Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Ultra Violets [Kindle Edition]

Sophie Bell
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $12.99
Kindle Price: $9.20
You Save: $3.79 (29%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $9.20  
Hardcover $9.68  
Top 20 Books for Kids
See the books our editors' chose as the Best Children's Books of 2014 So Far or see the lists by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12 | Nonfiction

Book Description

A smart superhero book for girls with plenty of glitter--perfect for fans of The Powerpuff Girls.



It all started with the mysterious purple goo . . .



What happens when four best friends find themselves splattered with a bubbling, genetically altering substance during a seemingly innocent sleepover in a secret, see-through, high-tech, futuristic lab? They develop superpowers, that's what! Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and Opaline are destined to become . . .



THE ULTRA VIOLETS



IRIS: Visionary, artist, leader—the glitter glue that holds the group together!





CHERI: A girly girl on platform rollerskates who's never met a rescue puppy or a nail polish she didn’t immediately-and-madly love.





SCARLET: Short enough that you won’t see her sneaking up behind you. Freckled enough that you might mistake her for innocent. But look out!





OPALINE: Loveable, huggable, supershy, sweet as pie . . . or is she?



THE FUCHSIA IS NOW!


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 5-7-While on a sleepover at a supersecret lab, four second-grade friends are accidentally splashed with an experimental chemical. At the time, it doesn't seem too important. But, four years later, when the girls reunite in middle school, the "heliotropium" exposure is producing astonishing changes. Iris has developed purple hair and the corresponding ability to affect colors around her. Scarlet has gained phenomenal dancing talents, and Cheri has extraordinary math powers and can communicate with animals. Only Opal seems to have been left out-and she's increasingly bitter about it. The other girls assure her that they are all still "besties," but then Opal mistakenly assumes that Cheri is using superskills to steal the boy whom she wants. Opal breaks with the group just as her own terrifying storm-creating powers manifest. Meanwhile, SyncCity is being invaded by weird human-animal mutants, and the source seems to be experimental beauty lab BeauTek in the shuttered Mall of No Returns. Opal arranges a class field trip to BeauTek, where she assumes control of the mutant forces. Can the remaining Ultra Violets rescue their friend from the dark side in time to save the city? Readers may be attracted to the anime-style illustrations, flashy cover art, and purple-inked text, but the episodic plot is often a challenge to follow, especially as the author frequently breaks page in mid-action to insert side comments. Many plot threads are left unresolved, indicating a planned sequel. The self-consciously "girlie" dialogue is replete with text-message acronyms and cutesy pop-culture references. There is room in the superhero pantheon for an all-girl team, but the Ultra Violets spend more time licking lollipops and humiliating cafeteria bullies than seeking justice.-Elaine E. Knight, Lincoln Elementary Schools, ILα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

About the Author

If Sophie Bell could have just one superpower, it would be to control the frizzies come rain, snow, tornado, or monsoon. Either that or invisible-flying. Like the Ultra Violets, she once had purple hair, and it came at a terrible cost—about fifteen dollars per extension. She lives with many inappropriate shoes in Brooklyn, New York.

Product Details

  • File Size: 13514 KB
  • Print Length: 337 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1595146032
  • Publisher: Razorbill (March 5, 2013)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008EKMAU6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #239,655 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
(7)
4.1 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultra Violets by Sophie Bell March 15, 2013
Format:Hardcover
The Ultra Violets by Sophie Bell is a middle grade action-packed purple adventure! First off, let me say, I *loved* this book and I think my daughters will love this book too! The illustrations by Chris Battle were completely awesome. And, if you couldn't tell, everything was PURPLE (even in the Kindle ebook)! No, black and white boring print and drawings... all purple! (And, that's my favorite color!)

We meet the main characters, Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and Opaline, as giddy little second-graders who get covered in a mysterious purple goo, but quickly fast-forward to more grown-up sixth-graders for the duration of the book. Due to their sticky purple shower, the girls develop some pretty awesome super powers! Each has their own personality and brings something to their foursome. Every time I think I've got a favorite character, one of the other girls does something and then they're my favorite.

The story progresses rather quickly and then slows down while they (and you) are learning their way around their super powers, and then picks up again when they start to learn that not everything is lollipops and gumdrops in Sync City, where they live. Even through the slower portions, I was still furiously flipping pages to find out what was going to happen next.

Also in this book are a TON of pop culture references that I'm not sure the targeted age range will pick up on. To double-check, I read some sections to my daughter (9) and she didn't get any of the references, except one. The animal shelter in Sync City is named Helter Shelter and my daughter, being a lover of The Beatles went, "Hey! Like Helter Skelter!" Whether Sophie Bell was aiming for that or not, that's where we both took it.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5/5-a review from Bookworm1858 July 6, 2013
Format:Hardcover
Source: Received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I received this book unsolicited from the publisher and thought it looked adorable. It kind of reminded me of the Powerpuff Girls and I love stories focusing on female friendship especially during the years of middle-school, which are tough. As shown on the cover, this book is about four young girls and incorporates the color purple. In fact, the font is purple throughout (but still perfectly readable if that's a concern) and there are illustrations included, which is something I adore.

The plot is that four girls were playing in their mom's lab under the less than careful eye of their baby-sitter. One knocks over some mysterious goo and drenches them all. Years later, the girls were separated and then reunited, discovering that they have powers and deciding that they will need to harness their new abilities to fight the shady corporate powers in their town.

As represented on the covers, the girls look very different with their own unique interests and skills. Some are more outgoing while others are more shy so everyone will probably be able to click with at least one of them. While they have the unlikely situation of suddenly possessing superpowers, they also have the relatable problems of friendship, boys, and school, helping to keep this story grounded.

I feel like my biggest problem with this book is just that I'm not the target audience. I think I would have enjoyed it when I was ten or eleven but being more than double that age, it was just not my thing. I would love to see the opinion of someone in the target audience who ate it up!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
The Ultra Violets, by Sophie Bell, is an ultra-awesome Middle Grade novel, that is going to take your kids on an adventure to Sync City with a purple-haired pre-teen, Iris, and the rest of her friends! I have to admit that while I am an avid reader, my own daughter takes some encouraging in the subject. When The Ultra Violets arrived in the mailbox, I had to convince my daughter to let me read the brilliant, purple-covered book first. While the cover is extremely inviting, you’ll be pleased to know that the illustrations don’t stop there. The images inspired my own imagination, and complimented the witty, and sometimes cheesy, chatter.

I really enjoyed reading The Ultra Violets, and my daughter is currently loving it! I think every pre-teen will relate to at least one of the characters, and have fun pretending to have their super powers. I can already hear my daughter picking up on the spunky lingo the characters use. After finishing the novel, I remembered my own favorite action-packed stories growing up, and reminisced over She-Ra, Powerpuff Girls and Sailor Moon!

I know my daughter won’t be far behind me in singing her praises about, what I think will be, this generation’s pre-teen girl power publication!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultra violets rock!!! March 15, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Whoohoo! Go ScarLoJo! Go Cheri! GO IRIS!!!
This. Book. Rocked!!
My fav and most viomazing scene was the final battle scene.
BUY THIS BOOK! it was viomazing! in 4 words, Oh my crazy violets!
Fav charecter: Scar Lo Jo. She has those amazing dance moves.

…need i say more?
Fav line from the book: "…the Cascading ringlets, once blonde, were now…different."
For now, Opaline has a glimmer of hope. but still: "It's so not over".
Review by Lucy
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category