Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


448 of 460 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonified viewed review of DVD set
THIS IS AN ACTUAL VIEWED, IN FULL, REVIEW FROM AN ADVANCED COPY OF THE NEW DVD SET I RECEIVED FROM SONY PICTURES ON 10/18/07:

To Stooge or not to Stooge, that is the question. For almost a decade since Sony began issuing The Three Stooges shorts on DVD, fans have been asking when chronological ordered sets would be released. During the last nine years, previous...
Published on July 12, 2007 by stooged and confused

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not every episode is complete or uncut
Being a big stooge fan since I was a kid a long time ago, it doesn't take a lot to please me with a 3 Stooges Video set. All you need to do is provide every episode uncut, a nice clear picture and good audio. I don't even need any extras on the DVD set. And this set does provide a great picture and audio. But at least one episode is cut and that is "Punch Drunks". If you...
Published on March 2, 2010 by BeBe Video Productions


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

448 of 460 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonified viewed review of DVD set, July 12, 2007
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
THIS IS AN ACTUAL VIEWED, IN FULL, REVIEW FROM AN ADVANCED COPY OF THE NEW DVD SET I RECEIVED FROM SONY PICTURES ON 10/18/07:

To Stooge or not to Stooge, that is the question. For almost a decade since Sony began issuing The Three Stooges shorts on DVD, fans have been asking when chronological ordered sets would be released. During the last nine years, previous compilations have been a mixed bag of quality prints; odd pairings of titles; ill fated "themed" discs, and a color/B&W series. Some shorts were duplicated several times, while other films never saw the light of day. The number of shorts appearing on each disc steadily decreased. If you've felt burned by previous DVD releases that had splices, missing dialogue or deleted scenes, worry not.

Sony got the message. The Three Stooges Collection 1934-1936 is the first in a series of DVD's that presents the shorts in their original release order. For ardent fans, it's a knucklehead's dream. For the beginner, it is the proper way to be introduced to the legendary trio. Each short has been restored to its original running time.

For those of you not familiar with the history of the Three Stooges, they made more films than any comedy team. A total of 190 shorts (or two reelers) and five starring feature films were produced from 1934 through 1965 at Columbia Pictures. They hold the record for the longest running studio association in Hollywood history. This was no accident. Simply put, The Three Stooges are funny. They produced a bunch of classic episodes. Of course, with 190 titles, there are some lemons in the barrel. However, with the first set of chronological shorts, each one has plenty of Stooge brilliance. Even their first short, "Woman Haters", an oddity done in rhythm, has enough mayhem to rise it above the "musical novelty" that it was originally billed.

The Stooges' career was drenched in irony. During their heyday of appearing in the classic short films, the Stooges longed to make feature length movies, fearing that the shorts were holding them back. But it was the Columbia shorts that kept them alive. Because of their running time (between 16-18 minutes), The Three Stooges shorts were like mini sitcoms. They weren't bogged down with dated musical numbers and gooey romantic sub plots like features starring Abbott and Costello and The Marx Brothers, for example. The pacing was that of animated cartoons and the Stooges were human cartoon characters. The short films they made 70+ years ago fit surprisingly well in today's video game generation of quick paced action, fast edits and short attention spans.

The other alleged nail in their career coffin was television. When the shorts market dried up in theatres due to the popularity of TV, the Stooges thought they were finished. Their backlog of films were sold in syndication and millions of people have been exposed to them ever since, therefore rescuing them from obscurity and cementing them as pop culture icons.

The first 19 of these episodes are featured in this collection. But they don't look like they did on TV. Sony has lovingly restored each short to its original brilliance and the results are nothing short of spectacular. The quality of the restoration is on par with that of Disney, the Looney Tunes series and classic films like "Wizard Of Oz", "Casablanca", and "Singin' In The Rain."

I've seen each of these Curly shorts more times than I should admit to, and watching these newly mastered films is like seeing them for the first time. Gone are the hairline scratches, dust, pops and other debris commonly found on TV and previous VHS and DVD prints. The black and white resolution is rich and some of the shorts look like they have a glossy finish to them. On "Three Little Pigskins", the picture is so clear at times, I can see the beauty parlor sign behind the boys and read that a polish and fingerwave cost 79 cents. The picture quality is that pristine! Those glorious sound effects jump from my speakers. The oldest film on the set is 73 years, and it looks beautiful on a widescreen HD TV.

So, if you're still asking yourself the question: to Stooge or not to Stooge, the answer should be as predictable as a slap from Moe. Why, Soitinly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


297 of 310 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1934-1936 Three Stooges Filmography listing, July 10, 2007
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
Here are Three Stooges compleat 1934-1936 classic shorts listing with chronological order.

1934
Woman Haters / Punch Drunks / Men In Black / Three Little Pigskins

1935
Horses' Collars / Restless Knights / Pop Goes The Easel / Uncivil Warriors / Pardon My Scotch / Hoi Polloi / Three Little Beers

1936
Ants In The Pantry / Movie Maniacs / Half-Shot Shooters / Disorder In The Court / A Pain In The Pullman / False Alarms / Whoops, I'm an Indian / Slippery Silks

Total nineteen classic shorts. Some of the finest Three Stooges shorts made between 1934-1936. Disorder In The Court, Movie Maniacs are two of the best examples of three Stooges early period. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not every episode is complete or uncut, March 2, 2010
By 
BeBe Video Productions "Chris" (Lafayette, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
Being a big stooge fan since I was a kid a long time ago, it doesn't take a lot to please me with a 3 Stooges Video set. All you need to do is provide every episode uncut, a nice clear picture and good audio. I don't even need any extras on the DVD set. And this set does provide a great picture and audio. But at least one episode is cut and that is "Punch Drunks". If you remember the episode, Curly goes from being a gentle, inept fighter to a unstoppable champion whenever he hears the tune "Pop Goes the Weasel". In fact, Curly will dispense with anyone near him when he hears the music, friend or foe. Moe is Curly's manager and Larry's job is to provide the music, so that Curly can win the fight. Naturally, things keep happening to the music throughout the short. Finally at the end, Larry gets hold of a truck with a P.A. system on the roof (unlawfully, of course) and crashes it through the wall of the boxing arena. Curly hears the music and as the song ends, he has won the fight. It is at this point that the episode is cut because take notice that not only is his opponent out cold on the floor of the ring but so are lot of other people. You may wonder where they came from? What you didn't see because of what was cut out was the following: After the music ends and he wins the fight, people climb into the ring to congratulate Curly. At this point, the music starts up again on the truck. Curly thens boxes everyone in the rink unconscious. But you won't see that because it has been cut out. I remember this episode well, so I readily noticed that it was missing. So are other episodes cut on this set? Only other people's memories could tell us. It was very disappointing that studios continue to put out sets that are billed as complete but aren't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nyuk nyuk nyuk!, July 11, 2007
By 
Keven McQueen (Richmond, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
At last, Sony has (eventually!) gotten around to releasing ALL the Stooges' films, and in chronological order. I just hope they don't intend to wait several months between releases. The Stooges made films for 23 years and if each DVD set includes just two years' worth of shorts, without a frequent release schedule it could be a decade before all the films are out. In other words: Sony, please don't "spread out."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never, December 15, 2007
By 
Anyechka (Rensselaer, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
It might have taken a really long time for Columbia to finally issue Stooge shorts on DVD properly, in a way that fans wanted (chronologically and in black and white), but in the end the extremely long wait was worth it. I know some people initially feared this set might not sell as optimally as it could have five or seven years ago, when the Stooges were last regularly shown on television and thus in the minds of more people, but it appears those fears were unfounded. These shorts have never looked better; it's a huge upgrade in quality from the old VHS collections and the prints used on a lot of the older DVDs. The only short whose quality isn't a big improvement is 'Whoops, I'm an Indian!' (which isn't one of my favorites anyway). For some reason, the print used is darker than the nice one used when it was issued on DVD before. Though apart from that, the set is perfect. They even used a complete print of 'Three Little Beers,' so much better than the previous DVD version that had a brief section of footage missing.

While I'm sure it is painful on one's wallet if one has already bought all of the previous "themed" discs and now has to start all over again, the extra money is really worth it. This two-disc set provides a LOT more shorts per buck than any of the previous discs did, in mostly all pristine quality, and finally with a "play all" option, something most of the other discs didn't have. Eight of the twenty-one shorts have never been issued on DVD before. I also love how the discs are stored in individual thin boxes instead of stacked overlapping one another or just in one regular-sized DVD box. It would have been great had there been some bonus material, but I agree that they're probably saving it for the later sets that will cover the later Shemp era and the Joe Besser era, to help to up their sales potential.

This very early Stooge era isn't quite my favorite because they hadn't really fully establised their screen characters, screen relationship, or the specific type of comedy they wanted to concentrate on (all of the ingredients are there, but just not brought to perfection just yet), but I do love a lot of these shorts. In spite of the fact that this is a bit before their classic era really started, there's a sort of charm and magic in watching the chaotic freewheeling spirit of something like 'Pop Goes the Easel' or 'Three Little Pigskins.' The only short on here I dislike is 'Restless Knights,' which I'd consider one of the worst shorts of the Curly era. They only got better and better as they went along. Hopefully future sets won't be long in coming and we won't have to wait another five-plus years for the second volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Stooge Disc Set Review, November 3, 2007
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
I absolutely never leave opinions on titles, however; in this case I believe it is necessary. I received the disc set the other day and viewed the first disc. The picture clearity and quality are amazing on my HD tv. I didn't care for the promotional advertising include on the second disc. Sony should advertise upcoming releases in a more convetional way. A side from this, I believe the restorations are simply spectacular and would recommend a purchase to any Stooge fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FIVE NYUK....NYUK ....SALUTE !!, October 30, 2007
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
Finally after years of poor bootleg VHS tapes and inferior "Three Stooges" DVD's from low budget video companies trying to make a quick buck, Three Stooges fans have something to get excited about. After everything I've seen and heard in the 19 Stooge shorts presented in (The Three Stooges Collection, Volume One: 1934-1936) all I can say is HURRAY!

This incredible set contains the first 19 shorts in chronological order on two single sided discs complete with slim cases and great disc artwork and packaging. The picture and sound quality is like nothing I've ever seen and heard before. It seems that Sony / Columbia Pictures have heard the cries of Stooge fans and finally done something to make us happy.

The video transfer is just about perfect, so there really isn't anything to complain about. The sound has been dramatically improved over any previous "Three Stooges" release that I currently own and it sounds great on my home theatre system. Sure there are still some blemishes in the various shorts here and there, but nothing to stop you from enjoying this wonderful set. The opening segments as well as the shorts themselves are finally free from the age related issue's such as dirt, debris, scratches and sound hissing that used to plague these incredible shorts.

This is hopefully the start of something great for "Three Stooges" fans and I can't wait for the second volume to be released. There isn't any bonus material included in this set, but the overall quality of the shorts is what really matters. The 19 Shorts in Chronological Order are listed below.

(1934)
Woman Haters / Punch Drunks / Men In Black / Three Little Pigskins

(1935)
Horses Collars / Restless Knights / Pop Goes The Easel / Uncivil Warriors / Pardon My Scotch / Hoi Polloi / Three Little Beers

(1936)
Ants In The Pantry / Movie Maniacs / Half-Shot Shooters / Disorder In The Court / A Pain In The Pullman / False Alarms / Whoops, I'm an Indian / Slippery Silks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stooge fans are dancing in the street! woowoowoowoowoo!, November 2, 2007
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
I own old Stooge movies on the old VHS format of three movies per box for about 15 years now and I was reluctant to purchase this box set since I had about five of the nineteen on this newer release. However, the fact that you have the first two years of their movies in their entirety plus the quality looks as if they were shot last week, make this a must buy for any serious Stooge fan. I hope they'll realease all of them at least through the 30's. I always thought their 30's shorts were funnier without resorting to themes about war or jitterbuggin etc. Anyway, if you can't laugh during "Three Little Beers", "Pop Goes The Easel", "Ants In The Pantry", "Pardon My Scotch" or "Disorder In The Court" check your pulse to see if you're still alive. 19 of the funniest comedy shorts ever made for only $20. That's $1.05 per movie. Reminds me of the Old Dixie Theatre in my hometown. A must for the Stooge fans worldwide. "You vill show me these stooges..no?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, November 6, 2007
By 
Chuck Potocki (Crown Point, Indiana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
This is by far the best Three Stooges DVD yet released! Gone are the "themed" & colorized DVD's as Sony Pictures have FINALLY listened to the fans and begun releasing the shorts in chronological release order. All I can say is, IT'S ABOUT TIME!!

Sony has outdone themselves with the digital remastering of the shorts. The print quality on all of them is as pristine and crystal clear as they can possibly be given the fact that the films are over 70 years old. The only thing I and many other Stooge fans can hope for is that they continue the great job with the future releases and also that they'll be released in more rapid succession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL comedians, March 25, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936 (DVD)
In a time where "today's kids/teens" think Jim Carey, and Will Ferrel and Dane Cook are the funniest people ever, it's nice to know how truly wrong they are. Nothing gives me a guaranteed laugh like the 3 Stooges. And this 1st collection is all the proof you need. The comedy is simple, and direct, and that's where the secret lies. In simplicity, there is perfection. These guys never fail to make me laugh, and this collection is full of laughs. It's timeless comedy, and even in black and white the humor still holds up today. I highly recommend this set for all Stoogemaniacs, and even for those who may just want to introduce their kids to the real KINGS OF COMEDY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 1: 1934-1936
$19.99 $12.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.