Start reading The Vengeance Man on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Vengeance Man [Kindle Edition]

John Macrae
2.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $0.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Hero Quick Promo
Year-End Kindle Daily Deals
Load your library with great books for $2.99 or less each, today only. Learn more

Book Description

At 34, an SAS soldier's days of active service are over. After risking his life for his country, he is condemned to spend the rest of his days in a dead-end civilian job.

But one man decides he isn't ready to be put out to pasture.

The Vengeance Man.

As the 'operations manager' for a specialist insurance firm, he can still work undercover for clients that include the Government.

And working behind the scenes, and beyond the law, he can still take up arms on behalf of the weak and the helpless.

A personal crusade is born.

And while the public may applaud as 'The Vengeance Man' brings justice to the guilty, very soon the Government has no choice but to bring their most lethal maverick operative under control.

The hunt begins....and it will end in death.

This enthralling, thought-provoking action-packed thriller, written by an insider from the front-line of intelligence work, is certain to appeal to readers of Lee Child, Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum and Andy McNab.

"The Vengeance Man is the best new action thriller this year" - Matt Lynn, author of the best-selling Death Force series.

"A heart-pumping ride, with more twists than a roller-coaster." - Tom Kasey, author of the best-selling Trade Off.

John MacRae is the cover name of a former senior Intelligence Officer with a Special Forces background. He has written extensively on intelligence and military history, and has worked for BBC television and other TV companies as an advisor on military and intelligence subjects. He saw active service in the Falkland Islands, Cyprus, Arabia, and Northern Ireland.

Endeavour Press is the UK's largest independent publisher of digital books.


Product Details

  • File Size: 870 KB
  • Print Length: 433 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.; 1 edition (July 12, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008L9PUSO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #24,230 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fast action and fascinating character July 27, 2012
By Sharon
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fast pace, interesting characters. It started a bit slowly, more 'front story' than I thought necessary but segued into a tense, interesting storyline with a many layered plotline.

Up until the final chapters, I found it to be a real page turner. The ending was, unfortunately for me, grim, nihilistic and while perhaps realistic it is not the kind of thing I want to read for entertainment.

For me, a difficult book to rate. Prior to the ending, I'd have given it a 4 star rating and would have looked for additional books by the author. Unfortunately, the ending was a 1-star rating for me. I don't need my entertainment to be grim and depressing.

It is an excellent book of it's type and will appeal to many readers. My dislike of the ending is strictly personal and readers without this particular aversion should find the book good entertainment.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing September 10, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This novel began with promise. It eventually lost focus; that is, the plot meandered. Character development led to nothing as I read on. Ignoring the proof-reading errors, I really wanted to like this book. It failed to deliver.

The worst part was, as noted somewhat in other reviews, the ending. It totally changed away from the viewpoint character of the entire book until that point, and I'm guessing was a failed attempt at being literary. Addtionally, the ending was almost a non-sequitur. Not only that, the ending ignored the entire book worth of character development. It left open the fate of all the characters including the main character. The only thing I can say is it is possible the author is setting up a sequel. If so, it was a bad move. I'm trying to say the ending was so terrible it made me angry enough to write this review.

I am sorry I wasted my money and my time reading this for such a disappointing conclusion.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Real September 6, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Sorry but an SAS guy, especially an officer, is not going to make the mistakes this guy did in the novel. The opening especially is not believable. Hard to hang a story from this and the end doesn't really work. Didn't enjoy this novel.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pointless waste of time not entertaining November 29, 2012
By skidad
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book had no plot and then it never went anywhere. Rather than come up with a creative way to end the book the book the writer just came up with a stupid ending that was totally pointless. What a waste of my time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth what I paid for it December 26, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I got this for less than $2 so I didn't expect a whole lot. The way this book started I thought I was in for a lot more of the same. Nope. This was one seriously flawed "hero". The vigilante
theme appeals to a sense of injustice in the world. This one had a chance but dropped the ball. The ending was atrocious and I felt like someone else picked this manuscript up after the author gave up and the next writer just threw something together to get it over with and out.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars vengreview September 7, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Its ok. I have read better and definitely have read worse. Can't go over the 3 star rating on this one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my taste August 17, 2012
By Emma
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I (unusually for me) didn't get beyond chapter 2. The writing style did nothing for me at all - I've enjoyed a lot of Lee Child but this didn't draw me in at all in the same way. I don't much like Andy Mcnab's books either, so perhaps that's an indication for others.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Mike H
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May just be me, but I have been trying to plod through this book for three months. Started well, but ground to a halt. Since I still haven't finished it, this review may be premature...maybe I will be forced to rewrite if I ever finish the book. The story line is so filled with personal angst of the "hero" it's hard to relate to the ultimate goal of the tale. Hopefully someone will put him out of his misery...or he'll truly find his place in life...maybe selling shoes.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible spelling. worse than me and that's saying something.
horrible spelling I found at least 20 errors in the first couple of chapters including words that didn't even belong. it's the first book I stopped reading in years. Read more
Published 13 days ago by g
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time.
YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!! You have to read over 400 pages in order to be DISAPPOINTED with the story in the last chapter. And I'm a fan of his?
Published 1 month ago by L. W. C.
5.0 out of 5 stars A top read from an author we will see much more of!
What a great book!
I just loved it. There was something happening all the time, it is well written and well edited! Read more
Published 1 month ago by Jilmaye
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Interesting story line, but a bit flat.
Published 2 months ago by Terry
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not so good.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Let down by ending
To convoluted of an ending with too many threads left hanging for my taste. Enjoy the ex-military knights in soiled armor stories where there is an actual triumph over... Read more
Published 8 months ago by Albert Eliason
5.0 out of 5 stars really good
Kept you interest through to whole book. The plot was very interesting. A book that you could read again and still would be interesting
Published 9 months ago by niftymom
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring story
I didn't care for this book. Storyline wasn't very good. I have read one other by this author and it was so so as well. I wouldn't recommend this book or series.
Published 12 months ago by Russell O. Cross
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it!
I simply don't understand the ratings this book received? I quite enjoyed it and am now reading the second installment of the vengeance man.. Read more
Published 16 months ago by R.Nichols
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Cool Concept
I thought this was a good story, a little long winded here and there but overall a good yarn. I read Gerald Seymour and this is in the same vein as a lot of his stuff. Read more
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category