Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprise Bonus Included With This One !
I think most of the previous reviewers are venting their displeasure at the excellent CHARADE being remade. Nothing could measure up to the original in their minds, and this one doesn't.
The DVD comes with CHARADE as well as the remake. The bonus is that the audio and video on CHARADE is vastly superior to the currently-available DVD (except perhaps the expensive...
Published on August 4, 2003

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the original but still decent
While it doesn't have the same charm as Grant and Hepburn's "Charade", it does stand out in it's own right. Thandie Newton's character comes home one afternoon to find her house ransacked and her husband, Charlie, dead. The French Police, three assailants, an official from the OSD as well as a handsome love interest, charmingly played by Wahlberg, approach her looking...
Published on February 21, 2005 by G. Jennings


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprise Bonus Included With This One !, August 4, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
I think most of the previous reviewers are venting their displeasure at the excellent CHARADE being remade. Nothing could measure up to the original in their minds, and this one doesn't.
The DVD comes with CHARADE as well as the remake. The bonus is that the audio and video on CHARADE is vastly superior to the currently-available DVD (except perhaps the expensive Criterion edition), so those who love CHARADE may want to purchase Truth About Charlie just to get a terrific CHARADE ! !
By the way, it's a 2-sided disc with a movie on each side, not 2 discs. Three stars for Truth About Charlie and 5 for CHARADE - 4 stars overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the original but still decent, February 21, 2005
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
While it doesn't have the same charm as Grant and Hepburn's "Charade", it does stand out in it's own right. Thandie Newton's character comes home one afternoon to find her house ransacked and her husband, Charlie, dead. The French Police, three assailants, an official from the OSD as well as a handsome love interest, charmingly played by Wahlberg, approach her looking for a valuable item which they believe her late husband left in her possession.

Overwhelmed by the onslaught of events and mysterious visitors popping up into her life, Newton becomes desparately confused over who she can trust. It is equally as confusing for the viewer when the name switches start happening more rapidly. Despite it all, the movie is very stylish with a great soundtrack. Newton and Wahlberg's chemistry works very well on screen.

Worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No comparison, September 19, 2003
By 
EgusHdus (Hua Hin, Thailand USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
So many complain that this film must be compared to a sickly sweet '60's original...no way!
Do you like Jean Reno? "The Truth About Charlie" is a film in his genre. Enjoy "The Transporter"?
Accept this as a wonderfully dynamic, visually stimulating film that stands on it's own. I was thoroughly enthralled, straining to catch every twist, and nuance. Particularly interested in how the film was not "dumbed down" for the American audience, example, scenes would often start for a sentence or two in French then casually transition to English. The "feeling" was there, and you knew, you just knew what they were saying....you "got it". You never lost the Euro feel and I loved the location filming in Paris.
The plot is completely unpredictable and you need to sit still right through the credits to get the full effect. Subtle humor, unusual (and well-done) camerawork, surrealistic appearances of French pop singers. This is a wonderful film.
Avoid watching it the first time if you have noisy kids, inattentive spouses or other distractions. You will not want to blink.
"The Truth About Charlie" is one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus: Excellent anamorphic transfer of "Charade"!, September 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
I purchased this DVD from Amazon (a real bargain, "used-like-new" for less than five dollars, including shipping cost) to get a reasonably priced version of the original movie "Charade", filmed in 1963. Many DVD editions of "Charade" have been released, and to judge by the numerous reviews on this site, most of these previous releases have very poor video transfers to DVD.

The version of "Charade" presented on the flip side of "The Truth about Charlie" is, however, quite good--surprisingly good! "Charade", starring Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant, is presented here in a clean, anamorphic widescreen format, enhanced for 16x9 aspect-ratio, large-screen TVs. The colors are excellent, great skin tones, and the mono sound is fine, considering the age of the film. There is little (if any) graininess, even in the night scences (the blacks are very deep).

The Criterion Collection sells a very expensive, remastered version of "Charade" (I have not seen it)--but, in my opinion, there is very little room for additional enhancement of the version included here--especially considering the big price difference. "Charade" looks simply terrific on my large screen, high-defintion TV, played on my Toshiba HD DVD player (the "upconversion" helps). I eventually will watch "The Truth about Charlie"--but if you want an excellent version of "Charade"--this is the DVD to buy. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The truth about this movie is that it's bad..., October 11, 2011
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
One of those films that left me scratching my head, `The Truth About Charlie' isn't so much confusing as it is bewilderingly dull. The film fails to do much of anything. It isn't fun, it isn't sexy, it isn't witty, it isn't charming...it just isn't. The action is problematic in that it doesn't do anything we haven't already seen countless times before, and the chemistry between the two stars is borderline non-existent. I haven't seen the original yet (although I will one day, considering my Hepburn adoration) and so I cannot compare, but I hope it has more substance and style than this one. The plot just hangs there here, and the way it is strung along doesn't draw the audience in. I expected more from Demme, who has proven himself a capable director...and then again, he has also proven himself inconsistent. This is probably the worst thing he's ever done, and when you consider that it's one of the worst films of the past decade then it really says a lot for Demme's taste level. Cliché ridden and uninspired throughout, the truth about this movie is that it's bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get it for Charade, February 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
I decided to buy this DVD because it comes with Charade. I'd never seen the Truth About Charlie, and it wasn't that great. But even so, it was worth it for Charade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm....., April 12, 2007
By 
Michelle Polk (Mississippi, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
I couldn't wait to see this movie since it was a remake of one of my favorite movies. What a bust! It was hardly an adaptation and then boring to boot! Don't waste your time in renting or buying this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE, May 17, 2004
By 
"movieandbooklover" (Greenfield, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
My husband and I just watched this movie yesterday and both agreed that it was terrible. I have seen (and loved) Charade previously, but he had not and we both did not like the movie for the following reasons:
1. The Chemistry between Walberg and Newton was non-existent. You kept asking yourself during the movie, why do they like each other, and why do I care what happens to them.
2. The constant close-ups on people's faces was annoying.
3. Charlie's crazy mother was a bizarre addition that was not entertaining.
4. The plot dragged along and seemed to go nowhere. There was no suspense. Tim Robbins appeared to be suspicious and guilty the entire time. And when they all go out dancing together, you wonder why Newton is scared of any of them.
I could go on, but those were the main reasons we didn't enjoy the movie. Watch Charade instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst remake I've ever seen., June 7, 2006
By 
James Luckard (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
Appalling. It's not like there wasn't a formula for the makers of this pointless remake to follow, the original worked, it could have been updated, if not equalled.

Instead, Demme throws out everything that made the original great - romance, humor, suspense, intelligent pacing, all so he can make a movie that seems to parody mainstream genre films and acts as a self-satisfied exercise in "New Wave" mimicry.

Except the "New Wave" films were just that, new, they were doing something original. Demme's film seems an excuse for him to enjoy working in Paris, it certainly isn't coherent. Plot elements are raised, then forgotten, and what on earth is the crazy mother who murders people doing here, is this a comedy? By the maddening finale, the characters seem to have lost interest in the mystery, just as the audience has done by this point.

Obviously remaking a film with Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn, two of the greatest movie stars of all time, was going to be difficult, but why even bother when all you have to offer is Marky Mark and Thandie Newton. With George Clooney and Nicole Kidman, or others of that caliber, it might have been a good idea, the original works because of the star power and their chemistry. This poor enterprise was doomed from the start.

The definition of the pointless remake, makes Gus Van Sant's "Psycho" seem creative and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie made me want to vomit..., April 20, 2003
By 
bear99 "Anime Aficionado" (Gilroy, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Truth About Charlie / Charade (DVD)
The only sort of alright thing about this movie was Thandie Newton. But even she didn't do justice to Audrey Hepburn's Regina. And Mark Wahlberg just doesn't have the charm, poise, or presence that Cary Grant brings to the screen. Most of the best, witty, and funny dialogue between Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant was cut from this remake. The Truth About Charlie just doesn't have the heart or pacing that Charade had. I couldn't even watch the entire movie.
If you want to see a funny and witty mystery movie that keeps you on your toes see Charade. Skip The Truth about Charlie, its a waste of time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Truth About Charlie / Charade
The Truth About Charlie / Charade by Stanley Donen (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $10.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.