The Ultimate Washington State DUI Handbook Being arrested for DUI in Washington State is an introduction to a world of complex law, demanding Judges, fickle prosecuting attorneys, biased Department of Licensing hearing officers, exaggerating police officers, and a multitude of conditions and expenses that seem to never end. Such punishment and conditions may include jail, probation, fines, court dates, a department of licensing hearing, license suspension, ignition interlock device, SR 22 insurance, alcohol evaluation, alcohol awareness class or treatment, and a DUI victim's panel, among many possible requirements. This is why most people feel overwhelmed after they face the sobering fact that they are in for a long and difficult journey. It is therefore important that a person who has been arrested for DUI immediately educate themselves about the many requirements demanded of them. The first thing you should do is confirm whether you have been provided a court date. Not every jurisdiction provides an immediate court date but many do, and in these jurisdictions you will need to appear within a few days of your arrest. As such you must prepare to appear in court so that you do not risk a bench warrant for your arrest. Washington Courts that typically demand you appear in court for an arraignment immediately following your DUI arrest include Seattle, Everett, Lynnwood, Edmonds, Mukilteo, Skagit County and Island County, just to name a few. The next thing you must do following a DUI arrest is to contact a qualified DUI attorney. Such an attorney should be a good sounding board and will be able to advise you about the immediate concerns. This is particularly true if you must immediately appear in Court as there may be a risk of harsh conditions or imposed by the Judge. Preparation and knowledge is the key. If you have been arrested you must immediately be aware of the following: -If there a court date you must immediately make plans to appear in court; -If you have a prior DUI arrest or the facts of your case are severe you must prepare to bail yourself out from custody at your first court appearance (read the section on bail in the upcoming chapter); -You must complete and mail (or apply online) the Department of Licensing (DOL) Driver's Hearing Request Form (within 20 days of your arrest) if your BAC was over 0.08 or if you refused the breath or blood test; -Your DOL Hearing will be set within 60 days of your arrest; -If your license is suspended you may be eligible for a restrictive license; -You will be required to undertake an alcohol evaluation; -You must contact an experienced DUI attorney to discuss your options. For the first time in Washington State there is a book that is designed to help an individual accused of driving under the influence. The Washington State DUI Handbook provides the reader information on DUI laws, the DUI process, DUI court procedures, how to choose an attorney, information on the court, prosecuting attorney and plea negotiation, options for the DUI defendant, DUI defenses, DUI Penalties, Department of Licensing issues, legal defenses to the charge of DUI, the alcohol/drug evaluation and treatment process, alcohol/drugs and the human body, and the many other collateral consequences of driving under the influence. If you have been charged with a DUI in Washington, please read this book thoroughly and seek advice from an experienced, reputable, and DUI focused attorney. Their advice is invaluable and no book can replace competent representation. Ultimately the goal of any attorney in the DUI realm is to protect you and your valuable rights, fight hard for the best result possible and, speaking personally, do everything to ensure that you do not find yourself in this difficult position again.