Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Glen Cook novel
Set in a city resembling Carthage during the Punic Wars, Cook has written a masterpiece of intrigue, patriotism and desperation surrounding the events after the fall of a great city. If you like your anti-heroes to be frighteningly competent, you'll love Azel. The novel is very dark and should please anyone who has read Mr. Cook's Garrett or Black Company novels.
Published on September 5, 1999 by prestoncl@yahoo.com

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Like Garret PI series
I am a huge fan of Glen Cook's Garrett PI stories. I really disliked Tower of Fear because it tried to tell about the adventure from several protagonist viewpoints. It's almost like he's trying to write an episode of the world he portrays as opposed to one person's adventure. It does add a lot of pages to the book if he is being paid by page.
Published on August 27, 2011 by VaughnFromUtah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Glen Cook novel, September 5, 1999
By 
Set in a city resembling Carthage during the Punic Wars, Cook has written a masterpiece of intrigue, patriotism and desperation surrounding the events after the fall of a great city. If you like your anti-heroes to be frighteningly competent, you'll love Azel. The novel is very dark and should please anyone who has read Mr. Cook's Garrett or Black Company novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent political intrigue story from cook, 4 1/2 stars, August 7, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tower of Fear (Paperback)
This book is somewhat unique in the books I have read by glen cook. While there are military elements present they are secondary to the story and battles do not play a notable role. The political intrigue, a story of 3 factions interested in control of the city, as well as the goals of the Witch and the infighting in 2 of the factions, one of which at least superficially resembles imperial rome. More generally this book appears to be well informed by classical studies in general and in one particular case it is hard not to think of a certain event in the Punic Wars.

Realistic portrayal of characters, believable political goals and machinations, and sympathetic characters from most sides make this a pleasure to read. If you enjoyed The Dragon Never Sleeps or Shadowline, the political violence will seem more muted here but the tapestry he weaves is arguably more complex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Book by Cook, January 27, 2006
"Tower of Fear" is yet another excellent book by Glen Cook. It's very well-written, exciting, and suspenseful. Unfortunately, as with almost all of Cook's books, this one is hard to find (i.e., it appears to be out of print). I don't know why publishers don't re-print these books. Outside of the Black Company books, almost none of them are now available. I know that the SFBC publishes 3 (or 4, now) books which consolidate the Garrett series (another excellent series). But, these older works, which I read decades ago (and believe are all excellent) have just vanished. If you can grab a copy of this book, do so. I rate it at 5 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craftsmanship and Art, June 16, 1998
By A Customer
While most authors tend toward a creativity based either on the "art" behind prose, or the "craft" of storytelling, Glen Cook apparently decided to encompass both within this novel. In a genre that is possibly threadbared by overuse of quasimidieval settings (knights/English Castles/etc.), Cook developed a Jerusalem-like city that was completely believable from a socio-political viewpoint, and threw in economic, artistic, and philosophical elements as well. Artistically, the novel is lavish with minutae that make the very architecture come to life. The craft of writing is taken to its summit via the best characterizations one may ever encounter, coupled with a plot that proves Cook to be one of the more inspired authors in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As complex and intricate as the Dune series in just one book, February 1, 1998
By A Customer
The Tower of Fear perhaps the best example of Cooks ability to intertwine plots and scemes. The amazing thing is, that while he must have had to use a flow chart to create the thing, he tells the story(stories) in such a way that you don't need to see it for yourself. The intertwinning of the plots is ingenious, and yet totally logical at the same time. I have not seen such briliant insight into the minds and scemes of characters,combined with the often conflicting interelationships between characters/plots, since the Dune series. If you want to see what a literary master is, read this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Plotting, July 11, 2010
By 
William M Miller (Bronxville, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
4 AND ˝ STARS

My first experience with dark fantasy author Glen Cook could not have been more enjoyable. I always look for a good story, solid technical writing that exudes confidence, a strong vocabulary with a unique style, believable and original characters, rich atmosphere, and an overall consistency from beginning to end. It is rare for a writer to have strengths in most of these categories. Glen Cook has them all.

This book is crafted masterfully like the construction of a champion chess game. Every new chapter delicately builds upon the last, with each development having an impact on the story. A single character's decision has a domino effect, creating new choices, options, and dangers of everyone involved. I found myself nearly breathless how well everything came together. If there was a criticism to be made of the book, it would have to be the handful of places where the dialogue felt too modern with phrases that didn't seem organic to the world Cook has created. Those few times pulled me out of the story, but fortunately, that did not happen often.

I was so impressed with this book, I have already ordered 3 more titles from this author (The Dragon Never Sleeps, Passage At Arms, and The Black Company omnibus). Anyone interested in fantasy without the clichéd orcs, ogres, elves, dwarfs, and magical weapons, will be refreshingly surprised with this stand-alone novel. Cook has renewed my interest and faith in the dark fantasy genre. I can't wait to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is how you write a fantasy book!!, August 3, 2010
First of all, let me just thank reviewer David Lessnau. He recommended this book in another review on Amazon. I got into fantasy just a short time ago but found it difficult identifying good original fantasy works. Many of the great classics apparently were written in the 70' and 80' and I would not have been able to find them without this site. Amazon reviews work!! Anyways, back to "The Tower of Fear". Glen Cook is a fantastic writer. "The Tower of Fear" was my introduction to Glen Cook, and it will not be the last time I'll read his works. "Chronicles of the Black Company" looks interesting. "The Tower of Fear" contains several story lines with multiple,complex and multi-layered characters. Usually a warning sign for me. Almost inevitably one of those story lines ends up being boring. Cook avoids this however, and puts together believable characters with interesting stories to tell. (I have to admit though it took some time getting used to the weird names. Several times I had to review the cast to see who was who). The world building is superb and I love how it all fits together. The "Tower of Fear" is a fast, fun, scary, dark and enjoyable read. It all comes together and ends with a great finish. I was however, disappointed with the two epilogues. Better to just end with the last chapter. But hey, that's just a personal opinion. Great book, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best Ever!, September 4, 2008
By 
I throughly enjoy Glen Cook's Black Company series and I am just starting book 5, "Dreams of Steel", but I have to say that by far "The Tower of Fear" is his best work that I have read so far. It reads like something from Greek Mythology. If there are any movie producers out there who are looking to make a blockbuster film then you need to contact Cook soon and get the rights to this story. But if you do, PLEASE do it justice and don't make it cheap and cheesy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tower of Fear (Paperback)
A book easy to read that in 1989 didn't get the reception HBO's Game of Thrones is nowadays but is much the same thing. Filled with intrigue and so on that grips you from one page to the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked chronicles of the black company, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tower of Fear (Kindle Edition)
You'll like this... Same style, completely new setting and universe. Keeps you wondering who the food and who the bad guys are till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Tower of Fear
The Tower of Fear by Glen Cook (Paperback - 1990)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.