Customer Reviews


1,066 Reviews
5 star:
 (743)
4 star:
 (195)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


725 of 767 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection For The Hardcore Fans
During the following I will intend to describe as best and briefly as possible this collection. I also will mention some differences between this collection and the original releases. Enjoy.

The difference between the limited and the unlimited editions are: The Limited Edition comes in a plastic box with trays, a Neo bust and an 80 page booklet that lists the...
Published on November 24, 2004 by Efrain Rivera Jr.

versus
78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says it is
There's no reason to spend more money on the Matrix Box Set unless you want all of the additional footage from behind the scenes ETC. This has ONLY the movies and that was good enough for me. In my opinion though, only the first Matrix is worth watching more than once. The 2nd and 3rd one are flashy with effects but the stories suck. There were no problems with the...
Published on April 3, 2009 by Brian M. Russick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One person's opinion on the Matrix Trilogy, October 2, 2005
By 
Jason Oey "UltramarineX" (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
**Warning: Spoilers ahead**

I bought this Matrix collection back in December of last year. I've watched this collection and thoroughly enjoyed it. So you must be asking yourself, why did I bother writing a review so late after I got this collection? Well, very recently I was watching the entire Matrix Trilogy (as well as several episodes of the Animatrix) in one sitting with a large group of people. After the movies were done with, we broke out into discussion about these movies, specifically as to whether the quality of the movies dropped dramatically after the first movie. Most of the people at this viewing chastised Reloaded and Revolutions, while one lone voice tried to defend these movies. Guess who the lone voice was (I'll give you three guesses). As such, this review is meant primarily as a rebuttal to the various comments I heard about the Matrix Trilogy, as well as my thoughts on the Matrix movies themselves.

First off, let me just say that the following review will primarily consist of a discussion on the Matrix movies themselves, and not the many documentaries that are packaged with this collection. Second, I want to focus on a discussion of the Matrix Trilogy as a whole, and as such I'll say something about all three movies, but Reloaded and Revolutions in particular. Lastly, I realize that different people have different opinions, and everybody is entitled to there own opinions. I only want to present the reasons why I enjoyed all three movies so hopefully you will understand why I think the Matrix Trilogy is good.

Notice how in the last sentence I said "good", not "great". I am going to admit something right now...yes, I will agree with almost everybody who has seen all three movies that the Matrix Reloaded and Revolutions were not as good as the first Matrix. HOWEVER, where I disagree with many people is how far the "quality" dropped after the first Matrix. Some people have even gone as far to say that Reloaded and Revolutions (especially Revolutions) are the worst movies of all time. Please. I've seen the worst movie of all time, and it's called Starship Troopers 2.

When I saw the first Matrix in the theatres so many years ago, I was completely blown away. Not only did it have some of the best action sequences and choreographed fights ever put on film, but it had an intriguing discussion on the nature of reality, and what it means to be human. On the other hand the Matrix Reloaded and Revolutions did not have as much philosophizing, but instead focused more on action. I think that is one of the reasons why people disliked Reloaded and Revolutions, i.e. many people felt that these two movies focused too much on "mindless action." I would argue though that if Reloaded and Revolutions talked more about "what is reality?" like in the first movie, people would get board pretty easily because that idea was already discussed at long length in the first Matrix. In any case the directors needed to move along with the Trilogy's plot.

Ah yes...plot. What is "plot"? Apparently, to the detractors of Reloaded and Revloutions, these two movies had no plot. To them I ask...are you blind, or did you just not bother paying attention? The last human city, Zion, is just hours away from total destruction and there doesn't seem to be a way to stop the Machines. Neo has visions of Trinity's death and has to find a way to save her. Is everything Neo doing predestined, or does he have control over his own destiny? How can Neo stop Agent Smith when he's able to create so many copies of himself? Those are just some of the plotlines in these movies that apparently don't exist. As a counterpoint, let us consider the Lord of the Rings Trilogy (which, in my opinion, are some of the best movies of all time). On the surface, the plot of these three movies appears razor thin, i.e. it's simply all about trying to destroy a powerful ring. But if you look deeper you'll find stories of hope, betrayal, courage, greed, and love. The same applies to the Matrix Trilogy. On the surface, all it seems to be about is Neo trying to stop the Machines, but if you look past that you'll find so much more.

With Reloaded and Revolutions, the Wachowski brothers upped the ante with what could be done with special effects. The fact is I am not a person who thinks special effects can make a movie on their own, but you would have to really hate science-fiction movies to not be at least somewhat enthralled with the action in these movies. Seeing Neo fight dozens of Agent Smiths all on his own in the Matrix Reloaded, and kicking their asses all over the place, was both weird and exciting at the same time. When the forces of Zion had to defend the city against a massive Machine invasion force in the Matrix Revolutions, I was on the edge of my seat! I don't understand how anyone could think that seeing people in giant, gun-toting robot suits, blasting away at hundreds of Machine sentinels was not cool. Yes I know, storyline (which the Trilogy has in spades) is far more important than computer generated effects, but these effects are some of the most groundbreaking ever produced.

To be honest, looking back I think that one of the primary reasons that people disliked Reloaded and Revolutions was because of their expectations. After people were blown away by the first Matrix, everybody was expecting the Wachowski brothers to make movies that would cause our heads to explode in the theatres from their sheer greatness. When that did not happen people became disappointed, even to the level of outrage in some cases. Reloaded and Revolutions were different in terms of plot and tone than the first Matrix, which many viewers did not like. Now, this is not to excuse the fact that Reloaded and Revolutions were not and good as the first Matrix, because they weren't. But our expectations of a movie can definitely have an impact on how we perceive it.

In the end, the Matrix Trilogy is not going to receive the same reverence as the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, and the original Star Wars Trilogy. However, I think it should deserve remembrance for the opening our eyes as to the potential of science-fiction. The first Matrix movie is arguably one of the best sci-fi movies of all time, and the Matrix Reloaded and Revolutions are good movies in their own right. Even when I get older, I will still fondly remember all three Matrix movies. If you have never seen the Matrix Trilogy, I urge you to at least see the first one. If you have time, go see Reloaded and Revolutions with an open mind, and I think you will come away pretty satisfied.

My rating on the Matrix Trilogy as a whole: 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, but..., February 19, 2005
By 
I'll make this quick. It's a great set and the entire discs should be explored except for the commentary by the critics. These morons have no concept what the movie is about or the philosophies behind it. Nothing but a bunch of yes men agreeing with each other and then contradicting with what they talked about earlier. Skip it, and move on to the commentaries by Dr. Cornel West, and Ken WIlber. They not only give insight to the philosophies but enjoy themselves while doing it. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, something for the hardcore fans..., September 9, 2004
By 
Some people here might be asking themselves "Why in the heck should we buy a 10 disc set of the 4 Matrix movies?" Well, you should not buy this if your not a hardcore fan and you already have the original DVDs. This is being released for the more hardcore fans of the matrix.

First of all, this is being released because of the extra features and not for the movies directly. The new commmentary tracks, the dozens of featurettes, and the marketing materials are for all of us hardcore fans that were dissapointed by the lack of special features on the original DVD releases (no commentary tracks, lack of trailers or TV spots, etc).

So, you might still be asking yourself if this collection is worth the price of $60.00? The answer: Yes! Think about it, if you were to buy all 4 Matrix movies and the Matrix Revisited Documentary in stores you would pay at least $60.00! For the same price you get a slew of extras, most of which have never been seen! Once again, this is mainly for the hardcore fans but if you don't have any of the Matrix movies and are thinking about buying the original versions buy this instead! It has so much more for your money.

This is the kind of box set that they should have released right when Revolutions ended. I'm not complaining though because late is better than never. The hardcore Matrix fans finally get what they have always wanted.

In closing, I would like to repeat that this should probably only be bought by hardcore Matrix fans. Casual fans would probably be bored with all of the featurettes and think that this was a waste of money. Still, if your interested in buying the Matrix films individually get this instead. It will save you money and if you love the Matrix films as much as I do you will be glad that you got this version in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the Ultimate, November 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I give this product 5 stars for one main reason, it is truly the "Ultimate" Matrix collection. I come from the standpoint of being a tremendous fan of the first movie - The Matrix - and somewhat disappointed with the last two with first viewing. In all honesty, the second two movies will never live up to the first, but they are enjoyable on their own merits.

For those wondering about the quality of the Blu-Ray conversion, I can only express complete praise for the picture quality. All three theatrical releases and the Animatrix are now in full 1080p, and if I didn't know better I would swear that the films were all shot using the most advanced technology available today.

The packaging is definitely commensurate with the cost of the product, and the inclusion of the first Matrix in a digital copy is a nice bonus (be aware, however, that it is only the first Matrix you are getting in a digital copy).

Overall the product lives up to its name and I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Resolution worth it?, October 12, 2008
By 
Aiden (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
a few reviews talk about getting a standard DVD player and increasing the resolution to full HD 1080p thus skipping the dvd blue ray version.. thats INCORRECT.. those players just up-converters.. for the less tec heads, it fills in the gap where standard dvds are filmed increasing the resolution on a simulated level never TRUE HD 1080p. its like getting VHS to DVD version slight improvement but not TRUE 1080p.

The blue Ray version is a direct digital film port from the cameras meaning full resolution 1080p no down converting from the port.

when Matrix standard DVD set was made it was digital but not at Full resolution so buying a standard DVD set version and using a up-converter DVd player youll never get the full visual 1080p.

This box set is worth it.. a little expensive but the fact you get all Matrix is worth the money.. plus if your an audio file you will be BLOWN AWAY BY THE SOUND No CUTS, No edits.. Pure uncompressed sound..better than any standard DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One!, March 30, 2005
This was my only birthday present. The year before was the Alien Quadrilogy, so I'll review this by disk like I will that.

1 The Matrix - 4.5/5

This movie was the groundbreaking event that started everything in 1999. It seems a little isolated compared to the epic sequels, but it's still the best of the three. The new quality and sound transfers are excellent. Looks the way it was ment to.

2 The Matrix Revisited

This is probably the best of the movie supplemental disks as the documentary is a streamlined flowing feature rather than little segments like the other 2 movies. Interesting stuff and good cast interviews.

3 The Matrix Reloaded - 4/5

The first time I saw this I hated it and thought it was too long. Than I realised it's like 2 minutes shorter than the first movie and that it is extremely cool. I watched the Revisited disk before watching it again, and it gave me a whole lot more respect for the movie.

4 The Matrix Reloaded Revisited

Cool segments on the enormous effort it took to make this and Revolutions. Hats off to the filmmakers and a big F U to those who think they made these movies just to get a couple bucks.

5 The Matrix Revolutions 3.5/5

I liked this better than Reloaded the first time I saw it, but now I realise that it isn't really as good. It focuses more on the real world than The Matrix. Cool special effects and a very epic feel.

6 The Matrix Revolutions Revisited

Good segments on the making of Revolutions. It will give you alot of respect for the filmaker's efforts.

7 The Animatrix 5/5

The balance of all these shorts combined makes it better than all of the movies IMO. The Second Rennesaince Duo are the best 2. I have indevidually reviewed these.

8 The Roots of the Matrix

Extremely modern and over my head. They're brand new. If I had been tired I'd have fallen asleep during this explanation of the philosophy and ****.

9 The Burly Man Chronicles

A continuous piece of the consecutive filmings of Reloaded and Revolutions. Somewhat grueling, but that's good because it shows you how filmmaking for real is a grueling process and not as glamorous as it's made out to be.

10 The Zion Archive

A whole lotta ****. Pictures, and stuff. Ad for the new game which looks like crap. It's a good disk. Character bios, sets, all the ships are here very good.

Get off your *** and get this! Unless you think the Matrix movies suck, than U R CRAE Z.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matrix Collection - Blu-ray Info, October 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Version: U.S.A / Region A, B, C
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
VC-1 BD-50 / Advanced Profile 3 / Advanced Profile 2 (IME) / 1080p
Subtitles: English SDH / Dutch / French / Italian / Japanese / Portuguese / Spanish

***********************************************************************

Title: The Matrix
Running time: 2:16:17
Movie size: 28,44 GB
Disc size: 39,83 GB
Average video bit rate: 16.44 Mbps
Number of chapters: 38

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1646 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 1646kbps (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio French 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Italian 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Japanese 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Portuguese 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Plus Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps

***********************************************************************

Title: The Matrix Reloaded
Running time: 2:18:15
Movie size: 26,00 GB
Disc size: 39,74 GB
Average video bit rate: 13.89 Mbps
Number of chapters: 36

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1781 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 1781kbps (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio French 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Italian 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Japanese 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Portuguese 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Plus Audio English 224 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 224kbps

***********************************************************************

Title: The Matrix Revolutions
Running time: 2:09:15
Movie size: 24,26 GB
Disc size: 36,42 GB
Average video bit rate: 13.88 Mbps
Number of chapters: 34

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1801 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 1801kbps (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio French 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Italian 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Japanese 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Portuguese 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps
Dolby Digital Plus Audio English 224 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 224kbps

***********************************************************************

Title: The Animatrix
Running time: 1:40:50
Movie size: 25,40 GB
Disc size: 39,25 GB
Average video bit rate: 20.42 Mbps
Number of chapters: 10

Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1822 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 2203kbps (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps)
Dolby TrueHD Audio Japanese 1857 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 2283kbps (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio French 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Italian 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Japanese 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Portuguese 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Free Your Mind" (An Opinionated Overview):, December 23, 2004
By 
Ian Vance (pagosa springs CO.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must confess that, for me, the controversy and caustic criticism surrounding `The Matrix Trilogy', when coupled with the analysis these movies tend to inspire in the devoted, is generally more interesting to observe, as a phenomenon, than the actual films themselves. Having already reviewed both sequels previously (check my profile), I'll confine this review to that of the box set itself.

Disc One: The Matrix

Released with very little fanfare or industry buzz in the `dead' season of early spring, 1999, `The Matrix' sprung seemingly out of nowhere and captivated millions with its heady blend of Gnostic metaphor, surreal sci-fi splendor, and uber-stylistic excess. I have to admit, on first viewing, being less overwhelmed by the virtual-reality `twist' as I was impressed by the overall synthesis of Dickian mindwarp, cyberpunk, and Japanese anime (etc.) into one coherent package. Like a cinematic comic book, `The Matrix' was long on surface thrills and visceral impact, and brimmed with enough actual content to help stave off the inevitable "cool-backlash" endemic to all media trends. In retrospect, the film has aged quite well, thanks in large part to the future/past conceptual design and the new digital transfer specific to this box-set release. It's also the least of the three films, IMO, far too predictable in its dramatic arc and revolutionary rhetoric - hence, of course, its golden-sheen nostalgia-status for some in the wake of its unconventional sequels. Still: entertaining, well-made eye candy.

Disc Two: The Matrix Revisited

This supplement disc documents the making of `The Matrix,' from initial script treatment to the final product. Originally released with the first film as a dual-DVD package and as a stand-alone documentary.

Disc Three: The Matrix Reloaded

The hype for this film was beyond belief. The pre-release trailers featured greatest-hit montages of its many thrillseeker peaks, to some degree spoiling the visual virginity of the newly developed `virtual camera' technique; but the surface thrills of this film were/are secondary to the overall statement it made about the human condition. Free from the studio-tether, the Wachoski Bros. returned to their original script and made two films far, far ahead of the mainstream audience's paradigm-threshold. The backlash begun, thanks in large part to the tell-all denouement of the Architect. Neo, so-called "one" simulation of revolutionary praxis, became no more than a link in a chain, a slave; and so in turn could be interpreted the audience itself, feasting on H-wood illusion and seeking enlightenment therein. The sense of confusion and subsequent resentment was all-too-tangible in my theatre once the Architect opened his mouth and unleashed all those ten-dollar-words...alas, no feel-good counter-culture prozac here!

In retrospect, I probably like this film the best out of the three. It poses the essential dilemmas of philosophy; heaps complication after complication like any good second act; and contains the most subliminal material of the trilogy. The action sequences kick a$$, too.

Disc Four: The Matrix Reloaded Revisited

Contains documentaries focusing upon the freeway chase, teahouse scene, Burly Brawl and the Merovingian's lair. Also includes the 23 cut-scenes filmed for the god-awful `Enter the Matrix' video game.

Disc Five: The Matrix Revolutions

The meme was out on this film long before its actual release, and the subsequent bleating of disgruntled critics - professional and amateur, print and internet - was truly a sight to behold: voluminous ignorance rabidly expressed! Promptly proclaimed to be one of the worst sci-fi films ever made, the innumerable complaints tended to more portray limitations of the consumers rather than that of the creators - most amusing/pathetic of all being those who, obviously not "getting" it, claimed there was nothing to "get!" I will say this: anyone that demands passively receiving easy answers to the spiritual and humanistic quandaries posed by the W. Bros., without doing any in-depth research or critical analysis of the clues that are given, is going to have a very rough time of it. (Side-note: the critical commentary on the films is the epitome of this type of pretentious dismissal, served with increasing doses of stomach-churning pomposity). As for myself, I was astounded and disappointed by this widespread laziness, but extremely satisfied with the movie itself. `The Matrix Revolutions' is an epic finale, and easily the best of the three in terms of sheer brain-candy extravagance.

Disc Six: The Matrix Revolutions Revisited

Contains documentaries on the Club Hel, Super Burly Brawl and Siege sequences; profiles of cinematographer Bill Pope, the art-design team and 2nd unit crew, along with featurettes of the editing, sound and music.

Disc Seven: The Animatrix

Nine short anime films that give further insight to the backstory of the trilogy. Personal favorites will vary from person to person (I like Beyond and Matriculated), but the unequivocal masterpiece of the set is `The Second Renaissance, Pt. One and Two.'

Disc Eight: Roots of the Matrix

Features two documentaries: `Return to the Source: Philosophy and the Matrix,' a cohesive-if-basic primer into the philosophers/philosophies that inspired the trilogy, and `The Hard Problem: The Science behind the Fiction,' in which modern scientists, writers and philosophers converse about the Matrix and its eventual probability in contemporary society.

Disc Nine: The Burly Man Chronicles

A huge documentary about the preparations and principle photography of `Reloaded' and `Revolutions.' Akin to `The Matrix Revisited' doc, in format and feel, although BMC is divided into three sections *without* scene selection - very annoying! - and interspersed with a whole host of `white rabbit' branch-off links detailing the various artisans, crew and actors that helped make these films possible.

Disc Ten: The Zion Archive

A collection of trailers for all three films, along with an edited sfx segment and a promotional puff-piece for the upcoming Matrix MMORPG (sorry Bros, I ain't buying it).

...

Packaging is quite nice - slipcases for the films and documentaries, a booklet describing the interior content (with a sardonic introduction by the Wachoski Bros.) and a boxcase resplendent in gleaming green code. Essential for any Matrix fan - elitists and rigid ignoramuses need not apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture/sound quality, May 30, 2007
By 
S. Kosloske (Milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The reviews listed here so far are fairly confusing. A lot of people like it, but there are a handful of 1 star reviews, which, in my opinion, are wrong.

First of all, I can't see how ANYONE could compare the video quality of the first movie in HD to the original DVD release, no matter what resolution it's up-converted to. NO COMPARISON whatsoever. The original looks awful up-converted, the new HD version looks amazing. I've seen the movie a bunch of times, and I noticed a lot of things in the HD version I've never seen before.

As to the reviews where people are knocking it for being sold as a one-piece collection. You don't like it, don't buy it. The single release HD versions will be out later. I am giving it a 4 star instead of 5 star rating for pretty much the same reasons, but I can only see taking off 1 star because of the price/pack issue. The extras disk is well done, and of course the Animatrix wasn't re-released in HD. I doubt that half the original content was made in Hi-Def quality.

If you're a big, big fan of the original movie, and have a good HD setup, do yourself a favor and spend the money. They did a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most Intense Exploration of the Trilogy I've Ever Seen, June 12, 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its been a while since I posted here with so many things going on I wanted to do a complete review of the Wachowski Brothers Matrix Trilogy. So I finally broke down and ordered the Ultimate Matrix Collection on BluRay and some sixty days later I'm still going through the material. The collection presents the three films with incredible picture and sound quality even though I must say the discs can be somewhat tempermental at times. In watching them they had a tendency to freeze at certain times requiring a restart and chapter search to get back to where I was. Not a big problem but somewhat aggravating.

The amount of bonus material that you get with this set is the thing that really sells it. There are eleven commentaries, 104 bonus featurettes, the Animatrix, all of the live action scenes from the Enter the Matrix video game, a selection of 41 music only tracks and much more. All of this amounts to some thirty-five plus hours of special features. The question I guess is "Is this all really necessary or is it complete overkill?" My answer tends to lead in the direction of overkill. The first film was a pop culture phenomenon the sequels were entertaining in their own way but much less interesting than the first. The bonus materials attempt to give you a complete picture of the entire filming process. There is not a major sequence in any of the films that is not covered in detail and then it seems recovered.

Perhaps themost interesting special features are the commentaries. Since the Wachowskis did not wish as per their written introduction to comment on the individual filmms theylet two distinct groups do the talking. The philosopher's commentary feature Dr. Cornel West and Ken Wilbur who really enjoyed the films a group of critics who did not think the films were that great provided the counterpoint. One has to be amazed that Warner Brothers would allow a commentary who are so willing to talk about the flaws in the films.

The featurettes while interesting go on for far too long. This is the kind of material that will be seen at most once even by the most strident of fans. There are a pair of hour long documentaries on the philosophy and science behind the films that are worth checking out but probably won't be viewed more than once.

As mentioned before the discs have great sound and picture. The BluRay experience also includes The Animatrix a great change from Warners' original HiDef packaging.This is an extremely well put together set but except for real fans probably won't be viewed more than once in its entirety. There is a film only collection that may be the more economic deal here. It's still highly recommended by this viewer but be warned it is a lot of material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray]
The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] by Larry Wachowski (Blu-ray - 2008)
$64.99 $29.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.