Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations worth looking into!
I could'nt put this book down. I have had this book for a week and have reread it several times now. I don't accept first hand the conclusions he has arrived at. But, he definitely gives you enough evidence to research it and either prove or disprove his theories.

I have read hundreds of books in this genre and I have yet to see a book so clear and simple and...
Published on April 26, 2002 by Dewayne K. McCoy

versus
39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bring your calculator...
A disclaimer: although I don't believe a word of books like this, I do enjoy reading them, almost as a fiction novel.
This book, however, streches the reader's "will to believe" just a little too far. Mr. Cotterell uses some pretty far out reasoning to "decode" all the treasures in Tutankhamun's tomb to support his thesis that the Egyptians had...
Published on January 5, 2003 by David C. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations worth looking into!, April 26, 2002
By 
Dewayne K. McCoy (Middletown, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
I could'nt put this book down. I have had this book for a week and have reread it several times now. I don't accept first hand the conclusions he has arrived at. But, he definitely gives you enough evidence to research it and either prove or disprove his theories.

I have read hundreds of books in this genre and I have yet to see a book so clear and simple and to the point, such as this one. Most books are deeply vailed and coded and one has to do much research just to find the right book to substantiate the findings. Cotterell has enough references and index information that the research is made simple, and half the work is done for you. Now all you have to do is read!
Lastly, and in my judgement, a lot of what is proffered out here has turned out to be true. I am still in shock in regard to the number 144,000 and the revelation of the number 666! This information has cleared some of the questions I've had for a long time. So read and enjoy, as I am sure you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding ideas from a keen mind, April 24, 2002
By 
econdude "econdude" (Omaha, NE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
Where to begin? The book has so many ideas in it that a person could go in any direction trying to comprehend the ideas or doing further research into them. Okay, I'll begin by saying that I really loved this book.
Maurice Cotterell has courage, being a scientist that suggests doing science in areas that many condemn as "junk science" (translation: trespassing on mainstream scientists' holy ground). Cotterell did not necessarily convince me of the radical ideas he proposed, and gave some proof of. Cotterell was not writing for fellow scientists, although I'm sure he could do so very well. Among the most convincing ideas, calculating the speed of light in arcminutes rather than taking it as a constant. Among the least, personality type determined by zodiac signs. Again, it was written for the layperson rather than the specialist, although the ideas are difficult and sometimes covered too superficially. Cotterell makes the reader want to do the science to prove or disprove his theories, many of which are quite plausible.
Anyone who likes Egyptology will like the book. Much of the book covers what came out of King Tut's tomb and how everyone until now has missed the significance of the items therein. For example, included in the mummy's wrappings are 144 objects, a significant number. The history of the Freemasons directly ties in with the Egyptians and Cotterell reveals some of their secrets. The mask of Palenque (from Mayan civilization) and Tut's tomb were carefully designed by sophisticated thinkers who wanted to encode their secrets for their later use. Find out how and why in this amazing book.
A decent read for those interested in Physics, Astronomy, ancient civilizations, the arcane, esoteric groups (particularly the Freemasons), alternative ideas in science, symbolism and numbers in different cultures. econ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible read..., April 6, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
I first heard Cotterell interviewed by Art Bell and had to purchase the book. I have been interested in all three subjects the author has researched here for some time. Brought all together under one cover, Cotterell has done a magnificent job tying the loose ends together. It was a book I couldn't put down. His expertise in mathematics as well as ancient Egypt have led me to conclusions that I would have never before thought of, and have forced me to rethink my own views of religion and my personal spiritual development. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bring your calculator..., January 5, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
A disclaimer: although I don't believe a word of books like this, I do enjoy reading them, almost as a fiction novel.
This book, however, streches the reader's "will to believe" just a little too far. Mr. Cotterell uses some pretty far out reasoning to "decode" all the treasures in Tutankhamun's tomb to support his thesis that the Egyptians had knowledge of complex sun-spot cycles. For example, starting on page 115, he decodes a picture on a throne found in the tomb. The image has one missing "sun disk", a problem? No! Just "borrow" one sun disk from the row above to give you the "proper" number of sun disks.. this specious reasoning goes on and on...
Really, he takes and ties any number of objects (12, 31, 32, etc.) into some "proof" that the Egyptians knew this "super-science". Nevermind his tying it all back in with Lord Pacal's Mayan tomb. Wow.
On the whole, its a pretty good book, but his reasoning really ruined it for me. Every item he "decodes", every argument he makes, assumes his thesis, a logical fallicy called "Begging the Question". You also have to wade through lots and lots of decoding. The ties to freemasonry were cute, but it takes a while to get there.
Production qualities of the book are excellent, with two sets of color plates, and some excellently done illustrations in the text make the quality of the book stand out. Very few typos as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I find this book quite factual and edifying., May 10, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
If you find Egyptology fascinating, as I do you will find that much of this book discusses King Tut's tomb and the significance of what was discovered and what was covered-up or deliberately misidentified. The link between Freemasons and Egyptology are explained. As an amateur historian I find this book quite factual and edifying. As an engineer by trade, I find the author's knowledge of science and math to be superb. As a writer and information presenter, I find the author's material highly readable and significantly interesting. I also recommend another controversial best seller, `Alien Rapture' by Edgar Fouche. `Unconventional Flying Objects' by Paul Hill is another page turner to check out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sacred secret of the Maya, Egyptians and Freemasons, February 6, 2002
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
Tutankhamun Prophecies reveals the sacred secret of the Maya, Egyptians and Freemasons, using the author's background as a scientist and mathematician to decipher the code of the ancients. Knowledge of science and important connections between solar patterns and human destiny helped early groups achieve spiritual enlightenment: this explores these links and how groups have used them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Will Shake Your Senses, May 24, 2003
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking it was reference about the Mayan calendar end date. I was wrong. This book is a totally new revelation of an age-old theory that was concealed within the ancient carvings of two breathtaking civilizations, and a secret society with an agenda not known to anyone. What totally interested me is the sceitific approach Cotterell took in his analysis, and although his methods might seem to some people as intricately improbable, I think that he employed the sciences of maths and physics into an outstanding revelation of ancient knowledge. I think most readers of this genre are true believers that ancient wisdom outmatches our own, and that the knowledge known to our great ancestors will probably never be available to us. So in this fine work of his, Cotterell analysed buildings, tombs, treasures and literature of ancient Maya and Egypt, applying numerous scientific theories and equations to draw on his conclusions. I personally am a big fanatic of ancient civilizations and I believe that the Mayan culture was narrowed down to its calendar, while the secrets within their culture are uncountable. Same goes with the Egyptians who mystified the new world with their culture. The greatest thing about this book is that it attempts to create bonds between its different conclusions, and it never fails to back up any statement with illustrations and scientific proof. By the end of part 1 I was amazed, and although I haven't read Cotterell's first book, The Supergods, this book managed to give me a fair summary of what the previous one concluded. The secret revealed is not anything you would expect. Some might believei it's a simple idea, while I personally believe it's an outstanding revelation. If you're a reader of Zecheria Sitchin, Erich Von Deineken or others in this genre, you will most likely ponder for hours after reading this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The tutankhamon speculations., July 15, 2004
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
The book starts with a short introduction of previous work the author has done regarding the Mayan culture. As he explains, he cracked a secret code the Mayans used to leave messages to future finders. The code involved a jade mask and a lid of a sarcophagus. The author discovered that when one projects images of these mirror onto itself, new pictures form. He presents the readers with his ideas regarding these images and the explanation thereof.
In my opinion, the author makes a few excellent points in this introduction, and I do genuinely believe he really is onto something regarding secret messages and the way to decode them; however I cannot help but feel as if at times the author sees things that really aren't there. He is determined to prove himself right, and thus presents 'evidence' that's at times very meager and very open for discuussion.
After this introduction, the author switches from the Mayans to the Egyptians, and specifically secret messages left in Tutankhamon's tomb in the form of objects. Obviously a great lover of math, he picks a few random objects from the treasure and goes on to analyze them. All their pecurilarities are counted, multiplied, and summed up to always come to the same set of numbers.
Again, I cannot help but feel as if the author is trying to fit everything to his own conclusions. He believes the Tutankhamon is one of the super-gods, just like the Mayan emporer, Buddham and Jesus. He presents his case by referring to the divine number 144,000, and various things that links the Mayan emporer to Tutankhamon (For instance, both are identified with a feathered snake. The Mayan emporer by Quetzeqotl, Tutankhamon by the cobra and the eagle of his crown). Furthermore, he draws a few conclusions that are blatantly speculative in my opinion. As an example, the author quotes a list of known 64 pharaos, noting that neither Achnaton nor Tutankhamon (Achnaton's son) were recorded on this list. Then, he tries proving that a necklace found in the tomb, carrying 64 complete and 2 broken beads, represents this list. This is in my humble opinion, a little far fetched.
The third part of the book starts with an account of a UFO sighting, and moves from energy lines to telepatism, and how freemasons possess secret ancient knowledge. Why this is included in the same book is a puzzle to me; the connection to the 'middle chapter' about Egypt is unclear, and the third part is highly speculative.
All in all, I'd recommend against buying this book. I do fully intend to read the author's other book on the cracking of the Mayan code, but feel as if I gained very little by reading this book; loosely linked theories are presented by the author as solid evidence, and used to prove other theories assumptions he makes. All this leads me to believe the case the author is trying to build is shaky at the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much to gain from reading this including :, June 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
n the back of the book after 6 chapters on The sacred secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons, the appendices
How the Sun Controls the Honeybee is below

Appendix 1: The Sun
(i) How the Sun Determines Personality
(ii) How the Sun Controls Fertility; The Solar Hormone Theory
(iii) How the Sun Affects the Rise and Fall of Civilisations
(iv) Sunspots
(v) How sunspots Cause Schizophrenia
(vi) How the Sun Controls Biorhythms
(vii) How the Sun Causes Cancers
(viii) How VDUs Cause Miscarriages
(ix) The Cause of Sunspots
(x) Calculation of the Sunspot Cycle
(xi) How the Sun Causes Catastrophe Cycles
(xii) Calculation of the Sunspot Cycle and the Orthodox Scientific Community
(xiii) Calculation of the Sunspot Cycle Using Sacred Geometry
(xiv)Detailed Analysis of Radiation from the Sun
The Reason Why Opposite Signs Attract
Complex Elemental Binary Codes
(xv)The Cause of Chinese Astrology
Reconciliation of the Error Between the 12-Year Chinese Cycle and the Calculated Differential
Cycle of 11.972 Years
The Exact Chinese Years, from 1900 to 1984
(xvi) How the Sun Determines the Duration of teh Human Gestation Period
(xvii) How the Planets Affect the Foetus at Birth
(xviii) How the Planets Influence teh Determination of Personality at Conception
(xix) How the Sun Controls the Honeybee
Examining the Evidence
Tabulating the Data
Appendix 2: Gods, Goddesses and Mythological Conceptions of Egypt
Appendix 3: Egyptian Hieroglyphs
The Hymn to Osiris
Appendix 4: The Dating of Events in Egyptian History
Appendix 5: Gravity and Isaac Newton
Appendix 6 Information on Maya Transformer Books

Bibliography
Index
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Appendix
(xix) How the Sun Controls the Honeybee

Differentiation of the Honeybee

If we are to believe orthodox science, teh diet of teh honeybee causes genetic mutations that determine its size, shape and gender. This is remarkable because at the same time orthodox science maintains that this is impossible. How can this paradox be explained?
The honeybee is a three-gender insect, the worker, the queen (female) and teh drone (male). The queen mates with the drone in the air (on the wing) and stores sperm in a gland near her tail. When the time comes to lay her eggs she has only two choices:
(i) To lay only the egg (unfertilised). This later becomes a drone (male). The egg is unfertilised but develops through a process known as parthenogenesis (virgin birth). the males are in fact clones of the queen, twin brothers as much as sons.
(ii) To lay a fertilised egg. As she lays the egg inside a bee cel the queen releases some of teh drone sperm on to the egg. This is where the enigma arises; normally this egg will develop into a worker. But this is explained,it is necessary to understand how hives are extablished; when an established hive becomes overcrowded, the qeen of the colony stops laying worker and drone eggs incells and stops releasing pheromones that control the activites of thbees in the colony. When this happens, worker bees construct a few (4-12) new queen cells hanging vertically down from the comb. The queen then lays baby queen larva into these few cells and leaves the hive, together with around 50 per cent of the bees, to start a new colony elsewhare: this is the 'swarm'. The first queen to hatch from the new queen cells has either a choice to swarm herself, taking with her more of the colony, or to stay, stinging the remainder of queen larva to death before reigning supreme in the hive.
If the queen of the colony dies, perhaps through an accident, worker bees drag a worker pupa from its cell, enlarging the workder bee cell downards, at right angles to its original position. Sixteen days later a new queen emerges from the old worker lava. It seems the only difference between the once-to-be-worker and the new queen is the diet, and this is why scientists imagine that diet causes genetic mutations in the honeybee.

Examining the Evidence

When a worker pupa is seconded to become the new queen, a worker cell containing an egg or larva is enlarged downwards at right angles to its original direction. The prospective queen hatches from the egg three days after being laid and is immediately fed on rich bee milk - royal jelly - for the next five days. the larva grows quickly, fills the bee cell and is capped by workers to incubate. Eight days later a new queen emerges. She then feeds only on royal jelly for the rest of her life.
Prospective worker eggs are laid in worker cells, hatch on day 3, fed smaller amounts of royal jelly on days 4 and 5 and then on a diet that graudally changes over days 6, 7 and 8 to honey and pollen. The cell is capped and a worker emerges 14 days later, that is 21 days after the egg is laid (note that this represents three seven-day E fields of solar radiation, wheras figure A59 shows that human gestation amounts to three 'long-term' E fields of radiation, nine months). The question is : how can just three days of different feeding alter the coding of genes in such a way that radically changes the physical and behavioural traits of the honeybee?

Tabulating the Data
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Queen Worker
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Egg 3 days 3 days
Larva 5 days 5 days
Incubation 8 days 13 days
Diet Royal jelly Mixed
Position in hive Vertical Horizontal
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total gestation 16 days 21 days
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
figure A63
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The results are clear, one of two things is happening.
A diet of royal jelly simply speeds up the metabolism. The increased amount of food aids the development and growth and this results in a shorter gestation period.
A mixed diet of royal jelly, honey and pollen slows down the metabolic rate. The reduced amount of food restricts growth, prolonging gestation.
In either case, the reduced gestation period of the queen facilitates only limited amounts of mutations from solar 'radiations', whereas the longer gestation period of the worker facilitates more extensive mutations from radiations.
Put another way, to use an analogy, the queen experiences only 16 days in a 'microwave oven', wheras the worker experiences 2 days in a 'microwave oven'. It is the 'electromagnetic roasting' that causes the mutations, changing the worker into a queen through the process of electrochemical transduction described earliar.
The fact that queen cells and worker cells are displaced on the comb by 90 degrees provides a clue to the mutational forces at play. Electromagnetic radiation is made up of two components, one electrical, the other magnetic. These two components are displaced by 90 degrees. This suggests that the queen pupa and worker pupa are mutated by different mutational forces, one electrical, the other magnetic. this explains why the queen-to-be worker pupa cell is enlarged downwards at right angles to the original worker cell whenever a new queen is required. Beekeeper Duncan Simmons is conducting experiments to verify this hypothesis.
That honeybees are controlled by the sin is not news: they are known to navigate using the sun. Their behaviour also becomes highly excited and erratic during electrical storms and in the proximity of electrical appliances. Even the honeybee cell itself encodes the solar magnetic fields in tangible form (figure A64) (un shown because I can't type it here).
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So I read the book, enjoyed and learned some, and you may read it next if you like. I think the info is helpful and insightful to you and the professor you work with
Take care
Bye now
~banzai cody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars King Tut, October 10, 2002
By 
"titan2160" (Bolingbrook, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons (Paperback)
The book is filled with a whole lot fact and speculation that King Tut was one of the so called supergods. The theory that Krishna, Tut, Buddha, Jesus, and Pacal were the same deities just reincarnated with very similar back grounds is very interesting and worth reading but all this was already covered in his first book supergods. The theory that earth is hell and we keep coming back to better ourselves was very interseting. The theory that the sun's radiation or sun spot activity determines fertility in women and the rise and fall of empires is worth reading, a little complicated but worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Tutankhamun Prophecies: The Sacred Secret of the Maya, Egyptians, and Freemasons
$20.00 $14.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.