Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy, fun and, yes, kind of scary
The Uninvited begins with our protagonist, Anna, in a mental ward after dealing with the emotional trauma of losing her mother in a freak fire. As the film begins, her psychiatrist believes she is ready to go back into the real world and she is allowed to move back in with her father and her older sister, Alex. Unfortunately, father is now seeing Rachel, a nurse who was...
Published on April 6, 2009 by Terry Mesnard

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Horror Film, although very predictable...
After a fatal accident that leaves her mother dead, Anna is released from a mental hospital only to find her father has been dating her mother's nurse, Rachel. Anna begins to have haunting visions that may link Rachel to the accident. The Uninvited is a solid horror film, although very predictable.

This is a remake of "A Tale of Two Sisters"; the stories aren't...
Published 16 months ago by Jonathan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy, fun and, yes, kind of scary, April 6, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Uninvited (DVD)
The Uninvited begins with our protagonist, Anna, in a mental ward after dealing with the emotional trauma of losing her mother in a freak fire. As the film begins, her psychiatrist believes she is ready to go back into the real world and she is allowed to move back in with her father and her older sister, Alex. Unfortunately, father is now seeing Rachel, a nurse who was in charge of Anna's mother. This weird situation is further complicated by the fact that Anna is becoming more and more convinced that her mom wasn't killed in a freak accident...maybe she was murdered.

So if you have watched ghost movies over the last ten or so years, you basically know this film. It hits all of the major plot points, has a couple requisite twists and throws weird scares at you (it is based on a Korean film, you know). I expected all of this. I even expected one twist that I thought was revealed very early on. Even so, the ending still surprised me and I have to say that this film was classy in telling a familiar story. The truth is, there hasn't really been a genre-changing film in the ghost story genre for awhile now. The Uninvited is no different. So, what is important is not what is being told (as there's nothing new under the sun), but how it's told.

Here The Uninvited soars where a lot of recent ghost stories (Unborn, for example) have failed. The storytelling is far classier than it has any right to be, the script is well-written and convincing and the actors are terrific. Emily Browning, playing Anna, practically carries the weight of the film on her slender shoulders. With her forlorn and innocent gaze, you really start to feel for her increasingly desperate plight. Meanwhile, her sister is played perfectly by Arielle Kebbel who brings a sexy older sibling charm to the proceedings. And then there's Elizabeth Banks, playing the stepmother who might not be all she says she is.

All of this is pitted against a murder mystery or two and wrapped up in a perfect bow. There's not a dull moment in the film, the scares actually startled me, even when I expected them and some of the ghostly hauntings could give the weird factor of The Grudge/Ring a run for their money. It's effective and very well done.

I definitely recommend going to see it. The Korean film, A Tale of Two Sisters, is definitely in my scope now, to see how it stacks up. Go see The Uninvited if you're in the mood for a fun, classy and, yes, sometimes scary ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ ME FIRST, June 26, 2010
This review is from: The Uninvited (DVD)
DON'T READ ANY OTHER REVIEWS as it may ruin the movie for you. This is a 5 star suspense/drama/horror/mystery. Just go watch it. Knowing about the movie will simply ruin the ending. Trust me. Just watch it, don't even read the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes you feel like a nut. Sometimes you don't., September 5, 2010
This review is from: The Uninvited (DVD)
I just watched "The Uninvited" for the first time and I really enjoyed it. It's sort of like 3 movies in one because it is layered with a lot of depth and character development. It's like looking at an intricate picture; each time you stare at it the picture looks different because you're watching it from a different angle.

Emily Browning played Anna impeccably. She totally captured all of the emotion, terror and fear that this young girl was experiencing throughout the entire movie. Elizabeth Banks, playing Rachael (the resident home wrecker) was also wonderful to watch because some of her lines and mannerisms were so outrageous and over-the-top (I loved the part when they had the fancy dinner engagement and she went off in the kitchen).

Some have described "The Uninvited" as a "horror" movie. As someone that has seen my fair share of horror I don't know how much it would fit into that category. The movie is certainly creepy, and very suspenseful and eventful, which had a lot to do with Emily Browning's character and Arielle Kebbel (as her sister Alex) who was also fantastic.

When I first watched this movie I didn't hate the Rachael character as much as I hated the father (David Strathairn). He just seemed so out of touch with his daughters and their own needs and was only thinking of himself. And perhaps to make the story flow a little more seamless the father was often missing in action which allowed the girls and Rachael to take over the burden of rounding out and shaping the plot. But after I watched this movie again I had a much different perspective, he seemed much more multifaceted and dimensional than I had first thought him to be.

"The Uninvited" is currently in rotation on Home Box so if you have a chance to watch it I certainly recommend it. I did take off 1 star simply because the beginning was rather slow-moving, but it sure picks up a lot of momentum.

Watching "The Uninvited" will remind you of that old proverbial reference: when the cat's away the mice will play. The question is, who's the cat and who's the mouse?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Horror Film, although very predictable..., May 7, 2013
This review is from: The Uninvited [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After a fatal accident that leaves her mother dead, Anna is released from a mental hospital only to find her father has been dating her mother's nurse, Rachel. Anna begins to have haunting visions that may link Rachel to the accident. The Uninvited is a solid horror film, although very predictable.

This is a remake of "A Tale of Two Sisters"; the stories aren't exactly the same, but they share many similarities. This film consists of some creepy imagery, jump-scares, and mystery; it's balanced well enough, and moves at a moderate pace. The plot twist is very predictable - whether you've seen the original or not - as it frequently drops obvious hints and it's usually the first guess most people think of when they know a twist is coming. Regardless, the ending is also good. The acting was also great. Not a very memorable film, but not a waste of time - of course, if you have time to spare, there're plenty of better horror films to watch.

Overall, The Uninvited is a good horror film, but very predictable and forgettable; if you watch a lot of films, you've likely watched a film like this before. I recommend a purchase for hardcore fans of the genre, a rental otherwise.

The Uninvited has some disturbing imagery, violence and blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars POIGNANT SUSPENSE/HORROR, December 16, 2011
By 
roderick wallace (CALIFORNIA, MARYLAND, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I very much enjoyed this movie. I always love a twist ending, one that I don't see until the last few minutes or the film, and this movie delivered that beautifully.

Thinking people who enjoy total misdirection of their emotions and perceptions right up to the climax will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was a fun movie!!!, November 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would say: watch this! It is worth the money. It is entertaining. The acting is decent. It is suspenseful. And the ending is really way out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Twist, January 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Uninvited (DVD)
Not really sure why it looks like it's cold in the poster because the movie is not at all like that. Just a little side comment to get us started.

I watched this movie last night with a few friends; 2 of which had already seen it so I knew a scary moment was coming when they would cover their eyes.

This always helps as I don't enjoy scary movies.

The Uninvited is about a girl whose mother died in a fire, her father is living with the live-in nurse, and the sisters believe the nurse killer their mother.

Starring Emily Browning as Anna, the main character, who just got home from the nut house and begins to have dreams/visions of her dead, burned mother along with three children who seem to have a connection to it all (think Stephen King's The Shining).

David Strathairn as her father: maybe he killed his wife...they did it before when the good guy actor plays the villain (What Lies Beneath)

and Elizabeth Banks (Betty Brant in Spider-Man) as the new girlfriend/fiancee.

This is a psychological thriller that has a self-promoted twist ending. You may see it coming if you pay close enough attention throughout the film.

With some situational cussing (in fear) and some sexual content (looking through keyholes), this movie didn't quite leave a lasting impression. The twist was nice but I'd have to watch it again to catch everything.

And I don't think I'd care to do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of the Decade, August 26, 2010
This review is from: The Uninvited (DVD)
The Uninvited is an amazingly intense suspense thriller. I must commend the directors, the Guard Brothers, for their incredible work on this film. Their work in this film is equal to that of Alfred Hitchcock, director of many suspense thrillers such as Psycho, Dial "M" for Murder, Vertigo, and The Birds. It's almost as if Hitchcock's spirit was raised from the dead to possess the directors of this movie to make one last effort before he laid to rest forever. But everyone knows that Hitchcock's mark on the world will never fade away, and this movie is proof of that.

This film is about a young woman named Anna (played wonderfully by Emily Browning), who returns home from a mental hospital after her suicide attempt following her mother's death in a boathouse fire while she was ill. She is greeted by her sister Alex (played by Arielle Kebbel), father who is a writer, and his new girlfriend Rachel (played by Elizabeth Banks) who was Anna's mother's nurse. Strange things come to Anna's mind as she adjusts to returning home, such as strange apparitions of her mother, as if trying to warn her of what's to come. This film has an intense surprise ending that one would not even guess till the very end.

The exquisite and intense camerawork, acting, beautiful and mysterious score, and plot that is similar to Hitchcock's Psycho makes this a thriller that I'll be watching for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies I seen in '09, January 10, 2010
OK so I finally decided to watch the movie after reading some of the comments on the message board and because I am a fan of Elizabeth Banks. I normally don't watch movies like this because movies these days are lacking. But this just blew me away. It's about a girl name Anna who comes back home from the crazy ward. Her mom is dead and her father is shacking up with another woman and her sister is also there that is, there for Anna. I don't want to go too much into detail because I don't want to spoil anything for people who have not seen it but It is a MUST for people who love a good suspense thriller with some horror. I gotta say the performance of the whole cast esp Emily Browning and Arielle Kebbel was better than great! I applaud Arielle for her performance. I know I couldn't have pulled off her role like she did. But I recommend this to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful remake of a great movie, September 24, 2010
This review is from: The Uninvited (DVD)
This movie probably wouldn't seem so dreadful if you hadn't already seen Tale of Two Sisters, the Korean film from which it was adapted, and a excellent film. The plots are quite similar, some scenes even stolen completely from the original in staging, acting, and mood. But the Guard boys missed the point of the original movie, and as a result have made a boring, unscary and pointless film out of a terrifying, bittersweet one. The basic problem is the stepmother--the stepmother in Two Sisters is insane; she has to be insane in order to make the plot work. They seem not to have realized that. Add uninspired acting, a bunch of pawns playing out a logic puzzle as the girls try to figure out who their father's girlfriend really is, and none of the symbolism that the Korean film had. It's just a mediocre remake of a movie that shouldn't have been touched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Uninvited
The Uninvited by Thomas Guard (DVD - 2009)
$14.99 $13.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.