Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation of song hits & videos new to me
We really enjoy Don Henley's music and each song was just perfect in this collection. It was nice to have all of these together on one CD. Additionally, several of the song videos were new to me, and added a new appreciation to his vision of the songs he writes. I wish more song writers could or would approach their writing in a similar manner. Henley finds a way to...
Published on January 3, 2012 by TRISH

versus
42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why put the rare audio tracks on a DVD? D'oh!
The music on this album is excellent. No question there. However, the "deluxe" edition of this album is a joke, pure and simple.

The track lineup of the first disc is almost identical to 1995's Actual Miles: Don Henley's Greatest Hits (just take two of the three then-new tracks from that CD, add three tracks from Henley's 2000 Inside Job album). The additional...
Published on June 24, 2009 by GroundChuck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why put the rare audio tracks on a DVD? D'oh!, June 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
The music on this album is excellent. No question there. However, the "deluxe" edition of this album is a joke, pure and simple.

The track lineup of the first disc is almost identical to 1995's Actual Miles: Don Henley's Greatest Hits (just take two of the three then-new tracks from that CD, add three tracks from Henley's 2000 Inside Job album). The additional tracks on disc 2, however, aren't quite as easy to find. At first, this 2-disc set looks like the only way (however pricey) to get 1992's excellent "Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat," besides the otherwise unremarkable (and out-of-print) soundtrack to Leap of Faith.

Trouble is, disc 2 is a DVD, meaning it isn't as simple as simply extracting the four tracks to your iPod, or even just popping the CD into a car stereo. Five dollars extra for four songs that aren't usable is a ripoff. Unless you're dying to have the incomplete selection of six music videos, save the money and get either the regular version of this album, or Actual Miles, since they're practically the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delux Edition, For Who???the Record Comapny to Pocket $$$, July 25, 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
I am sure my review will be somewhat echo others. But I wanted to give my two cents.

First off, couldn't the record company put a little thought into disc 1. why replicate the 1st GH's - the inside Job tracks and - the 2 new songs. I am sure there are a few more worth while tracks from Can't Stand Stil. Also why put all ballads from IJ, Working It was the 1st single. As far as the the so called 'rare' tracks, those also would've fit in nicely on the 1st disc. Why not use your imagination, put some Live' tracks or Live footage on the DVD. Give the Fans a reason to purchase a GH's, Atleast you enjoy watching the live footage more than music videos. Geffin could've even put the soundtrack songs with the 2 new tracks from previous greatist hits and add some unissued tracks or a new song for this CD. Make it a bonus CD, so we can litsten to it. And use the DVD as mentioned. I guess the record company is a cash cow, and feels DH fans want to buy a GH's Twice, below is my idea for the GH's that should've been, feel free to comment. Maybe we will get a new CD down the road from Don. -Mike Sippie

*DISC 1.
-Can't Stand Still
-Dirty Laundry
-Talking To The Moon
-You Better Hang Up
-Boys Of Summer
-Not Enough Love In The World
-All She Wants To Do Is Dance
-Sunset Grill
-Who Owns This Place
-End Of The Innocence
-I Will Not Go Quietly
-New York Minute
-Heart Of The Matter
-Last Worthless Evening
-How Bad Do You Want It
-Sit Down Your Rocken The Boat
-Everybody Knows
-Working It
-My Thanksgiving
-Goodbye To A River
DISC 2. (Bonus CD)
-Garden Of Allah
-You Don't Know Me
-Unissued Songs or newly recorded for this project
Bonus DVD
*Inside Job Concert DVD or "Live" Footage from (1982-2000).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Innocence Mixed, June 28, 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
There is no question that when it has came down greatest hits records, there always has been something missing. From overlooked tracks and lack of hits, to the feeling of more songs to please the audience. That has honestly has been the case with so many hits collections from Whitney Houston's 2000 The Greatest Hits, to Luther Vandross's 2006 Ultimate Luther Vandross. That also has been with the heart of the matter for Don Henley. After his well-acclaimed career with The Eagles had fizzled out in the 80's, his solo career had made Don's music go to new heights, with his acclaimed solo records from Building The Perfect Beast, to his 1989 landmark album The End Of The Innocence. Now, a second hits record is out that tries to reintroduce Don, to a whole new era of fans.

The Very Best Of Don Henley (Deluxe Edition) feels like it is honestly more like a mixed bag of tricks that doesn't stand out to be as definitive as either the single disc edition, or his 1995 hits album Actual Miles. The double disc collection tries to draw in more for hard core Don Henley fans, but that misses the mark. While the first disc does well at bringing in his biggest hits like Sunset Grill, Heart Of The Matter, and the somber The Last Worthless Evening, it honestly is his the DVD disc that draws to be a bit of a dissapointment. While it does showcase Don's biggest videos like The Boys Of Summer, and The End Of The Innocence, it brings in a few of his soundtrack works like Through Your Hands from the John Travolta film Michael, only for DVD listening, but not on the C.D. part of the extended version. The second problem is that the album doesn't completely seperate itself from Actual Miles. In fact, the first 10 tracks are in the same order as was Actual Miles, but could've added in some of his duets he had over the years like his duet with Stevie Nicks on Leather & Lace, or Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough with Patty Smyth Of Scandal.

All in all, I was honestly a bit more unhappy with the deluxe edition of The Very Best Of Don Henley. It could've had more for both hard core fans of Don's, and misses out on reintroducing his music to a whole new generation of fans. Instead, I really recommend either the standard version, or getting Actual Miles instead if you don't have anything of Don Henley's in your music library, and tell this version of the collection that it isn't completely the trip down the sunset grill.

Album Cover: B

Songs: C+

Price: C-

DVD: C

Remastering: B-

Overall: C 1/2-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars End of the Innocence video MIA, October 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
i would have given this package 5 stars had it included the video for End of the Innocence, but it doesnt. that & Boys of Summer are Don's biggest songs & to leave off that video is extremely careless or deliberately snubbing the fans. i dont see any point to leaving it off & not let fans enjoy it. i already had Actual Miles & bought this to have the videos.

i also agree with other reviewers that the 4 bonus tracks should have been on the cd not the dvd.

minor point, i know Don is Mr. Serious, but there must be tons better photos for the cover than the one chosen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation of song hits & videos new to me, January 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
We really enjoy Don Henley's music and each song was just perfect in this collection. It was nice to have all of these together on one CD. Additionally, several of the song videos were new to me, and added a new appreciation to his vision of the songs he writes. I wish more song writers could or would approach their writing in a similar manner. Henley finds a way to say something that is both deep with meaning and clever in the use of language that can be funny, angry, sad and apply to so many of life's situations. What a terrific musician and song writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pails in comparison to "Actual Miles" last hit package, June 13, 2011
By 
Kevin Stafford (Rhode Island USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Well beside the title of my review saying it all....the only reason FOR ME to buy this IS for the videos. The songs "Garden Of Alah" & "You Don't know Me At All" are on that in CD form rather than DVD-Audio...which by the way is mych better quality. I already have "Sit Down, You're Rockin' The Boat" from the "Leap Of Faith" soundtrack BUT that song should be included here! It is a great tune as is "Garden of Allah". Unless you are a Henley completest, By pass this collection and get "Actual Miles" It includes another bonus song "Everybody knows". Don't bypass "Inside Job". Unfortunately, since Don isn't unfashionably hip anymore, that album got passed by, by many! It is probally his best work. "For My Wedding Day" which is on this collection, is my latest favorite song by Mr. Henley! If you haven't...check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Best of Don Henley, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Great videos...of course it's missing "The End of the Innocence" video. But the copy I got was like new. I absolutly love it. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an improvement over ACTUAL MILES but could've been done better, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
I bought the deluxe edition of this CD primarily because it's an updated compilation compared to ACTUAL MILES plus it boasts of several Henley music videos and a number of his soundtrack contributions. So I think it's a good buy and an excellent overview of his solo work.

But I tend to agree with a number of customers who shared their thoughts about how this version could have been done better. Henley has always been known as a perfectionist. It is, in fact, one of the reasons he often cites when he is asked why it takes him years to come out with albums. In this case, I'm not that certain if he had a 100% direct hand in the inclusion of the material that comprised this retrospective. It doesn't seem to be as well thought-out as the music and the lyrics that he painstakingly scrutinizes and revises.

Re: the music videos - where is THE END OF THE INNOCENCE?; weren't there videos for TAKING YOU HOME and NEW YORK MINUTE?; what about THE GARDEN OF ALLAH and DIRTY LAUNDRY? Moving forward, perhaps a music video retrospective is in the offing? Maybe on the occasion of the 25th year anniversary of THE END OF THE INNOCENCE? If yes, I hope it will include Henley's UNPLUGGED and VH1 STORYTELLERS episodes. He has 2 of the latter I think (one circa The End of the Innocence and another one circa Inside Job.)

Re: the soundtracks - where are COME RAIN OR COME SHINE (from Leaving Las Vegas), SHE'S ON THE ZOOM (from VISION QUEST), and his recent musical foray in animated film? Again, here's hoping this compilation is a preview of what is to come a'la STING AT THE MOVIES perhaps?

Yet another interesting wishful compilation would be his collaborations with other artists such as Trisha Yearwood, Stevie Nicks, Patty Smyth, Elton John, Jerry Lee Lewis, and the like.

What I'm ultimately driving at here is perhaps it's high time for Don and his management team to consider the possibility of releasing a box set. He has enough solo material to come up with one and enough fans around the world to guarantee a good ROI.

In the meantime, perhaps we would all do well to enjoy this compilation even as we look forward to the two albums that he is currently working on: a country album and a blues/soul album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars henley, February 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
The music is great as was expected. The music videos are so far out of date that they weren't that enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of Henley, November 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Another good Don Henley item... also recommend the Eagles Farewell Tour DVD from 2005. An outstanding concert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD)
The Very Best of Don Henley (CD+DVD) by Don Henley (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.