Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first rate horror read
Being a fan of horror genre,Dean Koontz in particular,and looking to expand my horizons I picked up the Unwanted.At first,I thought this book to be rather similar to Dean Koontz style,but soon I was proven wrong.John Saul is a very solid writer in his own right,from the first pages he creates suspense that captures you and keeps you turning page after page.Some of the...
Published on June 19, 2002 by orange

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Lonliness and the feeling of being unwanted is ...terrible." Teresa Calcutta
Sixteen year old Cassie Winslow feels alone and unwanted after her mother dies in an automobile accident.

Her parents were divorced and her father remarried. Her father has Cassie come to live with him and his family in Cape Cod. When she arrives, she makes friends with her neighbor, Eric Cavanaugh who is the same age. However, most of the other students at the...
Published on February 20, 2011 by michael a. draper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Lonliness and the feeling of being unwanted is ...terrible." Teresa Calcutta, February 20, 2011
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
Sixteen year old Cassie Winslow feels alone and unwanted after her mother dies in an automobile accident.

Her parents were divorced and her father remarried. Her father has Cassie come to live with him and his family in Cape Cod. When she arrives, she makes friends with her neighbor, Eric Cavanaugh who is the same age. However, most of the other students at the high school take the lead from Eric's old girlfriend, Lisa Chambers. As bullies, they shut her out and make hurtful comments about her so that Cassie doesn't know how she will fit in.

Cassie is drawn to the one person in town who is also alone, the eccentric, Miranda. Miranda is considered odd and lives by herself in a home in the Marsh.

When Cassie comes to Miranda's home and they talk, Miranda tells her that now, Cassie is hers and that she, Miranda, won't let anyone harm her. Besides being eccentric, Miranda has the power to communicate and control a cat and an albino hawk that live at her home.

At her father's home, Cassie feels like an intruder and eventually comes to think of Miranda's house as her real home.

As the days go by, Cassie and Eric bond together. Eric is also a friend of Miranda and when Eric is also mistreated by other students and his baseball coach, we observe strange, supernatural things happen to them. Is it witchcraft? Is it just a coincidence?

John Saul does a standout job at keeping the reader guessing while at the same time providing a high level of suspense. The pacing is also well done with moments of high suspense followed by calmness, thus making the next moment of fear more intense. Toward the conclusion, the action is propelled faster and faster as possible supernatural forces follow Eric and Cassie.

The author also provides some twists and surprises. I enjoyed the novel but felt that some of the action was predictable. Nevertheless, I felt entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first rate horror read, June 19, 2002
By 
orange (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
Being a fan of horror genre,Dean Koontz in particular,and looking to expand my horizons I picked up the Unwanted.At first,I thought this book to be rather similar to Dean Koontz style,but soon I was proven wrong.John Saul is a very solid writer in his own right,from the first pages he creates suspense that captures you and keeps you turning page after page.Some of the book was a bit predictable,but that made the twists in it so much more enjoyable.In the end I found it to be alltogether somewhat darker then Koontz writing,with somewhat ambiguous characters,neither good nor bad,but walking the gray territory in between.There were other differences,which I can't list at the risk of giving away some of the plot and overall I was very impressed.I will certainly be checking out more of John Saul's books and I highly recommend this book to any fan of the horror genre or just a good fast paced read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good John Saul Book, May 16, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
For some reason, I always get this book mixed up with "Second Child," probably because of the similar plot lines--a young woman is orphaned and then taken in by her distant family in New England. Plus it's been several years since I've read this book (sometime during my high school or middle school years), which adds to the confusion.
Anyway, the similarities between the two books are fairly obvious, in that the protagonist, 15-year-old Cassandra "Cassie" Winslow, loses her mother in a car crash in California and is consequently sent to live with her estranged father and his new family in False Harbor, Massachusetts, a setting that gives "The Unwanted" its somewhat Puritan/witch trial charm. It's here that a triangle of psychic power is reawakened between Cassie, Eric Cavanaugh (her 16-year-old neighbor), and Miranda Sikes (the local bag lady/witch who's been haunting her dreams lately). Soon Cassie becomes aware of powers she never knew she had--powers that are dangerous enough to kill. ("Carrie," anyone?)
"The Unwanted" is certainly a must-read if you're a Saul fan and/or enjoy supernatural horror. This is one of many good books by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, July 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again, John Saul send chills up your spine and you just can't put this book down. I loved it, though the mood was meloncholy. I would recommend this to any thriller fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Child Unwanted, March 8, 2002
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
The story, The Unwanted, is a tale about a young girl who is trying to cope with the loss of a parent. She is forced to live with a family she has never met, and and has been taught not to trust. It is a story about the super-natural and friendships. If you like the X-Files, you'll like this book, for those of you who may not like the X-Files, you still might want to check it out.

Cassie WInslow is six-teen year old, typical teenager, trying to find herself in the world. After a terrible accident her mother is killed and she is left to live with her fathers family. though her mother may be gone, her memory lives on. Now Cassie must also cope with visions of another woman who she feels a very tight connection with. When she moves in with her father, she finally meets the woman in her visions. Only to find out that their time together will be short-lived.

Along the way she meets another person who seems to have to deal with much of the same stuff she herself was once dealing with. Cassie's life now seems full of sorrow, and everyone around her keeps getting hurt, now she must find out the reasons why. What she finds out will ultimately lead to her demise.

This is a very good book for those who enjoy reading about the supernatural. It is a page turner, that you won't want to put down once you start reading. I rate this book as five-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the unwanted, December 13, 1999
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
i read this book over seven years ago.this book is still in my head,execellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY AWESOME STORY!, July 5, 2000
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
Typically I read sci-fi, fantasy, and the like, but one of my friends likes horror and thrillers. He gave me this book and told me to read it b/c it was really good. Boy was he right! I finished this at 3:00am and read it in 2 days, it was so hard to put down! And the end...! Wonderful, man. So you should read it. Now. In the right hands (which don't exist, I don't think) this could make a great movie. It certainly plays in your head like one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome Book, December 5, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book, I couldnt put it down for even 5 minutes. It's sort of a thriller, and the ending works wonders on your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and intriguing!, August 23, 1998
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
As a young girl of sixteen in highschool I was handed this book to read to alleviate my pre-adolescence boredom.I read this book and was immediatetly sucked into Cassie's world and couldn't put the book down.I now search for more of John Saul's work .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love John Saul, hated this book!, June 26, 2006
This review is from: The Unwanted (Mass Market Paperback)
I own all of John Saul's books and have read them since high school. Unwanted is probably the most boring and I couldn't wait to just finish it. Poor, pitiful Cassie with no friends, a neglectful mother, and an absentee father who suddenly wants to shower his love after 16 years of absence and a new family. The phony, stiff stepmother and bratty whiny half-sister. Actually, the most interesting parts were the interactions between Eric's violent alcoholic father and the members of his family and his neighbors. Not enough about Miranda (should have gone into her history more). He should have written this book about Miranda and her mother and grandmother, three generations of outcast women who had daughters while never marrying...that would have made for an interesting read. If you are new to John Saul, save this one for last, and don't read "Perfect Nightmare" too soon either, because it is entirely out of character for him to write such a book. Read "Punish the Sinners" and you will be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Unwanted
The Unwanted by John Saul (Mass Market Paperback - July 1, 1987)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.