Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Memoriam: A Tribute To The Late Victoria, January 31, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
Victoria De Los Angeles died Saturday of heart failure at the age of 83 in Barcelona, Spain. The world of opera mourns her loss. She was a gifted soprano and a wonderful human being. On stage, she was able to directly speak to her audience and communicate with them in a very special and rare way that is not always seen today. She never hid herself behind a facade nor distanced herself from fans and audiences. She was born to sing opera. It was in her blood. This album showcases De Los Angeles in her most memorable and successful roles. Victoria De Los Angeles was one of the first singers from Spain to win worldwide acclaim. Others would follow- Placido Domingo and Montserrat Caballe. De Los Angeles is showcased in this album which may also serve as a tribute to the now late soprano.

Her voice was essentially full lyric with some spinto. Hearing her renditions of "O Mio Babbini Caro"- a signature soprano role, as well as "Ebben Ne Andro Lontana" from La Wally and her performances as Mimi, one is clearly treated to the truest form of a pure lyric soprano. Her voice is spunned gold, with sweet, warm, feminine textures. Her reperotire remained in the Italian and French. Of course, being Spanish, she was a leading singer in Spanish Lieder and romantic ballads. Her Art Songs in Spanish are full of elegance and grace. A champion of obscure composers, she sang and recorded recitals that featured the works of lesser known composers, though strictly Lieder and Folk/Art Song.

Victoria De Los Angeles is fortunately a well-documented artist. Some film footage exist of her performances. I seem to recall that there exists a taped performance of her Violetta in Verdi's La Traviata. She excelled in the lyric roles of Mimi in Puccini's La Boheme, Marguerite in Gounod's Faust. Her Madame Butterfly is a pure lyric rendition, with less of the dramatic intensity other singers have given the role- i.e. Leontine Price, Maria Callas, Renata Tebaldi, etc. But her Butterfly is actually the way the role ought to be sung. It's a voice of grace, naivete and above all romance that must colorize Butterfly. The dramatic intensity only makes her sound older and madly passionate. She is only a fifteen year old girl who has been deceived and betrayed. She must remain youthful sounding. De Los Angeles does justice to the truest form of Butterfly. She was thrilling in French and Italian operas and her Spanish songs were briliant and beautiful.

Victoria will always be remembered. She was a unique and talented artist of the lyric repertoire. Her pure, lovely voice was like an angel's. There will never be another Victoria De Los Angeles. With her death, the end of an era also passes. In particular, I will always remember one reported incident. She was about to make her first recital in America but she had no accompanist- pianist/guitarist etc. When asked how she would handle this, she remarked: "Well I brought my guitar with me". And she proceeded to accompany herself with the guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A n angelic voice, February 6, 2004
By 
Emma de Soleil "I moved to the UK for another... (On a holiday In Ibiza, then back to the UK for studies) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
De los Angeles' ability to sing with elegance and style has rarely been equalled and never been surpassed. She's the greatest Charlotte in "Werther", the most tender Santuzza in "Cavalleria Rusticana" and the most sumptuos Nedda in "I Pagliacci". Her Lieder-Recordings are legendary, my favourites are the Spanish ones of course. What a piano-culture and what a velvet sound! Get this set, it's cheap and it has GREAT singing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the genius of de los angeles, February 13, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
the incomparable de los angeles combines exquisite sound and nuance to the world of superb singing. her mastery of a variety of styles is astounding and yet it always sounds natural.her magic will live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNA VOCE DE LOS ANGELES, May 29, 2012
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
Much of this is material is from the complete opera recordings and I already have them, but over 3/4 I didn't have. I am very thankful to find this very reasonably priced recording. EMI for once didn't ruin good recordings by remastering them (I'm pleasantly surprised at how clean they are). This a great testament to the full artistry of one of the great 20th Century sopranos. Like Moffo, she was a very versatile singer, who didn't compromise her lyric quality when she sang in the heavier verismo and mezzo roles. She also sang more than passable coloratura of Rossini & Verdi. Her Countess Rosina from Il Nozze de Figaro rivals Schwarzkopf. My real favorites are her recordings with Björling - Pagliacci, Boheme &, Butterfly. Even after 50 years, her Mimi & Cho Cho San still bring a lump to my throat and tears well in my eyes. Like so many of the singers I grew listening to, she has died; but thank goodness we are left with a wealth of recorded testaments to their greatness. She proved that bel canto singing can be applied to all opera, not just to the 18th & 19th Century. If you can afford $45.00 & want even more, "ICON: Victoria de los Angeles" is available. I highly recommend either recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice introduction to the work of a great soprano, July 12, 2007
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
This 2 CD set is a terrific introduction to the body of work of Victoria de los Angeles. As the "liner notes" point out: "She was an artist who brought individuality and a sense of joy to everything she performed. . . ." And this is not hyperbole. She was a top soprano in the middle part of the twentieth century.

Some cuts exemplify her art:

"Un bel di" is a ravishing version of this well known aria. She demonstrates a rich voice with fine musicality. This is a ravishing version of this aria. The singer displays good vocal control. There are nice transitions across the registers.

"Si, mi chiamano Mimi" is another well known work for sopranos. Again, nicely done. She appears (to me anyhow) to catch the spirit of Mimi very nicely indeed.

From "La Traviata," she essays "E strano. . .Sempre Libera." This is an affecting version. She does not have the coloratura armamentarium that some have brought to bear on this aria, but she does a fine job nonetheless. She seems to capture the desperate spirit of Violetta in "Sempre Libera."

Rossini's "Una voce poco fa" is a nice tour de force for sopranos. De los Angeles does a nice job here. This is a work from the Bel canto repertoire, but she does well. She shows vocal agility and captures the spirit of the work. This is an affecting, charming version. There is some occasional vocal harshness, but not a serious issue.

From "Carmen," "L'amour est un oiseau rebelle." Richly and nicely sung.

Her range on this CD is worth noting: from Puccini and Verdi to Wagner to Rossini to Gounod.

And then another of her specialties--songs. She does a nice turn with the Spanish song "Malaguena." Then, in a nice twist, she accompanies herself on guitar in "Adios Granada." I'm not normally so excited about songs, but in this case I found her work enchanting.

So, if you want to get a sense of the artistry of Victoria de los Angeles, this is an excellent starting point. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a winner, October 9, 2014
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
I am a great fan of Victoria and this is really the best of victoria, enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite soprano at her best., October 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
My favorite soprano at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 13, 2014
By 
Geronimo Classics "opera lover" (St. Augustine, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
great product and seller AAA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best performance by Victoria de los Angeles, September 12, 2006
This review is from: The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles (Audio CD)
Is the recording on Allegro records of her performance of Madame Butterfly in New Orleans in 1954, not the Rome recording. She is simply radiant, perfect, a voice truly that is a victory for the angels. Unbelievably marvelous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles
The Very Best of Victoria de los Angeles by Victoria De Los Angeles (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.