helping others on and off the football field. It remains to be seen whether he will win the Super Bowl, or have successful career in the NFL. My hope is that whether Tebow wins or loses he will continue to remain a good role model and example to the myriads of young people who are looking for heroes. It's nice for a change to see someone walking the talk, and making a difference in people's lives on and off the field.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars An unappreciated football hero June 15, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Tebow's debut in the NFL may well have been his best. As a player, he now may well be hexed, but I still believe his leadership skills are yet to be fully realized.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Patton Dodd is the executive editor of Bondfire Books and a contributing editor at large for Patheos. He is the author of The Tebow Mystique: The Faith and Fans of Football's Most Polarizing Player and My Faith So Far: A Story of Conversion and Confusion. His writing on religion and culture has appeared in a wide range of publications, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Newsweek, Slate, Financial Times, Christianity Today, Cineaste, Books & Culture, The Shambhala Sun, and The Revealer. Patton taught writing, literature, and film at the United States Air Force Academy, and holds a Ph.D. in religion and literature from Boston University.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category