Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is actually a great game, but you will need the patch.
The first thing you should do when you get this game is get the inflight speech and missions scripts fix from here [...]Otherwise, most of the missions will go by without displaying critical radio messages, which makes them very hard to follow and pretty unsatisfying, since this is a story-driven game. With the patch, that problem is solved and you can enjoy the game. You...
Published on January 16, 2011 by Sphynx

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable
It may just be showing its age, but there are a lot of things that make it impossible (or at least highly difficult) to play this game.

As an earlier reviewer mentioned, the dialog is in Russian. There are subtitles-- which for some reason appear at the top of the screen-- but they go by so slowly that conversations can take hours. At higher resolutions, the...
Published on November 30, 2010 by John Morrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is actually a great game, but you will need the patch., January 16, 2011
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
The first thing you should do when you get this game is get the inflight speech and missions scripts fix from here [...]Otherwise, most of the missions will go by without displaying critical radio messages, which makes them very hard to follow and pretty unsatisfying, since this is a story-driven game. With the patch, that problem is solved and you can enjoy the game. You will have English audio (and the English voice acting is admittedly hit-or-miss) during the cutscenes and Russian audio (the Russian voices are quite good. Even though I speak very little Russian, they add the emotional tone to the English subtitles) with English subtitles while in flight. There is a lot of in-flight chatter, which I believe adds to the atmosphere of being a part of a large team. To save you some headaches, remember that whenever anyone asks you to join formation, you need to use the "join formation" autopilot feature, not just fly close to the person who is requesting for you to form up. The programmers seem to assume that you have played "Independence War" or "Freelancer" that have similar features and forget to explain about the "join formation" autopilot, and if you don't figure it out you won't get past the first mission.

The Tomorrow War is a pretty good space flight simulator with a Russian flavor. It is based on a series of popular Russian science fiction novels, so this is not one of those Russian space sims that looks pretty but has a really unclear story. The story is moved along by some of the in flight communications and through cutscenes in between missions that feel one part "Wing Commander," one part "Freelancer," with a good dose of Russian patriotism thrown in.

It offers a wide variety of missions and a satisfyingly long campaign. It has a couple of neat features, like the ability to seamlessly fly from space into a planetary atmosphere. You even get to navigate through the rings of Saturn (which you don't want to try on autopilot!) and have a couple of other memorable experiences. The combat is decent and fast paced. The story line is pretty good, even if some of the subtleties are a bit lost in translation.

The game is pretty customizable, with options for changing level of realism (ranging from somewhat realistic Newtonian physics to classic arcade physics), level of detail, etc. The system requirements are pretty modest, so it will run well and look good even on a bit of an older machine.

Without the patch, you wouldn't want to play it. But with the patch it is actually a bit of a forgotten gem in the space combat simulator family. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
It may just be showing its age, but there are a lot of things that make it impossible (or at least highly difficult) to play this game.

As an earlier reviewer mentioned, the dialog is in Russian. There are subtitles-- which for some reason appear at the top of the screen-- but they go by so slowly that conversations can take hours. At higher resolutions, the screen tears and flickers at times; It also didn't have any choice close to my monitor's native resolution. I never was able to get the Escape key working. So, the only way for me to quit was to alt-F4 out of the program entirely. And when I called up the map, there seemed to be no way to get out of the map display!

Now, some games are so good that you put up with technical flaws in order to play them. This game is not one of those. I sure hope they're not charging much for the game itself. Perhaps an XP user could get it into shape, but I'm running Windows 7 and have no desire to go back. This was definitely not worth the price (free plus eight hours to download from Amazon's sloooow server).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can' t used, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
sincerely I can't used. I tried to download in my computer and take too time. I can' t open this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
Don't work right it keeps on missing up on me and I can't download it completely.Get it if you like space games I played it at a friends and I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars okay download speed but, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
okay download speed but the installer does not work properly it freeze.
so how are we so-pose to play it at all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, June 29, 2013
By 
Enrique Berrocal (In front of my Computer atm.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
Dont really like it, graphics arent good, the game play is a bit confusing, and the story isnt interesting at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap game meant for russians?, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
Graphics are about 10 years out of date.
I think this was meant for a russian audience.
I lost interest in this so very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Game dont waste time, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
Very poor game dont waste time wasnt worth download time was definate waste of energy and was a major dissapointment and wouldnt go near ever again cant even be repaired with a patch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's in Russian!, April 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
Wish I could play this but it's in Russian...
The craft feels good and the heds up display nice but it's for the Ruskies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, bad bad, February 10, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Tomorrow War Demo [Download] (Software Download)
What little I could get the game to run turned me off completely.
The dialog was in some other language. Then the game would crash constantly.

Sorry. Bad News.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd917b288)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.