Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


279 of 287 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book
A great book full of hard-to-find information on milk. Well-written and compelling. it tells a sad but all too common story of large corporations ruining a once marvelous product in the name of industrialization and profit-maximization. Small family farmers got screwed in the process.
Raw milk is it! I had raw cream for the first time a couple years ago. Had to buy...
Published on March 28, 2004 by Ddanimal

versus
61 of 264 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading and can kill you!
I am a physician and have studied health and nutrition for 40 years. Milk, whether raw or pasturized is absolutely horrible for your health. Aside from the fact that you can catch the bovine (cow form) of TB from raw milk, regular milk is extremely bad for your health also. Experts now estimate that as many as 25% of ALL heart attacks in the US may be due to cheese alone...
Published on March 7, 2004 by Elder Statesman Doctor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

279 of 287 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, March 28, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
A great book full of hard-to-find information on milk. Well-written and compelling. it tells a sad but all too common story of large corporations ruining a once marvelous product in the name of industrialization and profit-maximization. Small family farmers got screwed in the process.
Raw milk is it! I had raw cream for the first time a couple years ago. Had to buy it illegally since its illegal here in Virginia (its also illegal to ship across state lines-thanks Ronald Reagan!). its quite amazing and provides a warm tingle in the belly. People I know that react to dairy in bad ways tolerated the raw stuff. So I tend to agree with Schmid that pasteurization may be the real culprit when it comes to dairy allergies. Raw milk contains enzymes and beneficial bacteria that aid in its own digestion. Raw cream sours naturally into something akin to sour cream; it doesnt putrefy like the pasteurized stuff. Raw milk contains as much vitamin C as orange juice. Unfortunately, its mostly destroyed by pasteurization. I imagine its probably completely gone after ultra-pasteurization.
You can get sick from any food thats contaminated, including pasteurized milk. if raw milk is produced in sanitary conditions it is quite safe and resistant to infection (unlike pasteurized milk). People have died from eating lettuce contaminated with bacteria, but I dont see anyone demanding pasteurization of all lettuce (thank God). Why is milk singled out for compulsory destruction? People deserve to make their own health choices and health freedom. Small farmers ought to be able to sell unprocessed, unpasteurized foods to consumers. Compulsory pasteurization laws ought to be repealed.
Full-fat dairy products dont cause heart disease, contrary to the review above. Neither saturated fat nor cholesterol have been shown to cause heart disease and many cultures around the world eat large quantities with no ill effects. Sat fats are actually quite good for you. See "The Cholesterol Myths" and books by Bruce Fife. There is a compelling case that pasteurized milk causes heart disease. it goes like this: Homocysteine causes heart disease, and homocysteine is reduced by vitamins B6 and folic acid. Guess what happends to vitamins B6 and folic acid during pasteurization? Thats right-they are destroyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Will Save the Family Dairy Farm, March 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
I am a dairy farmer and have been drinking my own milk for years straight out of the bulk tank and without pasteurization. I was doing it to save money. I always put my cows on pasture as much as possible for their health and wellbeing. I just finished reading this book and am delighted to find out that I was doing so much good. My milk goes to a big dairy to get pasteurized and made into cheese. I am excited at the idea of selling milk directly to my customers via a cow share program. Cut out the middleman and I can finally make a living at dairy farming. No wonder the powers that be want to prevent this.

I recommend this book to all dairy farmers and to anyone concerned about their families health. I especially recommend this to all public officials. These ideas will save the family farm and dramatically reduce the cost of health care in this country.

I gave this book a 4 rating because Dr. Ron needs to clarify a number chapters. I would like to see more in the enzyme chapter on the basics of enzymes, a clear explanation of closed modern milking systems showing why they keep milk clean, his recommendations for winter feed for dairy cows when grass is not available, and his suggestions for the most important areas of research to update the work of Price, Pottenger and the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


404 of 429 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars facts not urban myths - update August 2009, July 15, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
Milk is bad for you. No mammal needs milk after being weaned. Raw milk is dirty, dangerous, and a major health hazard. Only pasteurized milk is clean and only ultra-pasteurized or irradiated milk is really safe. Pasteurization was created to make the milk supply safe. Raw milk has no greater health benefits than pasteurized milk. People want pasteurized milk, and prefer it over raw.

Supposedly educated people will tell you these things and be dead serious. Unfortunately, they are dead WRONG on every single point above, and the health of tens of millions suffer greatly for their ignorance or intentional deceit.

Ron Schmid is one of the most important proponents of traditional diets. His first book, Traditional Foods Are Your Best Medicine, is the best introduction to the nutritional research of Weston Price currently available. With this new book, he once again proves his voice is a beacon of intelligence and clarity in a sea of disinformation and corruption.

This book is a scholarly, well researched and documented look into the trials and tribulations of milk use in society. While its primary focus is on the raw milk issue and the scientific and political shenanigans surrounding the milk business, it also delves into the related issues of the history of milk use and traditional diets.

There is a great deal of information in this book. Schmid traces the history of milk use from the distant past to current times. He cites considerable research and published works regarding the healing power and nutritional value of milk from healthy animals. He examines in detail the use of the raw milk cure, milk in traditional diets, and the political/economic battles around milk production in this country during the last century. An immense amount of hard work went into the writing of this book, and it shows. (Good job, Ron.)

Schmid unmasks the unscientific propaganda in the raw milk debate and gives the clearest and most objective report to date on the real science and history of this issue. His analysis of the research is in-depth and thorough, and his presentation of the information is calm and balanced. This stands somewhat in contrast to the other major work on the issue, The Milk Book, by William Douglass, which contains some factual errors, suffers from many typos, and can come across as snide and derogatory when it is intended to be humorous. (It is still quite worth reading, however, and I recommend it as well.)

Schmid's book is level-headed, comprehensive and powerful. He addresses all the issues of the raw milk debate in detail; disease, cleanliness, quality, politics, economics, nutrition, and health attributes. He adroitly dismantles the lies, propaganda, incompetence, and villany of the powers that seek to deny the American people one of the most potent health foods on the planet, and addresses the science and historical facts in an irrefutable manner. This is currently the definitive work on milk. It is difficult to believe that one could do a better job. It is an easy 5 stars.

There are many lies and urban myths about milk, and the real history of the milk industry is every bit as tawdry as most other histories of corporate interference in our lives. The scare tactics and other, considerably less ethical, manipulations of industry and of government agencies who are too often the bought dogs of industry, are shown to frequently be extreme distortions or outright lies. The behavior of some of the agencies and people described in the book is just about the strongest argument for capital punishment I have ever seen. (And I oppose capital punishment!) It amazes me that such people are allowed to walk the streets, much less wield such unchecked power over the health and lives of the citizens who trust them and pay their salaries. Bad dog. Bad, bad dog.

Every statement in the opening paragraph of this review has been proven false. Raw milk from clean, healthy, grass-fed cows is not only healthy, it has nutritional properties that could help alleviate many illnesses that currently plague our society. Even one of the founders of the Mayo Clinic used raw milk therapy to cure serious illness. (But you cannot patent milk. At least, not yet.)

It is vital in this day and age for people to take charge of their own health, and to do that they must have good information. If you want to know the facts about milk and the history of the milk industry in this country, get this book. It is a wonderful antidote to the urban myths and lies about milk that pervade our culture.

UPDATE August 2009:

There is a new second edition of this out. Very well done update, well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Story of Real Milk, May 17, 2005
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
So many health problems are associated with the cheap, commercial, pasteurized, ultrapasteurized, homogenized, low-fat and no-fat milk products sold in supermarkets that milk itself has an image problem. This has led numerous "health conscious" people to choose soy milk, an inferior dairy substitute that is widely and profitably promoted as "healthy" but which has been been linked to numerous health problems, particularly thyroid damage and reproductive disorders. The solution is "real milk" -- meaning raw, whole dairy from clean, pastured, non-drugged and happy cows or goats. Many people who think they are allergic or lactose intolerant thrive on such milk, particularly if it has been turned into clabbered milk, yogurt, kefir or similar products, which are highly valued as health promoting foods in traditional cultures all over the world. The problem for many people is that they have been warned repeatedly by medical authorities, dietitians and other "experts" that raw milk is dangerous, that milk fat promotes heart disease and that government regulations protect the safety of our milk supply. Ron Schmid not only thoroughly and responsibly addresses these controversial issues but offers a fascinating history of milk complete with a riveting expose of government and corporate corruption and power plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A major accomplishment and an important work, May 7, 2004
By 
David Weiner (Buffalo Grove, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
The Untold Story of Milk is an epic work. The research and reasoning of Dr. Schmid are consistently thorough and careful. So often I read something and I'm frustrated to be left with as many questions and doubts as answers, but that was not the case with this book. He displayed a great sense of fair-mindedness in presenting the many contentious issues, including the relative merits and drawbacks of producing and consuming raw versus pasteurized milk.

The story of milk is a fascinating and enlightening journey through many eras and cultures. But, in telling the story, the book really provides a window for examining many issues of broad significance. It is a case study in at least the following areas:
* The determinants of health and sickness
* The assumptions and biases underlying the practice of medicine
* The ways that science can become corrupted
* The biases and hidden agendas of our food system
* Rhetoric versus reality surrounding freedom in America today
Truly, there is a great deal to be learned by anyone who cares about any of these things.
This book offers hope that the truth at least stands a chance to prevail against all odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts a Plenty for those on the fence about raw dairy!, April 25, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
Just the facts mamm' -- that's what is in this book.. a journey thru time from the 1800's to the present.. explaining why things are the way they are in this country, etc. in regards to raw milk and documents where things went wrong..

A great book to get if you are undecided about raw dairy. I got the book to arm myself with facts about raw dairy when we decided to go raw after finding a place to buy it on realmilk.com

I needed facts to convince my hubby that it was a safe thing to do.. The raw milk has helped my son recover from autism, something i was told was impossible by many doctors.. just butter and cod liver oil.. (and lots of love, therapy, $$$, etc, etc, etc.. -- hopefully you don't understand what i am talking about in regards to the autism!! :) )

anyway.. get the book -- it is a good start to improving your health and understanding why you feel better while drinking raw dairy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, March 1, 2007
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book for the third time. My first reading, in the fall of 2003, convinced me to switch our family to raw milk.

Since that time, the health of my three children has increased dramatically. In particular, my middle child's bone density increased from the 50th percentile to the 84th-99th percentiles (depending on the bone). Although bone density is not normally measured in children, a spate of broken arms, along with a lucky coincidence, colluded to having his bone density measured just before we switched to raw milk (at age 5), and again 3 years later (at age 8).

I firmly believe that this book should be required reading for every pediatrician. It is a masterpiece, beautifully written, thoroughly researched, and truely deserving of more recognition than it has received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Important Nutrition Books of Our Day, May 5, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
I work as a nutrition consultant for dogs. I cannot tell you how many times a week I now refer to this book for information on state to state laws on selling raw milk and to retrieve valuable quotes from the historical and nutritional information compiled in this book. I have had so many cases of digestive disorders healed partically due to grass fed raw milk.
This book is on my must read reading list for all my clients. It is well researched and extremely accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth is Superior to Fiction, February 11, 2004
By 
cartouche "phyllism103" (New Canaan, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
Surprisingly good! One big fat book on milk--raw, pasteurized, homogenized, ultra-pasteurized, organic etc. Explains how the politics of the past have produced the present prevalent consumption of pasteurized milk, and the negative consequences of this practice on human health. Very informative and worthwhile. Should belong to every health-conscious individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-Opener!, November 3, 2006
This review is from: The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book; it really opens your eyes to the way conventional/grocery-store milk is produced (not to mention conventional grocery-store chicken and meat). We have consumed raw milk for over a year now; this book just confirmed for us why we do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Untold Story of Milk: Green Pastures, Contented Cows and Raw Dairy Products
Used & New from: $2.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.