Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good snapshot for trip ideas
This is an awful travel guide, and you would never want to take it with you. But that's not it's purpose. Instead it shows a spread for each country, and gives a few trip planning ideas of must see things to do. This might be the opposite of finding new places off the beaten path, but the pictures give a good glimpse of what that country may look like. Flipping through...
Published 15 months ago by Andy G

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good coffee table piece, Poor packaging!
The book itself is a nice coffee table piece for visitors to thumb through. I bought this as a gift for my parents who will be traveling around the world for a few months. The book is semi-informative and being a person who has travled I cant agree with a lot of the choices, but that is my personal experience and opinion, but it covers a lot of countries which is great...
Published 12 months ago by The Regime


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good snapshot for trip ideas, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an awful travel guide, and you would never want to take it with you. But that's not it's purpose. Instead it shows a spread for each country, and gives a few trip planning ideas of must see things to do. This might be the opposite of finding new places off the beaten path, but the pictures give a good glimpse of what that country may look like. Flipping through it, you can quickly get an idea of some countries you may want to visit that you otherwise knew nothing about, and then be able to look for real travel guides for the details you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good coffee table piece, Poor packaging!, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book itself is a nice coffee table piece for visitors to thumb through. I bought this as a gift for my parents who will be traveling around the world for a few months. The book is semi-informative and being a person who has travled I cant agree with a lot of the choices, but that is my personal experience and opinion, but it covers a lot of countries which is great! But as stated before a nice addtion to any coffee table.

********The delivery

The first book I recieved was damaged. The pages bent and torn, scrathes all over. The box it was delivered in is fine, it looks like poor handeling when actually packaging the item. No bubble wrap.

*******Package number 2

Again the same thing. The book is torn, bent and scratched. The book fits snug into the box and looks as though it may have been forced in and not wrapped to avoid damage at all. Amazon customer service has been great in re-sending the book overnight and a third replacement is on its way due to be delivered this afternoon. Fingers crossed.

******update
It took 4 packages before I recieved one that was not damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Travel Book, January 9, 2011
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
`The Travel Book' is a stunning coffee table book from Lonely Planet which showcases 229 countries with bright, inspiring images and various facts and figures of note. This isn't the kind of book you read from cover to cover, but rather one you dip into at odd moments and it's large size means it will look incredible laid out on a table top for guests to browse through.

Each country is given a two page spread which features an array of images (usually one large image and three - four smaller images), a paragraph introducing the country, info on the capital, population, land area and language, before looking at best times to visit, things to see and do, resources of things to explore to find out more about each country (things to read, listen, watch, eat and drink), typical things that epitomise the country in question and a random fact to interest you. It also includes a map of the country and surrounding nations.

The photography is incredible throughout and after flicking through the countries I have personally visited I found them to be fairly representative. This is a great way to inspire you to visit particular locations and I soon became engrossed with flicking through each page and soaking up the info on offer. The only problem with this format is that small countries get equal coverage to large countries and when a country is as vast and diverse as, say the United States or China, the imagery doesn't do true justice to how varied the country truly is. This is a minor niggle with the format though and one that is hard to counter in a book of this size and type.

All in all this book serves to whet your appetite to make you want to visit some of the stunning places around the world and it will introduce you to some of the lesser known countries as well. It is well laid out and informative and makes for a delightful coffee table book for your home or, alternatively, office environment.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Travel Book - (Lonely Planet), October 29, 2010
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
It's a great big world that deserves a great big book. In fact, at 14.2 x 10.6 inches and weighing in at 8.2 pounds, the latest edition of Lonely Planet's "The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World" has got to be the largest travel book ever.

The good news is that this edition covers every single country on the planet - from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe - with a double spread featuring several characteristic photos and an information template covering the best time to visit, top things to see and do as well as a survey of what to read, eat, drink as well as basic data points (population, capital, etc.) and a random fact on each territory. Given the large scale format, the emphasis is on photos, though the selections lean more towards indigenous people over scenic landmarks.

The bad news is that the self imposed limits of two pages per country only serve to whet one's appetite for more information on any country that piques one's interest. (A lead in for Lonely Planet's full series of travel guides perhaps?) And the limited choice of photos in certain cases leaves something to be desired. (A single photo of bagpipers represent Bermuda?)

While certainly a colorful and wide ranging guide, "The Travel Book" is more of a coffee table style gift item than a comprehensive travel reference. But as a broad survey of all the possibilities to visit on planet earth, it is certainly a huge statement. Just be prepared to dig deeper somewhere else from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lavish print quality, average to above average reviews, February 10, 2011
By 
Chick (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
I was psyched to purchase this book, being a wanderluster with a penchant for the uncommon road. I think the choice of photos reflected a desire to portray the uncommon backroad, hidden, less-traveled path. But I was disappointed with some of the written editorial and photo choices with the countries to which I relate. My Albanian friend disliked the Albania spread because the individuals portrayed consistently throughout all photos were only from the country, I disliked the South Korea and Brasil pages. I felt the descriptions of food and photo choices were limited & mundane. (Even the typical Carnaval photo was dull. I've been to Salvador & Rio Carnavals and were stunned that even modern media couldn't capture the brilliant creativity & playfulness of Carnaval floats.) That's what disappointed me when I was so eager to open the book, some of its limited & cliched descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing travel book, worth looking at, August 25, 2011
By 
EvaM (Connecticut Yankee) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
This coffee-table book has a single page for each country. It's simple format is easy to read, tempting the traveler, or reminding one of places already visited. There are enough photos to create beauty and showcase the country. Descriptions are short, but accurate. A few special locations for tourists are listed and provide a glimpse of the possibilities within each country. No lists, warnings or mundane information are jammed in, just a pleasant view with a brief vignette of every country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, December 16, 2010
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my sister as a present but after receiving it in the mail, I could not resist opening it! This book literally has EVERY country featured in it, and it provides some very interesting information. Although this is not a guide book in any way, it does provide interesting info about every country and it great for people who need to decide on where to go in the world! and the pictures are stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the essential travel book, December 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
If you've been everywhere, this is still your book, as it will bring back many pleasant memories. If there are places you look forward to visiting, it's also your book, for both the photography and the intelligent prose. This exceptional production is surely not just another coffee-table book, but rather a beautiful exposition of the earth's most interesting places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My FAVORITE gift book for people!, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love giving this book to newlyweds, college graduates, and otherwise as a gift. It is awesome, and it has inspired me to travel to places like the Maldives and Argentina, just because the pictures and descriptions inside were so captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Coffeetable Book, April 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted to use this Lonely Planet Travel book with my class on Professional Writing (and did use their guide to travel writing), but it was more beautiful to look at than to learn from. Glad I got it, just for the thoroughness of the collection and the pretty photos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book)
$50.00 $38.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.