Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Telegraph
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 24, 2009
The content of the Telegraph on the Kindle is good, and once you are used to browsing by section rather than scanning pages for stories the experience of reading a 'paper' on the Kindle is certainly acceptable.

On the negative side, and this is not just related to the Telegraph but also other newspapers delivered outside of the US, the lack of images and tables takes a lot from the reading experience. Amazon need to resolve this and deliver the same content to Europe and the US including images where appropriate, especially where they are referred to in the text.

Delivery time of the Telegraph could be better, at the moment it is slightly too late to read when commuting to the office in mainland Europe :(

**EDIT** I assumed this subscription would also include the Sunday Telegraph which is not the case - no Sunday paper is delivered with this subscription.

**EDIT 2** After checking my Kindle today (29-11-2009) I have a Sunday Telegraph downloaded, finally it seems that the Sunday edition is being delivered :)
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2009
The preview image for the Kindle version of the Telegraph includes a large, attractive colour image. You won't find this in the international Kindle edition. The Kindle itself doesn't support colour, and Amazon has seen fit to deny subscribers access to images and tables. Additional issues include the (unmentioned) fact that the Sunday edition is excluded and the (also unmentioned) additional $4.99/week cost to automatically receive the journal while outside the US. I feel a strongly worded letter to the Telegraph may be in order.

As for the content, the Telegraph is, like the other "broadsheet" UK newspapers (the Times, the Guardian and the Independent; although the Telegraph is the only one which actually remains a "true" broadsheet in the flesh) consistently well written, and although it's notionally to the right of the other three, its partisanship is sufficiently nuanced that you don't have to be a fulminating tory to read it. I'm not actually a Conservative supporter, I just prefer the Telegraph for its more traditional style. The Kindle edition is easy to navigate, though very different from reading a newspaper, and you will probably find yourself spending more time reading articles you might have skimmed over with the digital edition. I've noticed minor errors in the type (often the first letter is lost from an article) which are presumably introduced in the digitisation process.

The lack of the Sunday edition, and of even a basic set of images (I accept I'm not going to get the Sunday magazine) strikes me as crazy; hopefully at some point Amazon will see sense, or else Ofcom will intervene in what are presumably punitive network charges being passed on to the end user.

EDIT: as of 29 Nov 2009, the Sunday edition seems to be being delivered - including the magazine(s). Still no pictures, though.
22 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2009
The availability of the Kindle in Europe offers the Expat community an unprecidented opportunity to get access to English newspapers at a considerable saving over the hardcopy price.

Is it the articles from the Newspaper' Yes
Is it easy to read and navigate? Yes
Is it perfect? No

The lack of images is a big issue, for some articles this is vital, The Times gave up all print in its front page many, many years ago, so regardless of the cost this should be included.

Newspapers should be exact copies of the page and allow you to either expand the view to read the text. Other ebooks allow this and this shortcoming will only become more eveident when colour machines become available.

All this is made clear in the text when you purchase the subscription so no foul play, but boy could it be so much better
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2010
I'm enjoying reading this right-of-centre newspaper as a treat whilst I'm in china. Content is as expected, how Brown's days are numbered as pm, lunacy of h&s and pc, politics and the 'truth' about agw.

sections are really easy to navigate, with individual precise of articles in each section (highlight the number after each section on the menu and click) but the are random sentences at the end of each article, one assumes from photo legends or sub headings within the article.

Formatting isn't 100%, and price is abusive of international kindle users, but a great way of keeping updated about life in uk.

A word of warning- you cannot unsubscribe from your kindle or the internet within China.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2009
Such a pity that the basic 'sections' only give news, business, letters and no sub-menu. What would really sell this newspaper would be a list of articles in each section (headlines - they are called that for a reason!) so I could think 'that sounds interesting, I will read that' rather than painstakingly going through every article to get to the next and not knowing what is next. No logic at all

Disappointed: for all the technology this is poor.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2010
I Have a UK version of the Kindle I used to subscribe to this and Newsweek magazine but the absence of photos or any other images on the UK version really makes this and the silly price (half the price in the US?) an expensive waste of time. Great novelty factor but a terrible user experience.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
Used to be a great world class NEWSpaper. Digital edition is a big letdown as most times it fails to load and customer service is non responsive.
I took out an annual subscription but cancelled because of access problems and bad customer servicei.e., no help whatever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
The overall reporting is straight forward and well written. It is way less biased than say the BBC or the NYT's. Reading the WSJ and the Telegraph is a great way to stay informed about North America, the Uk and the E.U. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
I have always liked this newspaper for Sports and especially cricket. I was born in India, and my father was a philatelist. In the late 70s, he received a Stanley Gibbon's Stamp Album from his philatelist friends in UK wrapped in a Daily Telegraph as protection, and that was how I was introduced to it.
I have liked the presentation, the British news and simply the presentation on the Kindle. Living in the US, I have always read this newspaper in the County libraries, and have bought the paper editions occasionally at book stores. I am not a regular subscriber, but I do browse this newspaper on the web on a fairly regular basis. Now that it is available on Kindle, I will probably buy it from time to time too, depending on political events, sports and simply the British perspective as represented by this newspaper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
I've tried most of the UK papers on Kindle and several international papers too and I find The Telegraph the best. There's a lot of content, particularly at weekends. Well presented, excellent journalism, good UK, International and business coverage and interesting features. A good variety of columnists too who will delight or infuriate you. Delighted that I can view it on my iPhone Kindle app too. I look forward to seeing the colour version when the Kindle Fire is available in Europe.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.