Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Jan Brett Book!
It's a lot of fun looking at Jan Brett books. There are always interesting pictures full of detail and the story is light and fun. Kids of all ages tend to enjoy her books and find something in them. This book is a take on Goldilocks and the Three Bears which substitutes the Arctic for the woods and an Inuit girl for Goldilocks. Everybody is friendly and nobody gets...
Published on October 10, 2007 by Lynn Ellingwood

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, so-so story
The pictures in this book are fantastic. For that reason alone, I give it two stars. Story wise, the message it presents is a bit unclear. First off, Aloo-ki decides to stop looking for her sled dogs (who are clearly in peril) and break into someone else's home. Once inside, any concern for her dogs evaporates in favor of free food, some nice new boots and a nap...
Published 14 months ago by Sean


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Jan Brett Book!, October 10, 2007
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
It's a lot of fun looking at Jan Brett books. There are always interesting pictures full of detail and the story is light and fun. Kids of all ages tend to enjoy her books and find something in them. This book is a take on Goldilocks and the Three Bears which substitutes the Arctic for the woods and an Inuit girl for Goldilocks. Everybody is friendly and nobody gets hurt. Very sweet and cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book rocks!, October 10, 2007
By 
Rhonda G. Widmer "small town teacher" (rolling wheat fields of eastern Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
My first grade students "devoured" this book. The storyline kept them interested, while they gained new information without knowing it. I gave it as a gift to friends' young children....the adults enjoyed it as much as the "young-uns". This is another hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, so-so story, April 21, 2013
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
The pictures in this book are fantastic. For that reason alone, I give it two stars. Story wise, the message it presents is a bit unclear. First off, Aloo-ki decides to stop looking for her sled dogs (who are clearly in peril) and break into someone else's home. Once inside, any concern for her dogs evaporates in favor of free food, some nice new boots and a nap. When the homeowners (three bears) return having rescued her dogs, Aloo-ki escapes with her new boots and lives happily ever after.

So wait... are the bears good or bad? If good, why does Aloo-ki run? If bad, why does she happily wave goodbye? Why did she still steal the boots even thought the bears helped save her dogs? Why did she need to steal the boots when clearly she already had boots of her own? How does she go from running for her life to waving a "thank you"? Am I missing pages?

I get that this is a retelling of Goldilocks and the Three Bears. I get that this is intended for children and maybe I'm over-thinking this. However, I think that stories for any age group should have a clear moral message that depicts action and consequence--perhaps even more so with kid's books. The message that remains after reading this is that 1) It is okay to shirk responsibility in favor of trivial personal needs, 2) It is okay to take things from others and 3) When you take things from other people they will remain friendly and cheerful.

Great pictures and beautifully presented overall but with lazy, morally-ambiguous story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Bears, October 9, 2007
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
Another wonderful book from Jan Brett. Her illustrations make the book - the story is an adorable twist on Goldilocks and The Three Bears. This book would be a wonderful addition to any child's library or a classroom library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jan Brett has another winner, October 30, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
Once again Jan delivers a beautiful story and continues her gorgeous illustrations that dazzle you with details. After a couple of not so great books, Jan is back on her mark! Nice to have her back on the right track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Snow Bears, February 8, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
I have read this book so many times, I could also say it without opening the book. My great grandson loves it and it has been made more real to him because we were able to download the characters to make a mural. He goes to it every day and tells parts of the story and what is happening. We have looked up Baffin Island on the map (He is very interested in maps and places on them). We are now studing this book and learning about eskimos and igloos and how how these people live. I really like the idea that we can download the characters from the internet, as I can't draw. Seeing them makes the lesson more real to a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Snow Bears, January 18, 2008
By 
Joan Traber (White Plains, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
As a Kindergarten teacher I relish a new great book to use with my students at school. This is a wonderful, artistic, multicultural adaptation of the original Three Bears folktail. Thoroughly enjoyed by the kids, as well as, myself. Jan Brett's illustrations keep you coming back fora closer examination as her borders are rich and give clues to what's happening next and while the story moves forward. Rich patterns, vibrant colors and artistry abound. Just plan fun! A welcomed addition to my rich treasury of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review for The Three Snow Bears, November 16, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
This is a great multicultural adaptation of Goldilocks and the Three Bears. I would definitely use this book with children from Preschool to Second grade. Comparing this story to the original would be a great activity for the kids to do. The illustrations are wonderful. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best version of Goldilocks ever written!, January 22, 2008
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
The pictures and story in this book are a real treasure. Jan Brett breaths new life into the "goldilocks" story. Truly delightful. I could study the pictures for hours and still be awed by them. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldilocks in the Arctic, January 17, 2008
This review is from: The Three Snow Bears (Hardcover)
Once again Jan Brett proves that there is more than one way to tell a tale. Her setting, adaption of the story and especially her wonderful illustrations make this a book to be shared over and over with children of all ages. There are many levels to Jan Brett's books and what fun to explore this new angle of and old favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Three Snow Bears
The Three Snow Bears by Jan Brett (Hardcover - September 13, 2007)
$17.99 $13.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.