Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars track listing
SMOKE GETS IN YOUR EYES
THE GREAT PRETENDER
MY DREAM
TWILIGHT TIME
YOU'LL NEVER NEVER KNOW
(YOU'VE GOT) THE MAGIC TOUCH
ONE IN A MILLION
ENCHANTED
I'M SORRY
ONLY YOU (AND YOU ALONE)
HARBOUR LIGHTS
RED SAILS IN THE SUNSET
I WISH
SLEEPY LAGOON
EBB TIDE
HEAVEN ON EARTH
REMEMBER WHEN
MY PRAYER
Published on November 12, 2007 by Mr. Otis

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very displeased
This product was shipped to me in an unpadded envelope and when it arrived the CD disc was broken in two. It was unable to be played.
Published on May 10, 2010 by Robert Sullivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars track listing, November 12, 2007
By 
Mr. Otis (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
SMOKE GETS IN YOUR EYES
THE GREAT PRETENDER
MY DREAM
TWILIGHT TIME
YOU'LL NEVER NEVER KNOW
(YOU'VE GOT) THE MAGIC TOUCH
ONE IN A MILLION
ENCHANTED
I'M SORRY
ONLY YOU (AND YOU ALONE)
HARBOUR LIGHTS
RED SAILS IN THE SUNSET
I WISH
SLEEPY LAGOON
EBB TIDE
HEAVEN ON EARTH
REMEMBER WHEN
MY PRAYER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hits From One Of Music's Transitional Harmony Groups, February 9, 2000
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
The Platters (represented by 12 of their greatest hits of the 1950s) stood a middle ground between traditional vocal groups such as the Ames Brothers and the doo-wop sounds to follow. Happily (for us, anyway), they were accepted by the new teenage culture and many of their parents.
The reason is in the quality of songs presented here. Hard to believe Jerome Kern's estate bristled over their rendition of "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes"; distinctive lead singer Tony Williams captures the lyric perfectly, walking through a fog of strings and piano with perfect pitch and diction until a glass-shattering finale. The originals, many co-written by their manager, Buck Ram, have themselves become standards: "Twilight Time," "My Prayer," "Only You" (later covered by Travis Tritt and Ringo Starr), "The Great Pretender" (later satirized by rock n' roll grump Stan Freberg). Overall, regardless of which 50s musical style you prefer, anyone loving traditional group harmony will enjoy this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Classic Hits, April 8, 2000
By 
Kim K. (Bayonne, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
The Platters have always been one of the best of the 1950s vocal groups. Every song here is the real thing(no overdubbed remakes as on other Platters collections)and you'll want to play this cd over & over again. The music is timeless and still very romantic-major makeout music. It is easy to see how they were inspired by the Ink Spots and the Mills Bros. Tony Williams' gorgeous voice was one of the best in recorded music. This cd is highly recommended for lovers of great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Original Hits, July 14, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
Nothing rerecorded here, and all big pop hits. A good buy for those who seek only the cream of the crop, although a few well-known hits are absent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First black vocal group to become major stars, March 1, 2005
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
In the fifties, it was hard for black singers to sell music to white record buyers, but the Platters managed to do just that, thus helping to blaze the trail for the many others that followed. Some of their songs were covers of songs from the thirties and forties, suitably updated for the fifties. Some people mistakenly think of songs such as Smoke gets in your eyes and Harbor lights (both dating from the thirties) as being Platters originals - I was among them for many years.

The Platters were much more successful in America than in Britain, but the few UK hits that they had have left a lasting impression. The great pretender (a 1987 top five UK hit for Freddie Mercury), Smoke gets in your eyes (a 1974 top twenty UK hit for Bryan Ferry) and Only you (a minor hit for several artists down the years) have all charted for other artists since the Platters charted with them in the fifties.

Although this is the first of two volumes, it contains all of their most famous recordings, whether they are originals or covers. Apart from those already mentioned, their other British hits include Twilight time, My praer, You'll never never know, I'm sorry and Remember when. The only one not here is It isn't right - it was the flip side of You'll never never know and you can find it on volume 2.

If you just want a single CD containing their important tracks, this will do. If you enjoy it enough, you can always buy volume 2 later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best of...,, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
This wonderful "cheap" Spectrum compilation of the authentic 50's
Platters is a real treasure. The absolutely best DooWop group of all
times (with the best black voice ever of Tony Williams) can be found
on this CD with unbeatable quality. More than half of the Platters'
Greatest are in full stereo although we're still in the fifties!!
All the charting hits are there. This is a "must" for all record
collectors!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars allmusic track list, July 6, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
Tracks
1 The Great Pretender ~ Ram 2:39
2 My Prayer ~ Boulanger, Kennedy 2:45
3 (You've Got) The Magic Touch ~ Ram 2:28
4 On My Word of Honor ~ Harrison, Harrison, Miles ... 2:42
Composed by: Harrison, Harrison, Miles, Miles
5 Twilight Time ~ Dunn, Dunn, Nevins, Nevins, Ram 2:44
6 You'll Never, Never Know ~ Gordon, Miles, Miles, Robi ... 2:38
Composed by: Gordon, Miles, Miles, Robi, Warren, Williams, Williams
7 Only You (And You Alone) ~ Foster, Pankow, Ram, Rand ... 2:37
Composed by: Foster, Pankow, Ram, Rand, Spampinato
8 I'm Sorry ~ Diddley, Freed, Fuqua, Hart, Ram ... 2:52
Composed by: Diddley, Freed, Fuqua, Hart, Ram, Tinturin, White, Wilson
9 Smoke Gets in Your Eyes ~ Harbach, Kern 2:38
10 If I Didn't Care ~ Lawrence 3:07
11 Enchanted ~ Ram 2:52
12 Harbor Lights ~ Kennedy, Kennedy, Wiliams 3:10

Releases Other Editions
Year Type Label Catalog #

1991 CD Mercury 510317
1991 CS Mercury 510 317
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Very Best of The Platters" says if perfectly, November 26, 1999
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
The Platters typify 50's music and this cd is exactly what you would expect, and more. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As always, they are great., May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
I listen to this often. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars, not 5, is because the sound is not as good on the song "Harbor Lights" as it is on the rest of the tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 of the Best Platters, November 16, 2011
By 
J. Bynum (the southwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of The Platters (Audio CD)
The Very Best of The Platters: Even though I own the great Doo Wop box set, I just could not resist getting this CD. It's easy to forget just how many excellent songs The Platters have recorded and this album carries their 12 greatest (far to many for the Doo Wop box to include).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Very Best of The Platters
The Very Best of The Platters by The Platters (Audio CD)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.