Customer Reviews


495 Reviews
5 star:
 (390)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After a Half-Century, Still a Joy!
THE THING FROM ANOTHER WORLD...the title conjures up lurid images from the countless 'B' SciFi flicks of the 50s, but as many SF, Howard Hawks, and Classic Cinema fans can attest, this is no sleazy schlockfest, but one of the most entertaining and exciting films ever made, by one of Hollywood's greatest directors.
Yes, the credits list Christian Nyby as director, but...
Published on August 8, 2003 by Benjamin J Burgraff

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good 1951 Sci-Fi
This 50th Anniversary VHS edition of 1951's "The Thing From Another World" is of good quality, video-wise, having been re-mastered.

It's a well-told story of the discovery of a craft from outer space, and its vegetable-like occupant, played by James Arness (although you could never tell it's him). Arness' part is very small, in fact, in this picture. He pops up...
Published on June 4, 2005 by David Von Pein


‹ Previous | 129 30 3150 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thing From Another Planet, March 15, 2012
By 
Tom McDaniel (PELHAM, ALABAMA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
Classic motion picture. At a time when the industry did not have as much special effects to sell their picture,they used suspensefull dialogue and built up to a classic ending to the picture. One of the best. Must have for classic horror film collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM!, February 25, 2012
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
When it comes to writing/pacing, character development and the building of suspense.....this film has it all.
A true Sci-Fi classic on every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget, No Star Power, But a Classic, November 5, 2011
By 
not a natural "Bob Bickel" (huntington, west virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
The original version of The Thing, made in 1951, is a low-budget classic that has plenty of appeal but is almost totally devoid of star power. Kenneth Tobey, the best known actor in the film, heads what amounts to an ensemble cast, faces familiar to most of us who lived through the '50's, but they're faces to which we can't attach names. A bunch of talented character actors who, no doubt, had a lot of fun with this film.

While The Thing has its emphatically scary moments, I've come to enjoy it more for the camaraderie among the characters, especially Captain Hendry (Kenneth Tobey) and his flight crew. Their good-natured, macho-lite banter provides a much-needed contrast to the grave and humorless self-importance fostered by Dr. Carrington, head of a team of scientists already assembled above the arctic circle to study things far more mundane than a flying saucer and its pilot. Adding to the light-hearted but on-task contrast is Scotty, a journalist who had known the flight crew in the South Pacific during World War II, and Tex, the in-house radio operator whose offer to let Captain Henry's plane home in on his broadcast singing voice was rejected in favor of a more conventional signal.

Dr. Carrington's assistant, Nikki (Margaret Sheridan) added to the fun when she described her one-date history with Captain Hendry, giving the flight crew additional material for good-natured ribbing of their boss. Still, among the flight crew's members, there was never any doubt about who was in charge. Kenneth Tobey came across as the sort of guy whose low-key, good-humored charisma effortlessly commanded respect. He was the sort of leader who could give credit to a subordinate for solving a problem that had left him confounded, but still retain authority.

I suppose Dr. Carrington is a caricature, a one-dimensional scientist totally consumed with the pursuit of knowledge, willing to risk everything and everyone in his single-minded quest. But he's rendered very credibly by Robert Cornthwaite, with the other, less obsessive scientists providing a backdrop that lets us know that Dr. Sheridan really is peculiar. So maybe Dr Sheridan is not just a mad-scientist caricature, but a plausibly odd ball brainiac of a type that may actually exist somewhere.

I've seen this film often enough that it no longer scares me, but I still find it very entertaining. Where else in the '50's could you hear a military man suggest that the atomic bomb was something that, all things considered, we could well have done without? Where else in the '50's could we find science treated as just another institution, something that could work to our advantage but could also backfire?

The first time through, I think almost all viewers will find The Thing to be pretty frightening science fiction. On subsequent viewings, however, the other virtues of this tribute to under-funded craftsmanship will be become more evident. Yes, the 1982 remake is scarier, but the original retains plenty of appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If this is the only movie you buy this year..., March 21, 2010
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
Do not walk.... RUN! And buy this flick. 5 star and worthy of every once of praise I could heap upon it.
This flick helped lay the Building blocks of contemporary film let alone SCI FI.
"Close the door!!" need I say more?
This movies fixes my worst day. How can I put a value on that!!

The movie remains relevant even by todays' AVATARIC standards.

All Heil Mr Ford!! Energizing countless imitators!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just an opinion!, September 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
The Greatest Sci-Fi movie ever made,whether it be 50's,60's to the present.It has it all,great story,good script and acting with incredible atmosphere and what do you know all done without computers and million dollar budgets!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncertian, December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
This movie is one of the great sci fi movies of its time however it appears to be coming true.I thoroughly enjoyed watching it.
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Thing #1, December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
A very suspenceful movie that leaves much to your own imagination. Infinitely better than the 1980's remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thing From Another World, March 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I would recommend it to any sci fi buff. there are seens that are not in a previous copy i've seen. It's a great movie--I don't want to give away the plot if you have not seen the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product quality and great shipping service., August 26, 2007
By 
Marcelo S. Nunes (Rio Grande do Sul - Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
The DVD is of superb quality. An original theme at the time it was made, just a few years after the Roswell espisode, it's a great sci-fi horror movie. A truely historical post-war time piece that paved the way for many UFO and alien movies to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MODEL OF ITS KIND THAT HAS STOOD THE TEST OF TIME!, April 1, 2006
This review is from: The Thing from Another World (DVD)
FIRST THOUGHTS: SIMPLISTIC PERFECTION THAT IS STILL UNMATCHED!

When my teenage daughter, Angela, declared that her new interest was making a monster movie, the first thought that came to my mind was: "THE THING - FROM ANOTHER WORLD" by Howard Hawks is what she needs to go study. My next thought was where should I hide the camcorder?!

IN A NUTSHELL:

"The Thing" blends science-fiction, horror, and utilitarian dialogue along with real-people kinds of characterizations to create an unprecedented Sci-Fi/Horror Epic hybrid.

"THE THING" FLESHED OUT A BIT: [more later]

Members of an arctic research team discover a flying saucer in the ice. Then, with the help of the Air Force, the remains of an alien frozen in a block of ice is brought back to their arctic outpost. Accidentally thawed out, the alien begins killing the occupants of the small isolated settlement, apparently for food and for some previously unimagined form of asexual reproduction using human blood.

-----*- THE ENSEMBLE CAST -*

Margaret Sheridan - Nikki Nicholson
Kenneth Tobey - Capt. Patrick Hendry
Robert Cornthwaite - Dr. Arthur Carrington
Douglas Spencer - Ned "Scotty" Scott
Dewey Martin - Bob
James Arness - "The Thing"
Robert Nichols - Lt. MacPherson (Erickson)
Bill Self - Corporal Barnes
Eduard Franz - Dr. Stern
Sally Creighton - Mrs. Chapman
Norbert Schiller - Dr. Laurenz
Walter Ng - Cook
Paul H. Frees - Dr. Maurice Vorrhees

-----*- THE PRIMARY PRODUCTION TEAM

Christian Nyby - Director
Howard Hawks - Producer
John W. Campbell Jr. - Short Story Author
Charles Lederer - Screenwriter
Russell Harlan - Cinematographer

ABOUT THE DVD: COULD THERE BE FEWER EXTRAS?

ANSWER: YES, but they did include an Original Theatrical Trailer!

Having said that, this edition plays better than any of the VHS editions I have had and I think I've had, or at least viewed, most of them. This DVD does include the scene where Nikki Nicholson [Margaret Sheridan] ties up Capt. Hendry [Kenneth Tobey] and offers him alcohol without endangering herself. Of course he gets loose, but that's just to show her that she was safe all along in the typical, clean-cut, Howard Hawks' male lead role, which is AOK by me.

THE BOTTOM LINE: KEEP WATCHING THE SKY!

For simplicity and economy, it just doesn't get any better than "THE THING From Another World". Add to that, genuine scariness and new Sci-Fi themes which were about to become overused -- AFTER THIS FILM -- by many lesser films. Imitation, after all, is the sincerest form of flattery. Of course, 55 years later, my advice to Angela and any other aspiring monster filmmakers is to watch this film and then "KEEP WATCHING THE SKY!"

-----*- IF YOU ENJOY THIS GENRE: ALSO CONSIDER SEEING -*

*-It Came from Outer Space, 1953, Jack Arnold
*-Invasion of the Body Snatchers, 1956, Don Siegel
*-Aliens, 1986, James Cameron
*-Pitch Black, 2000, David N. Twohy
*-Alien, 1979, Ridley Scott
*-It! The Terror from Beyond Space, 1958, Edward L. Cahn
*-The Day of the Triffids, 1963, Steve Sekely
*-The War of the Worlds, 1953, Byron Haskin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3150 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Thing From Another World [VHS]
The Thing From Another World [VHS] by Howard Hawks (VHS Tape - 2001)
$14.98 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.