Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2011
David Nordmark's guide presents an exhaustive list of pushup variations. Mr. Nordmark divides the pushups into beginning, intermediate, and advanced levels. Photos are black and white and fairly large. The photos are fine, but could be a little more clearer.

Beginning
1. Leg-assisted wall pushup
2. Wall pushup
3. One-arm pushup
4. Plyo Wall pushup
5. Wall corner pushup
6. Leg-assisted chair pushup
7. Chair pushup (I)
8. Knee-assisted chair pushup
9. Chair pushup (II)
10. Box pushup
11. Cobra pushup
12. Kneeling pushup
13. Negative pushup
14. Combo pushup

Intermediate
15. Classic floor pushup
16. Lateral twist pushup
17. Isometric pushup
18. Diamond pushup
19. Single-leg pushup
20. Moving pushup
21. Shoulder-tap pushup
22. 8-count pushup
23. Table maker pushup
24. Spider-man pushup
25. Grasshopper pushup
26. Pushup plus
27. Staggered pushup
28. T pushup
29. T abduction pushup
30. Elevated uneven pushup
31. 45-degree wall pushup
32. Elbow stabilization pushup
33. Side-tap pushup
34. "L" pushup
35. Hand-tap pushup
36. Shuffle pushup
37. Walk-out pushup
38. Elevated pushup
39. Elevated one-leg pushup
40. Alligator pushup
41. Atlas pushup
42. Reverse pushup
43. Fingertip pushup
44. Hindu pushup
45. Dive bomber pushup
46. Pike pushup
47. Tiger pushup
48. Creeping one-armed pushup
49. Side-to-side pushup (I)
50. Side-to-side pushup (II)
51. Clock pushup
52. Bronco pushup
53. Mountain climber pushup
54. Alternating knee kickback pushup
55. Elevated pike pushup
56. Raised Spider-man pushup
57. Explosive pushup
58. Explosive staggered pushup
59. Explosive cross pushup

Advanced
60. Handstand walkout with pushup
61. One leg in the air pushup
62. Backpack pushup
63. Hip pushup
64. Squeeze pushup
65. Wide pushup
66. Handstand pushup
67. Clapping pushup
68. Arms extended pushup
69. One arm pushup

A plan is offered on how to achieve 100 pushups.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
The previous reviewer apparently didn't read the book. It doesn't claim to provide a full body workout program. It's a book about push-ups, and lots of variations.

I have several of this author's books. They are all good to some extent. However, this is probably his best title. I realize that many people could care less about having 60+ variations of the push-up but for those that emphasize bodyweight-only workouts, this is a great guide. The push-up variations allow for variety in workouts and help to hit the muscles from different angles. The exercises are broken up into beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so that the reader can easily determine which exercises are appropriate for them. The only negative that I can say is that the author didn't show any ring push-up variations but any of the exercises can be used on the rings, it just would have been a plus if the author had mentioned this and maybe shown a few variations. Other than that, nothing bad to say.

In regards to the animal exercises mentioned by the previous reviewer...it's just a preview of the author's other title called Animal Workouts. Anyone that has trained with animal-based movements know that they provide an excellent workout, especially for anyone wanting to improve athleticism. Those people that complain about them are likely the same ones that have difficulty performing them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
Remember in school when the phys. ed. instructor would test for how many push ups you could do? Ugh! I hated that. The most I could do was about 7-10. Well, not now! Not only did this book teach me how to do a push up CORRECTLY, but the benefits of doing them. There are several different kinds to choose from so you need never get bored with your push up workout. In fact, the authors outline in a very clear and easy to understand way the technique for being able to perform one hundred push ups in a row! It takes practice, and you can't be lazy about it, but it is a very easy to follow technique called the Double Max Method and this book also explains the reasons that 100 is the target number. Though you'll have to read the book to find out more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2011
I have several of this author's books. They are all good to some extent. However, this is probably his best title. I realize that many people could care less about having 60+ variations of the push-up but for those that emphasize bodyweight-only workouts, this is a great guide. The push-up variations allow for variety in workouts and help to hit the muscles from different angles. The exercises are broken up into beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so that the reader can easily determine which exercises are appropriate for them. The only negative that I can say is that the author didn't show any ring push-up variations but any of the exercises can be used on the rings, it just would have been a plus if the author had mentioned this and maybe shown a few variations. Other than that, nothing bad to say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
You can' t go wrong with the basic push-up unless your form is wrong. Again this book offers creative but challenging variations of the push-up that will help keep boredom out but build incredible strength.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2010
Awesome book!! When I saw this book on Amazon was curious about it, I visited the author's Website [...], and was intrigue by the concept of bodyweight training and the way our body is the ultimate work out machine.
The book contain over 65 variations of push ups, some I never seen before. I started doing the exercises about a week ago and I can see and feel the difference, the book guide you to how to do 100 push ups and will give points to achieve it, the book starts from beginners push ups to more advance. Highly Recommended!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
The material in the book is good. Lots of variations, but the pictures are poor quality - black and white and blurry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2011
I've been a fan of bodyweight exercises for a long time. If you are as well there will be little new for you in this book. This may be OK for someone new to bodyweight exercise, but even so there are better books out there. Check out You Are Your Own Gym by Mark Lauren for the reasons why and how bodyweight exercise may be right for you. Don't waste your time with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
Nothing personal...but, this book sucks. If you want something that is all bodyweight and great buy You Are Your Own Gym or even Death Taxes Pushups if all you wanna do is different types of pushups. Book seems to be uneven and filled with a lot of nonsensical references to animal movement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
I needed pointers geared for out of shape folks like me, and am very pleased with this book. It is well written, has great photos of each move, and good advice all the way through. Over the last several years following a heart episode, I stopped exercising, and the author spends a good deal of time addressing situations like mine. He explains what kinds of pain are okay, and more importantly, what kinds of pain are dangerous enough that you should stop and readjust (I.e. joint pain, etc.) He gets you started with safe pushups, or partial pushups, and builds through a program from there. If you are already in shape and want more variety, then this book fits the bill for you, too. The vast majority of exercises are devoted to traditional, alternate, and advanced forms of pushups, each with its own chapter explaining the details and demonstrating them with clear photographs. I highly recommend it.
... [I am using a Kindle Fire HD6, Oct. 2014 release, and the book works flawlessly ]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse