Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine & Varied Compilation.
This collection plays like a cool breeze breaking up a steamy Summer day. All the tunes feature the strong vocals of Ms Krall, & her excellent Piano playing. She has a subtle music savvy that oozes sex appeal. This set of songs goes from 1996's "All For You, to 2006's From This Moment On." There are spunky mumbers, direct jazz jams, sensuality, & improvised romantic...
Published on October 6, 2007 by SUPPORT THE ASPCA.

versus
260 of 278 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music...worst Krall disc to buy
Let me first say how much the new practice of jazz/pop stars irks me. They hold off a few tracks from an album, which only get released on import versions costing three times as much, or greatest hits CDs. This Krall offering contains 3 previously unreleased tracks, only available here...perfect to get those who already own everything to buy this disc, just for 3 songs...
Published on January 27, 2008 by Comic Online


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

260 of 278 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music...worst Krall disc to buy, January 27, 2008
By 
Comic Online (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
Let me first say how much the new practice of jazz/pop stars irks me. They hold off a few tracks from an album, which only get released on import versions costing three times as much, or greatest hits CDs. This Krall offering contains 3 previously unreleased tracks, only available here...perfect to get those who already own everything to buy this disc, just for 3 songs. Anyway, on to the actual review.

Typically, greatest hits compilations are designed for the consumer who wants to get the biggest songs from a particular artist. And that scheme works for most rock/pop artists (Elvis, Rolling Stones, etc). But in the case of Diana Krall, she doesn't really HAVE hits. The majority of her recorded output is old standards from the world of classic pop vocals & jazz, spanning the 1920's-1960's. Most of those already were huge hits, regardless of the performer. So, it seems that a greatest hits album for her is sort of a silly point.

Since buying this disc would give you a sampling of her most recent albums (only the Verve albums, by the way...not her early albums), it would give you a sampling of many styles and arrangements. If you are looking for a hodge-podge of Krall, with no theme or style of its own, then this is definitely the disc for you. However, if you are just getting into Diana Krall, and only want to buy one disc, a better option would be to decide what you like about her music, and get one of her original albums. You don't need to buy every one. Even if you only get one CD, any of her albums will find her singing big hits with her unique vocal style. One of her original albums will set the mood much better than any "hits" album. She sings on all albums.

For example...

if you like lush, romantic string ballads with an orchestra, then pick up either "When I Look In Your Eyes" or "The Look Of Love."

If you like the Nat King Cole Trio (piano, bass, guitar), then pick up either "All For You" or "Love Scenes."

If you like a more traditional jazz trio (piano, bass, drums), then pick up either of her first two albums "Steppin' Out" or "Only Trust Your Heart."

If you like the big band sound, get her latest effort, "From This Moment On." It contains fast and medium tempos with a large ensemble (sans strings).

If you don't really like jazz or classic pop, and want something with more of an easy listening, rock/pop jazz feel, get "Girl In the Other Room." The songs are more modern. This one is tough to describe, and not her best effort. But it's still good.

My favorites are the ballad album "The Look of Love," which contains several of thetracks with a gentle bossa nova beat. Very romantic. I prepared a bath for my girlfriend and i with this album playing in the background, and she LOVED it. Trust me. Also, her snappiest, coolest jazzy album is "All For You" which is a tribute to the Nat Cole Trio, and contains many of his classic hits.

You may love the "Very Best Of" CD, but just remember you are getting a very random mix of styles and moods on this disc. But you may want it for the previously unreleased tracks. Whatever you get, i think you'll love Diana Krall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine & Varied Compilation., October 6, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
This collection plays like a cool breeze breaking up a steamy Summer day. All the tunes feature the strong vocals of Ms Krall, & her excellent Piano playing. She has a subtle music savvy that oozes sex appeal. This set of songs goes from 1996's "All For You, to 2006's From This Moment On." There are spunky mumbers, direct jazz jams, sensuality, & improvised romantic journeys. From her eleven albums, the string based hits are well represented.

But oddly, her singer-songwriter tunes are left out. There are a few unreleased tracks. A yearning "Only The Lonely," a cruising "You Go To My head," & "The Heart Of Saturday Night." "Lets Fall In Love," with its fine guitar intro & the Bacharach cover "The Look Of Love," are here to be played over & over by anyone who needs a mood enhancer. throughout this collection her precision timing & her interpretive voice made for a great weekend of listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really classy collection, September 18, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
(4 & 1/2 stars) This new Diana Krall best-of CD does what you would hope any best-of would do. That is, it plays like a near-perfect collection of songs where just about every cut entertains at a high level. The songs are sequenced very well, with up-tempo numbers mixed in to spice up the slower and more romantic music. So you get to hear "Let's Fall In Love," with its fabulous guitar-and-vocal intro (Russell Malone (Playground) on guitar) leading right into "The Look of Love," a great Bacharach cover. And so on. All feature the ultracool and exquisite vocals of Ms Krall, and her piano playing's not too bad either. The real highlights for her fans are the three previously unreleased tracks, songs from the sessions for two of her previous albums. Each of them is good enough to belong on this best-of (a fairly rare thing for a hits collection). I particularly enjoyed "You Go To My Head," which has both a wonderful orchestral arrangement by Claus Ogerman AND some tasty piano lines from Diana. This album will make a great christmas gift for the jazz fan on your list. I kind of wish I had bought the deluxe edition with DVD The Very Best of Diana Krall, but this music is great anyway.

PS - I wanted to title this review with a pun on the lady's last name, such as "Krall, Don't Run" or "Pub Krall," but those wouldn't have made sense, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smokingly Sultry, September 19, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
While Diana Krall is not the apex of jazz vocalist when it comes to the instrument of her voice, (that would be Diane Schuur) she makes up for it by oozing sex appeal onto every note. For that... She is unbeatable.

This is a great collection for someone like me who really likes Ms. Krall's music but isn't ready to go buy the whole catalogue of her work, as it has the songs I am most familiar with, and thereby my favorites.

Great CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do yourself a favor, September 27, 2007
By 
Frederick Crews (Milner, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
Don't be like me.Plunk down the few extra bucks for the limited edition.This album has it all,so reward yourself, go 1st class, and knock yourself out.It doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy These Three Titles Instead..., September 19, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
Most of the songs in this collection were taken from three Diana Krall CD releases - 'Love Scenes', 'When I Look In Your Eyes', and 'The Look Of Love'. A 'Best Of' may be a good introduction but these three releases present a fuller, more substantial overview of her musical prowess. If you have one or two of the above mentioned CDs, complete the trio over this 'Best Of' set. And while you're at it, pick up the DVD version of 'Live In Paris' to see Diana perform great songs from these three CD releases. The then-previously unreleased 'Taste Of You' remake will blow you away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The VERY best of Diana Krall, September 26, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
I generally have a good feeling about a "very best" or "greatest hits" collection, and a Diana Krall collection is quite welcome in my music library. Of course, the "very best" of anyone's work is subjective and this is missing some of her early work from "All For You"("Boulevard Of Broken Dreams" would have been a good fit), and the outtakes that represent her "new songs" are satisfactory. "Temptation" would also have been a good choice. Overall, 4 stars. And pick up the version with the DVD included. And get "Live In Paris" in any version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD is great!, September 22, 2007
Great live-in-studio stuff --- plus a couple of vids --- and a couple of live cuts.
"Temptation" is tremendous.

(Anybody else's DVD have audio static in it during "Temptation"...?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars agh....the great Diana...., September 18, 2007
By 
Michael McCLain "Amberbaer" (West Chester, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
It's about time this Diva of the jazz piano put together a nice greatest hits package, from start to finish, this cd showcases the talent that she is, was, and will be for years to come.

that voice is in pure form, smokey jazz from a smoldering hot Lady...this cd would make a great introduction to her music and style for those that have never heard....Brava to you Diana, can't wait to see you in concert this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And What My Heart Has Heard . . . Well, It Takes My Breath Away", October 16, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Diana Krall (Audio CD)
Considering that this is the first compilation of the very best of Diana Krall's recordings, it is an essential add-on to all her fans. The 15 gorgeous songs were perfectly selected from seven of her most remarkable albums starting off with George and Ira Gershwin's gem of gems, "'S Wonderful" down to Bart Howard's most charming composition and an all-time favorite of mine, "Fly Me To The Moon" . . .

"And let me play among the stars
Let me see what Spring is like
On Jupiter and Mars
In other words, hold my hand
In other words, I love you"

Although I have listened to and enjoyed all these songs from the CDs this compilation was taken, I still think that this CD is a great addition to my collection since it features the crème de la crème from all of her recordings. You don't have to skip any track for every song is truly a charmer and a winner. Who can resist the beauty of these all-time favorites of mine? These are spellbinding songs of the heart that can create wonderful memories you'll treasure forever.

"'S Wonderful" - Claus Ogerman's flawless Bossa Nova arrangement and orchestration with the Los Angeles Session Orchestra and Krall's sublime vocal and piano artistry made this standard an absolute gem of gems that would have made the Gershwin Brothers so proud since it's the best interpretation ever recorded.

"You made my life so glamorous
You can't blame me for feeling amorous
'S wonderful, marvelous
That you should care for me"

"The Look of Love" - a charming ditty from Burt Bacharach and Hal David that will make any music lover fall in love with its melody and lyric. Once again, Claus Ogerman brought out the very best in Krall with his arranging expertise and Krall gives this song the ultimate radiance it so deserves.

"The look of love
Is saying so much more
Than just words could ever say
And what my heart has heard
Well it takes my breath away"

"You Go To My Head" - a favorite of great singers to record and one of the masterworks of J. Fred Coots and Haven Gillespie. Another Claus Ogerman superb arrangement and orchestration with the London Session Orchestra. This will be a treat to your ears for it's a previously unreleased track.

"You go to my head
And you linger like a haunting refrain
And I find you spinning 'round in my brain
Like the bubbles in a glass of champagne"

"Let's Face The Music And Dance" - the most remarkable and captivating version of this Irving Berlin classic. Another majestic orchestral arrangement by Johnny Mandel, conducted by himself and Eddie Karam.

"So while there's moonlight and music
And love and romance
Let's face the music and dance"

"I've Got You Under My Skin" - Cole Porter's most enduring song and one of the most recorded standards. Who wouldn't be enchanted by Johnny Mandel's brilliant orchestral arrangement? I would say Krall gives it the retire-the-trophy-treatment for a female vocal rendition.

"And deep in my heart
You're really a part of me
I have got you under my skin"

And last but not least . . .

"East of the Sun (And West of the Moon)" - a very nice song penned by Brooks Bowman featuring Krall on vocals and piano with Anthony Wilson (guitar), John Clayton (bass) and Jeff Hamilton (drums).

"Just you and I
Forever and a day
Love will not die
We'll keep it that way
Up among the stars we'll find
A harmony of life to a lovely tune
East of the sun and west of the moon"

Diana Krall is an icon of elegance in music and she has a penchant for reviving sweetly sentimental songs that are completely pleasing to the ears with her soft, mellow and sultry vocal art that is as sweet as pie. And this compilation CD "The Very Best of Diana Krall" is a testament of her love and passion to her craft, and a must-have not only to her fans, but also to lovers of great music.

Wholeheartedly recommended for your listening pleasure!

P.S. For more gorgeous Diana Krall CDs, please check out The Look of Love, When I Look in Your Eyes, From This Moment On, Live in Paris, Love Scenes and Christmas Songs. Happy Listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Very Best of Diana Krall
The Very Best of Diana Krall by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.