Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Vegetarian Sports Nutrition Guide: Peak Performance for Everyone from Beginners to Gold Medalists
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 19, 2006
This book uses many examples of athletes who call themselves "semi" vegetarian. Meaning they still consume meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products, consuming any amount of animal flesh is not vegetarianism.

She also references the lacto-vegetarian diet as consuming poultry, eggs, and dairy. Poultry is meat and does not constitute vegetarianism. Lacto means consuming dairy.

She is a strong voice for the supplement industry suggesting large amounts of creatine supplements as well as protein supplements. It is well known that the body cannot store protein and any excess is excreted in the urine along with calcium used in the process of alkalinizing and excreting the protein which can put you at risk for osteoporosis, not a good idea.

Much of the information in the book is highly outdated, focused on supplements and does not offer any sound advice for a true vegetarian who avoids all animal flesh.

The book has a slight undertone of trying to persuade you away from vegetarianism which I found odd for a book that claims to be for vegetarians.

I would not recommend this book, I should have read the other reviews before buying it. There are numerous truly vegetarian and vegan olympic or world class athletes, this book gives terrible examples of "semi" vegetarians or what should be termed non-vegetarians.

If you are a true vegetarian, I wouldn't buy this book as it really isn't for vegetarians.
99 comments| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2004
I read in one review posted above "and you are (or aspire to be) a vegan, then this book is definitely for you." is this a JOKE? THIS reader obviously did not open this book at all! the term "vegetarian" in used so freely that people that eat a burger a week are considered "semi-vegetarians". What is that supposed to mean? And what about "pesco-vegetarians"? This guide is a joke. If you take veganism or vegetarianism seriously, don't waste your money on this title. However, I give it 2 stars because it has some information on vitamins and other supplements. Yet, I can get the same advice from any other "omni/carnivore" regular nutrition book.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2006
If you are looking for a book with ammo to attack the non-vegans in your life, this is not it. As several of the previous reviews have stated, this book provides numerous alternative nutrition plans. Some of the references made in the book measure the effectiveness of vegetarian diets to non-vegetarian diets when addressing some specific nutritional deficiencies associated with intensive training programs. I suggest that this information is presented as comparative and not as encouragement to become omnivorous as has been implied. As a committed vegetarian I took no offense to any of the suspect references.

Read with the absence of political bias this book is extremely informative to the serious athlete. Actual nutrition plans and specific rationale are included from vegetarian athletes with unequivocal credibility. The book is also extremely readable with bios and recipes inserted appropriately to support the nutritional strategies.

My reason for buying this book was to get an edge on my long run times and learn how to recover faster after races and heavy workouts. This book delivered on both accounts.

If you're a weekend mall walker looking for a recipe book, there are several out there that will teach you how to make foo-foo dishes until your eyes bleed. If you are serious about athletic training and understanding vegetarian sports nutrition, you are in the right place.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
this has a lot of good info for vegetarian athletes even tho it is published some time ago
a little on the over done side with too much info on food content percentages but that can
be overlooked or devoured depending on one's interest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2008
I bought this book in hopes of weight training and still be a vegetarian. To find the information you have to browse through the pages back and forth. The recipes are thrown in between other information, they are hard to find and keep them organized. It seems as though the information is just thrown all together randomly without any kind of specific structure or plan. Everything is all over the place combined with a bunch of complicated words and unnecessary information. Also information on certain supplements and plans are "Out on the jury" meaning the author has no idea, proof, or real recommendation of wether it works or not. In my opinion if you don't know if something works for sure... don't write about it in a 'guide'. It's silly. I wouldn't buy this book and I do not recommend it. In fact if I could return it, I would. Right now it's just going to the trash can.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
Though this book is focused on endurance athletes, I have found it helpful in many ways. I recommend it to anyone who is a no meat athlete. It arrived in a timely manner and in good condition as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2002
I found this book difficult to digest. The language used throughout appears to be some form of official medical speak; so much so that - as an example - in one section, I could not determine whether the author advocated drinking cranberry juice or not (until the last sentence of that sections which seemed to suggest that it is a benefit). That being said, I found the information useful although not very clearly presented. I look forward to a revised edition in which the editor(s) revises the language so that it is comprehensible to those without a medical or nutrition background.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Great read. Exactly what I was looking for!!! I'm new to pescatarianism (vegetarian that eats seafood and cheese) and work out a lot and this is the perfect guide to helps reachy fitness goals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2002
I have been vegetarian for 12 years and this book is the greatest. Not only does it give detailed information about protein and your body's needs, but it has great recipies. The recipies alone are a good reason to buy it. They are simple and easy to cook. It is very practical. It sure beats doing it they way I did it when I started beng vegetarian. I just started eating peanut butter sandwiches for weeks until I figured out how to eat healthy. Even if you have been vegetarian for a long time, you will probably learn something from this book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2002
If you consider yourself to be an endurance athlete (of any type) and you are (or aspire to be) a vegan, then this book is definitely for you. I have seen many other books that say the word "Vegetarian" on the cover, when they really mean ovo-lacto-pesco-vegetarian (eggs, milk, and fish). This book lives up to it's title by featuring lots of recipes, example diets (from professional vegan athletes), and nutrition information for vegans (persons who eat absolutely NO animal products)!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse