Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investigative journalism at its best!
I read Robert K. Wilcox's first book on the mysterious Shroud about a year ago. The present book is a revision and significant updating of that first book, bringing the reader completely up-to-date with the latest scientific findings.

Wilcox takes the approach of an investigative journalist. He comes to the Shroud with no evident preconception or...
Published on March 14, 2010 by Gabe

versus
67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Quickie Make-Over
When I ordered this book, I thought it was brand, spanking new. Little did I know it was a makeover of a book written in 1977! And a book I already had in my collection - somewhere. (I have alot of books! Mostly from Amazon!) Anyway - I reread the book to find what was newly added to it. 37 pages out of a 234 page book, by my count. What is new - SPOILER ALERT - is...
Published on March 21, 2010 by Richard Masloski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investigative journalism at its best!, March 14, 2010
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
I read Robert K. Wilcox's first book on the mysterious Shroud about a year ago. The present book is a revision and significant updating of that first book, bringing the reader completely up-to-date with the latest scientific findings.

Wilcox takes the approach of an investigative journalist. He comes to the Shroud with no evident preconception or religious/irreligous prejudice. He is thorough in exploring every conceivable hypothesis of what the Shroud is -- from the Shroud being a Medieval painted forgery to it being as old as the time of Christ and from the same Palestine area. Wilcox takes the reader as he travels to continents and countries to interview and consult with a diverse range of experts, including archeologists, artists (painters), photographers, theologians, and top atomic physicists. He is facile at translating complex scientific concepts to make them readily understandable to the lay reader. One by one, Wilcox demonstrates how each alternate hypothesis for the Shroud falls apart, leaving in the end only one possible conclusion. Readers of the secular rationalist bent will appreciate Wilcox's meticulous empiricism, while readers of Christian faith will find their faith vindicated. This is not to say that the two groups are mutually exclusive categories. In fact, the Shroud is the best confirmation that faith and science are not antagonistic, but can be mutually reinforcing.

In the end, what is most intriguing about the Shroud is that its astounding characteristics and true nature are increasingly revealed as human beings grow more in knowledge and our science becomes increasingly advanced and sophisticated. Instead of science showing the Shroud to be a fake, it is with science that the Shroud's miraculous character is revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Quickie Make-Over, March 21, 2010
By 
Richard Masloski (New Windsor, New York USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
When I ordered this book, I thought it was brand, spanking new. Little did I know it was a makeover of a book written in 1977! And a book I already had in my collection - somewhere. (I have alot of books! Mostly from Amazon!) Anyway - I reread the book to find what was newly added to it. 37 pages out of a 234 page book, by my count. What is new - SPOILER ALERT - is what has been hinted at all along since the controversial Carbon 14 datings of 1988...and that is that the test samples were not from the original Shroud at all, but pieces of patchwork from the time scientifically deduced by the testing. This issue was being addressed almost as soon as the test results were back, in addition to other theories as to why the date was medieval and not closer to the time of Jesus.

So what Mr. Wilcox has done, in effect, is what was done to the Shroud. A small patch of it was sewn into a corner, a 5 1/2 x 3 1/2 snippet compared to the Shroud's overall 14 foot length - this was allegedly done sometime in 1508 and this is what was dated. With this revamped book Wilcox has done much the same thing: added a snippet to an old dusty book and got it on the market for this coming Easter's public showing of the Shroud by its Turin guardians. Great timing!

I am genuinely mystified by the Shroud. When I had first heard the Carbon 14 results I said to myself, okay, there's a date indicating forgery...and most all of science was so smug about the dating's infallibility - but they could NOT explain how the image got on the Shroud. Nor did they take into consideration the possibility that if the Shroud contains the image of Christ at the moment of his resurrection (since the image is more of a scorch and NOT a painting whatsoever)then that "miraculous" moment may have altered the Carbon content of the cloth. Anyway, it is a genuine enigma of enormous proportions. But the depth of its many, many wonders and mysteries are only quickly told in Wilcox's book. It is too rapid and too easy a read and too much of what may have been relevant in its first edition is left in now as padding. The NEW information seems completely rushed...as if to meet a press deadline. Why not just write a brand new book??? Well, Time is money, you know.

There are two books out there that are much, much more in-depth and much, much more convincing than the work now being discussed. And they are THE RESURRECTION OF THE SHROUD by Mark Antonacci (published in 2000)and Ian Wilson's THE BLOOD AND THE SHROUD (written in 1998 but it also has been reworked with all of the latest data.) Both of these books are immensely more compelling and captivating than Wilcox's quickie. Even the photographic section pales in comparison to either of the other two works. And if you want a truly beautifully illustrated book on the Shroud - and also one containing much more informative than the Wilcox work - look for THE TURIN SHROUD: THE ILLUSTRATED EVIDENCE by Ian Wilson and Barrie Schwortz.

An artifact such as the Shroud of Turin needs a much more in-depth, in-detail approach....for its implications are immense. Wilcox's book (even in its original state) seems more of a patch-work quilt than a truly methodical analysis of this enduring enigma. It's so-so for a quick read, but you will definitely want to know a heck of alot more after reading it. And you'll find written and visual treasures in the other books mentioned above that are barely probed in THE TRUTH ABOUT THE SHROUD OF TURIN. Even the title and its subtitle - SOLVING THE MYSTERY - are grandiose distortions as to what the book truly contains and achieves.

Happy Easter to one and all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Mystery, April 6, 2010
By 
Amaya Eckel "Papaya" (Venice, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
I guess I'm behind the times but I knew little about the Shroud of Turin when I ran into this book, very reasonably priced. Material evidence of Jesus? That was interesting. I had some idea of Veronica's Veil, but this ancient cloth has a strange total body image, front and back, on it. It has a tradition of being Jesus's burial cloth and a very plausible history back to the tomb in the Bible. But it's the science about this linen cloth that is really impressive. The image is like a photographic negative. But in fact something etched the images in such precision that it goes beyond a photo. Sophisticated computers can read the image to the point that a 3-dimensional holograph can be made of the man in the shroud. No paintings or conventional photos can be converted like that. Wilcox, a journalist, weaves a good story here - a great story. He starts with the first photographs taken in 1898. That was the start of scientific interest in the shroud. Doctors say the man in the shroud pictures is a real corpse. It exhibits astounding anatomical realism. It's not a traditional Christ which argues against a forgery. Some scientists say they can see flowers in the images, like funeral wreaths, which are native to Jerusalem and only bloom around Easter. The Vatican says it's found documents that plug important gaps in the shroud's history. For someone like me who didn't know much about the shroud this is a great primer. Wilcox takes the reader on a search literally around the world. He apparently thinks the shroud is authentic but lets the reader decide. This is a genuine mystery of awesome proportions and those wanting to get an up-to-the-minute read on this phenomenon should get this book. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not add to current knowledge of the Shroud, January 9, 2011
By 
Jeremy Mushtare (Fayetteville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
Based upon some of the glowing reviews that this book received, I expected much more. Mr. Wilcox should have entitled this "a personal journey" as it has little to offer other than his personal meandering history toward what appears to him to be shrewd investigative journalism seeking to analyze the Shroud's authenticity. Obviously expert in no particular areas of the sciences surrounding the shroud, he stumbles through numerous interviewees, some of whom seem to be less than scientific/authoritative - indeed, some of them seem to be quite crack-pottish. His analysis is wide enough to drive a truck through and contains significant gaps. His discussion of iconography leaves out the painting at Saint Catherine's Monastary, dated from the mid six-century, that shares many points of congruence with the Shroud (as noted by Whanger) as well as numerous subsequent icons throughout history. It also pays short shrift to the Sudarium of Oviedo - which has been stated to also match the Shroud's bloodstains, etc. His stated attempt to leave the decision up to the reader is undermined by his poor articulations of scientific points of contention and subsequent attempts to muster evidence. I would not recommend this book to anyone, least of all someone not already largely familiar with the history of the Shroud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make up your own mind!!!!!, April 1, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
The Shroud of Turin is a centuries old linen cloth that bears the image of a crucified man. A man that millions believe to be Jesus of Nazareth. Is it really the cloth that wrapped his crucified body, or is it simply a medieval forgery, a hoax perpetrated by some clever artist? Modern science has completed hundreds of thousands of hours of detailed study and intense research on the Shroud. It is, in fact, the single most studied artifact in human history, and we know more about it today than we ever have before. And yet, the controversy still rages.

In The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery by Robert K. Wilcox what we have is a very history of the shroud and an examination of all the arguments for the authenticity of the shroud and all the arguments against. I would encourage everyone to check it out.

When it comes down to it scientists, historians, textile experts, etc., have studied the shroud for over 200,000 hours and what do we know?

First off it is not a fake, scientists, artists, etc., have not been able to duplicate it. Second a naturalistic explanation is not yet available. Maybe one days science will have an answer, but so far they have just been able to shoot down every theory. The Best theory they have now is some kind of low level radiation over a short time did this, and there is no natural explanation for this. WAS IT THE RESURRECTION? thats up to the reader to decide.

Now what can science tell us?

1. The Cloth is unique, no burial cloth has ever left behind a figure like this and we have them back to 10,000 BC.

2. The Cloth is OLD. Anywhere from 600 to over 2000 years old. (the Carbon dating done in the 80s was wrong, because they dated a repair)

3. The Linen and Herringbone twill fit with those of the time of Christ.

4. Imprints on the cloth are those of a real corpse in riga mortis.

5. And all but one wound's, on the man, were made when HE was alive, the one wound to the side was made after he died. fits with New testament account of Jesus' death.

6. The Man interred in manor of the Jews of the 1st century.

7. When you look at all the evidence of its history and the scientific evidence etc., the Odds of this not being Jesus are huge. Its to much for me to write hear in this short review.

I would encourage everyone to read this book and get the latest up to date information on the shroud. Its a MUSt READ. People ask for proof of the LORD all the time, and hear it may be looking them right in the face. you should look at the evidence and make up your own mind!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date and complete, April 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
This is a well written account of the current status of the studies around the Turin Shroud. The book reads well, is well documented and contains the most recent findings on the Shroud. The author has been researching the Turin Shroud for decades and keeps a detached, impartial stance, leaving the reader to draw his/her own conclusions. For those who want a summary of theories about the origin and history of the Turin Shroud, this is a perfect book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 21, 2010
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
This is a great, well written, summary of the history of and discoveries concerning the legendary Shroud of Turin right up to the present.. Wilcox delftly brings the reader on a scientific search of knowledge about the Shroud. The book starts in 1898 when Secondo Pia takes the first photographs of the Shroud and discovers impossibly that the photographic negative shows the Shroud as a positive image. He follows the scientific research that takes place from 1898 on. He also details his personal search for answers regarding the cloth. When I purchased this book I was a little worried that it would just repeat most of the same information that other Shroud books have related. Although, it is inevitable that some information will be repeated from one Shroud book to another I found this one riveting and read it in two days. Wilcox goes into great detail about his search and the people he meets and interviews about the Shroud. He gives a lot of specific details and dates and the book flows like a good mystery. People profoundly anti-Shroud would probably not care for this book because based on the evidence and the scientific facts there is really only one possible conclusion that can be made. The Shroud is not a faked relic from the Middle Ages, but the authentic burial cloth of Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review of the Shroud and its History, November 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
Never thought much of the shroud until it was in the news again earlier this year and after reading The Shroud Codex. So I decided to look into a bit more and found Wilcox's excellent book. He doesn't try to convince you of any view, but instead follows the history of the shroud and the centuries of debate, testing and theorizing. He hunts down scholars and scientists to analyze the shroud and many come to unexpected conclusions. Ignored for long by many, it may very well be an evidence of the historical Jesus (see also The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus & The Case for the Real Jesus: A Journalist Investigates Current Attacks on the Identity of Christ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shroud of Turin, August 23, 2011
By 
Joseph Barba (Pollock Pines, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
This book by Robert K. Wilcox is an update of an earlier edition, and it does not disappoint. If nothing else, Wilcox lets us know that the mystery of the Shroud of Turin is very much alive. The remaining questions far outweigh the flawed tests that supposedly confirm that the Shroud is a fraud. Wilcox presents evidence that allows both sides to keep an open mind, which is what the end result of the scientific method should be. Faith alone will not solve the Shroud mystery. It will take conclusive evidence. According to Wilcox, modern attempts to solve the mystery only serve to generate new questions that deepen the mystery. I recommend this book to anyone who is intrigued by the thought of Christ's true visage possibly being in existence on the earth today. My reaction to the face on the Shroud is that this is no ordinary face. Something about it speaks more powerfully than any smug claim of fraud. The evidence and the details amaze us. The quest continues, and this book helps it on its way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, The Shroud, the book., April 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery (Paperback)
"The Truth About The Shroud of Turin" is very full in its presentation of the history and science of The Shroud over 2000 years. Within the pages there is even some historical information written in a rather dramatic, novel-like fashion. I found this book extremely interesting even as a life long follower of Shroud writings for the past 59 years.
R Paolini, Sr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery
The Truth About the Shroud of Turin: Solving the Mystery by Robert K. Wilcox (Paperback - March 9, 2010)
$16.95 $13.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.