Customer Reviews


1,844 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,205)
4 star:
 (246)
3 star:
 (164)
2 star:
 (63)
1 star:
 (166)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


456 of 542 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very tasty story about love and death dancing with wolves, mixing happiness and sadness, despair and hope - and sex and blood!
I just saw "Breaking Dawn" part 1, and I was VERY impressed, even if as a man I am probably not the most typical fan of "Twilight" series. I rather liked all the "Twilight" movies until now and this one is, to my personnal taste, as good as the previous ones - and even in one aspect a little bit better, as Edward and Bella finally become lovers. Below, you will find a...
Published on November 16, 2011 by Maciej

versus
50 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go to walmart.com and get the two movie copy.
Go to Walmart.com and order the two movie extended copy. You'll get pt 1 and pt 2. You'll get the extras as well as a digital copy for 5 dollars above what you would pay for just the one movie.You pay $24.00 and you get all the above. I think that's worth it versus buying separately.Different stores have different deals, and this one was the best that I found so far. I...
Published 18 months ago by Mrs Moonie


‹ Previous | 1 2185 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

456 of 542 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very tasty story about love and death dancing with wolves, mixing happiness and sadness, despair and hope - and sex and blood!, November 16, 2011
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I just saw "Breaking Dawn" part 1, and I was VERY impressed, even if as a man I am probably not the most typical fan of "Twilight" series. I rather liked all the "Twilight" movies until now and this one is, to my personnal taste, as good as the previous ones - and even in one aspect a little bit better, as Edward and Bella finally become lovers. Below, you will find a short description of what I believe are the best elements of this film, with very limited SPOILERS:

1. Actors. All actors evolved as the serie continued and I believe they all got better with time. Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner are both excellent, but - in my humble opinion - it is Kristen Stewart who in this movie shines the most. Quite a lot of people frequently criticized her actorship claiming that she simply can not play at all and has a very limited assortment of expressions in her tool box. But for me, after reading "Twilight" books, this is how the character of Bella should be. I can hardly picture her wide smiling with all her teeth bared or doing any other highly extraverted things like that. In fact I believe that either by design or by accident Kristen Stewart got the things right about this character - her minimalistic approach to facial expressions actually makes (for me) Bella very believable and also quite likeable. In this part of the story, Bella takes a more dynamic approach to life by taking her destiny firmly under control. She makes important decisions and takes extreme risks, stubbornly resisting the opposite advice of all her family and friends - all of that in a deceptively unassuming way... And Kristen Stewart acted in the movie exactly as I pictured Bella did it, when I read the books. A very good job!

Other actors are also great, with Ashley Greene and Billy Burke being as usual the pillars - but amongst the supporting roles it is Nikki Reed who really gets the most praise from me. She has a much bigger role in this film and she is perfect in it! The one (little) disappointment is Jackson Rathbone, who changed comletely his haircut for this film and as a result his character, Jasper, seems much less impressive, which is a pity. He also seems to appear very little in the "first line", almost as if the director preferred to hide him a little...

2. Visual aspects. As usual, the images of state of Washington are great, but the tropical island where Bella and Edward spend their honey moon is also very pleasantly showed. Dark forests filled with (were)wolves are very much present here and they are a great background for the story.

3. Music. As usual in those series, music and songs have been selected very carefully and with a great taste.

4. The (were)wolf pack. The Quileute wolves are shown here even more and better than in the previous part. The scene of their war council, when they are all in the werewolf form, is absolutely great! The scene when Sam (the alpha male) asserts and confirms his power over the pack is excellent - as good as the description of Jacob's defiance and its consequences.

5. The wedding. A very nice and moving scene with some humour elements, especially when the guests make speeches offering toasts. Emmett, Jessica and Bella's father give here a great show. In the same time Mike Newton obsesses on vampire bridesmaids from the Denali clan, to the point of drooling (and I TOTALLY understand him!). Bella's mum and, suprprise surprise, Rosalie (!) are also real treasures in wedding scenes.

6. Quileute wolves vs. Cullen coven confrontation. This heartbreaking, tense and at moments violent conflict in which both sides are trapped against their will is a great moment in the Twilight saga - and its final resolution is even better! Finally it is true what the Beatles were singing - all you need is love! Babies help too...

7. The fight for Bella's life, Renesmee's bloody birth and Bella's fate - excellent! Those were moments very difficult to film - but the challenge was met succesfully! Nothing more about it to avoid more spoilers, but I was very impressed!

Conclusion: it is an excellent movie which I watched with great pleasure. My wife, who usually is a much harder person to please, loved it too and she is going to see it again with some girlfriends. And we will certainly both wait with great expectations for the "Breaking dawn" part 2. If it was done as well as that one, it will be certainly worth waiting one year to see it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


206 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Above and Beyond Expectations, November 21, 2011
Being a huge fan of the books and a pretty big fan of the movies, I was blown away at what a great job they did with this movie installment. I loved the visual and audio parallels they drew between the original movie, Twilight, and this movie. For instance (Spoiler Alerts throughout): I loved how they played Flightless Bird during the wedding ceremony and the way the camera circled them kissing in the same manner the camera circled E & B kissing at Prom at the very end of Twilight. It was a subtle, yet stunning way to visually tie the two movies together and really made more of an emotional impact than if they had just shot them straight on and plugged in a different song. That was genius. And that dress...gorgeous. Just as it was described in the book.

I also loved that rather than having one continuous honeymoon "consummation" scene, they broke it up with Bella thinking about certain moments the next morning after looking in the mirror for the first time, where she's no longer a virgin. It was all done so tastefully. The way one's first time should be at that age. Not at some house party or in the back of some guy's car. For those who read the books and knew how Edward did everything he could to exhaust Bella with activities on their honeymoon so she'd be too tired to "try again", you have to admit that Bill Condon did such a great job showing you visually all the things they were doing without either character having to come out and say, I'm/you're trying to exhaust you/me. And it was adorable with KS put on her little nightgown and leaned against the wall...I got married when I was 19 and I felt the exact same way when I put on lingerie for the first time and dreaded walking into the bedroom with my little gown on. I felt like a child playing dress-up, much like it came off Bella felt.

I was also very impressed by the manner with which Bill Condon allowed us to see through the eyes of Jacob for the first time and hear what he hears with regard to the internal dialog between him and the pack. That scene where the wolves were running to the lumber yard and their voices echoed in Jacob's mind...that was so perfectly done. AND, I loved loved loved the way the Sam and Jacob had their battle for alpha. It was as if you, the person watching the movie, was in the mind of a wolf who is being forced into submission by it's Alpha. The CGI team did a great job because I forgot I was watching computer generated wolves and the intensity of the scene felt like I was there witnessing the true dynamic of a wolf pack.

I thought the birth scene was beyond intense. The scene almost mirroring that as it's written in the book. I think they showed just the right amount of Bella's internal agony during her transformation. For those of us who read the books, to say she had a prolonged bout of suffering during her transformation would be an understatement. However, if they had shown more of that in the movie, it would have taken from the torture that Edward was going through thinking he had lost Bella, and Jacob's malevolence towards Renesmee prior to imprinting on her. That whole scene allowed for each character's state of mind to be both seen, visually, and felt, emotionally. Powerfully shot and brilliantly executed.

I imagine the imprinting scene was a difficult one to translate from paper to screen. They did a great job in this as well. Not in any way cheesy, but sweet and breathless...if that makes any sense. The only thing I did not love about it was that the girl/teenager Jacob sees as an older Renesmee appeared to be CGI. They used an actual young girl to play the younger Renesmee, why not use a real person for the older Renesmee too? I'm sure Hollywood has a few young actresses that would have auditioned for the part???

I loved the fight between the wolves and the Cullens at the very end of the movie. In the books, you go from Jacob's perspective where he witnesses Bella's death and then walks into the living room to kill Renesmee, only to imprint on her. And then you go immediately back to Bella's perspective where she's riving in pain while she's transforming into a vampire. I feel Melissa Rosenburg had a stroke of brilliance when she decided to add this scene so that the audience could see what could have happened in the books, but did happen in the movie, during the time period between Jacob imprinting on Renesmee and Bella awakening for the first time as a vampire. Another unexpected and totally welcomed brilliant surprise of this movie.

Another welcome surprise for me was while Bella was at the very end of her transformation. I thought it was a touching visual moment that just before her heart beat for the very last time, we witnessed Bella's memories in a somewhat reverse chronological order, ending with her very first human memory as a baby in the arms of her parents bouncing her in front of a mirror.

But what was not a surprise and what I've been telling my fellow twi-hards the past couple years is the very last scene of the movie. Once I heard they were splitting BD into two parts, I've always maintained there's only one way to end part 1 with truly visual impact...and that is to witness Bella's subtle transformation from a broken human to a perfect vampire, surrounded by the Cullens, with the scene closing in on Bella's perfect facial features, zooming into her perfectly shut eyes...that suddenly open the most gorgeous crimson red....and straight to credits. I actually gave myself a little pat on the back for that one because so much of the movie exceeded my expectations of visual and audio creativity, and yet the last scene ending a certain way was something I was very adamant with my friends about, and sure enough that's how it ends. So maybe now I can revel in having an ounce of the vision that Bill Condon and Melissa Rosenburg possess...hey I'll take that ounce.

Aside from the standout scenes I've mentioned herein, I thought Kristen Stewart did her best portrayal of Bella yet. Her facial expressions alone are so real to each moment they're almost tangible. I've enjoyed the work KS has done prior to the Twilight Saga, and I am so glad these movies have launched her career because I am certain she will be one of the great leading ladies of acting for many decades to come. So to all Twi-hards out there. This movie was amazing. A must see for those who loved the books and fans of the previous movies. I can't wait for it to come out on DVD so that I can add it to my Twilight Saga collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended Material Makes the Movie More Complete, March 2, 2013
Without giving away the added scenes they are a MUST for any Twilight lover!!!!... They are not really extended scenes but new scenes added in. There is not longer version of the wolves running or such but whole new scenes that blend well with the movie. I think they should have been in the original cut. Allot of films add in extra scenes that quite don't add to the film or slow it down but these added scenes for Part 1 really give the movie added punch! I just loved watching the bonus scenes. It was also fun not knowing where they will show up so it almost like watching a new movie!... Get this you won't regret it.

I did get my copy on ebay where they had The Twilight Saga Complete Collection Box Set. It has all 5 movies on blu ray plus digital copies of all of them. Also it includes the audio commentary as an option! And.... It has the Extended Edition of Breaking Dawn Part 1.....

The Digital copies on the 5 Movie Box Set are on Cinema Now which is a great free app for storing movies where you can watch them on any device without taking up GB space on your device. They also download. At first I didn't think I would like Cinema Now compared to iTunes but then I saw my Blu Ray player had the option and I can watch my movies at a press of a button from Cinema Now. Its also available on SmartTvs. So it cool to have all the digital copies! I thought this was the best deal out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bellas Wedding Edition is just beautiful, February 18, 2012
By 
AngelJesacah (Central Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
From the raised, reproduced lace on the DVD package that matches Bellas Wedding gown, to the simply gorgeous, delicate silk commemorative flag/poster of their wedding photo, this is a no-brainer, must have edition to build your collection, ladies!
Included is the music from the film, the movie disk, a documentary disk that shows how they used a dummy to make Bella appear so emaciated as her pregnancy with
Renesmee progressed, and so much more.
I was gifted this from my brother who works at WalMart and hid it away for me a week before the release/sale date, and I had no idea it was a wedding version.
Upon receiving it you feel like you are truly apart of the Wedding, and that this rare DVD set is your wedding favor!

The movie is beautiful, the packaging is beautiful - It truly is one of those instances where you need to buy the rare edition, in this case, this very Wedding Dress Edition. Its worth whatever you have to pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go to walmart.com and get the two movie copy., February 1, 2013
Go to Walmart.com and order the two movie extended copy. You'll get pt 1 and pt 2. You'll get the extras as well as a digital copy for 5 dollars above what you would pay for just the one movie.You pay $24.00 and you get all the above. I think that's worth it versus buying separately.Different stores have different deals, and this one was the best that I found so far. I haven't ordered yet because I am still shopping around. You never know when you can find a better deal.I figure I was gonna pay $19.99 for pt 2, I just cough up $5.00 more and get pt 1 with the extras and the digital copy too. These movie studios do try to choke the dollars out of your wallet and they wonder why people bootleg their stuff. I personally love HD and Blu-Ray. I'm spoiled I guess. Hope this helps someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Special Edition? Really? Petty Disappointed in the Blu Ray., February 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You get a single disk with the Theatrical Release and a few extras. What in THE world makes this a special edition? You don't even know this is your lot until you open it and see it on the disc. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Yawn (spoilers), March 7, 2012
Ever since I read the epic disaster that was "Breaking Dawn," I have been eagerly anticipating this movie. It was one of the vilest, silliest, grossest books I've ever read in my life, and I assumed that the movie would at least be funny. I mean, there's a scene where Edward chews open Bella's uterus!

Well, "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part I" managed to disappoint me. While there are some jaw-droppingly stupid moments, most of the movie is simply droningly dull -- there's more padding than actual story here, riddled with painfully awkward acting, monotonous sex scenes, and lots of important topics (like abortion) that the writers aren't NEARLY smart enough to address.

Bella (Kristen Stewart) and Edward (Robert Pattinson) are finally getting married... and we get to see every single step of it. Everything. We see hairstyling, shoes, invitations, furniture arrangement, awkward toasts and the newlyweds making out at the altar (classy!). Oh, and Jacob (Taylor Lautner) freaks out when he discovers that Bella plans to actually (gasp!) have sex with Edward on their honeymoon.

So they finally have melodramatic sex... only for Bella to get lightly bruised, which upsets Edward so much that he refuses to have sex with Bella again... for about a day.

But then, Bella unexpectedly gets pregnant (wow, sex leads to pregnancy! WHAT A TWIST!). Excepting Rosalie, the Cullens all want her to abort the baby, but Bella refuses to do so even though it's killing her. This threatens to spark off another battle between the werewolves and vampires, because Bella is the center of the universe.

The worst thing about this dreadful movie is that they broke the ludicrous "Breaking Dawn" story into two separate movies. This works when you have an epic story ("The Hobbit") or a plot-heavy one ("Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows"). But for a tween-porn romance about how special Bella is for having a functioning uterus, it's the kiss of death.

So to fill out all the space NOT occupied by plot or characterization, the movie is crammed with padding. Lots of padding. Endless padding. We're forced to watch Bella shaving her legs, lounging around the house, and listening to hideously unfunny wedding toasts (except for Charlie's). Even the SEX feels like it has been padded -- I spent most of the PG-13 sex scenes wondering if Bella would ever change expression during sex (and no, she didn't).

But the movie REALLY jumps the rails when Bella gets knocked up with her demonspawn. Suddenly we're assaulted with hellish birth scenes, sexual fantasies about a newborn baby, and ghastly CGI wolves. And whenever those CGI wolves are onscreen, the mood jumps from "stoned" to "hilariously hammy" ("I AM THE GRANDSON OF THE CHIEF!").

Oh yes, and there are massive plot holes that render most of the plot pointless. For instance, the Cullens whine at Bella to have an abortion or she'll die. At that point, she appears to be at least 8 months along. WHY DOESN'T CARLISLE GIVE HER A C-SECTION?

The acting is pretty much what you would expect. Kristen Stewart seems grossed out by even pretending to have sex with a man, and Bella is her usual graceless, mumbly, whiny, mouth-breathing self. She spends most of the movie either LITERALLY begging Edward for sex or cuddling up next to Jacob.

And Edward shows just how abusive and obnoxious he can be, INFORMING Bella that she's going to get an abortion and emotionally blackmailing her when she won't. As for Jacob... well, kiss any likable qualities in this character goodbye. After ranting about the evils of imprinting, he becomes a brainwashed pedophile engaged to a baby. And everyone is okay with this.

I at least expected "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part I" to be horrible in a MST3K way, but sadly it just ends up a slow, dull grind riddled with gaping plot holes. Expect Part II to be doubly bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can I have my time back?, April 29, 2012
By 
ccasper (Livonia, MI United States) - See all my reviews
I do not remember the last time I saw a movie so terrible, yet sat through it. I guess I am a glutton for punishment.

The first Twilight movie was entertaining enough. I read the books after that. Bad writing but an entertaining story. Second and third movies got progressively worse, so why I watched this, I don't know.

Kristen Stewart and Rob Pattinson are not shy about how silly they think the books and movies are, and it comes through in their robotic acting. There is so little emotion in these movies it's not even funny. But I guess not much emotion is described in the books, so what can the screenwriters do to create the emotions that never existed?

The musical score was atrocious except for the reincarnations of the themes from the first movie, which Carter Burwell composed. I liked his work in the first movie. In this movie, though, I was disappointed.

It's understandable that with a teen love story, you want to spend time on the wedding and honeymoon. But save for the sex scene and the wedding toasts, neither part was remotely exciting. The wedding ceremony was visually pleasing, but again devoid of real emotion. It's like someone drew a picture of what they wanted their wedding to look like and the producers went on that and threw some random people in.

I just don't understand how a movie can be SO BAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boooooring, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I tried to watch "Breaking Dawn Part 1", but the movie was so boring, I had to fast-forward through it. There was one good moment though: when Bella told her pasty husband and Jake the shape-shifter her daughter's name. Jake's face was spot-on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 201 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Dawn- Part 1 Extended Edition, January 18, 2013
For the first time ever, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn: Part 1 will be seen in an brand-new extended edition DVD and with eight additional minutes of never before seen footage that should and could had easily been on the first home video release. But no, Summit Entertainment/Lionsgate are making us spend more money of getting the film again to see deleted scenes added back into the film in honor of Breaking Dawn Part 2's DVD release.

There's more footage somewhere out there that was included in the book and or that was created only for the film that was filmed. Unfortunately, they were deleted and laying in the vault of Summit Entertainment/Lionsgate, which some fans may care and the original 117-minute theatrical version is included on the new edition and you're only get the commentary with the UV/digital copy just like BD:P2's release and you'll lose the remaining extras which will be sadly disappointing.

You may also want to keep your previous copy just only for the other extras instead of tossing it out and you'll feel really stupid for tossing your regular edition in the garbage that when you discover that all the other extras are gone, just get the extended edition and/or keep your original DVD copy and watch the deleted footage on YouTube because it's not a two-disc special edition DVD this time around!

Update: 2/19/2013: If you finally want to get to see what the eight minutes of footage, you can go to movie-censorship.com and when you are there, you can type in Breaking Dawn- Part 1 and you will see what's in the eight minutes of never before seen footage and if you should or should get the blu-ray or DVD again for just eight minutes!

Update: 3/2/2013: Not bad or good use of a extended edition even for eight stinking minutes! Me and my friend learned a very difficult lesson on the cash grab experience especially from Twilight. However, the added scenes gives the movie some kick into it even it's still disappointing and yet mediocre at neither best or worst. But make some points more clear than theatrical and you should see the extended edition because it's more explainable even it's unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2185 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 (Two-Disc Special Edition)
$19.98 $9.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.