Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early `60s thrills from Sinatra, Davis and Martin
By the early `60s the Rat Pack that had once included Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall and Judy Garland had evolved to a Sintara-centric group (that called itself "the Summit") that included fellow vocalists Sammy Davis Jr. and Dean Martin. All three were solo recording and concert stars, but it's their impromptu performances on one another's Las Vegas bills that solidified...
Published on January 25, 2011 by hyperbolium

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars music
The Very Best of the Rat Pack is a good c d. I was hoping for more of them singing together. All the songs on here I have on the individual cd's from each of them. If you want to hear each one sing alone, it's a great one to have.
Published on February 1, 2012 by Attra


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early `60s thrills from Sinatra, Davis and Martin, January 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
By the early `60s the Rat Pack that had once included Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall and Judy Garland had evolved to a Sintara-centric group (that called itself "the Summit") that included fellow vocalists Sammy Davis Jr. and Dean Martin. All three were solo recording and concert stars, but it's their impromptu performances on one another's Las Vegas bills that solidified their reputation for suave masculinity. The trio, along with Peter Lawford and Joey Bishop, starred in the films Ocean's Eleven and Sergeants 3, but didn't often record together. The 18-songs in this collection rotate through each singer's solo recordings, and includes duets of Sinatra and Davis on "Me and My Shadow" and Davis and Martin on "Sam's Song."

Sinatra's tracks are selected from his early Reprise years, and include the brash "Luck Be a Lady" and the title track from his label debut, Ring-a-Ding-Ding. The bulk of these are remakes of songs that Sinatra initially recorded for Capitol in the 1950s, including "I've Got You Under My Skin," "Come Fly with Me," "Witchcraft" and "I Get a Kick Out of You." These `60s performances find Sinatra in good voice, jazzily stretching out the rhythms, playfully punctuating his syllables and snapping his fingers on "Come Fly with Me," but they don't have the inventive vitality of the Capitol originals. The early Reprise-era Sinatra often sounds like an entertainer coasting on his top-of-the-world success rather than an artist brashly reinventing himself, as he had at Capitol.

Martin's tracks, borrowed from both the Capitol and Reprise libraries, include signature hits "Ain't That a Kick in the Head," "Volare," "You're Nobody `Til Somebody Loves You" and "Everybody Loves Somebody." Additionally, his 1962 single "Who's Got the Action?" pairs horn-heavy swing with a lyric of love and horseracing. The same year saw the release of the Vaudeville-styled duet, "Sam's Song," with Davis singing stagey counterpoint to Martin's crooning. Davis' solo tracks show off his brilliant theatricality as he caresses and belts Bye Bye Birdie's "A Lot of Livin' to Do," and his roots in blues and jazz come out for the Ocean's Eleven showcase "Eee-O Eleven" and a reprise of his own Broadway success with Mr. Lucky's "Too Close for Comfort."

Over the years, all three performers became such outsized media personalities that it's easy to forget the greatness of their recordings and live performances. Sinatra's reworking of his Capitol material is looser than the originals - more Sinatra doing Sinatra than being Sinatra - but they give you a good feel for his `60s ring-a-ding-ding swagger. Martin's sides are among his most loved, and Davis' proves just how skilled and soulful he was as a vocalist. This is a good sample of what these performers were doing in the studio, with a 16-page booklet filled with period photos and liner notes adapted from Bill Zehme's The Way You Wear Your Hat: Frank Sinatra and the Lost Art of Livin'. For a taste of the trio in action as a live act, check out the CD/DVD set The Ultimate Rat Pack Collection: Live & Swingin', or look for the hard-to-find The Rat Pack Live at the Sands and Summit in Concert. [©2011 hyperbolium dot com]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ring-A-Ding-Ding!, January 29, 2011
By 
Konrei "Everything I need is right here" (Boca Raton, Florida and Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
No one ever embodied suave masculine cool like The Rat Pack. I remember Dr. "Bones" Brennan on the TV show of the same name saying, "They must be extraordinary rodents" Booth said, "And talented, too." She answered, "Oh, you've heard of them?" (she obviously hadn't!) Fortunately, we have.

This is a great compilation of the best of Mr. Francis Albert Sinatra, Mr. Dino Crocetti, and Mr. Samuel George Davis Junior. If you have other Rat Pack compilations like Boys Night Out and Eee-O-11: The Best Of The Rat Pack, you will have most of these songs. That may be a little disappointing. But THE VERY BEST does include a couple of not-too-different "alternate versions" of a couple of Rat Pack standards. It also has the Rat Pack's theme song, "Ring-A-Ding-Ding."

Is this a GREAT album? You betcha. It's well worth the purchase price. I went through the bank drive through with the top down listening to this CD, and the pretty Latina teller started to do a little swaying. Then she asked me out on a date. Think this is a GREAT album now???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rat Pack Fan, June 24, 2011
By 
Silv's (Glenfield NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
this is great having Dino, Sammy, Frankie all together. The CD has some of their best songs on it, love it!! Sound is of good quality also, I feel like im there with them enjoying the show. I recommend it for those that would like a flashback to the Fab 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sammy, Dean and Frank!!, October 12, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Metamora, MI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
Excellent album - downloaded the MP3 and received the CD. Nice selection of songs where they sing together and their signature songs. One minor thing...a live album would have been better methinks. But it was a good purchase in any event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful remeberance, May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD becasue I am a huge Rat Pack fan. They were talented and in my opinion, talent such as theirs no longer exists. It is fun to listen to. One problem is that some of the material must have been recorded at a Vegas show, so you can't truly appreciate it. You can't see what hijinks these nutcases were up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Listen, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
This kind of music makes the drive to work easier. It is a very good CD with a good mixture of Sinatra, Martin and Sam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great cd. Old songs that one can listen everyday ..., July 14, 2014
By 
Edyta Brzeczkowska (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
This is a great cd. Old songs that one can listen everyday making a person happier and more positive. The selection is great and the price good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
Great CD love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
Bought this one for a friend and he absolutely loves it. Great collection and sound quality. My friend was pleased so I am too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Rat Pack (Audio CD)
Gave to my 86 year old dad, he listens to it while driving around, these are his favorite singers to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Very Best Of The Rat Pack
The Very Best Of The Rat Pack by Dean Martin (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.