Customer Reviews


357 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rules are made to be broken
Transporter DVD

Transporter is a high action movies involving an ex-Special forces soldier who earns his living transporting "packages" for various clients, mostly shady. In this movie, the transporter ( Jason Stratham )violates his own rules ( he's real big on rules ) and looks inside the package, doesn't like what he sees and doesn't complete the delivery...
Published on March 31, 2008 by Gunner

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Start, An Unraveled, Appalling Finish
This film starts off absolutely excellently, with great pace and dialog, violence, a wicked car used immediately in a fantastic chase, good music, and a great on-location foreign setting; it's basically a BMW Film. Then you get a little plot, some complications, and some more really good fighting and shooting action. The opening was excellent, and I was looking forward...
Published on November 7, 2003 by Sir Charles Panther


‹ Previous | 1 2 336 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Start, An Unraveled, Appalling Finish, November 7, 2003
This review is from: The Transporter (DVD)
This film starts off absolutely excellently, with great pace and dialog, violence, a wicked car used immediately in a fantastic chase, good music, and a great on-location foreign setting; it's basically a BMW Film. Then you get a little plot, some complications, and some more really good fighting and shooting action. The opening was excellent, and I was looking forward to a great film. But as the film went on, the holes in the plot and the continuity just got bigger and bigger, the lead actress' ability to act got weaker and weaker, and the story got more and more stupid, until by the end it was just absolute crap. I was thrilled watching the opening, but by the end I was glad I'd not paid to see it.

I'm a Statham fan, of his work with Guy Ritchie, in The One, and cursing John Carpenter for killing him off in Ghosts of Mars. Statham is buff in the role, if a bit flat, due to his character. He's methodical, thorough, and completely professional, and it clearly applies to all aspects of his life. Yet in all he goes through--he goes through a lot--he barely shows a trace of anger, or surprise, or anything else.

Qi Shu is awful as the female lead, hollow and awkward, not knowing what to do with her arms. She's at her best when bound and gagged early in the film. The only time she comes off convincingly is when she's speaking Chinese. She is grotesquely thin, and just not that attractive, as stock Asian film beauties go.

I can see why this film didn't do well in the US. It's just too Euro, with the unfamiliar French scenery, the Mediterranean architecture, the metric measurements, the too-thick French accents. Even the Chinese actors are mushy when they utter their English. But luckily, when it counts everyone speaks English. And the bad guy's English is excellent.

Much like other action films, physics takes a holiday, with bullets penetrating 8-inch thick stone walls. A bad guy takes an entry-and-exit shot to the head, and all it leaves is a smallish glob of brain-goop on the back window of Statham's perfectly maintained BMW. Compare this to Vincent capping Leon in the face in "Pulp Fiction."

The obligatory love scene is comical, in that there's nothing in the preceding 30 minutes to create any chemistry or tension between Statham and Qi Shu. And there's no romantic follow-up of any kind, no hand-holding, no knowing/loving looks, nothing. Awful.

The plot and continuity just get worse and worse as the film goes on. Statham jailbreaks with a hostage--cut to Statham in some beater Saab, with no police chase. He hops in a launch called "Cassis" at the quay, which in the next scene has been transformed into the "Mannon." My 7-year-old daughter noticed this continuity flaw; why didn't the filmmaking professionals catch it?

Later, in a port the size of Marseilles, how is Statham going to find a single container full of undocumented Chinese? With a stethoscope, naturally. This place handles probably 10,000 containers/day, stacked in blocks 10 across, 20 deep, and 10-12 high, yet apparently he plans to listen to each one. The flaws just accelerate. The bad guys ignite some sort of fuel/oil in the choppy waters of the harbor with weapons fire, but the same shots fired onto an oil-covered floor do nothing, not even sparks.

Granted, the fights are choreographed very well, in that Statham gets to take his shirt off a lot, and his moves are the coolest, strongest, most acrobatic, etc. The bad guys, who at one point outnumber him something like 9 to 1, come at him singly, each politely waiting their turn to get punched senseless. He beats and belts, but doesn't kill any of the bad guys who after all are all out to kill him (what about the two hapless cops in the trunk of his blown-up BMW?). Statham goes down only once, right when the plot needs him to, with a single kick delivered by a little guy whom Statham punched the living hell out of earlier in the film. Weak.

The final chase is an action-packed joke. Statham parachutes from a crop duster (where did that sport chute come from?) onto a truck moving at probably 60 mph. The bad guy appears on the opposite side of the truck from where his vehicle was less than 20 seconds earlier. Throughout the chase, there are two containers full of Chinese immigrants in the convoy, but Statham saves only one. Where did the other one go, with its assumed slavery-bound immigrants inside? And when they open the container up, it's not absolutely packed with people, but is only about 1/3 full, and there's no dead bodies in there, no piles of trash, no filth, no wretched urchins half-dead from 20 days locked inside a tossing metal box. Instead, a delightful and cuddly little Chinese child wanders out of the darkness for a loving hug from the wooden Qi Shu. Barf.

At times, the highly original Stanley Clarke-of whom I am a huge fan-soundtrack just wasn't matched to the film, its pace, mood, or scenes. There were a couple of times when really pounding hip-hop rap was playing, loud, over a fight scene or chase taking place in the south of France. That's just too forced, trying too hard, a sad ploy to be too cool, to appeal to one demographic too many. The soundtrack also was just too intrusive at times, taking over the action itself. This reflects poor post-production.

In conclusion, go ahead and watch, don't ask too many questions, and try to avoid paying for the experience. You'll get a fantastic opening, some good stunts and cool fighting, but characters and a story that unravel faster than the speed limit on the southern French autoroute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Statham, August 22, 2006
I love this movie. Not only is the action intense and riveting, but Jason Statham is fine with a capitol F. He's fast and spectacular! He moves the plot like he's been doing this all his life! Watch this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rule #4: Forget about Vin Diesel, Statham is the real deal!, April 23, 2004
By 
Daniel Mankowski "classic rocker" (Scottsdale, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Transporter [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie rocked ,Jason Statham who was in Snatch,and Lock Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels is a courier who transporst dangerous cargo with no questions asked. But when he opens the package, he finds a hot babe played by Shu Qi, and then his trouble begins.This movie has some of the coolest stunts and action ever seen, much better than XXX and the Matrix combined.In a fight, Jason Statham would wipe the floor with Vin Diesel. Another good point is that Jason Statham is easy to undertsand, I watched part of XXX and couldn't comprehend a word of that idiot Vin Diesel. Bottom Line: Transporter is the next generation action movie. This package deserves to be opened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Octane Action, August 31, 2003
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Transporter (DVD)
"The Transporter" is a great addition to the action category with a nice array of fight scenes as well as car chase scenes.
THE STORY:
Frank Martin (Jason Statham) is a courier who will deliver anything, anywhere. His latest assignment turns out to be a bit more than he bargained for as he becomes targeted by his employer after he "opens his package" and discovers an Asian girl set on stopping a slave ring.
THE COOL THINGS:
Action fans rejoice, this is your type of movie. Lots of fast cars; lots of martial arts mayhem, pure and simple. The bomb explosions, car chase scenes and fight scenes in various locales throughout France are simply amazing and breathtaking. If you love action you'll love "The Transporter."
BEST SCENES:
1. The oil slick fight scene
2. The Freeway battle
3. Assault of Frank's place
THE DVD EXTRAS:
"The Transporter" DVD comes with a nice, if small, collection of extras to add to your viewing and listening pleasure. Among the goodies you get are:
1. Audio commentary track with actor Jason Statham and producer Steven Chasman
2. "Making of Featurette" - 12 minute featurette that talks about the training Jason Statham underwent to pull off all the stunts in the film.
3. Theatrical Trailer
4. 3 Extended Fight scenes with optional audio commentary by the cast and crew
THE VERDICT:
Overall, if you love action "The Transporter" is the ticket for you. It's simply your standard action flick with all the cool stunts, fights and FX you need for your fix till the next action flick comes out. The DVD features, in particular the extended fight scenes, add to the film and make it a good purchase for your collection if you're so inclined. In all, if you're an action fan this is definitely worth the watch.
GRADES:
The Movie: 4 stars
The Extras: 4 stars (small on quantity, but big on quality imho)
Final: 4 stars
Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move Over, Bond. Here's Frank Martin, January 14, 2006
By 
David Baldwin (Philadelphia,PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jason Statham is the jolt in the arm that Western action films needed. His appeal to me recalls a latter day Steve McQueen. Aside from being up to physical demands of the role in a sly understated way Statham gets into the skin of Frank Martin, disillusioned ex-Special Forces officer turned amoral transporter for unsavory parties. The film is a great hodge-podge of American, European, and Hong Kong action styles. Director Cory Yuen manages to comfortably weave edge-of-your-seat car chases, gunplay, and hand-to-hand combat into the film's narrative. The film's basic plot of Frank having a change of heart after uncovering a white slavery operation has resonance and doesn't come off as a cheap ploy to engender sympathy for Frank. Definitely an action film whose reputation will grow in time. Bring on "Transporter 3". I'm listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Operator/ Sublime Panache !!!, April 5, 2004
This review is from: The Transporter [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Amidst the world of Super Heros, Tough Guys, and Martial Artists comes a refreshingly different bad guy/ good guy character that is reminiscent of Paul Newman playing Cool Hand Luke. Just when I thought I was getting tired of action movies due to the predictable flow, and tired rehashed plotlines, I stumbled upon a webpage suggesting this movie as a contender for action flick of 2003. Since I had never even heard of the movie I was intrigued and when I saw it ( 3 times so far ) I was most pleasantly surprised and even mesmerized by a movie so subtle, and yet in your face from start to finish. My favorite scene is the improvised ballet performance on the metal bike pedal cleats in the oil slick battle. How someone could not feel the cinematic genius in this endeavor is beyond me. The Transporter is a " Diamond in the Rough " and the sleeper hit of 2003. Looking forward to "T2" if they decide to make one. Kudos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Transporter (Blu-ray), June 22, 2010
Movie - 4.0

The first time I saw Jason Statham was in The One. I certainly didn't think too much of him at the time because of his character's unstable British/Brooklyn hybrid accent and the lack of action he got in comparison to Jet Li and.. the other Jet Li, and I had no idea he'd transform into the kind of action star he turned out to be afterward. Then came The Transporter, a Eurasian concoction of film-making helmed by great French director Luc Besson and soon-to-be protégés Louis Leterrier and Pierre Morel and choreographed by long-time Hong Kong veteran Cory Yuen, who coincidentally worked with Li (in addition to at least half his other movies) and Statham (for the first time ever) in The One. Whoever came up with the idea to bring Yuen into these movies did a great job. Shallow and simple plot aside, The Transporter and its sequels have never been about the story, but about Frank Martin kicking butt and driving a fast car. The Transporter series is one of my favorite guilty pleasures of escapist entertainment because of the sheer style that accompanies the character of Frank Martin and his exotic adventures. He's calm, collected, where's a snazzy suit, performs some very elegant martial arts moves for a buff British guy, and looks cool doing it all at the same time. It's almost like James Bond and the whole "deadly and debonair gentleman" theme, but without all the espionage, gadgets, and actual attempt at developing a story. In fact, after watching this again just recently I have to say the action and driving sequences become more and more appreciable every time I see them. If not for the PG-13 rating, G.I. Joe-esque "laser bullets," and occasional moments of cheese and campiness, I'd probably be so bold as to consider this "quintessential" for action junkies. However, I think part of the overall fun is its B-movie-ness and its ability to not be taken as seriously as other films in the genre.

Video - 3.5

Presented by Fox in 1080p at an original aspect ratio of 2.35:1 using the now-outdated MPEG-2 codec The Transporter looks pretty decent, all things considered. Colors are vibrant with a reddish tint to skin tones, and film-grain has its fair share of screen time as well throughout a majority of the movie. Detail and textures are relatively fine, though close ups varied between "somewhat crisp" and "really smudgy." Perhaps more disc space or a more advanced video codec could've made for better sharpness and higher bit rates. Black levels and contrast are better than the SD-DVD, but again, being one of the initial BD releases before all the studios got the hang of encoding, much is left to be desired. Artifacts and debris are also present, though it's actually less than what I expected, especially in comparison to other transfers I've seen produced on more recent films.

Audio - 4.5

Although the video is just sub-par, the DTS-HD 5.1 track more than makes up for it. From the very beginning where Frank drives his BMW 735 around Paris we're immersed into the world of The Transporter with a very healthy dose of bass from Stanley Clarke's popping score and a mix of various car, crash, tumble, and clicking sound effects from the chase. Action sequences involving weaponry and fisticuffs do a good job sweeping between the high and low ends, with automatic weapons and crunching sounds being most prominent. Dialogue is clear and legible outside of all the thick accents from the actors and separation of music and sound effects is excellent. The only quality keeping me from calling this a reference track is the somewhat subdued LFE levels. They seem to be more accentuated by the music rather than the action itself, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it takes out just enough oomph to make this worth showcasing. Fortunately, though, the sequels fix that.

Extras - 1.0

Aside from trailers, there's only a commentary track featuring Statham and producer Steven Chasman. It would've been nice to see an interview by Luc Besson or maybe a vignette about the martial arts or driving choreography...

Overall - 3.5

The Transporter is full of testosterone and oozes cool all over the place. For me, it's also the beginning of what would become a pretty good action career for the actor formerly known as the character Bacon. He definitely has what it takes to be that sort of in-your-face, do-it-all action hero. And while the general opinion may be to call this a popcorn movie, I'd actually disagree and say pay more attention to the "craft" of the movie itself. The martial arts, stunt driving, music, and cinematography, while not part of a spectacular story, are actually very well-coordinated by some very talented people. With decent video quality and an excellent lossless track, action fans would do well to break Frank Martin's Rule #3 and take a look at this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for what it is -- Beautifully shot, Non-stop Action, April 19, 2003
This review is from: The Transporter (DVD)
The Transporter is very entertaining, because of an explosive mix both on and off-screen. Off-screen, French directing teams (some from Ronin) created awesome cinematography and driving scenes, mixed with Yuen-driven (the credited director) hand-to-hand action scenes, all mixed with--of course--Jason Statham's fighting prowess.
On-screen, Statham has a rare combination of actual acting and physical prowess. Shu Qi is beautiful, and her character has more going on than just to be saved by Statham (some viewers apparently missed this). There is also an apparently well-known French actor who works as a semi-friendly inspector, and he does a great job.
Problems with the movie are predictable for something so action-oriented: plot holes, some impossible stunts. It also has some unique problems, which add to the movies's charms: such as French criminals high and low speak American English (?), Statham tries to do the same (and gives up halfway, like Costner in Robin Hood but reversed), and Shu Qi and the French inspector are at times unintelligible.
But at a basic level, the movie is all about Statham kicking ass, about Shu Qi looking beautiful, and lots of explosions over a sunny European seaside setting. It all comes together nicely (if often absurdly), and is highly recommended to those who need a truly nonstop action title to round out their collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful chases, fights, actors and locations, January 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Transporter (DVD)
OK - a good deal of fight scenes and chases cross the lines of belivability (after all, it is just a movie), but both the chase scenes and the fight scenes are delightful to watch as are several of the actors.

Jason Statham, plays Frank - a transporter who will transport anything without asking any unnecessary questions and following few simple rules - one of which is never to look into packages he is transporting.

His problems begin when he decides to take a look, because in the package he was transporting there was obviously something alive and moving. The package is a chinese girl Lai (played by delightful Shu Qi), whose father is involved in smugling Chinese slaves. She wants to stop his father and in a process involves the transporter, who happens to be very well trained in combat. Here the chase and the non-stop action begin with one good guy fighting against a whole organized gang of bad guys.

Other than the chases and fight scenes, and in spite of the unbelievable scenes, I liked the Frank's character - his head is screwed on right - he is focused on what he is doing, he is well-organized, he plans whatever can be planned and when things don't work out, he just moves on - there is no waste of time or energy on bemoaning one's destiny or planning vengance for damages suffered. If something is gone, you simply create a new thing and a new life - a healthy attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EU'r coming along for the ride!, August 27, 2004
By 
slider (Oceanside, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Transporter (DVD)
A foreword to those with throbbing craniums and cerebal hemmoraging: Stay away! This movie is strictly for action junkies. If you keep that in mind and don't try to nit-pick it, you'll enjoy it much more. It's meant to be fast, furious and outrageous. It's the perfect antidote to boredom.

Jason Statham is a rising star. I've seen his limited role in Snatch, but he gets to take his career to a whole new level as The Transporter. He's refreshing to watch with his cool, collected British manner. This movie would have been a complete flop without him. After countless Van-Damme and Segal flops in the last decade, Statham is the new action hero to cheer for (don't get me started on Vin Diesel).

The film is beautifully filmed on the south coast of France (a nice change from the streets of L.A.). A primitive musical score tries to keep the action alive. And, Wow! What action! Stratham demonstrates his kick-boxing talents and makes mush out of anyone who crosses him. But it's the suave, Bond-esque manner in which his character conducts his "business" that makes this a really cool flick.

The movie has logical flaws and exaggerations. I mean, lots of them. But I reserve my critical judgment for more serious films. Thankfully, Luc Besson has left this one open-ended and ripe for a sequel. Maybe the bugs will be worked out of the next one before it gets to production. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 336 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Transporter
The Transporter by Corey Yuen (DVD - 2003)
$16.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.