Facility Spring Cleaning BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 12, 2012
I was disappointed in the nudity in the movie and also some of the language.
The theme was very good. I would have very much enjoyed it if the there had been no nudity and vulgar language in it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
My daughter loves it and is very exceptionally happy with it so that makes me very happy with your product and service thank you. She highly recommends it to everyone as she is very very happy as I am with price and overall service I recommend anyone interested that they will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
I gave it a 4 star, because let's face it, it was not as good as Notebook!!! They say it was the sequel to it. Loved the actors, but it didn't make me burst out in tears as much as Notebook did.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
I'll be the first to admit that "The Vow" is not a prime example of cinematic genius or anything, but I think most viewers who choose to watch it will get out of it what they want- an inspiring love story with two good-looking actors and some very romantic and sad scenes.

The story follows Leo (played by Channing Tatum) who has a whirlwind romance with Paige (Rachel McAdams). In a freak winter accident, Paige flies through the windshield of a car and wakes from a coma with the past five years of her life completely forgotten due to amnesia. She has no idea how her life has changed so dramatically from the time that she remembers, and she has no recollection of her love for Leo. Though discouraged by Paige's family and friends, Leo is determined to remind his wife how and why she fell in love with him.

I thought the chemistry between the two central characters was great. Channing Tatum has come a long way from his Step Up years. While the concept was interesting, the true story of the couple the movie is based on- Kim and Krickitt Carpenter- is quite amazing and I recommend reading about them after watching this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Romance movies (often times referred to as Chick Flicks) have a tendency to be fodder for Kleenex advertisements: too often these movies are judged by how many times the lacrimal ducts give a stimulus response instead of the nature of the film itself. THE VOW for all intents and purposes seems and sound and looks like a Nicholas Sparks recipe film, but the fact that is NOT by Sparks should alert the audience that there may be more here than expected. Based on a true story, rendered by Stuart Sender and Jason Katims and adapted for the screen by Abby Kohn and Marc Silverstein, knowing that the concept is based on reality helps ground the film. Director Michael Sucsy (Grey Gardens) manages to keep this overly long film centered and allows each of the characters to become developed as people rather than clones.

Leo Channing Tatum in his most sensitive role to date) and Paige (Rachel McAdams) are a couple who just got married. After an accident, Paige is left unconscious, and when she awakes she doesn't remember Leo. Her physician (Wendy Crewson) reassures her that her memory will likely return if she resumes a normal life. Her parents (Sam Neill and Jessica Lange), whom she hasn't since she and Leo got together, come and visit her - a rather strange situation since Paige has not had contact with her parents since she left law school (we later find out why the personal motivations) and moved to the city (Chicago) to pursue a career as a sculptor. For some reason Paige remembers her parents and her old friends (including a sister (Jessica McNamee) with whom she broke ties five years ago, ditto an ex-boyfriend (Scott Speedman, remembered for his brilliant performance in 'The 24th Day') she abandoned. Leo and Paige's new family (Joey Klein, Joe Cobden and Shannon Barnett) want to bring her home with them but her parents demand she return to their expensive home to prepare for Paige's sisters wedding to a nice guy (Dillon Casey). She goes with Leo but when she doesn't recognize anything, she goes to her parents. When Paige returns to her parents she is puzzled as to why she left five years ago. Meanwhile Leo tries to win her back by courting her again. Secrets are uncovered and though Paige never regains her memory, her life does indeed change.

Though the film does indeed drag a bit at times and could have used a better editor, the actors bring this unusual story to life. No, it is not a great movie, but it is a solid one. Grady Harp, May 12
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
The best thing this movie has going for it is the story, the part the writers didn't even come up with on their own. Most of the major events, including the ending (which I won't give away) are accurate. The real story that the movie is based upon is already touching and captivating, making it very easy for the writers. But the creativity stopped there. Many of the elements in the movie feel tacked on in an effort to give the plot more conflict. Sam Neill and Jessica Lange give great performances, but unfortunately, their characters aren't believable and seem more like the stereotypical movie villans.

The acting by Channing Tatum is just plain disappointing. I'm not sure what the thinking was behind putting a "buff guy" in a tender character, but they still could have found a man with muscles AND acting ability. Rachel McAdams gives a good performance, but it takes more than one good actor to make a good movie.

And finally, to leave a bitter feeling in the viewers mouth, the movie seems to end way to early in the story, and you're left wondering "That's it?" True, we do want some questions left unanswered, but we still need some sense of closure.

Bottom line, even by lame-romance movie standards, The Vow falls short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enjoyable movie for my husband and I to watch together. Acting isn't the best in parts but it's one of those movies that is enjoyable to watch and makes you squeeze your husband or wife's hand while giving them that glance that tells them "I'll love you until the day I die".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2014
Why should you watch The Vow? This is a film based on an true story. The film tells the story of a married couple who lives in Chicago. They are profoundly in love. One night they had a car accident. The husband, Leo, survives the impact, but the wife, Paige, has a trauma in her head and loses her memory. He tries to help her recover her memory and works to win her heart again.
Everybody should see this movies. the movie shows us how a really big love can survive all conflicts or situations. He who perseveres reaches
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
Love the movie. Ordered dvd from Amazon mid-May, and it was delivered two weeks later. When I tried to access the ultraviolet copy, I find out the code had already expired! It expired before I had even received it! Go figure. So if your want to purchase the dvd, go ahead. Just don't expect to get the ultraviolet download with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
This movie is so far removed from the actual events on which it's based that I was really disappointed. I had read the book first, and knew of the couple involved. It was jarring to me because it was so unlike the real-life accident.

But...had I not known that, the movie itself was very well-done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.