Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2011
I LOVE this book. Several essays on a wide array of Walt Disney's life. This is not an encyclopedia, not meant to be a reference book (although a ton of useful info). Just several wonderful stories. Love it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
MUST HAVE FOR SERIOUS DISNEY FANS!

There is so much about Disney history that is either lost, buried or not known yet. Jim does the job of finding it and writing it when no one else is or can. His knowledge and retention adds so much to the stories he has crafted and he'll even admit that sometimes there is more to the story that he hasn't found, but will let you know when he does!

This book contains things you've never heard and sheds new light on those stories you've heard "a million times." Jim searches the farthest reaches of the Disney universe and comes back with one-of-a-kind stories that are enthralling to read and important to know. For an outstanding and uncensored account of Disney history, you should purchase this book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
This book is for those of us devoted to the man, not the corporation. It was fun to read stories we've not read before. It could have been a little more fluid, but I enjoyed it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
As a few others have pointed out, the author clearly knows his Disney stories, and apparently knows many former Disney employees. Unfortunately, telling these stories is not his strong suit.

The intro notes that many of these chapters started life as blog articles, and they clearly read as such. The author states that in putting the book together, he added additional information, and this is clear, with repetitive sentences, typos and other grammatical and "flow" issues. Overall, it needs editing.

And not just with structuture, but content, too. Another reviewer pointed out that the book is devoid of stories of Disneyland. I also found myself lost like another reviewer stated - where it appeared I needed prior knowledge to really understand what I was reading. Combined with the poor sentence structure (and the lack of even chronological storytelling), I simply struggled to get through the book.

I hope the book is heavily edited and re-released. It has potential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
This book covers lots of disney stories in a well organized manner, very easy to read and fun. Has a few stories never read in other Disney books, and tells stories told elsewhere in a different manner with extra info. Either way its a great buy, and a great addition to any disney fans collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2011
Good content, unique insights. I've found the info fun to read and accurate as far as I can tell. It even includes pictures.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2012
This book had me from the first page to the last. I simply couldn't put it down. A must read for any Disney fan, both fans of Walt and the parks will like this book. The author truly shows his passion of Disney throughout the book, well written! Just hoping he saved some stories for a second edition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
This book is a fun read. It is broken into chapters on seperate topics so you can read one or two at a time. I really enjoyed reading about Walt's housekeeper and nurse. I haven't heard these stories before. If you are a Disney fan you will enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
If you are a Disney dweeb who believe there is no Disney fact that is too obscure then this book is for you! Korkis, who has long and deep experience with the company, knows and shares a lot.

One drawback for the novice fan would be that entire chapters are devoted to movies that you many not have seen, heard of, or, in some cases just plain don't like (The Aristocats--really?)

On the other hand, if you can't get enough Disney facts this book is a must own.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2011
Overall I enjoyed this book. A lot of the information about Walt's days writing and creating his movies is super interesting. The writing is not the best though. It's choppy in spots and doesn't always flow naturally from one point to another. It's almost written in a college term paper kind of way. Just quoting random sources here and there. The actual stories though are great and well worth the read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse