Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet end
To all fans of the series this book is a must have, and while it has its flaws it is certainly a worthy sucessor to the heady Unincorporated Man more so than the middle two. I have been a fan from the start of the series, especially the ever classic opener to the series, and this book brings it all home. I won't spoil anything other than to say while some will certainly...
Published 23 months ago by Isaiah

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nihilistic ending...
I don't have words for how much I loved the first book in this series, it's a classic. Great characterization, an interesting big idea, and a largely idealistic tone and outlook. The book was very character driven and while slow at times, was more than worth the effort. Sometime during the second book the series "jumped the shark" and hasn't really looked back since. It...
Published 23 months ago by R. Keaton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet end, August 26, 2012
By 
To all fans of the series this book is a must have, and while it has its flaws it is certainly a worthy sucessor to the heady Unincorporated Man more so than the middle two. I have been a fan from the start of the series, especially the ever classic opener to the series, and this book brings it all home. I won't spoil anything other than to say while some will certainly complain about the ending I am a huge fan of how the story ultimately played out. Everything is wrapped up though in a bit of a hasty fashion. I suppose then you are wondering why the four stars? Simply put in spite of jumping the shark, and opening up some unnecesary plotholes the story became more focused on the actors and not the glitzy battles although as a high point of consistency the battles have remained tense and as fun to read as in the Unincorporated war. If you want a novel about implausible crushing victories and clear good guys, this book isn't for you, but if you want to see the moral and spiritual effects of war; if you want to seee the depths of depravity, and the heights of mercy. If you simply want to see brilliant leadership and effective idealism, then do yourself a favor and buy this novel, in fact purchase the series. The questions it raises about humanity and our place among the stars, and in relation to each other are worth the occasional narrative mishaps, plus its just plian darn good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nihilistic ending..., August 23, 2012
By 
R. Keaton (bellevue, wa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't have words for how much I loved the first book in this series, it's a classic. Great characterization, an interesting big idea, and a largely idealistic tone and outlook. The book was very character driven and while slow at times, was more than worth the effort. Sometime during the second book the series "jumped the shark" and hasn't really looked back since. It moved from a thoughtful character driven piece that felt very much like something from the golden age and turned into an over the top space opera that felt like it went out of its way to torture (often literally) the characters that made the first book so great. I had hoped that the authors would return to form in this last installment and at least try to build some semblance of if not a happy ending at least one that captured some of the optimism and character driven greatness of the first book. Unfortunately, what I found was one of the most nihilistic endings of any book I've read in recent memory. There are literally no winners, and even the characters you think might get off with at least some semblance of a happy future turn out to have that marred by some nasty little twist in the final pages. I rushed out to the get the last book in the hope that the middle two were their "Empire Strikes Back" and that they would pull the whole thing out in the end. As it stands, it's going to be a good long time before I reread the first book and not have the experience marred by what follows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unabashed Tubthumping, November 25, 2012
If you've gotten this far through the series you'll know that, while not the best written Space Opera you'll read this year (the award for which surely goes to Hannu Rajaniemi's Quantum Thief), there's generally been sufficient interesting idea's and action to keep us all somewhat entertained. The series was already on a bit of a downward curve, but I was willing to forgive many of it's flaws to see how it all panned out. Unfortunately this book threw out all the mitigating characteristics, and the authors plumbed those flaws as deeply as they could. The main theme of this particular installment is the canonization of religion as humanity's ultimate saving grace, in the face of the evil corporate system. It's basically a naive polemic about the importance of religion in an increasingly irreligious world, with absurd wish-fulfillment visions of all creeds coming together against the atheist hordes. I can only surmise that one of the brothers has taken it on himself to use the book as some sort of tribute to their father, a Rabbi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Series, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I glad I was able to find this book online. I had read the other three books and I was desperate to see how the story came to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great finish for the series., August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Unincorporated Future (The Unincorporated Man) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the finish, great characterizations and story unfolded in an interesting fashion. I thought the authors did a great job of carring the story to a great conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion to an excellent series, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the conclusion to a truly excellent sci fi series that I can strongly recommend without hesitation. I look forward to more books from these authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid conclusion to the series., June 5, 2013
By 
Mike Foust (Sanford, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A generally satisfying end to the trilogy. I had hoped that the original character would reappear and I think this would have improved the thread, but still a solid effort and worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A war with no real winners, but an optimistic epilogue, September 1, 2012
By 
Don Bagert (Rolla, MO, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is true that there were few if any "happy endings" for the cast of characters in this series, most of them got about what they deserved due to their actions. Also, the epilogue (set in the far future) gave an outlook of optimism for the descendants of what had been called the "Outer Alliance". It also left the door open for a sequel series...

The first book (The Unincorporated Man) was the best of the bunch, addressing some concepts relatively unique to the science fiction genre. However, the second book (The Unincorporated War) shifted the focus to the military and political arena, and surprisingly introduced the previously-unmentioned religious concepts which continued to the very last sentence of the series. (At least the author provided a good reason for that topic not appearing in the first book.) Even more surprisingly, "War" killed off the series' main character (Justin Cord), but in a way which allowed for a possible resurrection.

So in this last book, we're waiting for the Outer Alliance to triumph over their enemies, maybe led by a revived Justin Cord, but there really turns out to be no winners or losers, and as for Cord...well, you have to read the book to find out :)

Overall, I liked the series but it could have been so much more...I wish the Kollin brothers good fortune in their future works, regardless of whether they occur in the "Unincorporated" universe or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting close., September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While I was looking forward to this book after the dramatic cliff hanger ending in The Unincorporated Woman, I felt this book to be lacking. A few of the characters, Kirk Olmstead and Neela Harper, do not play any significant role in this book. Kirk who has been lying back in the shadows with an agenda known only to himself gets blown out into space, just like that. And Neela Harper, who was a pivotal character in the first two books only plays a minor role in the series in this book. If this book were to be made into a movie they could leave her character out entirely without taking away from the story. I felt her death to be anticlimactic and unfitting considering the role she played in the other books. Also the ending while mostly optimistic kind of left a bad taste in my mouth. It didn't sit right with me that Sandra who was the leader of the Outer Alliance, the leader who did what needed to be done, stayed behind while the people she saved left for the stars. I felt that her punishing herself for orders she issued in a war of survival to be saddening. While she did order that Mars be made lifeless it was a necessary evil in my opinion after the extermination of millions at Jupiter. It seemed sad to see such an amazing character punish herself like that.

However I did enjoy the morals of the story. I was at the edge of my seat for the battle of Ceres and couldn't put the book down for two whole days while I read it. We get to see a lot of different sides to the characters. J.D. Black who is the fearless admiral of the alliance also feels the weight of everything on her. She's expected to win every battle because if she doesn't then the alliance loses it all. While Earth and the Inner planets can continue to keep on coming even after defeat after defeat, J.D. only needs to lose once in order for it to all come crashing down. I also enjoyed the moral dilemma of the AI Sebastian. He served as the Moral foot stone for his people but in the face of losing everything and everyone he loves, he throws his morals and everything about himself he holds dear out the window for the sake of his people. He himself becomes the thing he is fighting in order to defeat the genocidal AI named Al. In a brilliant stroke of genius he turns Al's own weapons against him as he invades Al's space and rescues as many Avatars as he can. In the end he succeeds but at a terrible cost.

The book itself had an overall optimistic ending with a future hard fought by people on both sides. Morals are sacrificed for what is necessary for the good of the alliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope its not the last of the unincorporated universe, August 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like the first and third books in the series, then 'The Unincorporated Future' is must read. If you haven't read 'The Unincorporated Man', then that should be your first priority. The action that escalated throughout the third book will have you tearing through the pages in this book, broken up only by the times your mind is blown by the bombshells the Kollin brothers keep dropping. The character development reaches new levels of richness that haven't been seen in the series since Justin Cord of the first book. There is enough closure that if you feel like this series is being drawn out too long, you can move on with your life, but most people that read this will be praying that the Kollin Brothers add to this magnificent universe they've created!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.