Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Bob Conquers The Mental Short Game
I love the short game in golf. There's no question that striking a full shot is satisfying and momentarily rewarding, but quite frankly there's a certain sameness to it that fails to hold interest very long. The short game, though, is predicated on variety. Chips, pitches, bunker blasts, bump-and-runs, digging a ball out of the collar of rough a dozen feet from the...
Published on May 30, 2012 by David Donelson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Talky
Makes some great points, but too talky. Too long on personal comment, too short on advice. Perhaps I'm spoiled by short articles in Golf or Golf Digest magazine, but they get to the point.
Published 17 months ago by Paul E. Nistico


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Bob Conquers The Mental Short Game, May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Unstoppable Golfer: Trusting Your Mind & Your Short Game to Achieve Greatness (Hardcover)
I love the short game in golf. There's no question that striking a full shot is satisfying and momentarily rewarding, but quite frankly there's a certain sameness to it that fails to hold interest very long. The short game, though, is predicated on variety. Chips, pitches, bunker blasts, bump-and-runs, digging a ball out of the collar of rough a dozen feet from the pin--every shot is different, every shot makes you think, and every shot really, really counts. And then there is putting, which is the most nerve-wracking of all.

In The Unstoppable Golfer, Dr. Bob Rotella, golf psychologist to stars like Keegan Bradley, Padraig Harrington, and Darren Clarke, says, "...nearly all golfers have the physical ability required to pitch the ball, to chip it, to putt it. If we're not doing those things, It's because we're somehow stopping ourselves." In other words, we get in our own way.

Rotella says it's often fear that crowds our minds, pushing and shoving its way and calling out for negative images, contradictory swing thoughts, and herky-jerky responses. The solution? To achieve a state of calm by focusing on one thing: the hole.

He couldn't be more right, of course. If you focus on your target, visualize the ball getting there, and commit to a play based on belief in its success, you're more than half-way to a great short game. Rotella fills the book with stories of his students (patients?) who learned to quiet their minds and let their instincts lead them to better golf. He covers no swing mechanics, but does break down how your mind should work when faced with typical short game situations like pitch shots over hazards, getting up and down from a bunker, and lining up long putts to go in rather than just lag close. He has a special section on the "yips" in which he discounts the theory that there's some physical cause behind them but offers instead a solid, results-proven method to mentally overcome them.

The short game is the scoring game, according to nearly every golf guru I've ever talked to. You can drive the ball 340 yards, but if you can't get it in the hole, you can't put birdies and pars on your scorecard. Dr. Bob's book will help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the short game, April 24, 2012
Simple straight forward Rotella, visualize the good shot and keep burning it to memory. Determine your Mindset, be realistic in assessing your Skill level, and commit to an Attitude overhaul. Take the 80/20 rule to the course and realize that if you play every shot as stroke play and not match play you will "stay in the moment and acheive greatness." Have a game plan for every competitive round you play and learn to underreact. A quick read and very valuable as a re energizer for when you need to get your head on track, you know those 6 six inches between the ears. You can't make up for the missed 3 footer, so commit to work hard and practice your short game - putting is the ultimate equalizer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on attitude, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Answers the question about what is the best attitude to have to be succès full golfer. You should but it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great golf book, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Definitely helped me in understanding how not to think in golf. Stay confident own the course and don't over think a shot. Since I've read this book I have been focusing on my short game, practicing to go unconscious on every swing. I have seen improvements on my ball striking and consistency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who couldn't profit from a better short game?, January 4, 2013
By 
Arthur Lebowitz (HENDERSONVILLE, NC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have followed golf in the United States at all, the name, Bob Rotella, should be familiar. He has helped many golfers with the mental approach to this most humbling game. I am a life long golfer, still questing a better game, and, like many, continue taking lessons that focus on the full swing. Dr. Rotella's thesis, changing one's priority to the short game, is a refreshing change.
He makes the case, with ample examples from his stable of both well known golfers and hackers, that a better short game leads to better scores. Now that may seem obvious, but his twist is that KNOWING you have a reliable short game frees you from the self imposed pressure and anxiety to execute 'perfect' full shots. Since the best professionals do not hit more than 13 of 18 greens, and still break par, it follows that their short game is the foundation for lower scores. He illustrates his point with clear examples of before and after performances when golfers increased their confidence and proficiency in the short game.
I know which area of practice I will now focus more on. Thanks, Bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rotelle is the go to man on the tour., July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
there's a reason why Rotelle is the go to man on the tour. His thoughts on golf will help every level of player out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Clear Advice for Golfers at Any Stage., June 24, 2014
By 
Thomas Barbaro (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great book with practical tactics to improve your short game and overall score.
Filled with tactics and drills that will dramatically lower and Golfers score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unstoppable Golfer - Another Good Read, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While some of the book is repetitive with Dr. Bob's prior books, I found it to be a very good read. Worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some great advise for all golfers, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good insight and advise on how to get out of ones own way when playing golf .Recommend for all golfers keen to improve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Dr. Bob, March 25, 2014
By 
Davis P. Noble (Longview, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've got all his books so I expect him to rehash some of the information. But this book had enough new and reenforced info to make it a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Unstoppable Golfer: Trusting Your Mind & Your Short Game to Achieve Greatness
$24.99 $15.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.