Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Mr. Robinson and Mr. Pierpont
A very impressive work! The preface gives a fascinating summary of Greek New Testament text types, as well as an explanation of how this particular Byzantine textform was arrived at. Another reviewer did not seem to like the essay at the back of the book being included as part of the work. I respect that criticism, but personally I found it helpful at correcting some of...
Published on April 30, 2006 by John Jeffrey Dodson

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great text but...
I,m a believer in the Majority Text and I think every student of the Greek NT should have a copy of this to use for study or research no matter which text you prefer. This is a great text and the font is perfectly sized and styled for easy reading but there are a few reasons that this will most likely not end up being my daily reader.
1) The books are not arranged...
Published 20 months ago by R Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Mr. Robinson and Mr. Pierpont, April 30, 2006
By 
John Jeffrey Dodson "jeffdod" (Murfreesboro, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
A very impressive work! The preface gives a fascinating summary of Greek New Testament text types, as well as an explanation of how this particular Byzantine textform was arrived at. Another reviewer did not seem to like the essay at the back of the book being included as part of the work. I respect that criticism, but personally I found it helpful at correcting some of the misinformation that has circulated regarding the Byzantine textform, and did not consider its content to be inappropriate here. I like the simplicity of the critical apparatus...it leaves the page looking attractive and uncluttered. The Greek text itself is laid out in a beautiful font (it looks like the font in my Mounce text book, and happens to be my favorite) that is non-italic. This to me is a huge benefit, as an italic font tends to distract me. Capitalization, normal Greek punctuation, accents and breathing marks are all present, which makes for smooth reading. In all physical respects, the book seems to be of top-notch quality (kudos to Chilton Book Publishing on that). The binding seems strong, and easily allows you to open the book all the way while laying it flat on the table. The paper is relatively heavy, and you cannot see through the pages at all. The cover is hard-back and classy-looking. Even the dust cover is attractive. The black-ribbon page marker is a nice touch as well. The entire work seems to be very well edited. I tend to be a stickler about spelling or punctuation errors, and I did not notice any in the preface, text, or essay at the back (although of course I haven't read all of the Greek text yet). I don't know this for a fact, but based on the quality of the book and the advertised price, I would say that they must be selling it at cost. Thanks to the compilers and publisher for a very respectful treatment of God's Word in Greek. This is a fitting memorial to Mr. William Pierpont, to whom the volume is dedicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Needed Update, January 29, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
Since Seminary I have been more and more convinced that the Byzantine Text (found in the majority of Greek NT manuscripts) deserves greater consideration than it is given when determining the readings of the original. This work comes the closest of any to representing a text reconstructed according to that theory. For that reason alone it should be helpful to both proponents and opponents of this theory.

I have been using the original Pierpont/Robinson Greek New Testament since it came out in 1991 but, like others, missed the variant apparatuses. This edition is a great step forward, though it still lacks the completeness of the Hodges/Farstad apparatus (much less that of Nestle/Aland 27), where you can actually get an idea of the texual witnesses. This is a shame, because I believe the text itself is superior to either of those other two.

Add to that a readable font, nice hadrcover presentation, very thorough theoretical introduction and appendix, and a price well below the other editions, and this should make it a consideration for use as a first New Testament text in Bible College and Seminary Greek classes.

Missing is the bibliography available in both the older edition and also in the Hodges/Farstad Majority Text.

Also, it is refreshing to see the editors releasing this text into the public domain so it can be used free of copyright restrictions.

My only question is, Why not adhere to the currently accepted order of the NT books. Using an old 4th cemtury order, in my view, only makes it harder on the general reader, and serves no useful purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This edition has supplanted my Hodges/Farstad, January 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
Although I had the previous edition, its "unique features" kept me using my Hodges and Farstad as my primary New Testament. That earlier version was a paperback, with bare, unaccented, unaspirated, unpunctuated text, and no apparatus. This one is a beautiful hardback (with a nice dust-jacket), with a very nice, large font, accented/aspirated/punctuated text, intra-Byzantine variants in the left column, and NA/UBS variants at the bottom of the page. Ideal in almost every way.

I'm glad Dr. Robinson has incorporated features that will help make the Byzantine Text more widely accessible to non-specialists. Hopefully this will contribute to a more widespread usage of this excellent text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Testament by Robinson/Pierpont, February 23, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
I would highly recommend this book as a good standard "Byzantine" text exhibiting the 'majority' textform. It is set in good readable type; but one thing that would make it more valuable would be examples and cross-references.

I particularly was impressed with the defense for the "majority text" in the back of the Greek New Testament.

Following Dean John Burgon's seven tests for reliability and validity helps make this text a "keeper" and one which will soon become the standard Greek Text among those who value historic testimony as Burgon did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth having regardless of what you think of the Byzantine priority hypothesis, November 24, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
Setting aside for the moment the issue of the underlying text, this is a GREAT Greek NT to own. The other reviewers are absolutley correct; The font on this text is by far the best available, large and clear and dark, printed on nice white paper. It is almost as large as the large print Nestle Aland and larger than the UBS 4. Both of those books for some reason have yellow paper, the white paper is much nicer. The binding on this book is MUCH better than the NA or UBS stuff which is known to fall apart with any use at all. The cover on this book is a nice red/gold/black. Because there is more Greek text per page than anything else available, this book is thinner and more light weight than others which does make a difference. All this at an excellent price!

Now as far as the idea that the Byzantine text is closer to the original than the primarily Alexandrian text underlying NA27 and UBS 4, I would say that even if you don't beleive this to be true you should still buy this text because at the bottom of the page you have every reading from NA27 which differs from this text. Thus if you are an enthusiast for NA27 you can see all the places where it disagrees from what is more or less a modified version of the Textus Receptus. When you do this I think you will be struck with a few things. Number one, both texts agree most of the time, say 95%. Where they disagree a lot of the differences are very minor, DE for KAI, a different word order, maybe an article missing or added. More importantly, you will note that MANY of the readings in this text appear shorter and more difficult according to the traditonal criteria and therefore on the surface would appear more likely to be original. Robinson points out in an appendix that NA27 excludes these readings because they come from a "late" texts, but you can't have it both ways. If more difficult readings are likely to be original, how come Robinson's text has so many more difficult readings. What all this does I think is lower your confidence in textual criticism. You are left with the impression that this text for the most part is likley to be as close to the original as NA 27. Maybe it does make sense to read instead of a text which is a hodgepodge of speculations from modern scholars to read a text which at least represents readings that are found in a textual family that is earlier enough. Particularly when again you have all the readings of NA 27 in footnotes.

But even if you think this text is late and secondary, it still is nice to have as a resource. You can use it more closely with a KJV or a New KJV translation if that is your preference, and it is kind of nice to have a text which for example includes the doxology in the Lord's prayer right in the text. But above all, for pure joy of reading the external features of this text as so superior to UBS or NA that I would at least get it to supplement one of those, again considering the price is so cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A commendable edition of the Greek New Testament, March 13, 2008
By 
S. Crawford (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
This is an all-round excellent edition of the Greek New Testament.

The text font is large and highly readable; similar to what you would find in a Biblical Greek textbook. Overall, the external quality of the book is very high, especially taking into consideration the retail price.

Variant Byzantine readings are included in the margin where they have a significant amount of textual support (although no detail is provided in regards to specific manuscript support of each variant). ALL variations between this text and the NA27/UBS4 base text are also included in the footnotes, even when these are only very minor such as word order (I did a quick comparison of one chapter between this text and the NA27 and all variants were definitely noted).

Accents, Breathings, capitalization and punctuation have been added to the text to improve readability (although these were not included in the original manuscripts they are certainly helpful for those of us who are not experts in Koine Greek). Paragraph divisions and chapter/verse numbers have also been added. Subject headings are not included in the text.

This edition also contains a good introduction and appendix outlining some general introductory information about the various text types and presenting the editors reasons for their choice of texts. Even if you are a NA27 proponent these articles still contain valuable information, and alert the reader to the methodology utilized by the editors when choosing between competing manuscripts.

Conclusion: If you are after a well-priced and highly readable edition of the Greek New Testament, this is a highly viable option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource, February 23, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
I was nothing but pleased when I recieved this edition. I can tell a lot of work was put into it. I would like to see more work done to have a English translation based off the byzantine text. This is a much needed bridge in between the Texus receptus and the critical text. Really well bound, very readable print, and awesome price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sacrifice, if you must, but do NOT miss this Greek New Testament., June 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
If you have to sacrifice something to obtain this volume, DO SO! This Byzantine Textform 2005 has set the STANDARD for Greek New Testaments. It is HONEST SCHOLARSHIP.

William Pierpont and Dr. Robinson have done an excellent work for the Body of CHRIST+ with their scholarly research in the Greek manuscripts of the New Testament. Although they correct the Textus Receptus in about 1800 instances,(footnote 1, page i of the preface ), they have given the Body of CHRIST+ a scholarly option regarding the text of the Greek New Testament other than the Nestle-Aland school of thought. Both the 28-page preface and 53-page appendix are at the same time rich with information and yet the explanations are easy-to-digest, regarding the Byzantine Textform and Byzantine Priority discussions.

Their footnotes in the text include Nestle-Aland's choices of Greek words where they differ from the Byzantine Textform, being accurate and thorough in this part of the work. They list in the margin of the text any alternative word choices within the Byzantine texts themselves. Thus the reader can make his own determination of the most accurate reading. Plus, the type face is larger and clearer, making it easier to read than most Greek New Testaments.

William Pierpont is the same man whose work is included in the appendix of Jay P. Green's most excellent Hebrew-Greek-English Interlinear, showing the alternative word choices and omissions after comparing all the extant Greek manuscripts. He spent decades doing this work. Interestingly enough, Mr. Pierpont started out in the Nestle-Aland school of thought, but after his years of research with the extant manuscripts, he realized the weight of the evidence was with the Byzantine texts. (See his biography.)

This scholarly Greek New Testament is an excellent volume for both the new Greek student and the advanced scholar. We are so pleased with the HONEST scholarship of this volume that we have purchased another one for a serious young Christian scholar in our church because we know it will give him the FULL story of ALL of the extant New Testament manuscripts.

Thank you, Mr. Pierpont and Dr. Robinson
Sister Judith Hannah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, September 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
This is an absolute joy to read!! Anyone interested in the Greek New Testament should definetly add this to their library. If your new to learning the Greek language, or are in the dark on the majorty text issue, this is a great resource. This book is also very easy to read. Also, the New Testament in this book is completely in Greek, no Engish in an interlinear format, or on oppsing pages!! The introduction, preface, ect. are in English though. I give this product an A+!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Byzantine Textform 2005 by Robinson & Pierpont, January 17, 2007
By 
This review is from: The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) (Hardcover)
Excellent in it's simplicity. Robinson and Pierpont give you exactly what you want and nothing you don't. This book is just what it's title claims it to be, "The New Testament in the Original Greek". There are no Strong's numbers or any other kind of "helps" in the text; it's all Greek baby! So understand that you'll need to at least learn the Greek alphabet and a few basic words going in, but it is what it is. I give this book the highest rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition)
The New Testament in the Original Greek (Greek Edition) by William G. Pierpont (Hardcover - December 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $39.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.