Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10 years of nearly the absolute best S.B. music
Hello Sarah Brightman fans. Today I recieved my copy of 'the very best of 1990/2000 Sarah Brightman'. It really is nice, but definitely not the absolute best. There are a few songs that have got standing ovations when performed live, but did not make it to this collection. The track list is indeed beautiful, but I wish there were tracks like 'LA LUNA', 'WINTER IN JULY'...
Published on June 29, 2001 by Anthony Morelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The golden voice
This particular CD is not quite as expected from Sarah, but still enjoy music, However when she sings,
you can almost feel her emotions right in your living room......S.G., CA
Published 7 months ago by intrique


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10 years of nearly the absolute best S.B. music, June 29, 2001
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
Hello Sarah Brightman fans. Today I recieved my copy of 'the very best of 1990/2000 Sarah Brightman'. It really is nice, but definitely not the absolute best. There are a few songs that have got standing ovations when performed live, but did not make it to this collection. The track list is indeed beautiful, but I wish there were tracks like 'LA LUNA', 'WINTER IN JULY' and most inportantly, the Puccini aria 'NESSUN DORMA'.
The track list is as goes: 1) A QUESTION OF HONOR part 2 (radio edit) 2)HEAVEN IS HERE 3)WHO WANTS TO LIVE FOREVER 4)TIME TO SAY GOODBYE (with Andrea Bocelli) 5)TU QUIERES VOLVER 6)JUST SHOW ME HOW TO LOVE YOU (with Jose Cura) 7)EDEN 8)NELLA FANTASIA 9)DELIVER ME 10)ONLY AN OCEAN AWAY 11)SCARBOROUGH FAIR 12)A WHITER SHADE OF PALE 13)FIRST OF MAY (studio version) 14)CAPTAIN NEMO (live) 15)LA MER (live) 16)THE LAST WORDS YOU SAID (with Richard Marx)
Tracks 14 and 15 are taken from the "One night in Eden" concert. The full length album versions are both found on the 1993 'DIVE' Cd. Both songs would be better in studio version, but are still okay on this collection. TRACK 1, 'A QUESTION OF HONOR part 2' is the shortened version that is found as track #6 on the new remixes CD of 'AWSOP/AQOH. 'Heaven is here' is found on 1995/96's 'FLY' and is a great song that needs lots of airplay.
Inside, the booklet shows 2 nice full-page photos from 'Eden' and 'La LUNA' + a fab collage of many faces of Sarah from her different albums. There are a couple of shots of her from The Phantom Of the Opera, but there are no songs from that CD because the collection has been compiled only from 1990 on. Also found inside are the total time for each track and the official web-site for anyone whom still does not have it.
The cover is navy blue with shiny silver graphics and writing. The back side of the booklet is a photo of Sarah from the back cover from the 'LA LUNA' disc.
The CD is housed in a standard jewel-case with the 'W' insignia from Warner records on the front. This Cd is not an Angel Records release, but an eastwest records release. Maybe someday soon, Angel records will release a similar version with different songs. Until then, this CD makes a nice addition to anyone's Sarah Brightman collection.
I hope my review has helped SB customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years of GREAT Sarah Brightman music, June 12, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
It astounds me how long Sarah's been performing because she looks so incredibly young! She has struggled through critiscm after critiscm but I think that she proves with this album that she's here to stay. Sarah Brightman's the BEST OF 1990-2000 shows how much her voice has progressed throughout her years of Broadway to Crossover. My only complaint is the song selection (hence the reason for the 4-star rating). I don't think that it's bad I just think that some songs that weren't on here should have been, like "Figlio Perduto" and "Anytime Anywhere". The gospel pop tune "Deliver Me" and the gregorian trip-goth of "Eden" perfectly belong here but is the dancy new-age tune "La Mer" really necessary? I like that song a lot but "The Second Element" is a much more powerful and rememberable song from her DIVE CD, which came out in '93. I also think it stupid how the operatic-dance tune "A Question Of Honour" is shortened to a radio remix, like it's not short enough to begin with! The spanish guitar strumming of "Tu Quieres Volver" and her re-make of Procul Harem's "A Whiter Shade Of Pale" are also reduced in length, which I find to be a complete waste of time. My favorite song on here, though, is definitely "Heaven Is Here" from her '96 album FLY, which is her departure into the pop-rock genre, as where EDEN (98) and LA LUNA (00) were more on the ethereal pop/easy listening side. Overall, though, this is the perfect album to introduce newcomers with for it showcases the many sides of Sarah Brightman. If you're a long-time fan, however, than don't even bother buying this because you probably already have all these songs so it's useless. You probably already have all the album covers as well so just burn all these songs unto a CD and pretend that you own it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of..., September 25, 2004
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
Sarah Brightman crossed over from showtunes to ethereal pop over the years, changing her image with nearly every album. From the velvety grandeur of "Eden" to the sparkling "La Luna" to the surreal "Fly." Several of the best songs from the 1990-2000 period are included here, and except for a few omissions, it's a top-rate collection of singles.

It kicks off with two songs from her early pop period, the epic "Question of Honour" and organ-dominated "Heaven is Here." There's also a cover of the Bee Gees' "First of May." Then she dips into the melancholy "Who Wants to Live Forever," the rich "Tu Quiere Volver," the rich "Just Show Me How to Love You" and the pretty duet with Andrea Bocelli, "Time to Say Goodbye."

Then it's time for a look at Brightman's more recent creations. These songs tend to be more textured and symphonic, and less spacey. There's the hymnlike, vaguely sexy "Eden," ethereal "Nella Fantasia," the soaringly earthy "Deliver Me," and the aching "Only an Ocean Away." Taking on a more ethereal sound is the soft "Scarborough Fair," and richly psychedelic "Whiter Shade of Pale," followed by live versions of of "Captain Nemo" and "Mer." It wraps up on a sweet note with the silky, murmuring "The Last Words You Said."

Brightman has a good enough track record -- and a long enough career -- that it's hard not to wish for a two-disc set of her best songs from that era. With this release, Brightman has a chance to smooth over some of her odder past songs (like that Tom Jones duet) and focus just on the best she did in every album during that ten-year period. Some of her songs seem to have gotten lost in the shuffle. For example, where is the beautiful "Desert Rose"?

However, the musical arrangements are impeccable -- there's some electronica, orchestral pieces, and "Tu Quiere Volver" is lorded over by an acoustic guitar. Brightman also gets to show the full range of her vocals -- she sings sweetly or richly, and launches into operatic solos in songs like "Question of Honour."

And unlike a lot of "best of" albums, this is also a good place for newbies to start checking out Brightman's work. Die-hard Brightman fans will have everything but the live tracks, yet this is still a good collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Sarah Brightman collections, August 21, 2003
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
This is the perfect album for the new fan of Sarah Brightman. It is compiled of some of her best songs including Time to Say Goodbye with Andrea Bocelli, Eden, the haunting A Question of Honour, and live versions of Captian Nemo and La Mer. This album also includes beautifully recorded covers of Scarborough Fair and Whiter Shade of Pale. It is the essential "pop" recordings of Ms. Brightman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL RECORDED LEGACY IN THE MAKING, August 17, 2003
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
If anyone asks "Who Is Sarah Brightman?", and what a stupid person it would be asking this question in 2003, tell them to buy this wonderful compilation featuring many of Ms. Brightman's outstanding performances of the past decade. Ms. Brightman has developed over the past few years as one of the finest female recording artists and, along with Mylene Farmer and Madonna, a woman who completely understands the recording studio and the various ways it can enhance a voice and talent, unlike the array of garbage producing records today, such as J-LO, Brittny, Christina, and all those other, cloned-interchangeable-generic-no-talent-hip-hop-babes.
This compilation wets one's appitite for the complete feasts that awaits with the albums DIVE, FLY, TIMELESS, EDEN, LA LUNA, and, most successful of all, HAREM. Pay particualr attention to the title track from EDEN, a most perfect example of chilled-out-trip-hop. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most beautiful voice on earth, June 27, 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
Like all music of Sara Brightman. it's absolute quality. She has a voice that is so flexible, that she can sing nearly al kind of music from Clasical up to hard rock. Besides this she is also a first class performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Best Of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000, May 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
One of the best Albums I've ever Bought at Age 59 and I'm a Led zeppellin fan and a pink floyd fan too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Brightman Classics, January 14, 2011
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
I remember first being exposed to the wonderful music of Sarah Brightman when I first heard her songs "Deliver Me", "Eden", and "Beautiful". I wish that I can tell you for sure which song that I heard first, but what I can tell you for certain is that hearing those three songs enough times inspired me to purchase one of her greatest hits compilation. I chose this one because of the positive reviews and the diverse song selection that it has. I am glad that I went with doing that because all of the songs are very good. The songs that I must definitely recommend listening to first on this cd are "a question of honor part 2", "heaven is here", "only an ocean away", "eden", "deliver me,", and "scarborough fair". I only wish that "Beautiful" would have been included in this collection. My overall favorite song in Sarah Brightman's greatest hits collection would certainly have to be "Deliver Me". "Deliver Me" is a beautiful and joyful song that talks about how someone has isolated themselves from the outside world their whole life and kept their emotional guard completely up and closed until they encountered a person that they felt safe to reveal their true self too. In addition, I like how Sarah pours her emotion and spirit into the song. Overall Sarah's gorgeous vocals, and the beautiful songs on this cd both add up to a creative and terrific combination. It is definitely gently suggested to consider this cd if any and/or all of the following apply to you: you enjoy music by Enya, Enigma, and/or Celtic/New Age music imported from Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah is Simply the Best!, April 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD for my sister, and she simply adores it! She is a devoted Sarah Brightman fan, and finds the music on this CD to be extraordinarily calming and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ..!, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 (Audio CD)
A sensational voice, created by God to show mankind as angels sing, I love the product, delivery was very fast and in perfect condition, I certainly recommend it and I will continue acquiring other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8d91948)

This product

The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000
The Very Best of Sarah Brightman: 1990-2000 by Sarah Brightman (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.