Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: DVDChange
Price:$29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 8, 2004
The 3rd Twilight Zone series only lasted for one season, this box set will include all of its episodes. This show aired for 22 weeks, with 2 episodes for every one-hour show, so there will be 44 episodes in this set.
This set will be presented in widescreen, and will have 5.1 Surrond Sound , DTS Surround, and Stereo Surround Sound.
Like the original show, this Twilight Zone series has a lot of big name guest stars: Shannon Elizabeth, Jason Alexander, Jessica Simpson, Jaime Presley, Jason Bateman, Usher, Lou Diamond Phillips, Cloris Leachman, Method Man, Molly Sims, Amber Tamblyn (of TV's Joan of Arcadia), Vivica A. Fox, Portia de Rossi, Dean Winters (of TV's Oz), Dylan Walsh, Patrick Warburton, Eriq La Salle, and comedian Paul Rodriquez.
This set also includes remakes of two classic Twilight Zone episodes -- "The Eye of the Beholder" (a plastic surgery story) and "The Monsters on Maple Street" (a lynch mob tale about aliens possibly in their area).

Also, in this set is a sequel to an old Twilight Zone episode called "It's Still a Good Life" (the original was about a kid with the power to make a person disappear, if you think negitive thoughts. The kid would say that he'd send you to "the cornfield") The sequel on this box set includes two of the actors from the original episode: Billy Mumy (who played the kid) and Cloris Leachman.
So let Forest Whitaker take you into a world of imagination. A dimension not only of sight and sound, but of mind. A wonderous world where the boundaries are only that of your imagination. The Twilight Zone.
0Comment64 of 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2004
Be warned. This is the 2002 version of The Twilight Zone and is the third and least effective version of the show.
It is hosted by actor Forrest Whittaker,who for some unexplained reason walks around while introducing episodes. The clueless producers thought that this would be an effective way of introducing the episodes,it wasn't.A voiceover would have been better as the 1985 version used.
There is one particularly offensive episode on racism where a white man is portrayed as a racist because,while in the middle of the city in the darkness of night,he wouldn't let a black stranger into his car after the stranger banged on his window and yelled "let me in".
How many people would let any stranger into their car in the middle of the city at night,especially when the stranger is banging on the window and yelling at them?
That just shows how badly written and produced this series was. The complete unfairness of this premise somehow escaped the producers.
There are also many other episodes that meander on with weak stories and lame resolutions. So disorganised was the production of this show that they had to copy no less that three stories from the original Rod Serling version in just this one season.

The three versions of The Twilight Zone comprise-
1st version-The original Emmy award winning version hosted by writer Rod Serling that premiered in 1959 and ran for five seasons.
2nd version-The eccellent and under-rated 1985-87 version which had a third season padded on after it's cancellation to get enough episodes for syndication.This version had scripts by some of science fiction's best writers.
3rd version-This DVD set,which is the disappointing 2002 version that was cancelled after only one season.

I personally am going to wait for the 1985 version as it is much better than this 2002 Twilight Zone,which has some very poorly written episodes.
The publicity blurb of this 2002 version sums it up-"with today's hippest young stars"-the Twilight Zone is not supposed to be MTV. In fact,the Twilight Zones sites that cover the original version have boycotted it because they consider that it is not true Twilight Zone.
One of this series producers is Pen Densham,the appalling producer that was responsible for turning the new 1990's version of The Outer Limits into a soft-core porn show. Clearly,this man has no idea of what makes true science fiction.
All in all,this is a very disappointing version of the series and is very badly produced.Avoid it.
55 comments233 of 286 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 15, 2004
I never saw this series when it aired on UPN, so the DVD collection was my first taste of the "new" TZ. It's very easy to see why it was cancelled after one season. First off, who in the world chose Forest Whitaker as the host? Sometimes he's calm and cool, others he seems almost hyper in his delivery of the taglines. No one could compare to Serling in delivery, but they could have found SOMEONE a little more "out there" for host. Second, the stories...wow. Most of them have a good premise, but they all seem to just limp away rather than hit you with the shocking impact the original series had. "Still a Good Life" is a perfect example. Based as a sequel to an original TZ episode (with two of the original actors still in the main roles), it had the potential to be the best show ever. The little girl (Billy Mumy's real daughter) acted one way throughout the entire episode, then at the end suddenly did a complete about-face that made absolutely no sense whatsoever. It was as if the writer just said, "Hey, that'd be cool" and jerked the story completely around. Unfortunately, this is not the only story like this in the series. Most have very uneven storylines, trying to make us care for one-dimensional characters. While the original (and even 80's version) TZ had us sympathetic for the characters involved (or at least hating the baddies), this one is more like watching a car wreck from the outside. There's some morbid curiousity, but you can walk away and not really care how it all turns out. There are some gems here ("The Pool Guy" and "Chosen" to name a couple), but most are just crash-and-burners.

All in all, I'm looking forward to seeing the 80's version come out later this year. UPN made a good try on this revival with some major talent, but even the best actor can only do so much with inferior stories. For the die-hard fan only, and then only good for one viewing.
11 comment62 of 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2006
This DVD set is real bargan! Even if you prefer the original series, for this price you should defenatly buy this set for your collection. Me and my wife watched this whole set in just few days, and loved every little bit of it. Of cause there were hit and misses, but in overall, it was great! My all time favorite show is the X-Files, and I love the Outer Limits. I bought both, the Outer Limits 1sst season (the '90's series), & This Twilight set, at the same time. I've read some reviews of people hating it, saying that it can't compare with the original, and I don't agree. You can't really campare the two. First of all, they were made some 40 years apart, and people's tastes, as well as the technology of film making changed so much. The makers of this show weren't trying to copy the original, but reather kept the legacy of the Twilight Zone alive by making the show the way they saw it. And I'm glad that instead of just copying the style of the original creator, they used their own creativity & style. I think it came out great, and I hope to see the rest of seasons on DVD soon.

PS Once again, remember that at this price you can not lose, remeber there are 16 hours of shows in this set!!!

Goodluck!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2005
It took some consideration before I purchased this DVD set, mainly because I was concerned about the quality of the episodes. I only managed to watch a few episodes during its original run, and I enjoyed every episode I caught. Nevertheless, the reviews here made me doubt my own memories. I am extremely glad I took my percieved risk and bought the set.

There were a few clunkers (Jessica Simpson's episode was horrible, mainly because of Jessica Simpson; while "The Gun" was ridiculous) but the majority were quite good.

Yes, the series depended on the names of its stars to sell different episodes in the previews, like many television shows do. The thing many reviewers seem to forget is that the original Twilight Zone used this trick as well. (Robert Redford, William Shatner, etc.)

And finally, yes, Forest Whitaker was an odd choice for a host; however, I actually liked his delivery. He could rush the lines a bit at times, but overall, he had a wry humour and mysterious quality that fit the show. But, like all things, this

is a matter of preference. The one thing everyone should realize is that Forest Whitaker is NOT Rod Serling. No one ever can be, no one will ever read a script like he could. However, the show needed a host, and Whitaker did fit the bill.

In summation, this was an excellent series when judged by itself. The problem, is that it was updated for today's youth. This update, well, it changed the show a great deal. I believe that many of the negative reviews for this product come from older individuals, fans of the original series...rabid fans of Rod Serling.
11 comment21 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2011
My 13-year-old nephew was here for a visit a few days ago, and he expressed an interest in viewing a few "Twilight Zone" episodes. (Which of course made me very happy! He's the perfect age for getting into this sort of programme.) So, we ended up watching a number of episodes from all three versions---the original series from 1959, as well as the 1985 and 2002 remakes.

This particular post concerns the most recent incarnation of the series. This version has gotten some scathing reviews, which I don't think are entirely warranted. Oh, it's true enough that Forest Whittaker is totally miscast as the host. And let's face it, some of these episodes are horrible---bad scripts featuring poor actors. But there are some very good stories included among the 43 episodes as well. I suppose my main complaint is that this doesn't really feel like "The Twilight Zone"; Rod Serling's original series had a very distinctive identity, its own unique personality, which is very difficult (if not impossible) to recapture. But if the viewer goes into this programme thinking of it, in general, as a supernaturally-themed anthology, rather than as a remake of an iconic series, there is much to enjoy.

Presentation is very nice, with a 5.1 surround soundtrack and 1.78:1 aspect ratio which looks great on a widescreen television. The boxed set is long out of print, but as of this writing can be found selling on Amazon for between ten and twenty USD, which is very reasonable for 960 minutes spread out over six discs. So, while I won't give this a glowing recommendation, I do think that the fantasy/sci-fi fan will find plenty to enjoy while watching this series.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2004
Apparently I'm the outsider in this large group of reviewers because I actually liked the show and was disappointed, though not surprised, when the show was cancelled. My favorite episode was "The Monsters on Maple Street" with former 80s heart throb Andrew McCarthy. Someone pointed out the episode was about aliens, but in actuality it was about terrorists (an updated version of a classic episode). Most of the people who hated the show mention that they loved the 80's version. I'm 24, and I never saw a single episode of that version. This is the Twilight Zone for the younger generation, the actors alone prove that. If you like sci-fi then give this show a shot. I know that I loved it and I'm not alone, but a lot of people over 30 hated it.
22 comments16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2004
I have been waiting for the episodes to be release since the show was canceled. I enjoyed the 2002 Twilight Zone episodes. I would reccomend this collection to anyone who has love for Sci- Fi. Although Forest Whitaker is not Rod Serling, I think he did a great job.
0Comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2004
If you do not compare this 2002 version with Rod Serling's original, it is entertaining enough. It works best if you try think of it as a separate series all on its own. Yes, the famous Twilight Zone twist ending is definitely here, and the writing really isn't all that bad. There are quite a few episodes that leave you thinking about the story lines long after you have watched them. If, however, you are looking to be entertained by actors of the 1950s/1960s caliber, you won't find them here. In this series there is no one comparable to the likes of Burgess Meredith, Lee Marvin, Agnes Moorehead, Jack Klugman, Gladys Cooper, Art Carney, Robert Redford or any number of other character actors from that period whom you used to see all the time on TV but never could put a name to. Except for Cloris Leachman, Jeffrey Combs, Lou Diamond Phillips and Jason Alexander, if the guest stars of the 2002 Twilight Zone series are the most inspired performers of today (as is advertised on the box) TV may in a whole lot of trouble! I'm not sure if this is an indictment against the actors and actresses in movies and TV today, but there just doesn't seem to be anyone here that you can imagine folks talking about 30-40 years from now. The actors and stories of the 50s/60s Twilight Zone are not only just talked about today, they are held up as the benchmark for everything that has followed. Forest Whitaker, however, does a very nice job as the Serling-like narrator, although as mentioned by others here, he lacks the air of mystery that Mr. Serling projected. Lastly, the music for this 2002 series really leaves much to be desired. At times it will loudly overpower what is said or done by the narrator or the actor, and never does it seem set the proper atmosphere or mood. The theme and background music sound as though they were meant to be jarring for the simple sake of being jarring. I hate to make another comparison here, but the music of Bernard Herrmann, Nathan Van Cleave and Jerry Goldsmith did as much for the storylines of the original 50s/60s series as did the writers, directors and actors. Those composers could literally send you through the ceiling by a striking a simple violin chord at a suspenseful moment! It was great! Again, even after all the negatives listed, I still can suggest you see this series -- just don't expect more than a nice bang for your buck. And above all, enjoy it for its own sake and merit.
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2011
I honestly didn't even know there was a 2000's version of the Twilight Zone, I'd been looking for the 80's version and ordered this by mistake. Surprisingly, it's a very good series so far (I'm on the 3rd disc) and I'm disappointed that it was canceled and there won't be more. Some episodes are a little more reminiscent of the 80's HBO series, The Hitchhiker, but most are very spot on to both other decades of The Twilight Zone. If you like shows like The Twilight Zone, Outer Limits, Tales From The Darkside, Ray Bradbury Theater, The Hitchhiker, etc, definitely give the 2002 Twilight Zone a try.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse