Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the final set of great Stooges shorts
This set contains:

1949
The Ghost Talks
Who Done It?
Hokus Pokus
Fuelin' Around
Malice in the Palace
Vagabond Loafers
Dunked in the Deep

1950
Punchy Cowpunchers
Hugs and Mugs
Do pey Ducks
Love at First Bite
Self-Made Maids
Three Hams on Rye
Studio Stoops
Slaphappy Sleuths...
Published on April 4, 2009 by calvinnme

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shemp Mania!
Curly Howard is sadly missed, but Moe, Larry and Shemp deliver plenty of laughs in this uneven 1949-51 collection. Needless to say, the Edward Bernds-directed shorts are preferable to Jules White's heavy-handedness. Among the best Shemps of the period: "Fuelin' Around," "Vagabond Loafers," "Punchy Cowpunchers," "Three Arabian Nuts" and "Hula-La-La" (producer Hugh...
Published on November 30, 2012 by Scott T. Rivers


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the final set of great Stooges shorts, April 4, 2009
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
This set contains:

1949
The Ghost Talks
Who Done It?
Hokus Pokus
Fuelin' Around
Malice in the Palace
Vagabond Loafers
Dunked in the Deep

1950
Punchy Cowpunchers
Hugs and Mugs
Do pey Ducks
Love at First Bite
Self-Made Maids
Three Hams on Rye
Studio Stoops
Slaphappy Sleuths
A Snitch in Time

1951
Three Arabian Nuts
Baby Sitters Jitters
Don't Throw That Knife
Scrambled Brains
Merry Mavericks
The Tooth Will Out
Hula La La
Pest Man Wins

These shorts are from the era when the Stooges were comprised of Larry, Moe, and Shemp. These are the probably the last of the great Stooges shorts. With television encroaching upon the motion picture industry, cost cutting measures were soon underway. One such measure taken at Columbia that had already impacted MGM and other studios was the decrease in scope of the short-subject department in 1952. Stooge short veterans producer Hugh McCollum and director Edward Bernds were casualties of this action, and this left only Jules White behind as a person in the short subject department with a feel for what made the Stooges special. Shooting schedules were shortened, old Stooge shorts were cut up and recycled into sparse new material, and fans were not fooled by all of this.

Do be aware that the first six volumes of the Three Stooges will be available in June on The Three Stooges Collection, Volumes 1-6 Bundle. This really is not a great buy, but is pretty much on par with what you pay for all six volumes when they are on sale. This might be the way to go if you don't have any of the volumes yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stooges with Shemp at their height. Guaranteed laughs for comedy fans. This pre-release review only mentions the content., April 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
Sony has been doing The Three Stooges proud in its continuing series of restored and remastered DVD editions. Volume 6 is highly recommended for comedy fans and a must for Stoogeheads. Many of the 1949-51 films benefit from witty scripts and direction, and are exceptionally funny.

The best shorts here were produced by Hugh McCollum and directed by Edward Bernds, who soft-pedaled the gratuitous roughhouse and allowed Shemp, Larry, and Moe to improvise freely. This brings new freshness to the standard slapstick format, and shows how professional and resourceful Howard, Fine, and Howard were. (You'll see many amusing instances when a scene is supposed to be over, but Bernds keeps the camera rolling to see what the Stooges will do.) The films also benefit from Columbia's resident stock company of the late 1940s: the lovely Christine McIntyre and Jean Willes, both equally adept at playing sincere heroines and crafty schemers; the suave Kenneth MacDonald, a definitive villain; the versatile Emil Sitka, appearing here in any number of guises; veteran comic Vernon Dent, playing the Stooges' foil with his usual authority; expressive comedian Dudley Dickerson ("This house has sho' goan crazy!"), and the superlative stuntman Jock Mahoney. It isn't easy to steal an entire film from the Stooges, but watch Mahoney in the clever PUNCHY COWPUNCHERS; you'll roar as he indulges in some athletic and hilariously clumsy slapstick.

Many of the Stooges' best-remembered scenes are included in this set: the pie fight, the spooky old houses inhabited by gangsters or mad scientists, the "plumbers" routine, "the window ledge," "the cats in the piano," "the talking suit of armor," "the feathers in the cake," the Santa Claus masquerade, the "dance instructors," the trio singing at least two variations of "Just Plain Jane," the Stooges playing themselves AND their own girlfriends... and the gags just keep on coming! There is so much quality material in these films that producer-director Jules White consulted them frequently in the 1950s, borrowing entire sequences and sometimes the complete storylines for later Stooge shorts.

Be advised that a few of the shorts will stop at nothing for a cheap laugh, thanks to the heavy hand of director Jules White. MALICE IN THE PALACE has some unfortunate stereotypical humor and a tasteless gag involving a meat cleaver. In BABY SITTERS' JITTERS White shows a toddler endangered by both the Stooges and by a loaded gun. But such lapses are rare in this set; most of the material is a joy for Stooge fans.

This DVD set should surpass Columbia's former VHS releases, which weren't as comprehensive, and occasionally were technically inferior (at least three titles derived from 16mm prints). The recent DVD volumes have been sparkling, and Volume 6 should be no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Combo of Moe, Larry, and Shemp Might have been the BEST!!!, May 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
This volume contains some of my favorite Stooges shorts, especially: The Ghost Talks (with the voice of Phil Arnold as Peeping Tom), Malice in the Palace (with the Emir of Schmo), and Three Arabian Nuts (with the Genius of the Lamp). However, I don't agree that this is the best of the Shemp volumes. For me, that title easily goes to Volume 5, with the hilarity of Brideless Groom, Sing a Song of Six Pants, Squareheads of the Round Table, Fiddler's Three, Shivering Sherlocks, and A Crime on Their Hands. These six shorts are EASILY among the best the Stooges ever made. Curly was beloved and was a comedic genius in his own right; however, the more I watch the Shemp shorts, the more I'm thinking that the best combination of Stooges might have been Moe, Larry, and Shemp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime Shemp Comedies!, April 9, 2009
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
Anyone who thinks Shemp was not a fine comedian in his own right is probably basing this on the weaker Shemp comedies of 1954 & 1955 (Cuckoo On A Choo Choo). And if they were not weak new stories, they were re-issuing an old short with a few minutes of new footage.

But this set will contain Shemps best work. The writers as well as the Stooges were ready to keep the series going with Shemp's different comic abilities. What really makes these work is that Shemp did not try to be Curly (like some of the other third stooge replacements), Shemp was allowed to be himself. And he added a new set of signature routines. How many of us would do a fake snore with the "Bee Bee Bee Bee" sound at the end. That was a Shemp thing, not Curly.

And since Shemp was the original third Stooge in the Ted Healy days, we are really looking at the original Three Stooges act!

I do find it interesting watching these in original release order, it is obvious that Columbia put some on the shelf while releasing others. For example: 1950's DOPEY DICKS & LOVE AT FIRST BIGHT clearly have title styles pre-dating 1949's VAGABOND LOAFERS as well as having 1949 copyright notices. They were obviously held back while VAGABOND LOAFERS, DUNKED IN THE DEEP, PUNCHY COWPUNCHERS & HUGS AND MUGS got released.

Holding back releases was not unusual and it got more common in the later 1950's. Consider that Shemp died in 1955, but his shorts continued to be released in 1956 (not counting the shorts that Joe Palma impersonated Shemp in long shots).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COME SEE "SHEMP" IN FULL STOOGE STRIDE, July 9, 2009
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
From what I can tell there are only two things missing from these 24 newly remastered shorts. One is the debris, grain, dirt and sound hissing that used to plague these wonderful shorts when they aired on television and the second is bonus material. This wonderful set contains all 24 shorts from 1949-1951 on two single sided discs packaged in slim cases. The disc artwork and packaging is fantastic to say the least, making this set even more attractive and highly collectible for any Knucklehead to own.

Thanks to Sony Studios "Three Stooges" Fans have 24 more reasons to celebrate with the recently released Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951. The 24 newly restored & remastered shorts from Sony Pictures are once again presented in chronological order completely uncut and politically incorrect and presented in Beautiful Black & White. Hip Hip Hooray!

Once again Sony Pictures have done an incredible job with the video & sound remastering and restoration with Volume six and fans should be very pleased with what they see & hear. In my opinion Stooge fans are in for a real treat with both the number of shorts included in volume six and the overall quality of the shorts themselves. In my opinion Shemp Howard is simply hilarious! It should be noted that 15 of the shorts found in this set have never been released on DVD and after viewing this set I can honestly say I don't remember seeing some of them. Sony Pictures should definitely be commended for their ongoing efforts and for finally giving "Three Stooges" fans the best possible quality shorts ever released.

The 24 digitally remastered & restored video transfers found in Volume six are simply amazing; no longer do these shorts look like they were made over 60 years ago and the newly restored soundtrack is the best I've ever heard these shorts sound. Poor Video & Sound quality from low budget DVD companies releasing "Three Stooges" material in the public domain was always a major concern for me and I wasn't sure what to expect from Sony pictures when they set out to remaster all 190 stooge shorts and put them in chronological order. I can honestly say that the poor picture & sound quality is a thing of the past and no longer a concern. The newly remastered soundtrack has breathed new life into these amazing shorts for me and I have heard words and sound effects that I never heard before. Volume six is an absolute treat and I'm glad I own it!

Volume Six Shorts Include:

(1949)
The Ghost Talks
Who Done It?
Hokus Pokus
Fuelin' Around
Malice in the Palace
Vagabond Loafers
Dunked in the Deep

(1950)
Punchy Cowpunchers
Hugs and Mugs
Dopey Dicks
Love at First Bite
Self Made Maids
Three Hams on Rye
Studio Stoops
Slaphappy Sleuths
A Snitch in Time

(1951)
Three Arabian Nuts
Baby Sitters Jitters
Don't Throw That Knife
Scrambled Brains
Merry Mavericks
The Tooth Will Out
Hula-La-La
Pest Man Wins

Sony Pictures has failed to include bonus material of any kind in these newly remastered sets so far and that's a big disappointment for me. I can only hope that loads of Bonus material will be included in the final installment after all 190 "Three Stooges" shorts have been completely restored & remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn and Laughs, April 24, 2009
By 
John Harwell (Grove City, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
I have read all of the previous reviews. The descriptions of the shorts are very good. I applaud you for remembering them so well.

On the other hand, I have to say that I do have all of the previous sets in this series. I can't name all of the titles. What I can do is remember when and where I watched the Stooges for the first time.

I walked home from elementary school everyday in the early 60's. Since our yard was adjacent to my grandparent's yard, Mom would have me stop there so my grandmother's housekeeper could watch me until Mom picked me up.

Some days I would run almost all of the way home so I wouldn't miss any of the Stooges. Cora Mae would pop popcorn and sneak me a forbidden Coca-Cola. She and I would sit on the living room floor and laugh to the point that I would almost pee myself. She would laugh at me laughing.

I almost believed those memories were just fantasy until these collections were released. Now I get to relive those days with my seven-year old daughter. She chooses the Stooges over Sponge Bob and laughs just as hard as I did/do.

It doesn't matter which are the best shorts. They are all great in there own right. I enjoy returning to a time where we could laugh till we were gasping to breathe. I am grateful that I can share this with my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably, the last of the great Shemp shorts, June 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
As the Stooges adapted to the new centerpiece of Shemp (who, technically, was the original centerpiece back in their 20's vaudeville days), the team forged ahead into the 50's. I remember such delightful Stooges shorts as "Malice In The Palace", "Self-Made Maids", & "Merry Mavericks", where Shemp deftly applied his years of skill as a salty-faced comic. "Maids", in particular, was a noble attempt to do something different as the boys donned drag--not an original concept in the Stooge shorts--but with pleasing results.
It's unfortunate that Columbia began reducing budgets for their short subjects department later on, which showed in the recycling of stories & production values on screen. Particularly painful (and bizarre) was when Columbia--even after Shemp's death--decided to "fulfill" his contract by making shorts with old stock footage of Shemp's face inserted & action shots of Moe & Larry running around with Shemp body doubles (some fans call these "the fake Shemps").
So let's just enjoy Volume 6 when the quality was still there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shemp: The Underrated Stooge, November 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
Poor Shemp Howard. He never got the recognition he deserved. All the Curlyphiles out there think Curly was the funniest stooge, and while he was indeed hilarious, Shemp was also a comic genius in his own right.

It's a matter of taste, I suppose. Curly was the jolliest stooge. Shemp was something of a sad Stooge, the victim of inanimate objects as well as his impatient brother Moe. And therein lies the lack of appreciation for Shemp's comedic talents. Comparing Shemp and Curly is like comparing apples and oranges--or cream pies and oranges.

While some think these episodes of Stoogedom are rehashes and pale versions of Curly's work, I see them as Shemp reinterpretations. Let's let Shemp be Shemp.

So sit back and enjoy slapstick comedy the way it was meant to be, an escape from the filthy and talentless "comedians" of today. Keep an open mind, and delight in Shemp Howard: the unappreciated Stooge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slapstick Legacy of Looney Laughs Continue... Another Volume Towards the 190 'Shorts' to Complete The Collection, June 15, 2009
By 
HarryRfromNE (North Shore area of MA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
There are 190 'shorts' in all. This is one of the excellently done COMPLETE Stooges collection. After Shemp is Joe, and his 'shorts' with Moe & Larry. I never complained about Shemp or Joe as replacements. I enjoyed them for who was in them, not who was missing, and so after the years until now, I have always enjoyed all of the 190 'shorts', even though I have my favorites!
This is the first volume of all 'Shemps', and is worthy of any Stooge collectors' DVD library!
After growing up with them in the 1970s on WSBK38 in Boston, I still enjoy them, and still are my favorite comedy program on TV!
Unlike many, or most, of the other DVD series coming out, these have been very well done in remastering, and speed of release.
Another opportunity for Stoogeaphiles and others to enjoy the timeless comedy of the Three Stooges!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're my type, baby...a WOMAN!", June 18, 2009
By 
Lawrence Rapchak (Whiting, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951 (DVD)
So says Larry Fine to one of the otherworldy attendants at the end of director Ed Bernd's hilarious short "Three Arabian Nuts!"

Recently, I have been faced with an increasingly difficult dilemma when planning my late-night video viewing: will it be "Citizen Kane" or "Baby-Sitter's Jitters"?; "Casablanca" or "Scrambled Brains?" Decisions...decisions....

Here is a stooge lover's Nirvana--- ALL SHEMP and ALL (or mostly) outrageously funny. To cite three of the best examples from this set, "Fuelin' Around" (my candidate for Shemp's best short, with Larry Fine at his comedic best), "Scrambled Brains"("Goodbye, old mackerel!") and "3 Arabian Nuts", each a comic gem featuring something rather rare in these films---a genuinely funny and satisfying ENDING.

This set represents the high-point of Shemp's tenure with the Stooges, and thus the last real opportunity to see the trio in top form. Note that the films directed (and sometimes written) by Ed Bernds have a special sense of comic legitimacy to them, an extra bit of "class" that almost elevates the Stooge's work to a higher level than they are generally given credit for. Jules White, always capable of turning out genuinely funny stuff (and "Scrambled Brains" is one of the absolute funniest shorts the Stooges EVER made), would ultimately begin to churn out crude and careless films, as the studio's budgets continued to decline.

But none of this really matters when you're howling along with these shorts, each containing hilarious moments too numerous to mention. I will even go so far as to say (and I realize this borders on sacriledge) that "Pest Man Wins"--featuring a terrific pie fight--is a better film than the Curly original "Ants in the Pantry" ("Which one of you put those cats in the piano!?"...).

From Bernds' stylish Western send-ups to Jules White's low-brow insanity, these shorts are filled with that special brand of lunacy that resulted when Shemp Howard re-joined the team. What a relief that the Columbia executives have finally given these films their due by preserving them in such excellent transfers. As Larry Fine would have advised them----"IT'S YOUR DUTY TO POSTERIOR!"

And while we're at it:

"I'm Brown from the Sun....Oh, that's too bad; are ya' peelin'?"
"Well there's the door, Man!"
"Give me dat Fillum!"
"Don't you understand Ingels?!"
"Somebody's roasting a ham!"
"I don't know...a fly went in mine, too!"
"That's open to conjecture....Thanks, I'll button mine..!"
"So long Mr. Bradley, and thanks for the lamp!"
"Ohhh...now I can carry it like a toothpick!"
"How do ya like that? He gave me the drippins!"
"Powdered Bacon; what'll they think of next?!"
"MAKE MINE FRIED!"
"Hey, hey--one of you guys is FLAT!"
"I'm dancin' from a Trombone part!"
"Show him, Tex...... YOU'RE Tex!"
"Wykoff....."A little irritation in the throat, ma'am."
"SHE'LL CALL ME STUMPY, I KNOW IT!!"

LAUGH YOURSELF SILLY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Three Stooges Collection, Vol. 6: 1949-1951
$19.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.