Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thanksgiving Cookbook by Garrison, October 15, 2003
This book is an excellent reference for holiday cooking.
It includes many traditional Thanksgiving favorites; such as,
roasted chestnuts, dried cherry and tomato preparations.
The author explains how to decorate food. An example is the
citrus twist. Holiday wines are described; such as,
Chardonnay and others. Exotic Hors D'Oeuvres are described
in detail; such as , cheese biscuit, the raw veggie dip and
others. Famous soup preparations are fully described; such as,
Vichyssoise oyster, pumpkin soup and mushroom consomme.
The dessert menu is " to die for" in its variety.
This book would be very helpful in planning any holiday meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Thanksgiving Reference, November 8, 2004
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
Holly Garrison's book provides over 300 recipes to make your Thanksgiving feast a sure hit. Believe me...it's VERY hard to break from the traditonal for this once a year meal, but Holly provides some outstanding regional favorites that may not be your tradition yet, but will be if you just give them a try.

Everything you need is here in this massive 352 page book from putting together your shopping list, to preparation both before and the day of your feast, to decorating your table, carving the bird, and great recipes for those leftovers.

Written in a way that will appeal to seasoned pros as well as to first-timers with easy to follow tips and recipes. Sure to reduce your stress level and let you enjoy the day even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate guide to Thanksgiving......, September 9, 2002
By 
Allison "bbqgourmet" (Coral Springs, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
I've got several Williams-Sonoma Thanksgiving cookbooks, and always refer to my November back issues of Bon Appetit and Gourmet as well each year. After reading the 1st few chapters of this book, I already know where my ideas are coming from this year. This book is terrific - filled with many recipes the likes of which you won't find elsewhere. The author also gives great food and table decorating tips, as well as what not to do on Thanksgiving. She also has many recipes which can be made ahead of time. One on my list for this year is the Sweet Potato Balls - especially good for kids. Mashed sweet potatoes wrapped around a marshmallow, then rolled in crushed corn flakes and baked. If you are like me, and love planning and cooking for Thanksgiving, get a copy of this book. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thanksgiving Helper., January 25, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is all you need to get you through the holiday. Not sure how to cook a turkey, make stuffing....no worries, this book cover everything to run an entire dinner party of the big day. From A to Desert....Can't beat the price either. Get this book and never fear cooking Thanksgiving dinner again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, July 20, 2007
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this book several years ago and find it to be invaluable every year at Thanksgiving. It is a wonderful reference and offers a vast number of recipe ideas for Thanksgiving. Like most people there are several family recipes that I must serve and they can NOT be changed for Thanksgiving. However, I always like to offer a few new dishes as well and have had several successes with this cookbook. This cookbook is a must for anyone who cooks Thanksgiving dinner or it would make a WONDERFUL gift. I don't know if this book is still in print but if you are able to get a copy it's a great addition to any home cookbook library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Thanksgiving book (imo!), December 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
I was so happy to be able to replace this cookbook; I lost mine 5 years ago when our home burned, losing everything including my cookbook collection. The sweet potato balls are excellent and loved by all. There is also a "sharp sauce" that is good on brussels sprouts, and other strong vegetables and I searched for years to find the recipe, to no avail. I am now a very happy camper! I received the book in a very timely manner and it is in excellent shape. I highly recommend this book as it has so many of the "classic" recipes. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a favorite. Contains every recipe that folks have requested at ..., December 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
Always a favorite. Contains every recipe that folks have requested at Thanksgiving/Christmas time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only book you'll ever need to have a great Thanksgiving., October 12, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Thanksgiving Cookbook (Paperback)
Garrison covers all of the old standby recipies and adds a multitude of inventive new ones to make your Thanksgiving special. All are well written and easy to follow. I'd recommend it as the perfect gift for any cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Thanksgiving Cookbook
The Thanksgiving Cookbook by Holly Garrison (Paperback - September 12, 1995)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.